The watch thread v13!

friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 02:40 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Apr 26 2021, 01:52 PM)
For me is kinda more to design. I saw other diver watch i.e. ORIS, they still keep to the minimum.

Anyway, mostly LOLEX at 38mm size... Got bigger type one ah?
Ya. Most probably you are right. It’s a design thing. The whole chunky but finely finished design cue. The anti-thesis of what a luxury watch should be.

I thought most Rolexes are at 40mm nowadays. If you want bigger, can try Sea Dweller or Sky dweller.
friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 02:56 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Apr 26 2021, 02:42 PM)
Hmmm.... Wait till I can really appreciate the crown design. Hahaha...
But overall is good.

Lolex edy 40mm ka? Maybe me no update as I saw few years back is around 38mm mostly. Sorry Noob-bai here.
Lol. I dunno but it was love at first sight for me. I needed a 300m water resistant haute horologi watch just so that I can dunk it into the pool with no repercussions.

It was a toss up between this and Aquanaut 5167. The Nautilus 5711 was already out of the picture due to the price and kena goreng kuat in the secondary market.

AP won in the end because it wears larger and also they gave me a time frame on when I could expect the watch to be delivered to me.

I believe most Rolex sports watches are 40mm and above except for the Explorer I.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Apr 26 2021, 02:56 PM
friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 03:26 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 26 2021, 03:11 PM)
Never seen anyone using big blocky Diver and revert back to small Daytona.. lolx just kidding ..

Btw, did u even unscrew and make use the inner bezel?
Bro. You should try wear the diver and then switch to the DJ36 the next day.. lol. Then you will realize the huge size difference between a 42mm and 36mm..

Ya. I use the bezel to time my parking mostly. Sometimes I use it to time how long I swam in the swimming pool. For gyms, I switch to my G-shock as I don’t want to bang my watches against the machines and free weights.
friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 03:44 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 26 2021, 03:39 PM)
I did try the diver when I visited the AP house (I think there was one for sale plus another smaller ladies size 15xxx) very nice watch....

That 11.59 double curve sapphire ! Gonna need a glass of wine to slowly admired...
The blue/yellow diver? It’s now “Display unit” only when I was there last week. No longer for sale. They even hang a sign on it in the display case which says “display only”. lol.

There was a ROO Vampire and also the Blue/Yellow diver, both in the display case with a tag next to it which says “Display Only”. They were not for sale.

The 3 new Divers were brought out from the safe for me to try. I believe the Sales Assistant mentioned that Divers are waiting list items now together with all the other steel oaks. You should have bought it when it was offered to you as the preowned market are selling all Steel Oaks at above MSRP, even for pieces older than 5 years.

They pretty much kept all the Oaks and let people buy the 11:59 only now.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Apr 26 2021, 04:38 PM
friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 05:44 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 26 2021, 05:15 PM)
One of the reason I keen on AP is due to its intergrated Bracelet. They promised will allocate for me, but it looks like they are changing their strategic , keeping all the RO to bundle with 11.59 purchase? I dunno..
Buddy. You do know that the Offshore also has the integrated bracelet as a separate purchase, right? You just need to add RM18k to the purchase price which still works out cheaper than buying grey.
friedricetheman
post Apr 26 2021, 06:06 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 26 2021, 05:47 PM)
I wasn’t aware about it..
If you can still get the diver, I suggest that you pull the trigger on it. The bracelet can be ordered separately later.

I am contemplating on ordering the bracelet but still undecided as I like the look of it on rubber.
friedricetheman
post Apr 28 2021, 02:20 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 28 2021, 02:05 PM)
Ming  cool2.gif
Top up sikit, and get Zenith or Jaeger LeCoultre..
friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 01:41 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(footie_ft @ Apr 28 2021, 11:31 PM)
Not sure why, don't like Zelos design. So I guess not my type. I own one from LIV.

Seems like most ppl here are into high-end watches. Lol...
What constitutes high end is different for different people.

