13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The watch thread v13!

friedricetheman
post Sep 15 2020, 11:49 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 15 2020, 09:50 PM)
Ya mang, especially for them vintage pieces, its like literally paying to get the watch devalued. Whatever happened to the notion of historically sympathetic servicing? Unnecessary or unrequested stuff added to the work order - like sapphire crystal swaps, hand changes, polishing when strictly told not to as u said.

I suppose that's the key issue la kan, finding somebody u can trust who not only knows what they're doing, but also not to rip you off.

More and more I'm feeling that the rolex ownership experience isnt all that already la. AD staff aren't exactly welcoming (i know some of u have established great relationships with them, good on u) getting the watch is a pain, maintaining can end up being a crapshoot, the iconic models attracting undue attention from unsavory parties, knockoffs being rampant. About the only good thing is one doesn't have to worry much about resale value. However, the resale exercise itself is a whole other story. Haihhhh.....
All my Rolexes have only been serviced by RSC. I have a 5 digit Datejust with the open 6 and 9 date wheel that I have been servicing at RSC since new. Last service, they advise me to get the sapphire crystal replaced as it was a bit chipped. I declined and they were fine with it. I also told them not to polish, and they obliged.

I believe if your watch have been serviced only at RSC from the beginning, they will be very accommodating and respect your instructions like no polishing or no replacement of original crystal.

My Datejust is a bit weird as it features an open 6 and 9 date wheel on a caliber 3135 movement in a watch with sapphire crystal that is dated to around 2002. Open 6 and 9 date wheels are mostly found on older 3035 movements with plexiglass.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Sep 16 2020, 12:12 AM
friedricetheman
post Sep 16 2020, 03:59 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 16 2020, 11:57 AM)
actually in terms of crystal etc...for most places if they feel it will affect water resistance etc...they will replace it...else they wont offer a warranty on the repair work done.
Yup. RSC told me that the Crystal is chipped but it doesn’t affect the water resistance so I opt not to replace it. They were fine with it and provided me with a 2 year warranty.
friedricetheman
post Sep 17 2020, 11:26 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 17 2020, 06:02 PM)
you mean something like these? as I've just started reaading up about speedmasters only lol... don't know about all the limited editions they have  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

The best is still the classic Moonwatch. Handwound, hesalite crystal and flight certified for space missions. A more newbie friendly alternative would be the sapphire sandwich version which has a sapphire crystal and a see through Caseback. Mine is the sapphire sandwich version as it is easier to maintain.
friedricetheman
post Sep 18 2020, 07:15 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 18 2020, 01:38 PM)
Hnnngghh Ultraman one cantik. But it Sold out damn fast online or something one right
Yes I noticed! Hahaha
If you don’t want to deal with the micro scratches on plastic crystals found on the original Moonwatch, nothing beats the sapphire sandwich version. It still looks like a Moonwatch but with added durability of a sapphire glass and also a bonus display caseback to view the Lemania movement.
friedricetheman
post Sep 22 2020, 12:26 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 21 2020, 11:51 PM)
Dunno is this the correct thread to ask, i just bought a rolex two tone sub. This is my first rolex watch and I wan to take care of it.
Can I wash it everyday? I did not use soap, but after that I did not wipe it , just put it aside to let it dry itself overnight, is it the correct way?
Being an owner of a Two Tone myself, I can say that the gold is a scratch magnet due to it being softer than steel. Be careful not to wipe it with a dry cloth but instead pat it dry. Wiping will scratch the center links and bezel which are made of Gold.
friedricetheman
post Sep 22 2020, 01:02 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 22 2020, 12:41 AM)
Gone case this time. No wonder i see some scratch line there, i thought is my eye blur, was thinking how possible got scratch line. Fml
It’s okay. Wear the scratches with pride. My Daytona is covered in swirls and scratches but the gold still glimmers and catches the light beautifully.

No worries as a heavily scratched up gold watch will still glitter in the light. That’s how people usually can tell a fake. A fake gold Rolex would soon lose its shine due to the plating wearing off.
friedricetheman
post Sep 22 2020, 02:45 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 22 2020, 10:58 AM)
Yes I heard before but some said the stickiness will harm the metal?
The stickers cost around RM700 and above. Very expensive for just stickers. Also I heard they are very difficult to apply correctly.
friedricetheman
post Sep 23 2020, 05:59 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Still in my honeymoon stage with this latest acquisition..

[attachmentid=10594541]
friedricetheman
post Sep 24 2020, 10:09 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 24 2020, 09:08 AM)
curious question, your bangle won't scratch your watch crown / case?

last time i pakai bangle together with my watch, kena calar until the red color also came out  cry.gif
Dunno woh. I didn’t check my watches for any sign of damage yet. Now that you mentioned it, I am very worried..
friedricetheman
post Sep 24 2020, 10:21 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 24 2020, 10:08 AM)
Think  beginning to like the shape of AP edi but the price out of range  sweat.gif
You should check out Gerald Genta other designs like old gen IWC Ingenieur if you like the octagon shape but without the sticker shock.

