92 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Lowyat Net - Proton Persona 2016 - Official Thread, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

sjneow
post Aug 31 2016, 09:43 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Aug 28 2016, 06:24 PM)
i still dont understand why proton insists on placing the signals on the left and the wipers on the right sad.gif

we are a right hand drive country so most of the time left hand is on the gear
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 28 2016, 08:47 PM)
The SA told me is bcos tuned by Lotus, so the signals is on the left...dun know how true is that...

After test drive the premium Persona...thinking of booking for the executive variant...
QUOTE(AmericanPig @ Aug 28 2016, 11:59 PM)
i asked this question last time while i test drive the Iriz. SA said Proton follow Europe style and plan to export these car model to Europe in the future.
Understand that Japanese is the weird one here, not the rest of the world's car manufacturer. the setup Proton used are Europe style, and most of Europes are right hand drive. US as a left hand drive country also uses the same position, even when their cars export to right hand drive countries, they just moved the steering wheel's positions without flipping the signal/wiper controls. Same thing when European cars exported to left hand drive countries, they won't flip the controls.

homerthewhopper
post Aug 31 2016, 11:43 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sjneow @ Aug 31 2016, 09:43 AM)
Understand that Japanese is the weird one here, not the rest of the world's car manufacturer. the setup Proton used are Europe style, and most of Europes are right hand drive. US as a left hand drive country also uses the same position, even when their cars export to right hand drive countries, they just moved the steering wheel's positions without flipping the signal/wiper controls. Same thing when European cars exported to left hand drive countries, they won't flip the controls.
its my preference since i drive a manual so my left hand is usually on the gear lever. sad.gif
Boss262
post Aug 31 2016, 01:03 PM

109 posts

Anyone already got their car?
homerthewhopper
post Aug 31 2016, 08:44 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

yup the acceleration was impressively smooth
imjustakit
post Aug 31 2016, 09:26 PM

39 posts

Just found that manual standard also come with hill-hold-assist which i thought available for auto transmission only.

Anyone mind to share how it works? Do driver need to do sth to activate it or it automatically functions when the car in slope position?
It works when the car incline fwd, reverse or both?

Thanks in adv for the valuable input.

darth5zaft
post Aug 31 2016, 09:57 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(imjustakit @ Aug 31 2016, 09:26 PM)
Just found that manual standard also come with hill-hold-assist which i thought available for auto transmission only.

Anyone mind to share how it works? Do driver need to do sth to activate it or it automatically functions when the car in slope position?

At hills
Put in gear press clutch + brek
After 3 seconds HHA activate

When traffic light turn green
The car will hold still
It would give you 3 second to switch from brek to acceleration paddle
To get moving.
FerozFLX
post Sep 1 2016, 01:05 AM

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Aug 31 2016, 11:43 AM)
its my preference since i drive a manual so my left hand is usually on the gear lever. sad.gif
Im driving manual too.. N i think i don hav a problem with the signal lever.. Never had a problem when give signal n change gear.. Huhu the problem came when i drive myvee.. Huhu
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2016, 02:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

the system utilizes the ESP unit (that is what assisting you to brake/hold the car), and since it comes standard in ALL variant, you get HHA for free biggrin.gif

it doesn't matter on forward or reverse incline, it will hold as the car is simply braking for you when it detects an incline/slow or stop speed from its gyro sensor and wheel speed sensors smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2016, 02:50 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Aug 31 2016, 11:43 AM)
hahah that's my sister/my complaint as well since unlike most Malaysian that doesn't bother giving signal, i do even when i'm driving spiritedly/traffic weaving and having 1 hand readily to shift gears while the other on the steering all the time using a finger to flick signals is godsend, or rather, probably what i'm used to from all my cars thus far.

though, not something that would be too much of an issue, i guess i can signal earlier, then shift lol.
magnesium
post Sep 1 2016, 02:58 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Aug 31 2016, 08:20 AM)
Test driven it on 3-4km stretch, quite long compared to others but short for giving a thorough impression. Just my tots:
1. Engine perf: throttle response is ok. Car a bit slow during take off, but surprisingly brisk after that. In a rather leisurely sprint, 20 to 50kmh is achieved with super ease. CVT is smoother & lot more responsive than iriz.
2. NVH: Unless u put your meticulous aural attention to it, engine noise is barely audible at 50-80kmh. At slower city speeds, the engine rumble is bit heard but acceptable. The usual campro "boom" sound is suppressed, and it feels pleasant. Didnt got the chance to drive at highway speeds tho. Old persona sounded terrible at 70dB at speed limit, and i hope this new one score less than 63dB (jepunis B segment standards). For window/door sound insulation (motorcycle noise passing by), it still not as good as preve/suprima which are actually a segment higher. But in terms of engine noise & cvt whine supression, this persona wins over preve & suprima.

3. Steering: EPS makes it easier to drive in the city. Feels light but its responsive on fast corners. But sometimes miss the super pinpoint accuracy & lightning fast feedback of the old persona hydraulic steering.

