13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

The watch thread v13!

friedricetheman
post Feb 19 2021, 04:53 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Feb 19 2021, 12:39 PM)
One can only hope, I guess...ha!ha!

I'm partial to ROOs as they seem tougher and more macho while I like the green chrono (Ref #26405CE), I'm ok if I get a code 11:59 15210OR Self winding in Blue face 41mm or something along that lines first before I make my way up... icon_idea.gif
Agree. ROOs are much more rugged. They were designed to be Royal Oaks on steroids.

The 44mm line is very nice and the pushers are very aggressive looking.

The Royal Oak Offshore line is very fascinating to me.

On one hand the Offshores are big, chunky and very aggressive looking.

But on the other hand, they are also meticulously hand finished, with beveling and other technically demanding finishing techniques only found on smaller dress watches like the Patek Philippe Calatrava or Audemars Piguet Jules Audemars collection.

When Royal Oaks were first launched in the 1970s, they created a huge uproar as these steel oaks were priced as much as solid Gold watches.

Then, when Royal Oak Offshores were launched in the 1990s, everyone were again up in arms as they took a much beloved design (Gerard Genta’s Royal Oak) and made it bigger and fatter. Even Gerard Genta himself came over to their booth and shouted at Audemars Piguet for killing his design.

In 2012, the Offshore Divers were launched, again to public ridicule. People were deriding the divers as not practical due to the internal diving bezel, cheap looking for its generous use of rubber on the straps and crowns and overpriced when compared to the Submariner.

We all know how all those 3 scenarios played out in the end.

Fast forward to today, and again Code 11:59 is becoming the butt of internet jokes due to its unconventional design and high prices. The 11:59 is also only available in Precious Metal if I am not mistaken so even their two tone models are white gold and pink gold.

To me, the Code 11:59 looks gorgeous in person. If the water resistant was at least 100m, i would have place it on my want list. But as it is, I can’t live with the 30m water resistant.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 19 2021, 04:56 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2021, 09:35 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Feb 20 2021, 04:10 AM)
Many years back I was very close to pulling the trigger on a rose gold 15450 on leather. While I was agonizing over it, I kept thinking, do I really wanna settle for "one half" of an iconic look, a design which has elevated to its current cult status partly (or maybe even more so) by its striking bracelet design which flows seamlessly to the case? I then decided if, or when, I'd get my hands on an Oak it'll be with the full bracelet, and from that moment on I never really even closely considered any of the ROO's on rubber.

As for the Code I really can't imagine anyone bringing it to the pool or beach unless the leather is swapped for a rubber, so its WR probably wasn't targeted for that demographic. Next year will mark the 50th anniversary of the original Oak 5402 so I think the Code's days might be numbered. If AP launches more tweaked up Oaks (I'd be really surprised if they don't) that will definitely sink the Code into oblivion.
I agree that the bracelet is an integral part of the Royal Oak look. But for Royal Oak Offshore, rubber or horn back alligator straps are the norm due to the oversized proportions. The steel bracelet adds bulk to an already large watch. I heard that you need a very thick and large wrist to be able to accommodate the steel bracelet on the Offshore models.

I believe that the Code 11:59 needs a steel model with 100m water resistance and rubber strap. I would buy one if it can survive some water sports and sailing activity.

Then again, Audemars Piguet is not about following conventions. They made a steel sports watch when gold watches were all the rage, made an oversized Royal Oak on steroids when smaller watches were in vogue and now they are making large precious metal only watches when steel sports watches are selling like hot cakes.

My money is on the Code being a sleeper hit just like the RO and ROO were.

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 20 2021, 06:04 AM)
Agreed. The bezel gets all the plaudits, but the bracelet plays such an integral part to the overall design language.
But I'm surprised that with your "don't settle for one half" mindset, you didn't go for the OG 15202 instead.
15202 is not for the faint of heart. It doesn’t have a quick set date and the ultra thin movement is too delicate to cycle through the dates too often via the moving the hands forward and backwards on midnight. With the 15202, you need to either invest in a watch winder or wear it with the wrong date on display most of the time.

15450 and 15500 are more practical for first time buyers of ROs.
friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2021, 09:36 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 20 2021, 09:30 AM)
no la... I don't swim with watches
feels weird hahahah
Oh ok. Then sell me your 5711 at MSRP lah since you don’t need it’s 100m water resistance. Can use the money to buy the Code 11:59...
friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2021, 08:08 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Feb 20 2021, 05:02 PM)
Few things led me to settling for the 15500, main thing was I feel the 41mm sits nicer on my wrist. The other thing was as friedricetheman rightly pointed out, the Jumbo can be pretty delicate and a pain in the ass to set the date when going into rotation. Yes, I suppose it can be kept on a winder but I don't know how I'd feel about having all its gears turning 24/7 through the years.

