13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The watch thread v13!

friedricetheman
post Oct 5 2016, 12:46 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Sep 29 2016, 12:04 PM)
Ya... I generally prefer no date as well...
I also like no date as well..

friedricetheman
post Oct 6 2016, 09:27 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Oct 6 2016, 08:38 PM)

Anyone here owns this beauty?  drool.gif 
I droll every time I see this  drool.gif

Retail is around USD17-18k.

Can't afford it now. But hopefully able to before 40  flex.gif
Not a fan of DLC watches nor Hublot. But if you like it, you should get it.

Just put some money aside daily instead of spending on Starbucks/eating out/new clothes. Pretty soon you will have enough to buy that Hublot.
friedricetheman
post Oct 6 2016, 11:00 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Oct 6 2016, 09:33 PM)
It should be around RM80k here in Malaysia. Still a very far way to get it though  sad.gif
80k is achievable in a couple of years.

I always have a Grail fund where I will place at minimum RM1,000-2,000 per month in it. That's how I managed to afford my Daytona and Sub C. Setting aside spare cash each month by not going to expensive places or indulge in expensive vices like smoking.
friedricetheman
post Oct 7 2016, 11:05 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

That is a very good condition Rolex GMT. Looks stunning!

friedricetheman
post Oct 7 2016, 08:55 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Oct 7 2016, 06:44 PM)
Dude, not everyone is making the big bucks like you. Some people barely make 50k a year and we're talking professional lines.

I do agree that saving up is a must but more as a safety net for rainy days. Anything left over can go to the watch/hobby fund.
Chill bro. I am not making big bucks either but I do tend to cut out a lot of entertainment and vices. I even downgraded to a cheaper car so my monthly installments are lower.
friedricetheman
post Oct 8 2016, 04:02 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Oct 8 2016, 11:21 AM)
Btw, is this some sort of trend?
Looks like the owner washed it in toilet water..
friedricetheman
post Oct 12 2016, 09:41 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Oct 10 2016, 08:42 AM)
Its a better move if the car was on lease and paying cash for his watches right-out.
Yes. You are right. The car was on a 7 year lease so it was very taxing on the wallet. Switched to a much cheaper car and now I saved a lot of money.

A car is to get a person from point A to point B. How many times while on the road do you notice the driver of a nice car? You can't even see who is driving it as we usually tint our cars..

No point lah to continue paying a buttload of money for installments and also road tax on a luxury car when you can be perfectly happy with a cheap but reliable car.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 12 2016, 09:46 AM
friedricetheman
post Oct 12 2016, 11:25 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 12 2016, 10:30 AM)
don't insult g-shock DW by putting them in the same sentence laugh.gif

anyway, just came back from nightmare holiday... snapshot of the most expensive lolex displayed in Crown Melbourne sweat.gif

and some explorers and YMs

Nice. But where are pictures of the Sub C? I found out that there is an acute shortage of Sub C Date the last time I was in Melbourne. Not sure if there is still a shortage now.
friedricetheman
post Oct 12 2016, 11:02 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 12 2016, 05:44 PM)
plenty of differences.
the classic 3570 is still the one to go for as it has basically remained unchanged since the early 60s.
There is always the option of the 3573. All the look of the 3570 but with added Sapphire glass front and back with a better decorated movement and non Delrin brake.
friedricetheman
post Oct 13 2016, 09:17 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 13 2016, 11:16 AM)
u can actually buy the presentation box with accessories for rm5k, which is also the difference in retail price between 3570 and its replacement.
so basically u are being  forced to buy the box tongue.gif
I hope you don't mind me asking but where can I buy the box + accessories for the 3573? My hands itchy for the NATO strap that came in the box..
friedricetheman
post Oct 14 2016, 12:21 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Imsilly @ Oct 14 2016, 07:24 AM)
Just purchased a rubber b strap today and not digging it at all sad.gif
Everest strap arriving next week but think I will just sell it off.
Don't like how the black rubber strap is more like charcoal than black.

