4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Proton Persona 2016 Booking?

Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2016, 07:04 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

3 year free service part and labour... i'm actually tempted since i don't have a primary car laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2016, 06:48 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 13 2016, 05:13 PM)
I thought you have a suprima?
test driven the suprima, i had an inspira, total lost it laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2016, 09:17 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 14 2016, 09:08 AM)
Don't drive recklessly  nod.gif
Some of the drawbacks of having just a little bit of too much fun laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2016, 03:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 15 2016, 09:49 AM)
This time CVT for you to prevent total lost.
if no manual i confirm wont touch it

=edit=
what makes you think a cvt is safe anyways? i almost crashed while test driving the cvt iriz while cornering at kl sentral ring with screeching tires and ESP blinking.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 15 2016, 03:55 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2016, 02:57 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 18 2016, 08:58 AM)
Come with ASC.. Hehehe
Proton version is very annoying for the track though lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2016, 12:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

lanciao la persona can win inspira.

jom drag race!
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2016, 12:37 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

http://www.newpersona.proton.com/build/pdf...standard-mt.pdf
in all seriousness, 46800 OTR without discounts factored in is a seriously damn aggressive price lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2016, 12:54 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Khai RULE @ Aug 22 2016, 04:08 PM)

CODE
[YOUTUBE]WLZHyz6WIO4[/YOUTUBE]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLZHyz6WIO4 use this la
english and 60fps version
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2016, 02:05 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 23 2016, 03:43 PM)
The level of cringe is too damn high  biggrin.gif
hahaha i commented the same with my friends

I mean i mean, they wanna do vroom vroom
but CVT auto hmm.gif

should go F&F and have their 50 speeds MT
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2016, 03:20 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

Just had a short test drive session at Taman Wahyu Proton dealer while i was on the way home sending my iswara for a rear bumper installation/repair lol

pros:
- the engine bay is really neat
- Made in china Bosch ESP module on the left
- very thick looking anti roll bar and neat looking electric powered steering rack
- the 510 liter rear boot space is HUGE and really impressive for a b segment. if anything, seemingly same, if not bigger sized than my c segment inspira.
- engine response seems better than the Iriz
- the new TCU tuning on the punch transmission was really impressive compared to the Iriz experience. Less hesitation and less jerking on low speeds; Makes you forget if you're even on a clutch based CVT.
- Suspension/handling was impressive even if it was only short distance with generally straight roads. and while i didn't get to test the ESP on more extreme cornering, i did get to fly through lots of road bumps/uneven roads within Taman Wahyu vicinity and the ride is really supple all the way. really good balance for an a to b comfort oriented family sedan.
- NVH is even improved from the Iriz! although my particular car (that has 400km driven despite being a test drive car LOL! looks like good demand/interest!) has dashboard rattling when i bring the RPMs up to 6k (impressive, given its a CVT unit, and without engaging L gear as well!)
to emphasize how well it is, besides the engine roar that came up only past 4k rpm, the air cond fan blowing was the only noise i heard.
- aircond/fan speed knobs etc was further improved from the Iriz, much sturdier and the clicks are very pleasant from switching it up around.
- steering has a damn nice feel to it despite being electric power steering. not too heavy, not too light, just right for me.
- i LOVE the frabric seats, more so than the leather biggrin.gif
really good feel and since it is dark colored, looks like it'll last very long as well with minimal to no maintenance required.
- Love the meter cluster design! very high contrast of white/red/black background themed.
a bit small though however considering the overall dashboard/panels have shrunk in size as the persona is basically a b segment, understandable i guess.

