5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

JPA scholarship.....should take or shouldnt?, share ur opinion plz......

jeff_lam111
post Jan 28 2007, 03:38 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(kawaiikawabe @ Jan 28 2007, 02:04 PM)
I would like to know how can i apply the JPA or PTPTN? Last year one of my fren has applied and he got it. WHat are the qualification to apply it. Thank you.
u can apply jpa online..juz go to the website
JPA_website
QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 28 2007, 02:36 PM)
Noob question here.....JPA scholarship applies to all field and subject? Or juz those hot subject and fields?
this scholarship din cover all the fields and subject...u hav to find it yourself
the webby got all the info
smubblerz
post Apr 17 2007, 12:07 PM

Hi there, this is my first post.

I've noticed that many of the posts are about "getting the scholarship". Does anyone ever think about what happens "after getting the scholarship"? Is there anyone here working for JPA under the scholarship bond?

I'm currently under JPA scholarship majoring in Media Innovation (Multimedia Design for advertising). I'm about to graduate and I hope somebody can help to answer some queries I have:

1. How does JPA allocate jobs to its scholars? Will I get to choose the jobs? What if the job allocated isn't relevant to my qualifications?
2. How soon does JPA contact its scholars regarding job offers?
3. If I have an offer from the private sector, can I take it?
4. Is it possible to convert the scholarship into a loan? How are the interest rates like?
5. What are the chances are that I wil get called back since my degree isn't a "HOT" qualification?

I really hope someone can help me out. Much thanks in advance. smile.gif

Btw, I got a mix of A1s, A2s and a couple of Bs for my SPM, but I got the JPA scholarship. So just try if you don't have straight As, you might get it too. Co-curriculum activities help. flex.gif
-celest-
post Apr 17 2007, 04:14 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(smubblerz @ Apr 17 2007, 12:07 PM)
Hi there, this is my first post.

I've noticed that many of the posts are about "getting the scholarship". Does anyone ever think about what happens "after getting the scholarship"? Is there anyone here working for JPA under the scholarship bond?

I'm currently under JPA scholarship majoring in Media Innovation (Multimedia Design for advertising). I'm about to graduate and I hope somebody can help to answer some queries I have:

1. How does JPA allocate jobs to its scholars? Will I get to choose the jobs? What if the job allocated isn't relevant to my qualifications?
4. Is it possible to convert the scholarship into a loan? How are the interest rates like?
5. What are the chances are that I wil get called back since my degree isn't a "HOT" qualification?

I really hope someone can help me out. Much thanks in advance.  smile.gif

Btw, I got a mix of A1s, A2s and a couple of Bs for my SPM, but I got the JPA scholarship. So just try if you don't have straight As, you might get it too. Co-curriculum activities help.  flex.gif
U got the scholarhsip despite having several Bs because it was a few years back where not many ppl score straight As.

For the other questions..try to call JPA instead. I think they'll help. nod.gif
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 18 2007, 02:43 AM

155 posts

JPA allocates jobs through 'Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam', they're the ones responsible for finding jobs for JPA scholar graduates. You will not be able to choose your job. Good news though about 40-60% of the time the job offered will be somewhat relevant to your studies. It might not be what you learned in school but you'll definitely need to tap into the stuff you learned in university. For example a friend of mine has a civil engineering degree is now working for JKR. His work has something to do with highway construction and road maintainability. He doesn't use all of the stuff he learned in university but his education is relevant to his job now.

They're supposed to contact scholars within 6 months, although there as some cases when they contacted someone 8 months after graduation. But it's safe to say after 6 months you're free!!

Some companies ask potential employees if they are bonded. When I interviewed for Shell and Sony, both the interviewers asked if I was bonded. But I think if you've received an offer by all means you should take it.. besides does JPA expect it's graduates to sit on their ass and go hungry? Hell no... But if JPA call you back to serve out your bond, you can always appeal. Our govt likes making us beg for everything (sweat.gif). You can write a 'surat rayuan' asking them for a release from your bond. A friend recently got called by JPA for a job after 8 months, and she was already working for a private company. So she appealed to JPA citing the fact that it's already past the 6 months. There's probably some other reasons that the wrote in the letter but the point is her appeal was accepted and she didn't have to work for the govt.

Not sure if you can do that, only thing I know that can happen is when scholarship students don't honor their contract.. then they have to pay everything back.. 0% interest though.

5. What are the chances are that I will get called back since my degree isn't a "HOT" qualification?

Right now doctors, dentists and pharmacists are almost always called back. Engineers about maybe 20-30% are called back. Engineering are supposedly a 'HOT' qualification and even not many engineering grads are called back by JPA. So I think it's quite unlikely that you will be called by JPA.

