The watch thread v13!

friedricetheman
post Jan 26 2021, 10:41 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 26 2021, 08:31 AM)
Saw some smaller Speedmaster in japan, maybe 38/39mm , was told its meant for Japanese market only. Can it be serviced here in authorized service centre. Is the cost to service/repair is higher than normal speedmaster as its not a worldwide market model?
QUOTE(hazzery @ Jan 26 2021, 09:31 AM)
It's called as speedmaster reduced.. need to ask other sifu regards on the cost of services..
The Speedmaster reduced uses a dubois depraz chronograph module on top of a base movement. You can see that the pusher buttons are not on the same axis as the crown. It’s not a bad thing as AP ROO chronographs also use chronograph modules.

Performance wise, should be the same but the real difference is that during service, Swatch Group will usually just swap out the module for a new one as it is more cost effective for them to do so.

And unless you go for third party watchmakers to repair your watch, the cost is the same as other Omega chronographs as Swatch Group charges a flat fee for chronograph servicing.

If you do go for third party watchmakers, be rest assured that the total costs will probably exceed Swatch Group’s servicing fees due to the difficulty in servicing this movement.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Jan 26 2021, 10:50 AM
friedricetheman
post Jan 26 2021, 10:51 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jan 26 2021, 08:36 AM)
Thanks for the information. Gonna send my watch for warranty and I'm just a little paranoid that it'll be like all the horror stories of RSC
Hope you don’t mind me asking but what horror stories have you heard about RSC?
friedricetheman
post Jan 26 2021, 01:13 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2021, 11:21 AM)
boss , don't simply say

itu watches not mine, ambik gambar je

I want my PEPSIIIIIIIIIIII
So you have been flexing on the MWF WRUW threads with pictures that are not your own?? It’s What Are You Wearing (WRUW) thread, ya know...

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 26 2021, 12:13 PM)
Ah, thanks for the info. In laymen terms, during service, SG will swap to the normal speedmaster module? But as the size is diff, it doesn't make a different?
Contemplating getting it if ever the border opens  sweat.gif
No. They will replace like for like so they will disassemble the base movement and service it while the top chronograph module will be replace with a same one. Look at it like a cake with an icing. The base movement is the cake base and the chronograph module is the icing. It’s basically two movements attached to each other in Speedmaster Reduced. It’s also an automatic.

The full size caliber 1861 found on the Moonwatch does not fit in the Speedmaster reduced case.

The Speedmaster movement (1861 & 1863) are not modules. They are full fledge movements that were build from ground up to accommodate the chronograph function.

The Speedmaster Reduced (3220) however features a base ETA 2890-A2 automatic movement with a DD2020 chronograph module attached to it. The DD2020 piggybacks on the top of the ETA movement. And because of this, it’s usually easier to just replace the DD2020 module at each service instead of taking two separate movements pieces apart and putting them both back together.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Jan 26 2021, 01:17 PM
friedricetheman
post Jan 26 2021, 04:50 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jan 26 2021, 01:35 PM)
mainly about receiving the watch back in a worse condition ie seeing scratches on places that previously were clean or the hour hands were misaligned
I personally have not encountered this in our local RSC. They have been phenomenal in getting my watches back to factory specs.

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 26 2021, 02:18 PM)
ah thats a very clear explanation.
New to these auto watch which i always find so fascinating not to mention complicated sweat.gif
I would suggest you try out the Speedmaster Reduced on your wrist first before purchasing as it is too small for me.

Nowadays I prefer simple time and date movements. The only two chronographs that I kept in my collection are the Daytona and Speedmaster Professional.
friedricetheman
post Jan 26 2021, 04:52 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2021, 03:09 PM)
I was never on MWF  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
So it’s alright then that I call that Paul Newman dial Daytona you showed on the forums a AAA fake... Since it’s not your watch, I guess it’s fair game??
friedricetheman
post Jan 27 2021, 12:04 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jan 27 2021, 02:23 AM)
yea the feedbacks I get were mostly overseas feedback and it's pretty notorious that they'd even suggest not sending it to RSC for a service. might be a different experience here, i've yet to send a watch for service as I'm still pretty new to the hobby  biggrin.gif
Ok. I believe that it depends which RSC they are referring to also. I heard the one in Houston is one of the best while the New York place is very strict.

Malaysia RSC has been very good so far. I have been taking my watches to service there for more than a decade.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 27 2021, 09:40 AM)
not all right, because thats an AAAAA level fake hahahah

I think you overpaid for the fake lah. You told me it costs you over 100k..

