4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Runners Version.11

silvadesk
post Oct 16 2017, 06:52 PM

224 posts

Hey all. I'm pretty sure this question has been asked and answered before, but please help me out here again - how many of you run tracks (in stadiums) to increase your pace? And where/what time do you normally do? I usually run road and I think I need to do a bit of speed training so I plan to run tracks now.
silvadesk
post Oct 27 2017, 08:25 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 20 2017, 09:46 AM)
i don't train in track but i can ran below 5mins pace .. it all depend how you train .
#idol
Different training plans may help. How do you do yours?
silvadesk
post Nov 17 2017, 06:22 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Nov 16 2017, 06:17 PM)
Thanks for the recommendations!

Brooks voucher there are 2 from what I can google... RM 180 rebate is only for selected types (excluding Ghosts). The other one is for RM 160 also mentions selected international shoes > Rm 400.. so will need to call up to ask.

Anyone has the RM 160 voucher to let go in Klang valley?

On the Saucony, I think the Freedom ISO has the everun soles, might give it a try if I see them on the shelf.
I have the voucher. I can just give it to you. I won't need it anyway.
silvadesk
post Nov 20 2017, 05:57 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Nov 19 2017, 01:37 PM)
Decided on the ON Cloudflow, together with wife so we each got a pair!
Manage to get it at RM 495 based on the 20% from running lab as well.
Yikes. Was going to suggest Skechers. A bit more affordable. Anyway, it's a personal preference. biggrin.gif
silvadesk
post Nov 20 2017, 06:53 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Nov 20 2017, 06:12 PM)
Is there any recommendation for running shoes within RM200 nowadays? Seems like can't find any.

How about RM250 which I think is the best I can go for? Any recommendation across that price range?
I've got friends running with Kalenji shoes that you can buy from Decathlon at affordable price. You can also try looking out for good value shoes in Sports Direct (older stocks, value price). I personally find affordable Skechers shoes (Big Skechers fan here!) at their Mitsui outlet - their GORun models are good and discounted. Anyway, price should not be the benchmark for your performance. smile.gif

This post has been edited by silvadesk: Nov 20 2017, 06:58 PM
silvadesk
post Dec 4 2017, 12:21 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 27 2017, 10:36 AM)
1st penang bridge half marathon and will also be my last, very very very bad experience from the organizers.

1st issue, during collection of the pack, i was given smaller size shirt as they said this year shirt is made larger and asked me to go next counter exchange if wan bigger size. went to exchange for bigger size, told me the shirt size no more d. i complained on the spot and ask for refund then magically they got one LAST shirt tht is the size i wan.

2nd issue, finished the race and everyone was force to queue at a small area for medal collection. there are thousands of people and they wan everyone to cramp there and wait for hours to collect the medal. very badly organized

3rd issue, after queuing for hours i was told that there is no more medal. WTF, i flew all the way from outstation, paid to join the marathon, finished the marathon in time, queued for hours, and i dun even get my medal coz the organizers decided to songlap money and order less medals. i heard that full marathon people doesnt even get their finisher tee coz no more finisher tee as well.

poorly organized for a so-called international event, will not take part anymore and also will tell people not to take part in it
I did my first PBIM in 2014 and have heard all of the above. And because of no 2, I decided there is not going to be another PBIM for me. 3 years down the road, still the same shit eh? WTH..
silvadesk
post Dec 4 2017, 07:11 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Dec 4 2017, 04:59 PM)
Not sure about the required weekly mileage for training.
I've done more than 10 FMs but my weekly mileage was never more than 40KM except for the race week. Rarely touched 30KM too.  sweat.gif
My PB was 4:18 and i was still holding back a little bit at that time.
I did not do sub4 like you la, but my training for my FM also is not as powerful as the rest here sweat.gif
I manage to sub5, and personally (and this is a personal opinion) all I did was make sure I train for endurance. FM is an endurance test. You maintain a pace of 7mins per km in your training, then you should be able to do sub5. And my training is usually between 8-10km, 3 times a week (on lazy weeks, only twice haha).

But nowadays I don't run FM anymore. I cannot take the never-ending tarmac cry.gif
silvadesk
post Dec 4 2017, 07:12 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Dec 4 2017, 05:48 PM)
what would be the suitable intake of power gel for a HM?

this would be my 4th HM - but previous 3 didnt take any gel whatsoever

wanna try taking power gel this time but wondering how many and @ what km should i take.
after every 10km. so it pretty much means, ONE. laugh.gif laugh.gif

but if you didn't take before, why you wanna take now? no need laa...
silvadesk
post Dec 6 2017, 09:55 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Dec 4 2017, 11:16 PM)
I still unable to do sub4 yet but should be doable next year. (hopefully)
Maintaining at 7min per km is about discipline and self control, i did my 1st sub 5 2 years ago, maintaining at 7 min pace from KM1 till finish. Holding the urge to run faster at the beginning to prevent burn out later.