I've also heard some horror stories of the JLC-based 2121 movement (probably relatively few, but scary nonetheless) and there's the higher service cost to consider too. The new 4302 calibre in the current 15500 looks brilliant on paper but of course only time will tell on its durability.

Last but not least, the grey dealer was asking an obscene amount for it and to this day remains unsold.
The servicing costs for ultra thin movements are higher due to the difficulty in servicing these movements. Even the servicing costs for our 4302 and 3210 movements are pretty high when compared to Patek Philippe 330SC.

Another problem with the 15202 is that the movement is removed from the top instead of the back. This adds to the complexity of removing a movement without damaging the dial or hands.

For heirloom pieces that you pass on to your kids, nothing beats a 15450 or 15500 as they are relatively modern movements with quick set date and iconic design that will age very well. Also, trinity watches will keep spare parts for a very long time, making it possible to service the watch decades or even centuries down the road.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 20 2021, 08:13 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2021, 09:18 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 20 2021, 09:04 PM)
Seems like modern Jumbos no longer utilise the monobloc case, going for a more conventional 3-piece design instead.

Watch around the 15-16min mark.

Ok. I didn’t know that. I always thought that they were still being produced as monobloc cases.

Thanks for the video.
friedricetheman
post Feb 24 2021, 05:04 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 24 2021, 08:59 AM)
tanya tanya ,the 15500 in black dial ada worth a lot now ar? for used
Black dial is the least expensive one among the dial color options.

Grey and white are in the middle and blue is the most expensive in the open market.

You should see the black dial in person before committing to it as the tapisserie pattern on the dial is not very prominent on the black dial compared to the lighter colored ones.

But then again, I heard you can change dial color at AP SC as long as it is not blue. So you can get a black color one now and change it to white or grey at your next service.

Edit : also, the 15500 wears big. If you are used to nautilus size, better get the 15450. 15500 wears bigger than a DJ41.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 24 2021, 05:07 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 24 2021, 09:39 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 24 2021, 08:19 PM)
Calibre 4302 is a good and robust movement? It’s also use in 11:59
It’s a new movement so only time will tell if there are any problems with it. But you have 5 years warranty on it if you buy new so it’s worth to take a gamble on it.

Just like how the Rolex 3135 is robust movement, but we still don’t know much about 3235 as it is quite new.
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 09:15 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2021, 08:58 AM)
hmmm, would black dial makes the watch seem smaller

least premium in market la, so if buyer selling me used at RRP worth to get it?

my hand is actually a perfect fit for DJ41 kekekekekke, as for now I'm wearing my pam 44mm, I think won't be too big bah the 15500

but I heard its a scratch magnet right? one of my fren sold his years back n trade in for a Daytona, wore twice, cannot tahan the scratch, but now he damn regretful  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Black dial would make the watch look smaller, yes. But it still looks bigger than a DJ41.

If buy used at RRP, then it’s worth it. Nowadays, no more steel models are sold in the open market at RRP anymore.

I have managed to scratch mine just by wearing it. Two hairline scratches on the bezel that are not visible unless at a certain angle. If you can live with the scratches, Royal Oak is a very nice addition to your collection due to its unique look.
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 08:40 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 25 2021, 10:55 AM)
I think RO is not a watch tat one can wear daily...it’s ultra scratch magnet...

Diver is big, wears like 45mm
Here’s a size comparison between two 42mm watches - the Offshore Diver and Legend Diver. Pax Pamir Kickstarter 2nd edition as the background. Lol.

[attachmentid=10798440]

The Diver on my wrist. Fits me nicely. The lugs doesn’t overhang. It wears bigger than the Longines Legend Diver which also wears bigger than its 42mm size due to the long lugs.

[attachmentid=10798441]

If your wrist can take PAM Black Seals at 45mm, I am sure the ROO diver will fit your wrist just as well.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 25 2021, 08:40 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 08:51 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

I had some time in my hands so I geek out. I paired my Rolexes and Omegas with my geeky hobby stuff. I have over 350 board games, 100+ video games on various systems and a bunch of RPG game systems. Luckily my wife allowed me to house all of it in a Games Room. Hope you guys enjoy the pairing of watches and geekstuff.

Rolex Datejust 36 and Omega Aqua Terra 41mm on World of Darkness source books - Werewolf the Apocalypse, Vampire the Masquerade and Mage the Ascension.