cons:
- gear lever position is really far
- steering position a bit high after lifting it up for leg clearance
- speaking of leg clearance, the foot well in the front is quite cramped. it would be amazing if they can score 5 star NCAP/ANCAP without deducting points from the crash dummy avoiding leg injury as the bottom dashboard portion and the steering is basically in contact with my knees all the time.
- and again on the footwell, the left foot rest for the automatic is basically just beside the brake pedal which doesn't leave room for the clutch pedal and a footrest combined if you look at how cramped it is. makes one wonder if the manual would be even feasible or not with the given position
- YES AGAIN on the foot positioning, the pedals were pretty weird to me as the brakes were a bit higher up than the accelerator. ignoring that it is quite far apart between each other (yes i know its an auto however usually they don't specifically re-design/re-position the pedals between auto/manual variants) the high/low positioning of the brake and accelerator also leaves much to be desired. Did i mention the accelerator being lowly positioned? yes, oddly enough the travel of said accelerator pedal is very minimal, seemingly in an almost "on/off" switch ish with very little applicable modulation. maybe its just my personal problem with a lead chained intensely heavy right foot, but hey this may actually be a good thing depending on how you look at it.
- still apparent throttle lag/response on the DBW system/Clutch engagement of the punch transmission, although from the rough feel, still slightly better than the Iriz.
however, once you get it going, it goes, nuff said biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2016, 04:30 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(iamkid @ Aug 27 2016, 04:08 PM)
hey thanks for the good insight! So which variant you would go for ah? I've been using keyless car for now, such a dilemma to topup or not xD
If I'm going for Persona, definitely the manual.

However given my current experience, I definitely need a test drive with the manual car first.
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2016, 05:32 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Aug 27 2016, 04:34 PM)
Tested the car today at the same place as yours, some more I just speed through the road bumper and all and the SA doesn't mind at all  tongue.gif . Exactly what you say, the only thing that worried me is that the driver view to the outside especially the front bonet aren't visible at all, driver have to rely on the front sensor to estimate the distance between front car. I'm 179cm guy, don't know whether I'm too short to view the front bonet  tongue.gif .
I'm used to it since modern car (like my late Inspira) also barely can set the front bonnet at all. Same like you my height also 179 ish cm hehe.

So ya, leg space for me isn't ideal at all. What about your experience on the leg space?

Btw how to know if the front sensor is working? I also didn't really test parking around the car, just speed 1 round around Taman Wahyu and go back show room reverse parking back the end liao lol.
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2016, 09:33 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Aug 27 2016, 08:34 PM)
The front sensor, if i'm not mistaken they'll keep/beep once if there is any incoming object around the car (similar to myvi front sensor but myvi sound so annoying). Queued behind a car at the traffic junction, the sensor will beep once you get near the front car. Btw there is no option to turn off this feature (the female SA told me) I don't know whether it will be annoyance for some user.

The leg room for the driver are quite okay for me, I still got some leg room to move around but the seat need to be set at lowest point. Just that for the passenger especially at the back, for a big guy, they'll have a hard time to comfort themself as the leg room are quite limited, can't move around but my mom said it's comfy enough. Langgar all bumper she said still quite comfy at behind, my mum like 150cm.
i see, didnt really get close to any object in front so front sensor never activated i guess.

my seating position is lowest and i made sure of that as i was adjusting everything before i begin my drive.
i had my seat pulled up quite close as the steering/gear lever positioning wasn't ideal for the slight bend stretched arm and on a full lock to lock turn tests, and of course imagining myself driving a manual car where i'll be frequently having my hand on the gear lever.

what is "bang/knock all the bumper" did your mom meant btw? lol
my uncle was sitting in front while SA behind so he had no complaints on the seats as the passenger side quite ok since no need to worry about the steering/pedals unlike driver.
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2016, 10:34 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Aug 27 2016, 10:26 PM)
As you said the gear knob are way to far, if the seat are set way behind. Apparently with my short hand I won't be comfortable enough changing the gear.