I see a lot of discussion about Tissot PRX, Grand Seiko Snowflake and Omega Speedmasters on this thread. Not sure if they are considered high end as I always see them as upper tier luxury watches but not high end.

Rolexes are also upper tier luxury but they are hardly considered high end.

Actual high end stuff like FP Journe, Patek Philippe( Audemars Piguet and Vacheron Constantin owned by us on this thread is probably less than 10 people.
friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 06:58 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Audemars Service Center in Singapore is going to be permanently closed. Any idea on whether if they will start sending our watches to Hong Kong to be serviced from now on?

friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 01:24 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 30 2021, 09:55 AM)
are they shifting to another unit in SG or wat?

so many AP siows in sg ler
Not sure. But I hope they don’t shift everything to Hong Kong as the lead time for servicing would increase dramatically. I don’t want to end up like Patek customers where you wait for 7 months for servicing lol.

I am thinking of getting one of their new Offshore 43mm later down the line. I am a huge fan of their offshores. So colorful. Lol.
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 02:50 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 30 2021, 02:11 PM)
need so long ar? my fren send to SG one, waited I think 3 months, just in time before any 2020 hahaha

yea, their new offshore quite cool, the ones in blue n green right? I remember it was ard 35k sgd pre covid, fren had one, I play with it quite a bit, looks nice, dunno how SHE pull it off with that size  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Ok. I didn’t know it’s 3 months as I have yet to own any PPs. Been reading online that it’s 7 months. Maybe the Service Centre in Singapore is more efficient.

The new 43mm offshores were just launched. Your friend probably has the 44mm ones which were just discontinued and are now shooting up in prices. AP once discontinued, prices kena goreng because they make so few of each pieces compared to Rolex. Not to mention that the production period for each model is only a few years.

Take the diver for example. It was launched in 2012 as the black version without see through case back but with the engine turned tappisserie dial instead of stamped - ref 15703.

3 years later, it was discontinued for ref 15710 black dial and silver/black dial. Both comes with black strap.

3 years after that, the silver/black dial was discontinued and they came out with funky colors edition while still keeping the black dial. Funky colors are white/blue, blue/yellow, orange/blue, green/blue and yellow/blue.

1 year or so after that, they discontinued the funky colors and came out with funky colors II, this time with turquoise, khaki, green, purple and one other color that I can’t remember.

1 year later, all the 15710 line was discontinued and they came out with 15720 in green, grey and blue.

Compared to Rolex. The 16610 (5 digit) was launched in 1988 or so and was in production until 2010. That’s more than 20 years.

The 116610 (6 digit) fatboy Subs were introduced in 2010 and in production until 2020. Which was a good 10 year run.

The current 126610 is the current model.

That’s a massive amount of submariners floating around the market. I love my submariner but it’s not as rare as the market wants us to believe.
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 03:52 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 30 2021, 03:00 PM)
oooo , I didn't know the new ones are 43, I tot same size hahaha

ROO also shoot up, aiyoh..... its the pinnacle of ah beng in SG, must wear ROO

seriously the amount of subs is seriously a lot, there is nothing limited about it
I use to say dy, even waiters in SG wears sub
Sadly, the 42mm and 44mm line have been discontinued and replaced with the new 43mm offshores.

If you want 42mm, your only option now is the new Offshore Divers aka Diver III. Or pay grey market prices for the 42mm offshore chronographs, which is still quite okay as they are still priced below the Divers, for now.
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 05:03 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 30 2021, 04:28 PM)
That's a real bummer. AP sub-contracts service to a 3rd party watchmaker here in Sydney. I was secretly hoping I could do a dial swap in SG sometime in the future, being a full-fledged APSC.
I heard dial swaps are allowed for non-blue dials. You can go from white to black or grey to white but never to blue.

I also want to change my diver to turquoise dial at next service lol.. but not sure if they allow it as they would need to change the date wheel, dial, hands and crowns to match the color.
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 07:10 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 30 2021, 06:11 PM)
I was thinking at least 5-10 years down the track, when I send it in for a service. Blue hype might have died down by then, who knows.

