The watch thread v13!
Everdying
Dec 3 2016, 10:45 AM
Two is One and One is None.
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 3 2016, 10:21 AM) patryn33In Malaysia? I hate to tell you this but there are no Authorized Third Party Service Center for Rolex in Malaysia. No one has a parts account here except for RSC themselves. If your watchmaker told you he is an Authorised Rolex guy, he is telling fibs. Better bring your Rolex to RSC to assess whether if he turned your Rolex into a frankenwatch. hes not in malaysia.
friedricetheman
Dec 3 2016, 02:10 PM
Ah ok. I see.
Kookie10
Dec 5 2016, 05:24 PM

Well for a budget of about 5-6k, what automatic watch would you guys recommend? Currently wearing a Tissot Quartz watch and has a SKX007 already.
friedricetheman
Dec 5 2016, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 05:24 PM) Well for a budget of about 5-6k, what automatic watch would you guys recommend? Currently wearing a Tissot Quartz watch and has a SKX007 already. Ball watch. Or Tissot Solar Touch and pocket the change. Alternatively, you can also look into preowned Tag Heuer Aquaracer.
Naka7a
Dec 5 2016, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 05:24 PM) Well for a budget of about 5-6k, what automatic watch would you guys recommend? Currently wearing a Tissot Quartz watch and has a SKX007 already. Sinn 556 =) Or oris Divers 65. But this budget is not here nor there if you know what I mean..
teongpeng
Dec 5 2016, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 05:24 PM) Well for a budget of about 5-6k, what automatic watch would you guys recommend? Currently wearing a Tissot Quartz watch and has a SKX007 already. Sounds like an Oris kinda budget. They have some nice pilot watches to choose from.
SUSfuzzy
Dec 5 2016, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Dec 5 2016, 07:54 PM) Sinn 556 =) Or oris Divers 65. But this budget is not here nor there if you know what I mean.. Or the 3 SARBs
Kookie10
Dec 5 2016, 08:33 PM

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 5 2016, 07:31 PM) Ball watch. Or Tissot Solar Touch and pocket the change. Alternatively, you can also look into preowned Tag Heuer Aquaracer. QUOTE(Naka7a @ Dec 5 2016, 07:54 PM) Sinn 556 =) Or oris Divers 65. But this budget is not here nor there if you know what I mean.. QUOTE(teongpeng @ Dec 5 2016, 08:18 PM) Sounds like an Oris kinda budget. They have some nice pilot watches to choose from. Well I've actually considered to continue saving to increase my budget to a higher like maybe 10k for better options. But then as my salary isn't really that high, wearing a 10k+ watch would be too much i guess? What would sifus suggest?
doremon
Dec 5 2016, 08:44 PM
Hi guys. Just to check. Tag heuer AQUARACER Calibre 16 Automatic Chronograph C Ronaldo worth getting ? Still thinking to get it or not huhuhu. Any inputs ?
teongpeng
Dec 5 2016, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 08:33 PM) Well I've actually considered to continue saving to increase my budget to a higher like maybe 10k for better options. But then as my salary isn't really that high, wearing a 10k+ watch would be too much i guess? What would sifus suggest? I say go for it. Really nobody will judge u at all. Especially those who dont know anything about watches...they won't know the cost of your watch. On the other hand ppl who know about watches wont bother with your salary and status. Believe i felt the same way as you just a year ago....when the most expensive watch i had was an oris...RM2999. I also felt paiseh to wear watches above 10k. But now i have watches above that price..and frankly nobody give a shit wan la. Its all for syok sendiri only. Your watch need not reflect your current status, but instead, use it to inspire you to a higher place. Think about it. 10k for a luxury item that you r proud of and will last you a very long time isnt much at all. Consider how much did u pay for your car? See what im saying? That being said, you can consider buying pre own or vintage to stretch your money. This post has been edited by teongpeng: Dec 5 2016, 08:46 PM
SUSfuzzy
Dec 5 2016, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 08:33 PM) Well I've actually considered to continue saving to increase my budget to a higher like maybe 10k for better options. But then as my salary isn't really that high, wearing a 10k+ watch would be too much i guess? What would sifus suggest? They are not saying you should spend more, just a general reflection of how brands price their watches. I was the only employee that ever commented on my CEO's reverso so imagine how many people sees it and doesn't give a shit / clueless about it.