Even if AAAAA fake, should only cost no more than a few thousand ringgit.
friedricetheman
post Jan 29 2021, 03:46 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 28 2021, 01:16 PM)
the infamous triple date tongue.gif
the problem with omega's measurements is they always include the crown guard...
thats why the omega FOIS even tho being at 39.7mm...but due to lack of crown guard doesnt any different from the 42mm pro...
Omega is currently enjoying a spillover effect from the crazy prices of trinity and Rolex watches.

I am seeing a lot of people moving into Omega watches with the Ed White Speedmaster being as rare as a Steel Daytona and sold more than double above MSRP in the grey market.

This definitely does not bold well for new collectors who are just dipping their toes in building up a collection.
friedricetheman
post Jan 30 2021, 10:34 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 30 2021, 06:28 PM)
Yep, the fact is Omega can do their usual new speedy LE and still sells them out says a lot about the fanbois around.

I asked about the new Snoopy, the boutique told me they don't expect to get any in the near future.
Better to get the Ed White Speedmaster reissue than the Snoopy. The Ed White is equipped with a 321 movement. Imagine getting the original Moonwatch movement but in a modern current model.

If I was still collecting watches, I would buy the reissue 321 in steel in a heartbeat.
friedricetheman
post Feb 1 2021, 01:09 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2021, 09:00 AM)
itu reissue also not cheap ler...
but dang I like tat bracelet
It’s heirloom quality, bruh.

And still cheaper than a Daytona, even in the grey market, it is slightly cheaper than a grey market Daytona..

QUOTE(swanlover @ Feb 1 2021, 11:02 AM)
Ed white is like the AMG , one man one watch philosophy ...hence the price..
Not sure about that. I have a M3 which should be an AMG equivalent but still own and drive 8 other cars..
friedricetheman
post Feb 1 2021, 08:50 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 1 2021, 01:09 PM)
Not a fan of the sapphire nor the caseback. My base workhorse speedy covers most of the aspect I do like about a speedy.

The snoopy, if ever I get a chance, will be something more fun to complement it. Ed white adds nothing to this for me.
Ed White is for purist who want to own the actual movement that was used during that moon walk by Buzz Aldrin.

And the 321 is also a column wheel driven movement compared to the 1861/1863 or 3861/3863 which are basically cam/lever. Column wheel chronograph start/stop is more smooth and less force needed to press the buttons.

There is a world of difference between a column wheel/vertical clutch chronograph and a cam/lever chronograph. I own both types of chronograph and the column wheel is much more tactile and luxurious to operate.

For me, if I ever get another watch, I would trade in my Sapphire Sandwich plus cash for an Ed White in a heartbeat.
friedricetheman
post Feb 5 2021, 11:12 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Happy Friday. Hope everyone is looking forward to the weekends. I am planning to do major spring cleaning on my home this weekend.

Just want to share some close up shot of the blue colored lume filled hour markers and hands. The minute markers and numbers on the inner rotating bezel are also made of luminous paint.

I find this to be highly unusual as most lume plots in modern watches are in a lighter color. Usually white or green. That’s one of the main reasons why I chose the white/blue configuration over the Burnt Orange/Blue, yellow/blue, green or any of the other color combinations available in Diver SE.

[attachmentid=10779057]

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 5 2021, 11:19 AM
friedricetheman
post Feb 7 2021, 06:34 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(TomYummy @ Feb 7 2021, 03:34 PM)
New piece in my humble collection.

The funny story is, i liked this piece, but i actually wanted to pick up another one (a more sporty model), but since i am a regular customer, i was gently offered a nice discount, and it turned out that the number on the case back (out of 2500, this piece is limited edition) has my lucky number in it - i was like why not, the stars aligned together and it's meant to be this way. drool.gif

That’s a beautiful open worked piece. I love how you can see the balance wheel from the dial side. The little touches like how there are tiny slits around the dial to showcase the movement that sits beneath the dial. The small seconds at 6 is also very nicely done.

This watch looks very classy and unusual looking for a diver style watch.
friedricetheman
post Feb 9 2021, 03:39 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Feb 8 2021, 10:05 AM)
looks great, usually blue and white combo will work out. Saw my boss piece in silver, nice but the markers silver as well, making it not as easy to eyes, if you know what i meant biggrin.gif
The shape of AP grew in me, previously thought its odd but now seems great looking though still not as keen on PP nautilus shape though tongue.gif
The standard colors for the Steel Diver are Black with black strap and Silver with black strap. The silver one is nice also but looks better on bracelet. It is less impressive on rubber strap.