4. Handling: Body roll is minimal & car is in good control when making sudden fast lane change. Typical of Proton's lotus handling legacy.

5. Interior quality: Plastics parts are all good EXCEPT for the aircon knobs. It rattles & wobbles when twisted, feels not smooth & lacks tactility (same with Iriz). The older Persona feels a lot better in this area. Azlan Othman (chief designer), please take note. Try to twist aircon knob from a mazda2 & u will know what it meant to be tactile.

Overall, i think its miles ahead from the previous gen2 based persona. The greatest improvements made are NVH & acceleration. A pleasant drive for average drivers like me. (Owned almera & old persona). But i do wish for a better comfort tuned suspension like jepunis, dont mind sacrificing the handling a bit.
I thought new persona no more lotus handling?
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2016, 03:04 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(fikku @ Aug 31 2016, 03:11 AM)
why review slow leh. been itching to read more reviews from new buyers or anybody who already test drive  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
they are sorta scattered across various threads, such as this:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4027899/

my own review(s):
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=81455075

sit in manual variant without test drive:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=81505058
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2016, 03:07 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Sep 1 2016, 02:58 AM)
proton own lotus.

typically, it's only a matter of sticking the badge/logo/marketing it or not.
homerthewhopper
post Sep 1 2016, 07:27 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 1 2016, 03:04 AM)

my own review(s):

reviews will probably have to wait like the perdana where proton invited all the media reviewers to a road trip. dont know whens that gonna happen doh.gif
mat79
post Sep 1 2016, 08:46 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Sep 1 2016, 02:58 AM)
for now,no need for lotus rnh badge cuz all malaysian engineers are trained and worked under lotus before come back to work in proton,even some still working in lotus. equipments,softwares n methods are the same. even tested in lotus track worked with some lotus engineers.so,not much diff. eventhough proton is parent co for lotus,they still need to pay for the badge,so,it is cost associate.

but they might used the badge if they want to sell it outside,just for marketing purpose,but they have to bear the cost. for example,preve.
syazone
post Sep 1 2016, 10:12 AM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(FerozFLX @ Sep 1 2016, 01:05 AM)
Im driving manual too.. N i think i don hav a problem with the signal lever.. Never had a problem when give signal n change gear.. Huhu the problem came when i drive myvee.. Huhu
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 1 2016, 02:50 AM)
hahah that's my sister/my complaint as well since unlike most Malaysian that doesn't bother giving signal, i do even when i'm driving spiritedly/traffic weaving and having 1 hand readily to shift gears while the other on the steering all the time using a finger to flick signals is godsend, or rather, probably what i'm used to from all my cars thus far.

though, not something that would be too much of an issue, i guess i can signal earlier, then shift lol.
agree... once u familiar with indicator stalk on the left, it'll be OK.
i've drove manual waja (2004-2015) before change to preve cfe.

This post has been edited by syazone: Sep 1 2016, 10:15 AM
yadea
post Sep 1 2016, 11:10 AM

127 posts

When in gear, HHA will automatically kick in when u press the brakes all the way in. When you release the brakes, u have 3 seconds before HHA deactivates. During this time, u have plenty of time to balance the clutch. Btw HHA kicks in automatically when it detects you're on a slope. Note that it doesnt kick in on very low incline slopes. It works on both. Sometimes on jam hill roads, I prefer to just step on the brakes just enough to hold the car at a stop so HHA doesnt kick in.
*Based on my experience driving Iriz MT.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 1 2016, 03:07 AM)
proton own lotus.

typically, it's only a matter of sticking the badge/logo/marketing it or not.
I was at a meeting with the Proton CTO and someone from fb Iriz group asked why wasn't there a Lotus tuning badge on the Iriz. The response was because they were not using Lotus tuning.
homerthewhopper
post Sep 1 2016, 11:42 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

contacted proton care about the free 3 years parts here's what they have to say

not bad imo  thumbsup.gif

beltings are not covered unfortunately but unless travel a lot then shouldnt worry since need 120k before replacing

so the first 3 years should be okay

This post has been edited by homerthewhopper: Sep 1 2016, 11:43 AM
fikku
post Sep 1 2016, 11:51 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 1 2016, 03:04 AM)

my own review(s):

can't you just invite all of them here? tongue.gif
maybe they dont know about this official thread biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2016, 03:30 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Sep 1 2016, 11:10 AM)
I was at a meeting with the Proton CTO and someone from fb Iriz group asked why wasn't there a Lotus tuning badge on the Iriz. The response was because they were not using Lotus tuning.
Personally it doesn't matter as proton has the know how /skilled engineers.
dicknts
post Sep 1 2016, 04:21 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Sep 1 2016, 11:42 AM)
contacted proton care about the free 3 years parts here's what they have to say

not bad imo  thumbsup.gif

beltings are not covered unfortunately but unless travel a lot then shouldnt worry since need 120k before replacing

so the first 3 years should be okay

What is the timing belt cost?

This post has been edited by dicknts: Sep 1 2016, 04:21 PM

92 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0295sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:37 AM