Nowadays, I prefer trail more than road...  brows.gif
Eh. I also run trail nowadays. More view laugh.gif

This post has been edited by silvadesk: Dec 6 2017, 09:55 AM
silvadesk
post Dec 6 2017, 10:01 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Dec 5 2017, 08:46 AM)
well.. always run out of energy after half way .... legs jelly ...
wanna see how well does energy gel helps

where can i get it? if i plan to get only 1
LOL
GNC and major pharmacy stores. I used to take Power Gel but I've stopped because I didn't see any effect on me. Banana seems to work better for me LOL.

My current go-to energy supplies is from Marathon Baker. Which reminds me, I need to place my order dy. doh.gif
silvadesk
post Dec 7 2017, 10:57 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Dec 7 2017, 09:38 AM)
any tips to maintain pace longer?
i can maintain 7m/km pace for the first 10 ~ 15 minutes only
after that my legs become so tired and i have to walk for a few minutes before cont the running
Have you been running for long? I think it's a mindset thing. Usually when we start running, the first 5km is hard to break. At 3km, we get exhausted. This is when you shouldn't stop and continue pushing your limits. After your 5th km when your body is warmer, you'll glide! flex.gif

Anyway, this is also the reason why a proper core warm up before the run is important. Get your body warmed first. Run in place, jumping jacks, high knees, butt kick, then repeat.
silvadesk
post Dec 11 2017, 10:05 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Dec 7 2017, 05:21 PM)
pharmacy like watson or guardian?
guardian has higher probability.
silvadesk
post Dec 14 2017, 03:42 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Azsas @ Dec 14 2017, 10:02 AM)
want to join running,for now i just jogging & running lil bit. need to workout at gym also? tq
not necessary to go gym. you can workout anywhere.
silvadesk
post Dec 18 2017, 12:32 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Dec 17 2017, 05:06 AM)
any updates on klang city marathon?
yea hor. macam senyap. has evelyn regain consciousness? sad.gif
silvadesk
post Mar 15 2018, 06:42 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Mar 15 2018, 03:59 PM)
TEACH ME MASTA! I'm eyeing on the Janda Baik Ultra and depending on how crazy my other mates are there's a small chance that we might try 100km lol. But i still got a lot to learn and train, especially since im not that experienced with long distance trail runs. The more i read about it the more nervous i feel and started to think if im rushing it lol.

How was your first 100km event and how did you prepare for it? Do you really run a lot every week in preparation?
Tips for JBU is Heat Training and Elevation. Have fun at the rolling hills.
silvadesk
post Mar 19 2018, 06:40 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Mar 15 2018, 07:04 PM)
Heat training meaning like running at high noon?
hell yea laugh.gif
silvadesk
post Mar 22 2018, 10:18 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Mar 21 2018, 01:57 PM)
18 hours seems easy

dont think need much training
blink.gif blink.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
silvadesk
post Mar 26 2018, 10:31 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Mar 22 2018, 10:34 AM)
why? 18 hours seems easy bro

can rest and sleep in between
ochaaaaaaa apa iniiiiiiii. are you trolling us cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by silvadesk: Mar 26 2018, 10:32 AM
silvadesk
post Mar 26 2018, 10:46 AM

224 posts

Speaking of gel.

In my earlier years of running, I used to take gels for my long runs. After 2 years of experimenting, I HONESTLY couldn't find how it helps me in any friggin way - I know a lot of people who will swear by using gels. So I stopped taking gels and just make sure I am well hydrated before, during and after run. Eat enough rice, pasta and potatoes before race (I don't have other food mantras, feel free to add). If you join ultra race, then most ultras sure got watermelon along the way, just grab those and go. Salt - important. Kurma or Snickers to avoid empty stomach. And gummies to keep me happy before I hit the invisible wall you guys keep mentioning about, LOL.

But most of all, TRAINING CUKUP TAK? Kalau tak cukup training, makan 10 gel pun tak guna kbye.
silvadesk
post Mar 26 2018, 10:49 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(SlomoX @ Mar 26 2018, 10:31 AM)
i myself carry 500ml bottle, dont like the crowd during first 10kms (if its 5km gap between water stations)
When you do your normal running, can you last without water for at least 8km? If can, then no need to bring bottle la. Just skip 2 stations. Leceh la bawak bottle haha

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:03 AM