The rest of the color combinations are Boutique only colors. Among them, the white/blue and green/white are the most wearable color combinations. The turquoise/white is also very nice and that’s what John Mayer bought for his collection.
friedricetheman
post Feb 10 2021, 01:06 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ Feb 10 2021, 12:52 PM)

Newly arrived
Beautiful. I love how clean the dial is.

How’s the quick change system like? I heard it’s a breeze to change straps without the need for any tools.

Also, why your date font looks so small and skinny. It looks too small for the date window.

Kelvw Why does Vacheron do skinny date fonts that is too small for the date window? It puts me off VC watches when I see small date fonts. Maybe you can let the VC representative know that they should have thicker date font. Show them the picture above and tell them to fatten up the date font please..

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 10 2021, 01:37 PM
friedricetheman
post Feb 10 2021, 04:20 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ Feb 10 2021, 04:00 PM)
yes, the date window is slightly shorter, if it follows AP RO date window height, it will have same date font size as RO.
Ya. The dial is nice. I heard it is diamond polished and catches the light beautifully. But the date window could have been implemented better. Especially for a watch in its price range.

There are two things I don’t like about the date window. One. The date window is white regardless of dial color. Two. The date font is too thin and small. It doesn’t fill up the whole window and looks really out of proportion.

Otherwise, if they managed to fix these two issues in their next Gen offering, I really would like to add one to my collection.
friedricetheman
post Feb 12 2021, 07:55 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Feb 12 2021, 02:38 AM)
The quick change system is super easy as it uses a latch. No tools are needed but if you need different coloured straps, then you need to get VC to order one in for you.

I have not really scrutinised the date fonts  hmm.gif I probably would if I was looking to get an Overseas but it's a pass for me. It wears too big on my small wrist. I'm more into dress watches rather than sports, I think I've grown a bit tired of chunky sports watches.
I may be the odd one out, but I like my watches to be a bit inconspicuous. Being in HK has really turn me off Rolex  sweat.gif everywhere I turn, someone is bound to be wearing one. Then came the whole AD games has put a nail in the coffin for me.

sorry gone off topic lol. Talking about rolex winds me up
It’s not only you who is turned off by Rolex watches. I also find that Rolex ADs nowadays play a lot of mind games. Even genuine collectors like myself who have been collecting for decades are slowly distancing ourselves from Rolex.

I am more into sports watches as dress watches don’t usually look good on me. Also, I prefer something more robust and with a higher WR for a piece of mind.

I believe the reason for expensive watches being so common in HK is because of the super high real estate prices. Hence, the only big ticket item that most HK people can afford are watches.
friedricetheman
post Feb 12 2021, 10:58 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

incubus_skj Its the New Year and another opportunity lai liao. I think it’s time you awe us again with your kick ass watch collection.

You managed to get your Day-Date to compliment your solid gold Rootbeer already or not?

Come and share your state of the collection as of today please...

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 12 2021, 11:16 AM
friedricetheman
post Feb 18 2021, 10:15 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 16 2021, 10:54 AM)
Thanks biggrin.gif

Absolutely next level stuff when taken outdoors.
I love it. Welcome to the club.

Grey is a nice color. I would have gotten grey over blue also. How much is it now after quadruple price increases in the past 12 months? Did you get it before or after the last month price increase?

rx330 just get the diver, bro. You are also very anal about water resistance like me. 50m WR is not going to be swim worthy.
friedricetheman
post Feb 19 2021, 10:50 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 19 2021, 05:05 AM)
cheers.gif

I got it early last year actually when they were still below 80k, but it has been stuck in KL since due to travel restrictions.
Good timing. You managed to grab one before they became too hard to find.

I actually looked at the grey dial 15500 and also ROO Elephant before deciding on a blue/white diver. The diver is slimmer than the elephant and has better water resistance than the 15500.

The downside to the Diver is that the steel bracelet is sold separately and costs over RM17k.

Anyways, I heard from people on the forums that steel oaks and offshores, especially the 3 hand ones are no longer in stock at boutiques. So you managed to grab one before the disgruntled Rolex buyers bum rushed AP.

But if you want a Code 11:59, I believe that there are some still available..
friedricetheman
post Feb 19 2021, 12:10 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Feb 19 2021, 11:51 AM)
Do you think they may have some more in the AD?
I heard multiple reports that all that’s left on the shelves are Code 11:59 and some lady Royal Oaks. You are a few months too late.

The Rolex crowd are now banging on AP door since they can’t get any Rolexes and grey prices of Hulks and Pepsi’s are touching entry level AP prices..

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1179sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:51 PM