It looks good though. I like the seamless integration of the rubberb strap and the watch lugs. A lot of aftermarket rubber straps expose the lugs.
friedricetheman
post Nov 23 2016, 09:08 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 22 2016, 11:19 PM)
Could be losing Omega soon as  well by the looks of things..
And they also lost half of their long serving staff recently.

I heard from them that Omega is slowly removing ADs in KL as they are going the boutique route..
friedricetheman
post Nov 23 2016, 09:15 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 18 2016, 11:33 PM)
Ball jumps belatedly into the Bronzo market...looking like a Zenith. 

limited to 3000 pcs... nice price of usd1275...
too bad it uses eta2836.
It's too little too late for Ball. They didn't managed to capitalize on their strong market presence a few years ago and now they are flopping in a lot of countries.

They should shore up their resale value by not releasing refresher models every 6 months. But instead they went greedy and went for quantity over quality with a lot of very badly designed watches (date window too small etc.).

It's like they can't decide whether if they want to be sports oriented (Oris) or are they more dressy (Longines). This lack of identity really killed their brand among serious collectors.
friedricetheman
post Nov 23 2016, 11:31 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(tjwn @ Nov 23 2016, 09:47 PM)
I dont think serious collector would look at ball at the first place....
Not now. But back in the early 2006-2009, Ball was a microbrand destined to be something big. Kinda like Nomos of its time.
friedricetheman
post Nov 24 2016, 10:20 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(etg_property @ Nov 24 2016, 09:24 PM)
guys my friend intended to sell me his panerai watch, but without cert and box, can i get a new cert and box from panerai?
Uhh.. yeah you can get a new box, additional rubber/leather strap and strap changing tool. But it will cost several thousand ringgit for a set of those. The certificate however may not be possible for Richmond to sell you a new one.

Also, PAM has a lot of 1:1 fakes out there. Make sure that you really trust your friend before buying it from him.
friedricetheman
post Nov 25 2016, 05:09 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Hey guys. Should I get an AP ROO Volcano or Bumblebee? I feel like adding some color to my collection.

Will these watches age well? Spending around 100k, so just want to make sure that these watches will age well..
friedricetheman
post Nov 25 2016, 06:43 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Nov 25 2016, 06:38 PM)
Why not the safari? I think between this 3 the Safari would age the best due to its classic appearance. Volcano and Bumblebee with its funky colours might not suite others in the future
Apple_DarreN

Safari is a bit bland. I would like some colour to my collection. Most of the stuff in my collection are black and grey. Thought it would be nice to have a funky yellow or orange.

But it will still be awhile before I pull the trigger as I only managed to save up 50k so far..
friedricetheman
post Nov 26 2016, 12:37 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Nov 26 2016, 01:10 AM)
I wasn't even aware of this and assumed that it was something new.
On the other hand, any Patek Philippe fans here ?

Tried out the Calatrava 5119 and instantly fell in love with it though not to forget it comes with a hefty price tag sweat.gif
shankar_dass93

PP5119 a bit too delicate for my taste. 30m water resistance. Leather strap. Non hacking seconds.

I was looking at it before I pulled the trigger on a brand new Daytona 116503 with the 2016 redesigned Bezel. Felt that the Daytona with its 100m water resistance and steel/Gold bracelet is more suitable for Malaysian weather than the 5119.

Patek's thin delicate Leather strap will not survive more than 6 months in our hot and humid climate.

Picture of my Daytona.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Nov 26 2016, 12:42 PM
friedricetheman
post Nov 26 2016, 05:25 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Nov 26 2016, 04:10 PM)
That's definitely a good looking Daytona. Mind asking how much did you buy it for ? RM73K+ ?
shankar_dass93

Paid retail of RM61,990. Brand new release no discount though. I bought it before the ringgit plunge even further. The prices may have increased since then.
friedricetheman
post Nov 27 2016, 02:11 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Double post.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Nov 27 2016, 02:14 PM

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1333sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:51 AM