7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Maxis Broadband Wired 2Mbps, Welcome all the wired users!

ozak
post Aug 28 2009, 11:30 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Aug 28 2009, 05:58 AM)

200kBps on 1mbps package brows.gif
Maxis doing charity is it? tongue.gif They have too many empty bandwidth around don't no what to use. tongue.gif So decide give you guys buy one free one broadband. thumbup.gif
ozak
post Aug 31 2009, 02:55 PM

17,018 posts

For old place, there is no chance maxis can go in. But for new place/Taman, there is a chance. But very much depend on developer and provider. The developer can choose which to use and maxis ve the main line to that site.
ozak
post Sep 1 2009, 04:44 PM

17,018 posts

I ve no problem here. Almost whole day online.
ozak
post Sep 3 2009, 02:20 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Sep 3 2009, 12:56 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new here, as you can probably tell.

I have a couple of questions, and this seems to be the best place to ask them. First, some basic info. I'm currently using the Maxis Wireless Broadband HDSPA package at RM 138 a month. Based on my personal excruciating experience, I can tell you straight up that Maxis strictly observes its 3GB quota per month. Thus if I frequent P2P sites often, and perhaps download a random torrent or two, I'd end up with a throttled bandwidth about two weeks into any given month. This is extremely frustrating, as you would expect to be able to, at the very least, access the web with decent speeds on a RM 138 package. Needless to say, with the contract period up, I'm looking to ditch the service as soon as possible.

So, on to my questions. As an average P2P and BT user, I need an ISP who doesn't have a paltry 3GB of so called "fair usage" quota. Does Maxis Wired Broadband enforce that very same quota I just referred to? I say this because looking under the Maxis Terms and Conditions for broadband, they state that the same "Fair Usage" policy is effective for their wired service too. And my research on the topic has yielded conflicting results, not enough for me to make any decisions just yet.

Secondly, would it be better if I abandoned ship, so to speak, and apply for a P1 wireless package? Sure it's wireless and will have the same inconsistencies as my current package, but they have a much better fair usage policy, which I doubt I'd be able to exhaust monthly. Again, research in this department has come up with both negative and positive reviews. Perhaps this isn't the best place to be asking this particular question, but I thought I might as well kill two birds with one stone and go for it.

Oh, and besides, the area I'm living in is pretty much confined to either Maxis or P1. If there are any other ISPs servicing this area, I am unaware of them. Thoughts?
There is so many page here you can read. What conflict result you get?? All bro here told you in real life stories. tongue.gif

By the way. You need to check out first is your place is MAXIS WIRED
ozak
post Sep 5 2009, 12:44 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Sep 3 2009, 05:07 PM)
As I stated above, the only two ISPs I can possibly consider is either P1 or Maxis. Which implies that my area is covered by both.

Though I suppose weighing the pros and cons of both said ISPs, the stability of a fixed line will outdo the theoretical speed of P1 in my book.
When you said maxis, you ve to make it clear wired or wireless. Cause not many people know maxis ve wired broadband and when you bundle with P1, we will think you talking about wireless. tongue.gif

Last time when pay bill at maxis agent, Show her my house maxis fix line no. And she tell me go telekom pay. biggrin.gif

Added on September 5, 2009, 12:51 am
QUOTE(techassist @ Sep 4 2009, 02:32 PM)
i was using maxis for more than 2 yrs...but lately the speed n connection started to suck big time...so...now am into P1....so far soo gooooood...
For P2P and BT, fix line is still the best. Wireless still unreliable. Now somemore with quota permonth. Using for 2yrs+, I only complain once. Cause by line spoil. Other than that smooth only.

This post has been edited by ozak: Sep 5 2009, 12:51 AM
ozak
post Sep 5 2009, 08:12 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Sep 5 2009, 04:47 AM)
well, i hope you'll enjoy the wired broadband WITHOUT MUCH HASSLE  laugh.gif

also, keep in mind, if the Service and DSL is up, but u can't go into any page, try obtaining the DNS IP from openDNS.

maxis DNS usually sucks during public holiday where everyone is at home (e.g Merdeka) but not during Festive holiday (e.g Raya, CNY)
What site you can't go in using maxis DNS? What maxis DNS you get? Would like to try see any problem with my side. I m using this DNS

ozak
post Sep 8 2009, 09:27 PM

17,018 posts

I ve change 3 modem so far. The first provide by maxis kena zap by lightning. Change to aztech also but modem+router. Also kena zap but third 1 buy back same model. Cause got warranty.
Aztech modem+router sometime hang and need reset. Specially traffic high in BT. Cannot suft but can BT. I will try the linksys and see how.
ozak
post Sep 9 2009, 12:17 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Sep 8 2009, 10:16 PM)
The Aztech modem is being stubborn. I have followed the instructions on portforward.com to the letter, and yet I cannot download anything via uTorrent. Frustrating day. Any ideas as tho what the problem may be?
Are your utorrent networking connection in green or red? If still red, your port forwarding still not right. If green try others port no.
ozak
post Sep 9 2009, 09:47 AM