[attachmentid=10798443]

Omega Seamaster Professional GMT and Rolex Submariner Date, with Glory to Rome Black Box edition as the background. The Black Box version has long been discontinued and is sought after by collectors.

[attachmentid=10798444]

Rolex Daytona Two Tone (Daytona24 Prize model) and Omega Speedmaster Professional Sapphire Sandwich on a bunch of Dungeons & Dragons core books.

[attachmentid=10798445]
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 09:26 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 25 2021, 09:07 PM)
The watches are nice, but those manuals bro, awesomeness! 🤣 Haven't heard mention of any of these WoD stuff in decades! Did u manage to get ur hands on the whole thing? Changeling and wraith and what not?

Sorry going off topic on a different tangent 😅
I am trying to source for Vampires of the east next. The changeling and wraith are also on my hit list. Am trying to amass the whole set of WOD books.

I am also looking out for Robotech source books, especially Southern Cross.

Sadly, my kids nowadays use my Games Room to play Fortnight on switch. My eldest son made me promise to let him use my PS5 for Fortnight when it arrives. Lol.

But I am collecting too many things so sadly my fun money is split between watches, board games, video games, fountain pens, cars, perfumes, 1:1 hot toys masterpiece movie props, and audiophile stuff.

I used to collect vintage frags like Drakkar Noir and Polo Green from the 90s but now am moving towards Tom Ford stuff. They smell lovely and very unique. Just purchased 100ml of Beau Du Jour earlier this week even though my Oud Wood and many other TF fragrances are still unopened.

To stay on topic, I am sharing another picture of my Daytona on Hard court during a weekend family tennis session.

[attachmentid=10798454]

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 25 2021, 11:04 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 10:07 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 25 2021, 09:48 PM)
Those were the days. I started on WoD with their Rage tcg, then werewolf, VtM, VtDA...all long gone. Last piece I sold was a pristine Cyberpunk 2020 2 years ago. Ah well. New hobby la now with watches.
I used to play Jyhad tcg, then renamed VtES (Vampire the Eternal Struggle). I also went big into Magic The Gathering during that time. Have a huge collection valued at half a million USD by an overseas card house who wanted to buy out my whole collection. I declined as I am a bit sentimental.

Here’s a few pages from one of my 50+ Albums spanning from Beta all the way to 2017 sets. I stopped buying boxes in 2017 after my wife questioned my sanity in spending so much on pieces of cardboard..

Adding the obligatory picture of my Hammy to stay on topic...

[attachmentid=10798461]

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 25 2021, 10:08 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 25 2021, 10:36 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 25 2021, 10:22 PM)
Library of Alexandria as a placeholder I see?  biggrin.gif  Nonetheless, 8 out of 9 is still very, very impressive. Looking at this is really like a trip down memory lane. Good stuff bro  thumbup.gif
I have a Beta Black Lotus but it’s buried somewhere in one of my decks or albums. Am too lazy to dig it out. I only have one copy of the Black Lotus. I have almost a hundred card boxes filled with random cards too.

The other day I found 30 Lotus Petals and 10 wastelands from Tempest era in one of my card box. Those were uncommon and commons so they ended up in my card boxes. I also found 2 play sets of Force of Will in one of my card boxes. Lol.

As for the placeholder in that picture, it’s either the Library of Alexandria or Tabernacle at Pendre Vale as a placeholder. I chose the Library as it is older even though Tabernacle is trading at around USD$5000 and nobody is selling.

I have the complete sets of vintage and legacy stuff. Have complete play sets of modern staples too.

The card house that saw my collection had their eyes popped out of their sockets. They were ready to fly into Malaysia and make the deal happen. Lol.

It was pre-Covid so things might be different now.
friedricetheman
post Feb 26 2021, 08:33 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 26 2021, 05:12 AM)
I wonder what's gonna be your Diver's pair - a PloProf maybe? laugh.gif
Inner rotating bezel is the theme for the Diver so it’s temporary paired with the Legend Diver. I was going to pair the PloProf with it but I am waiting for them to refresh that model before buying as the current model is more than 5 years old.

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 26 2021, 07:49 AM)
I like the moon and Daytona pairing..lolx

Turns out one of my regret is buying Daytona because it’s so small..38.4
Yup. Daytona wear small, even though it’s officially 40mm.
friedricetheman
post Feb 26 2021, 02:05 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 26 2021, 08:50 AM)
the pm Daytona is slightly bigger right? at the bracelet area
I remember its not identical as compare to the SS ones
Steel, 18k gold with 18k gold bezel and Rolesor Daytona with 18k gold bezel have thinner lugs on the push button side and fatter lugs on the other side. It’s an asymmetrical look if you know how to spot one.