Hope I answered some of your questions to you satisfaction.. blush.gif
lov3too4ll
post Apr 18 2007, 03:18 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Apr 18 2007, 02:43 AM)
JPA allocates jobs through 'Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam', they're the ones responsible for finding jobs for JPA scholar graduates. You will not be able to choose your job. Good news though about 40-60% of the time the job offered will be somewhat relevant to your studies. It might not be what you learned in school but you'll definitely need to tap into the stuff you learned in university. For example a friend of mine has a civil engineering degree is now working for JKR. His work has something to do with highway construction and road maintainability. He doesn't use all of the stuff he learned in university but his education is relevant to his job now.
They're supposed to contact scholars within 6 months, although there as some cases when they contacted someone 8 months after graduation. But it's safe to say after 6 months you're free!!
Some companies ask potential employees if they are bonded. When I interviewed for Shell and Sony, both the interviewers asked if I was bonded. But I think if you've received an offer by all means you should take it.. besides does JPA expect it's graduates to sit on their ass and go hungry? Hell no... But if JPA call you back to serve out your bond, you can always appeal. Our govt likes making us beg for everything (sweat.gif). You can write a 'surat rayuan' asking them for a release from your bond. A friend recently got called by JPA for a job after 8 months, and she was already working for a private company. So she appealed to JPA citing the fact that it's already past the 6 months. There's probably some other reasons that the wrote in the letter but the point is her appeal was accepted and she didn't have to work for the govt.
Not sure if you can do that, only thing I know that can happen is when scholarship students don't honor their contract.. then they have to pay everything back.. 0% interest though.
Right now doctors, dentists and pharmacists are almost always called back. Engineers about maybe 20-30% are called back. Engineering are supposedly a 'HOT' qualification and even not many engineering grads are called back by JPA. So I think it's quite unlikely that you will be called by JPA.
he rite!!..but they are to many JPa gad..so if u lucky..u will be the choosen one tongue.gif ..
add information : JPA maybe increase the scholarship allowance thumbup.gif
smubblerz
post Apr 18 2007, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Apr 18 2007, 02:43 AM)
Thanks so much for answering my questions smile.gif
The time frame in which they can contact JPA scholars is not 6 months, but 12 months! (That's what it says in my contract)
mumeichan
post Apr 18 2007, 11:13 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(smubblerz @ Apr 17 2007, 12:07 PM)

After you graduate and happen to be offered a very good job in a reputable company, you could negotiate with a bank to pay off your JPA scholarship by taking a personal loan from them. That would mean you break the contract with JPA and then pay them off with a loan from a bank.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Apr 18 2007, 06:53 PM
nightzstar
post Apr 18 2007, 05:38 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

JPA scholarship still on?
smubblerz
post Apr 18 2007, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Apr 18 2007, 05:38 PM)
JPA scholarship still on?
What do you mean?
eujin
post Apr 18 2007, 06:32 PM

398 posts

Hmm..just go ahead.
Estrella
post Apr 18 2007, 07:04 PM

96 posts

for medicine, is it true that u will be sent to far-away states like sabah, sarawak, kelantan or terrengganu ? this situation will only happen for the first few years or for the whole 10 years bond?
mumeichan
post Apr 18 2007, 07:32 PM

4,152 posts

Where do actuaries work in the government by the way?
SUSkockroach
post Apr 18 2007, 11:25 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Estrella @ Apr 18 2007, 07:04 PM)
for medicine, is it true that u will be sent to far-away states like sabah, sarawak, kelantan or terrengganu ? this situation will only happen for the first few years or for the whole 10 years bond?
You can appeal to based in your hometown, one of my friend's friend did that. But i think it is unethical
Soulsareworthless
post Apr 18 2007, 11:40 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

You should go ahead.
eujin
post Apr 19 2007, 12:15 AM

398 posts

Yea.you should appreciate the chance..good luck..
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 19 2007, 01:56 AM

155 posts

The time frame in which they can contact JPA scholars is not 6 months, but 12 months!

Wah so now they changed it to 12 months? Man that sucks.. I've graduated a couple of years ago.. when I signed my contract it was in 2000 so they probably have changed the terms of the contract since then.
hyperx
post Apr 19 2007, 02:00 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

QUOTE(Estrella @ Apr 18 2007, 07:04 PM)
after finished your studies, you need to attend some interview, and they will ask you where do you wish to go. Not necessarily you need to work at Sabah and Sarawak.
Anyway, why not go and work there? The salary there is quite high compare working at peninsular. Plus there is nothing there that makes you spend all your money, good for saving wink.gif
smubblerz
post Apr 19 2007, 03:34 PM

I guess I'll just take the offer from the private sector while waiting for govt's response...
If my appeal to be release is not approved then nvm lor. If I'm required to serve, just serve lor... biggrin.gif

After all, I heard work for govt good benefits and better entry level pay.

Oh, working in Sabah & Sarawak could be nice... slower pace of life.

Added on April 19, 2007, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Apr 19 2007, 01:56 AM)
Wah so now they changed it to 12 months? Man that sucks.. I've graduated a couple of years ago.. when I signed my contract it was in 2000 so they probably have changed the terms of the contract since then.
What did you study and are you serving the bond now?

This post has been edited by smubblerz: Apr 19 2007, 03:37 PM
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 21 2007, 11:15 AM

155 posts

What did you study and are you serving the bond now?

I studied Mechanical Engineering in the US, and no I'm not 'lucky' enough to serve the bond. Seriously though all the Malaysian scholars from my graduating class (with exception of that JKR civil engineer)..none of us were called back to serve the bond. But all of us were engineering graduates tho... maybe not enough positions in the JKR lohh..

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Apr 21 2007, 11:17 AM
unit6540
post Apr 23 2007, 03:15 PM

so other than JPA and MARA what other government loan u can apply for? coz banks are a bit too much arr.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0207sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:57 AM