kiasunkiasi
Dec 5 2016, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 08:33 PM) Well I've actually considered to continue saving to increase my budget to a higher like maybe 10k for better options. But then as my salary isn't really that high, wearing a 10k+ watch would be too much i guess? What would sifus suggest? get a GS, almost nobody will notice you are wearing a five digit watch
shauno
Dec 6 2016, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Dec 5 2016, 08:33 PM) Well I've actually considered to continue saving to increase my budget to a higher like maybe 10k for better options. But then as my salary isn't really that high, wearing a 10k+ watch would be too much i guess? What would sifus suggest? Don't worry about it. Almost nobody will notice what's on your wrist. Unless its something super bling.
friedricetheman
Dec 6 2016, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Dec 5 2016, 08:45 PM) I say go for it. Really nobody will judge u at all. Especially those who dont know anything about watches...they won't know the cost of your watch. But my Daytona have gotten a lot of stares in public woh..
kenji1903
Dec 6 2016, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 6 2016, 02:16 PM) But my Daytona have gotten a lot of stares in public woh.. cos yours is 2 tone... i also didn't noticed one of the parent in my boy's class wearing black daytona until i sat next to him...
friedricetheman
Dec 6 2016, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Dec 6 2016, 02:18 PM) cos yours is 2 tone... i also didn't noticed one of the parent in my boy's class wearing black daytona until i sat next to him... Black Daytona. Wah. What school is that? Is it a private school? International school?
kenji1903
Dec 6 2016, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 6 2016, 02:21 PM) Black Daytona. Wah. What school is that? Is it a private school? International school? sorry, black face, not the ceramic bezel  preschool, LOL... there are other nice watches also but that parent no longer there
friedricetheman
Dec 6 2016, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Dec 6 2016, 02:25 PM) sorry, black face, not the ceramic bezel  preschool, LOL... there are other nice watches also but that parent no longer there Be careful of nice watches on parents. A lot of times, if you look at them carefully, they turn out to be fakes I saw an "AP ROO" during my son's report card day last month, upon close inspections, the Sub dials are equally spaced. Real ones have unevenly spaced Sub dials due to the chronograph module used. I also saw an Omega "planet ocean" on one of the parents in my son's class. Looks good from afar but once I sat next to him, I saw that the dial looks like junk and the date wheel is white when the dial and bezel are black. This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Dec 6 2016, 02:32 PM
kenji1903
Dec 6 2016, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 6 2016, 02:31 PM) Be careful of nice watches on parents. A lot of times, if you look at them carefully, they turn out to be fakes I saw an "AP ROO" during my son's report card day last month, upon close inspections, the Sub dials are equally spaced. Real ones have unevenly spaced Sub dials due to the chronograph module used. I also saw an Omega "planet ocean" on one of the parents in my son's class. Looks good from afar but once I sat next to him, I saw that the dial looks like junk and the date wheel is white when the dial and bezel are black. hard to say also la, cos that couple rotate their watches... so far i think i've seen a blue 2 tone Sub, AP diver, AP ROO elephant and a don't know what Big Bang... didn't really analyze that detail, scare later they think i want to rob them
friedricetheman
Dec 6 2016, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Dec 6 2016, 02:42 PM) hard to say also la, cos that couple rotate their watches... so far i think i've seen a blue 2 tone Sub, AP diver, AP ROO elephant and a don't know what Big Bang... didn't really analyze that detail, scare later they think i want to rob them  Two tone watches are an easy tell. Look for scratches on the gold portion, if the underneath metal is not gold then it is a fake as Rolex Two Tone only use solid 18k gold on their gold parts. There should be scratches on the bracelet. Look for deeper scratches and see whether if the underneath metal is the same color as the top metal.