18k gold with ceramic bezel (oysterflex and leather strap models), and platinum with ceramic bezel have symmetrical lugs as both side are the same thickness.

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 26 2021, 01:44 PM)
Aren’t you that Paul Newman AAA guy? And u don’t know the size of Daytona?
Kasi chan la, macha. His Paul Newman pusher buttons came off and it was fixed out of warranty by RSC. Maybe RSC haven’t send it back to him yet so he can’t check.
friedricetheman
post Feb 27 2021, 10:18 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Feb 27 2021, 09:22 AM)
Looking at a 38mm Aqua Terra. Is it realistic to get a 30% discount on Omega from an AD if I were to buy right now with no prior business with them? I'm only assuming business is worse right now and they might be more open for bigger discounts
Buddy. Even when I was buying Omega by the literal dozen per year, I didn’t get more than 25% discount. 30% is their bottom line or cost price.

And now, with the boom in watch buying due to very low interest rates, watches are even more in demand. I won’t hold my breath on any discounts on watches these two years as they have been flying off the shelves and waiting lists for speedy snoopy models are longer than 10 rolls Royce Ghosts parked side by side.

You will be lucky to get 10% on Omega at the moment.
friedricetheman
post Feb 27 2021, 10:44 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2021, 10:33 AM)
I think last year before price hike still got some promo prices, I just checked my records, I was offered 35% on may last year for the aqua terra
Is it an the old model? Old models they tend to clear stock and usually with the yearly price increase, they can give slightly bigger discounts. But 35%? That’s bigger than what the grey dealers are giving. My dealer would rather sell directly to grey dealers than to sell at 35% discount.

August 2019, I was offered 15% discount on the AP 15450 but I don’t think I could get any discounts now. Times have changed and a lot of money is being thrown into the watch market by idiots with too much money sitting in FDs with interest rates below 1.5% and also people with I-sinar withdrawal cash burning a hole in their pockets.

Right now is the worst time to buy watches with the pandemic forcing the watch companies to slow down production and people are in a buying frenzy due to the low interest rates and needing a form of asset to hedge against inflation. Someone posted a long queue outside hour glass at the gardens mall not too long ago.

The pandemic only affects goods that the B40 and M40 buys. The luxury goods market looks to be unaffected as I have been seeing long lines outside Louis Vuitton every weekend. It makes perfect sense as the Top 20 percent of the world actually saw their wealth grow while the rest of the population saw their wealth decrease during the pandemic.

Also, you are a VVIP client. The guy we are replying to is a first time buyer.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 27 2021, 10:54 AM
friedricetheman
post Feb 27 2021, 12:39 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2021, 11:06 AM)
not too sure new or old model, but looks nice for sure
send me a bracelet model and a leather model

yes, times have changed now, I got a shock of my life yesterday when a grey told me the market price for OP 41 turquoise is ard 70k rm now hahahahaha
RM70k for an OP? Lol. Maybe I should start to seriously consider liquidating my Rolex collection.

Too much money floating around nowadays with I-sinar Max 60k withdrawal and low FD rates. Luckily I got my AP way back in August last year.

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 27 2021, 12:12 PM)
Last year valiram sales y can still get 35% disc for selected terra , planets or even pam. This year not possible anymore becoz they ain’t getting much stock...

Forget about better pricing on Rolex , PP or AP .. as what’s goes up never come down for these brands ..

As for rolex, now u wanna get any SS datejust also not possible or anymore...
No wonder my SS DJ36 have been rising in prices. I was wondering why the ugly stepchild of the Rolex oyster collection was trading above MSRP. Lol
friedricetheman
post Feb 27 2021, 02:53 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2021, 01:02 PM)
epf 5.2 , ok ler... no point to withdraw out isinar
I don’t know as I didn’t opt for any withdrawal. I don’t fully understand how does EPF or I-sinar work. I only heard you can withdraw up to 60k max. I don’t see any point in pulling the money out unless it can get higher returns outside. I have a comfortable amount saved up in my EPF as I have always opt to contribute the maximum amount allowed.

Money placed outside of EPF is only insured by PIDM for up to RM250k so I don’t see any point in pulling out any money from EPF. Banks in America even worse. They don’t even insure my money that I placed inside their banking system.

Anyways, back on topic. I got out of the Rolex game 4 years ago so I no longer am offered any hard to find pieces anymore. Most places just offer me trash nowadays and they expect me to beg them to sell better trash to me. Lol.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 27 2021, 03:02 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 27 2021, 07:01 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 27 2021, 03:29 PM)
Top up sikit dapat Pepsi.
Top up sikit dapat Patek Philippe 5196 in gold..

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1179sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:50 PM