My mom always complain when shes inside my old car every time we hit a speed bumper, or lubang, passenger will always feel the hardest feedback, sometimes she even levitate (tercampak) abit tongue.gif. She feel comfortable enough with persona, no hard feedback from the absorber.
I don't know for sure hows the beeping goes, but 1 thing for sure the SA mention theres no switch to turn off the sensor. If the SA were wrong, that's 1 more thing to add not to trust proton SA, misleading information.
oh i see.

and yes, dont bother with majority of proton SA.
mine told me the engine was toyota design, VVT mah. and the car also vios design cuz dugong mah.

no really she said that. i was immediately to compelled to correct her on the spot LOL
didn't bother on the car design correction since well, looks. subjective anyways.
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2016, 03:32 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Aug 27 2016, 11:04 PM)
So how to mod become race rosak repair spec?
no need mod save money nod.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 28 2016, 12:44 AM)
Funny you should mention this. According to the Iriz's ASEAN NCAP report, there was a notation about "footwell rupture" indicating damage to the dummy's legs.

This was why the Iriz scored lower than the Bezza even though both are 5-stars.
i think i faintly read either yours/someone's post regarding that as well and made the comment. how to avoid injury if a serious accident happen and my knees are basically touching the dashboard/steering already all the time is what i thought?

even the very spacious inspira, my only injury was my foot as the flip was occurring somehow it scraped against the clutch pedal (as in my foot went underneath the clutch pedal, and that's even with my "crocs" that i had specifically for my car usage only and it is half covered!)

imagine what would happen in a much more cramped environment, i am foreseeing impending leg implants and crutches, assuming no amputation needed sweat.gif

well, the saving grace could very well be the HTSS/HFP whatever hardened/reinforced steel etc so the engine bay/compartment have absolutely zero chance in intruding the firewall and the roof will never collapse the dashboard downwards.
that certainly did not happen for my late inspira, so who knows if Proton exceeded the Mitsubishi RISE chassis.
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2016, 05:02 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 28 2016, 04:38 AM)
last time one mazda SA insisted and argued with me that their mazda 2 auto is dual clutch unit doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif shakehead.gif
why would they do that to potentially fuck up sales doh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2016, 09:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nikanika @ Aug 28 2016, 05:13 PM)
Just went for a test drive, it's true the cvt are quite responsive , according to the salesperson, eco drive mode will be activated based on how much rpm the car is driving, is it true?
maybe that, and/or the throttle input. (less throttle input = less fuel required naturally)

QUOTE(nikanika @ Aug 28 2016, 05:46 PM)
Meaning the car is in fuel saving mode with that indicator on?
its not a mode per say.

its just a guideline telling you you're "doing it right" when you're barely stepping on the gas

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 28 2016, 09:44 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2016, 09:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Aug 28 2016, 06:33 PM)
I see. I was very impressed with the ESC/TC system on the Persona. 70% of my test drive involved emergency maneuvers like braking on half grass/road, hard braking during 100KM/H cornering, and full throttle cornering at over 80KM/H at the corners around COE all done by the sales advisor.
can i do it instead? haha
my taman wahyu test drive experience so boring hahaha
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2016, 10:38 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Jane's @ Aug 28 2016, 10:32 PM)
5. Throughout my test drive, no matter how I feathered the throttle, the ECO indicator never lit up. Asked the SA, he told me then it only lights up once you've broken the 4k rpm barrier and then drive very slowly after that (Plain BS if you ask me, suspect that maybe it was turned off or something).
like i've feedback on the accelerator pedal: the modulation is very limited that it is seemingly an "on/off" switch.

the easiest way to get the eco indicator to lid up was to get the car moving/cruising, and just let go of the accelerator completely.

yet another BS from SA if you ask me tongue.gif

basically its the fuel consumption/mileage being good and then it will light up. aka even if you dont step on the accelerator with the car standstill, you wont be clocking mileage anyways. likewise if the cvt gear ratio is on the "low gears" compared to high gears/overdrive (as you would on a regular geared vehicle)
Quazacolt
post Aug 29 2016, 07:16 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Aug 29 2016, 12:34 PM)
That is true for most cars. In fact, I thought it's quite the contrary. The height diff of throttle and brake pedals were very big on the previous gen Persona. I thought the new Persona is much closer, almost same height. Can drive like a GP car. lol
maybe i'm spoiled by my previous inspira which is even more aligned on height (closer)

the persona accelerator is just a tad bit too low for my taste with very minimal travel sad.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:26 AM