306 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

The watch thread v13!

cheefai7
post Sep 29 2016, 09:30 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 28 2016, 04:37 PM)
actually bezel is more of a zodiac seawolf copy...yes little known fact is that they also came out in 1953...same time with lolex and blancpain.
i've never seen a tudor bracelet like that...if by screw links...plenty of guys did it before already.

there is more to life than lolex u know... tongue.gif
Nah, I was just giving example of copy here and there and just release as a product. But with the price and material, its really tempting but i dont think this model is sustainable, otherwise they would go for mass production it in mainland and heck, using some seagull movement.

Agree that there are more life than just lolex, but ppl just wants to own it, even for just a short moment, its worth it.
Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 09:36 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Sep 29 2016, 09:30 AM)
Nah, I was just giving example of copy here and there and just release as a product. But with the price and material, its really tempting but i dont think this model is sustainable, otherwise they would go for mass production it in mainland and heck, using some seagull movement.

Agree that there are more life than just lolex, but ppl just wants to own it, even for just a short moment, its worth it.
ya but almost every single piece right now takes design cues and modifies it to suit them.
just those that copy outright are abit boring...which this one isnt really...just too many still jumping on the dive watch bandwagon...yet their watches dont really meet iso dive checklists...ie. just faux divers.

seagull think too highly of themselves nowadays...so prices increased abit...and they wont simply release their better movements...
even miyota are starting to have longer turnaround times for new batches for movements...too much demand...and prices also increased.
thats why most startups are using the seiko nh35 as they're still easily available and reliable.

Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 09:39 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 29 2016, 01:17 AM)
what sometimes. haha. its attractive all the time. I wouldn't get a sub, but a GMT Master II, hell yes. Ok too rich for my blood. Me peasant just look at nice pictures.
older GMT with quick-set date ftw.
just like 3yrs ago can get pre-owned GMT for under rm15k.
bodo currency, bodo sheeps.

cheefai7
post Sep 29 2016, 09:51 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 09:36 AM)
ya but almost every single piece right now takes design cues and modifies it to suit them.
just those that copy outright are abit boring...which this one isnt really...just too many still jumping on the dive watch bandwagon...yet their watches dont really meet iso dive checklists...ie. just faux divers.

seagull think too highly of themselves nowadays...so prices increased abit...and they wont simply release their better movements...
even miyota are starting to have longer turnaround times for new batches for movements...too much demand...and prices also increased.
thats why most startups are using the seiko nh35 as they're still easily available and reliable.
Wow, impressive opinion, not sure hows the movement game, but yeah if there is increasing demand of entry level OEM movement, the maker will going to make money and putting pressure on Swatch's ETA. Anything with "Automatic" label worth the bragging right if the current DW owner wish to upgrade their game. The easier route would be anything that label as "minimal", "bauhaus", "simplicity", "automatic". I wouldn't be surprise if DW going to release their automatic if the fashion market is too saturated. As for diver, i wouldn't be risking it for a kickstarter ...

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 09:39 AM)
Are you hinting hedging the forex risk by buying lolex? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cheefai7: Sep 29 2016, 09:52 AM
Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 09:55 AM

30,730 posts

swatch ETA have already considered supplying movements again.

DW are smart enough to do not any swiss movement.
they will probably buy a china movement maker, then have the distinction of having a 'in-house' movement...

older lolex? maybe i prefer the movement.
but i definitely do not prefer the crappy bracelets they come with.
then finding one with crown still good is another challenge.
very likely a major service will be needed for them too.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 29 2016, 09:57 AM
cheefai7
post Sep 29 2016, 10:08 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 09:55 AM)
swatch ETA have already considered supplying movements again.

DW are smart enough to do not any swiss movement.
they will probably buy a china movement maker, then have the distinction of having a 'in-house' movement...
Wise strategy to up their game, and the social marketing really helps in pushing the poison. Also thats what traditional makers lacking of this digital marketing.

Interms of movement game, why not consider the newer boy like Nomos, or faux mechanical/ quartz like GS movement?