Will check in again with you guys as a data point when the time comes laugh.gif
You need to be more careful with AP caliber 3120. Their service interval is shorter than Rolex due to the more delicate movement. The Caliber 3120 is quite a thin movement with a lot of very tiny and paper thin parts. I heard you can stretch it to 6 years but usually 3-5 years is the norm. I am sending mine in at 4 year intervals.

You don’t want parts to be worn out as they are expensive to replace so try to send it in before the oil dries up and o-ring seals break down.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Apr 30 2021, 07:10 PM
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 08:22 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 30 2021, 08:18 PM)
Actually la kan, I was wondering, are all RO movements manja or r there just a few in particular that need to keep an eye on?
The older movements are more delicate. Not sure about the new ones.

The caliber 2121 inside the 15202 is super duper delicate. If you adjust the date by advancing and reversing the hands past midnight for too long, you risk breaking something. Most 15202 are placed perpetually on the winder if not worn as to not adjust the date too many times.

3120 is also another delicate movement with a lot of stories of the date wheel getting stuck or jammed.

Not sure about the complicated movements though.
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 10:47 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 30 2021, 10:33 PM)
So PP and AP got no service centre in mal? Need to send to Sg/hk?

Is there any watchmaker in Mal can service these watches ?

Heard servicing an AP is around rm12k (assume no bezel replacement) right?
On average is around RM4k if just oiling and basic servicing. It gets expensive when you need to replace parts or case and bracelet too beaten up. Or if bezel needs replacing, you GG liao.

My friend serviced his offshore for SGD$1300 a few years ago at APSC. But it was just basic preventive servicing with no major damage to the movement or case.

I suggest you don’t bring an AP movement to any 3rd party watchmaker as the balance staff is extremely delicate and prone to bending. Once that is damaged and the movement is put back together and running, you are looking at the legendary RM12k servicing as the whole balance wheel and main plate needs replacing since the balance wheel will become lopsided and start to grind against the mainplate.

Also, most watchmakers don’t have the proper tools to regulate free sprung balance wheels with gyromax weights. You might end up with a watch that is running 20 minutes too slow and also the damaged balance staff problem stated above.

Prices can be found here.

https://www.audemarspiguet.com/com/en/servi.../pricelist.html

Yikes! Polishing is optional and costs extra..

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Apr 30 2021, 11:04 PM
friedricetheman
post May 1 2021, 09:03 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 30 2021, 11:14 PM)
Tq for the info. But if the balance staff (center staff) is that delicate (super-fragile), can safely said these AP won’t be able withstand much impact right?
Yup. There was an AP 15300 that was sent to a local guy in Amcorp Mall years ago that was damaged while servicing. The lady owner ended up sending it in to AP and was slapped with a RM12k service fee. That’s how I knew that the balance staff is very delicate.
friedricetheman
post May 2 2021, 10:05 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rainpearpirate @ May 1 2021, 09:49 PM)
btw, should i consider extending the warranty. my watch was purchased in 2020, and i got it in the grey market.
Grey market purchases no extended warranty. It’s only 2 years.

Extended warranty only apply for purchases through their official channels.

Can check their website for more details.
friedricetheman
post May 2 2021, 03:57 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ May 2 2021, 12:54 PM)
You should still be able to register it online.
To my knowledge, the warranty (2+3) is transferable.
That is the carrot they use to get you to register online so that they can track the watch's ownership - a good thing if you ask me.

The initial purchase needs to be made within the ad/boutique network - that might be what friedrice is referring to re: official channels v grey market?
Yes. You are correct. If he purchased it from a previous owner, the warranty is transferable. He just needs to register with his details. But if he purchased it from a grey market dealer, he will only be getting 2 years warranty once it is activated and he is shown as the first owner.
friedricetheman
post May 3 2021, 01:09 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 3 2021, 01:06 PM)
tat bad meh...

I quite like my IWC ler...
Cheap cheap good good
The best you can get is 2 out of 3 but never all 3 in one product.

1. Cheap
2. Good quality
3. Nice

IWC is 1 out of 3 (cheap), which makes it not very value for money.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.1276sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:23 PM