306 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

The watch thread v13!

TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 08:39 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 08:32 PM)
i wouldn't so far to call a gwm5610 a classic, far from it seeing as its a new-ish model.
a classic is the 5600 / 5500 / 5000 or any of its reissues.
the very first gshock DW-5000C year 1983 watch

which look similar to fuzzy GWM5610

This post has been edited by TheReaderReads: Sep 15 2016, 08:39 PM
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 08:43 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Sep 15 2016, 08:39 PM)
the very first gshock DW-5000C year 1983 watch

which look similar to fuzzy GWM5610

uhh yes, im well aware.
just cos it looks similar doesn't make it a classic.
the 5000 has a solid screw caseback and stainless steel case with the resin bezel on top...ie a completely different model in a different league of built quality.

TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 08:55 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 08:43 PM)
uhh yes, im well aware.
just cos it looks similar doesn't make it a classic.
the 5000 has a solid screw caseback and stainless steel case with the resin bezel on top...ie a completely different model in a different league of built quality.
newbie here on gshock. solid screw caseback is where? u mean the back of the watch it is screwed with stainless steel case behind?

the model u posted gw5000hr not yet selling?

cuz i look around, like not selling yet. it is really nice. may consider this cuz i saw one tat looks similar to urs with the red text on the top n bottom
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 08:57 PM

30,730 posts

of cos a gwm5610 is cheap...
but if u really want a 5000...better just look for a used dw5030... thats the most recent faithful reissue of a 5000.
i know someone here recently got the gset 30th set for rm1.1k or so... brand new here is rm1.7k.
http://www.g-central.com/gset-30-1-g-shock-gift-box-set/

this thread u can see how nicely made a 5000 is.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f17/restoring...s/343352?page=1

a 5600 / 5610 cannot come close... as u can already tell from their prices.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 15 2016, 09:02 PM
TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 09:04 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 08:57 PM)
of  cos a gwm5610 is cheap...
but if u really want a 5000...better just look for a used dw5030... thats the most recent faithful reissue of a 5000.
i know someone here recently got the gset 30th set for rm1.1k or so... brand new here is rm1.7k.
need to do more readup on these babies b4 i decide what i want

for now the gwm5610 has the solar power, atomic time, world time for travelling, auto-EL for night time legibility.

the watch u mention earlier is one sexy beast gw5000hr.

already on the menu to order?

alright will look to the forum u mention

This post has been edited by TheReaderReads: Sep 15 2016, 09:05 PM
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 09:06 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Sep 15 2016, 09:04 PM)
need to do more readup on these babies b4 i decide what i want

for now the gwm5610 has the solar power, atomic time, world time for travelling, auto-EL for night time legibility.

the watch u mention earlier is one sexy beast gw5000hr.

already on the menu to order?
nope, i dont like the 5xxx series, too small for my tastes.
i had a couple of 5600 before... got rid of them.
i still like my mudman, rangeman and g-steel.
TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 09:14 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 09:06 PM)
nope, i dont like the 5xxx series, too small for my tastes.
i had a couple of 5600 before... got rid of them.
i still like my mudman, rangeman and g-steel.
the panerai comes in mind when u say big brows.gif
fuzzy
post Sep 15 2016, 09:18 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,104 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 08:57 PM)
of  cos a gwm5610 is cheap...
this thread u can see how nicely made a 5000 is.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f17/restoring...s/343352?page=1

a 5600 / 5610 cannot come close... as u can already tell from their prices.
What about the GW-5000-1jf? Iirc it's also a faithful reissue?
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 09:21 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 15 2016, 09:18 PM)
What about the GW-5000-1jf? Iirc it's also a faithful reissue?
how is having solar and atomic a faithful reissue?

the dw5030 is the closest, except for its batt life of few yrs only.
the original had 10yr battery life.
TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 09:23 PM

701 posts

ahhh maybe i am willing to allow some new tech like the atomic timekeeping and solar rather than going for the faithful reissue

thx for the elightenment thumbsup.gif

now ayam need to decide
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 09:28 PM

30,730 posts

ya but atomic is kinda useless here... while solar if u use often u would need a batt change roughly every 7yrs.
give me 10yr battery life anytime tongue.gif
TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 09:42 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 09:28 PM)
ya but atomic is kinda useless here... while solar if u use often u would need a batt change roughly every 7yrs.
give me 10yr battery life anytime tongue.gif
y atomic useless? again i am newbie laugh.gif
Everdying
post Sep 15 2016, 09:47 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Sep 15 2016, 09:42 PM)
y atomic useless? again i am newbie  laugh.gif
being newbie is no excuse for being lazy.
TheReaderReads
post Sep 15 2016, 10:27 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 15 2016, 09:47 PM)
being newbie is no excuse for being lazy.
TOPKEK grin.gif lol.gif
post Sep 19 2016, 12:05 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

On my 2nd visit to cortina and tried it.
Can't sleep well now. sad.gif

[attachmentid=7556140]
Jason
post Sep 19 2016, 12:43 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 19 2016, 12:05 AM)
On my 2nd visit to cortina and tried it.
Can't sleep well now.  sad.gif

Nice, except I can't stand the whole bible on the dial.
f5calvin
post Sep 19 2016, 02:51 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

Huy guys is there any watch to recommend that's somethin like this
https://www.brathwait.com/products/the-clas...er-strap-melano

but at 38mm? The only one i found so far is DW Dapper series but i want a sapphire glass so that it's scratch resistant. budget <1k
r3kahsttub
post Sep 19 2016, 03:02 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

Wassup wassup? Got TT bojio... why la. Sorry I couldn't make it; was on holiday and had little access to Internet.
Everdying
post Sep 19 2016, 12:46 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Sep 19 2016, 02:51 AM)
Huy guys is there any watch to recommend that's somethin like this
https://www.brathwait.com/products/the-clas...er-strap-melano

but at 38mm? The only one i found so far is DW Dapper series but i want a sapphire glass so that it's scratch resistant. budget <1k
does it have to look like a DW?
else seiko got plenty options under rm1k.

Jason
post Sep 19 2016, 02:31 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Sep 19 2016, 03:02 AM)
Wassup wassup? Got TT bojio... why la. Sorry I couldn't make it; was on holiday and had little access to Internet.
So anything new from Europe? Easy to justify when the SO is busy grabbing bags.

306 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:12 PM