Sorry. It’s not octagon. I was wrong. But IWC Ingenieur is still a very nice design by Gerald Genta.

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 24 2020, 10:12 AM)
but then again yours are round crystals prolly won't scratch as bad as my metal one lol
I hope so. I didn’t wear my Diver today so I can’t check it. Will do so when I get home tonight. I am starting to worry now.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Sep 24 2020, 10:24 AM
friedricetheman
post Sep 25 2020, 12:42 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 24 2020, 12:28 PM)
GG / Bvlgari Octa quite octagon-shaped ma.

ah just nice i also got one to show oso

Some how I thought that the Gerald Genta watch in your picture was an IWC Ingenieur. I must be getting old.

Anyways, my AP is unscathed. Lesson learned. I won’t be wearing my bracelets on the same wrist as my watch again. Not even my gold bracelets..
friedricetheman
post Sep 25 2020, 01:16 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Sep 25 2020, 12:46 PM)
Cukur no scratch...

Between my dad and I, until now we still don't have any IWC watches in our collection yet. No models feel outstanding
IWC sits on a very uncomfortable position as they are part of the Richmond group which also manages JLC, Panerai and Vacheron Constantin. IWC sits above Panerai but below JLC and way below VC in the conglomerate’s hierarchy. As such, their finishing and also pricing structure reflects their branding position.

IWC is also extremely overpriced for what you are getting. I would rather buy an Ulysse Nardin Marine Chronometer than any of IWC’s current offerings. Their only interesting design is the GG Ingenieur but the latest models no longer have any Gerald Genta design elements or DNA in it.
friedricetheman
post Sep 25 2020, 07:16 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 25 2020, 05:29 PM)
IWC's just a way for you to overpay for a pilot watch.
Lol. I thought I was the only one who thought IWC is overpriced.

Even Panerai is overpriced for what you get.
friedricetheman
post Sep 28 2020, 01:42 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 26 2020, 09:19 AM)
but nobody complain premium Rolex over price hahahah
That’s because Lolex is fully in-house even for entry level cheap ass models while IWC lower range are ETA based movements but they charge Rolex prices.
friedricetheman
post Sep 28 2020, 03:49 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Today, I am wearing an internal turning bezel diving watch from one of the oldest Swiss watchmaker. The watch is pretty well made for the price and comes in a gigantic wood box and together with a hardcover coffee book on Longines’s rich history as a watchmaker.

[attachmentid=10600478]
friedricetheman
post Oct 1 2020, 08:42 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Good morning, WIS!

Trying my hardest to capture the subtle hand finishing on the bezel in natural light. This is the best I could do. The hand finishing looks almost 3D and jumps out at you in real life. Very difficult to capture on camera.

[attachmentid=10604268]

My second attempt at getting the bezel finishing captured on camera.

[attachmentid=10604284]

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 1 2020, 10:16 AM
friedricetheman
post Oct 1 2020, 06:49 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Oct 1 2020, 03:55 PM)
I must say that white rubber combo does look striking. Do they they size you up then give the appropriate strap size? Have you thought of getting other funky colored straps as well?  biggrin.gif
My wrist size is normal. I believe that they have a smaller strap for smaller wrists but since I have an average wrist size, they didn’t need to change the strap.

I love the white strap but am contemplating on whether to change to the dark blue strap that I have. I am also looking at the turquoise strap.
friedricetheman
post Oct 1 2020, 10:04 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Oct 1 2020, 07:58 PM)
I think that will definitely look awesome on blue.. especially with jeans and loafers. The white is brilliant though, I can imagine rocking it with white sneakers. I wonder if the white will oxidize or yellow out over time.. then you'll have a vintage "tropical" strap LOL.
Not sure though as I only had the watch for around a month only.

But it’s vulcanized natural rubber so it may probably yellow out over time, as we never know how natural products would age.

That’s why I love natural wood furniture and natural leather. You never know how it would age or turn out from wear over time.
friedricetheman
post Oct 2 2020, 10:22 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(UsopSontorian @ Oct 2 2020, 10:17 AM)
How much is the AP price ?
RM82k. But I heard another price increase for October/November.
friedricetheman
post Oct 2 2020, 12:19 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 2 2020, 11:34 AM)
I tot only pp increase.... ap also increasing ar?  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Our ringgit gone to the dogs already. My watch is selling for SGD$29500 in Singapore so even if they increase the price, still cheapest in the region..

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.3941sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:46 PM