17,018 posts

Something wrong with your utorrent.
ozak
post Oct 4 2009, 11:35 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(s6x @ Oct 3 2009, 02:15 AM)
Maxis wired free upgrades - from 256 to 512 & 1.0 to 2.0.

got the memo which hinted immediate and automatic effectiveness of the upgrade from Maxis yesterday. my speed has not been upgraded yet though. called Tech support and as usual they don't know anything about it ....

can anyone who has actually recieved the upgrade confirm/share the necessary procedure to activate the upgrade if there is any such procedure at all?

... p/s feel free to brag about your newly upgraded & uncapped download speed if you have rclxm9.gif
Do we need to call them for activate or just sit down and wait? So far nothing happen to me here. Speed still the same.
ozak
post Oct 6 2009, 08:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 6 2009, 01:56 PM)
official letter from Maxis.

[attachmentid=1234387]
Is there any different with/without letter? My home already running at 1mbps speed while I subscript to 512kbps longtime liao. And I believe most of you here too. Running double the speed. Maybe after upgrade I can get 2mbps speed kua. he...
ozak
post Oct 8 2009, 09:48 AM

17,018 posts

Damn. My aztech wifi modem just kong. This is the third aztech modem and average one year replace one pcs. Brought last year aug and spoil yesterday. No more warranty. Really suspect this aztech modem got time bomb inside.

Try the linksys wag200g yesterday. But won't work. DSL ok, network ok but internet just won't connect.

Any others wifi modem to suggest for maxis wired? No more aztech for me.

This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 8 2009, 09:48 AM
ozak
post Oct 8 2009, 12:45 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 8 2009, 10:40 AM)
try use Belkin Wireless ADSL modem router F5D7634
according to cloudstrife07, he using this modem router are fine
Thanks for your info. Than I go and get this belkin modem router.
ozak
post Oct 10 2009, 08:26 PM

17,018 posts

Just got myself a belkin G modem router after the aztech kong. Easy to setup. In few minute, the internet connected. Speed not much different with aztech.
Didn't see any speed upgrade from maxis. Or already upgrade but I don't know since I m running 2x speed since day 1.
ozak
post Oct 13 2009, 01:08 PM

17,018 posts

May I ask, do you guys switch on your modem router 24hr? Do you ON/OFF frequently or hang very often?

My new belkin modem router hang and need On/OFF everyday. Something wrong liao. Seems like cannot handle the traffic. Last time use aztech, hang only every few day.

Is there any setting need to be set that I don't no?
ozak
post Oct 14 2009, 01:32 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 14 2009, 01:26 AM)
the prob is the aztech modem also facing frequent disconnection just like the aztech. sweat.gif maxis said there's no prob on their side sweat.gif
Sorry. I remember back, I did upgrade the firmware for aztech in order to function properly. Brought new one also hang for aztech. Once upgrade, seldom hang liao.

The belkin have same sydrome also I guess. Will check see any new firmware to upgrade.
ozak
post Oct 18 2009, 08:28 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(whopperblack @ Oct 18 2009, 01:51 AM)
Hi, anyone here using Wired Maxis Broadband?

I'm from Pusat Bandar Puchong by the way, anyone having problems sharing internet connection with Maxis's router?
i'm using it in Rawang. connect on desktop so far no issue
Maxis don't have router. You must specific the brand. It should be the aztech. Maxis is more choosy. Buying the modem router also difficult. rclxub.gif
ozak
post Oct 18 2009, 09:49 PM

17,018 posts

I don't ve much problem with aztech modem even DC every few day. I m running 24hr also. The only problem is, it can't last long.

I m having problem with belkin which hang when traffic is very bz. But now getting better. Would monitor more to see how stable is it.

Added on October 18, 2009, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 18 2009, 09:10 PM)
yes a bit difficult it seems. well i had to live with this DC. sad.gif
Any wrong setting on the modem setting?

This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 18 2009, 09:51 PM
ozak
post Oct 25 2009, 01:27 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Oct 24 2009, 08:43 PM)
still no speed improvement for puchong area zzzzz!!!
Doesn't matter. I already enjoying double speed. You want triple speed?

Or you having problem with low speed?
ozak
post Oct 25 2009, 05:23 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 25 2009, 02:00 PM)
huh? what double speed?
I subscript 512 but get 1mb speed. That is double speed.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:59 AM