This post has been edited by cheefai7: Sep 29 2016, 10:09 AM
Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 10:24 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Sep 29 2016, 10:08 AM)
Wise strategy to up their game, and the social marketing really helps in pushing the poison. Also thats what traditional makers lacking of this digital marketing.

Interms of movement game, why not consider the newer boy like Nomos, or faux mechanical/ quartz like GS movement?
i dont really play the movement game already...almost every movement is a copy of what has come before it anyway...
afterall one is gonna be wearing it, not watching the caseback thru a magnifying glass.
the trend nowadays is to watch the dial thru a magnifying glass tongue.gif

Gilthoniel
post Sep 29 2016, 10:27 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 09:39 AM)
Actually the older quickset date will be useful if you don't wear the watch often.

My nomos is a pain in the a$$ when it comes to setting the date.

The newer non quickset date gmt makes it easier to switch timezones including the date because u can switch back and forth dates with no issue and also quickly. It also allows u to move the 24 hour hand independently of the hour hand. It's more true to a gmt in some people's eyes.

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Sep 29 2016, 10:28 AM
Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 10:30 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Sep 29 2016, 10:27 AM)
Actually the older quickset date will be useful if you don't wear the watch often.

My nomos is a pain in the a$$ when it comes to setting the date.

The newer non quickset date gmt makes it easier to switch timezones including the date because u can switch back and forth dates with no issue and also quickly. It also allows u to move the 24 hour hand independently of the hour hand. It's more true to a gmt in some people's eyes.
thats why i like the quickset date, cos i dont wear them often.
after having quite a few quickset hour movements, i just didnt want to keep turning the crown to set the current date...and i dont use winders.

as for switching timezones, the easier way is to use the bezel tongue.gif
cheefai7
post Sep 29 2016, 10:40 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 10:24 AM)
i dont really play the movement game already...almost every movement is a copy of what has come before it anyway...
afterall one is gonna be wearing it, not watching the caseback thru a magnifying glass.
the trend nowadays is to watch the dial thru a magnifying glass tongue.gif
Nope, i wear it inverted so the case back is facing me, to showcase how WIS was. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 10:49 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Sep 29 2016, 10:40 AM)
Nope, i wear it inverted so the case back is facing me, to showcase how WIS was.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
WIS
r3kahsttub
post Sep 29 2016, 10:50 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 10:49 AM)
WIS
Damn. On point.
Naka7a
post Sep 29 2016, 10:55 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

just struck me. i dont have a watch with a see tru case back. lol.
cheefai7
post Sep 29 2016, 11:14 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Sep 29 2016, 10:55 AM)
just struck me. i dont have a watch with a see tru case back. lol.
In that case, remove the case back, even more WIS.
ck77
post Sep 29 2016, 11:24 AM

2,591 posts

You guys macam macam ... just get a no date watch la rclxs0.gif
Everdying
post Sep 29 2016, 11:48 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Sep 29 2016, 11:24 AM)
You guys macam macam ... just get a no date watch la  rclxs0.gif
so when u getting ur DW?
ck77
post Sep 29 2016, 11:50 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2016, 11:48 AM)
so when u getting ur DW?
no need dw la ... i got few no date watch liao biggrin.gif
Gilthoniel
post Sep 29 2016, 12:04 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Sep 29 2016, 11:24 AM)
You guys macam macam ... just get a no date watch la  rclxs0.gif
Ya... I generally prefer no date as well...

Naka7a
post Sep 29 2016, 04:56 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 08:14 PM)
gwm5610 where got diff if jdm or europe? all also made in thailand.

btw, new model coming.
gw5000hr... sexy black red... international release somemore.

oh shoot. i just realised this comes with a screw down caseback... drool.gif

This post has been edited by Naka7a: Sep 29 2016, 05:00 PM
Naka7a
post Sep 29 2016, 05:00 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

double posted

This post has been edited by Naka7a: Sep 29 2016, 05:00 PM

306 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top