55 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Canon Range of Products Discussion Group, ~ Delighting You Always ~>

eujin
post Aug 2 2007, 10:03 PM

398 posts

All EF lens will fit on the new EOS DSLR... Only the older generation FD lens won't fit. I can't remember the exact name for those lens, maybe it's not FD. somebody correct me if i'm wrong.
Andy0625
post Aug 12 2007, 01:03 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Any one here using 30D ?
Did any of you guys came across shops that carry 30d in the shelf ? brows.gif
TSac98
post Aug 25 2007, 03:21 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ Aug 2 2007, 08:14 AM)
Hello, i was wondering any Canon DSLR user here having problems using it with their old lens?
How old?
TSac98
post Aug 25 2007, 04:26 PM

3,758 posts

Well well well ... all the big deal about the replacement for Canon EOS 30D and EOS 1DS Mark II is all over, it's now comfirmed with the launching of the EOS 40D and EOS 1DS Mark III. Over at the Nikon camp, we also have the too-long awaited 12.3MP Nikon D300 and (even longer awaited) full frame Nikon D3. What I gather was lotsa D80 and D70s/D70 owners jumped to D200 when can't wait any longer, so ... read more about what you should be spending your hard-earned money on over at the Nikon website then. Nikon is always full of surprises.

Let's look at the Canon EOS 40D now that I have plenty of time to do my own humble Review after doing lotsa reading and info gathering.

With a gap of at least Rm1000+ between the Canon EOS 40D and the Nikon D300, there's still plenty of time for new as well as seasoned photography enthusiasts to consider between the two brand. After all, with Rm1000+ cash (or credit) on hand, you can still get 2-3 new batteries, a weatherproof bag, a branded tripod and a huge, huge capacity memory card (try a 4GB)! Pixel-wise, Canon is 2MP+ less than the D300 which I dun see much of a difference (as always), unless you're talking about 4MP and 8MP or 8MP and 12MP. Performance-wise, the EOS 40D catches up with the D300 with 6.5 frames-per-second maximum burst compare to D300's 6 frames-per-second. For the Nikoners, you'll have to fork out a few hundred Ringgit more to purchase the vertical battery grip to be able to satisfy your need for more frames-per-second, 8 frames-per-second to the exact, among other functions.

'Brain'-wise, Canon has DIGIC III inside with 9 AF Points, WB dabbling from 2500 - 10000 Kelvin (trust me, you'll need this function!) and still supports BP-511 / BP-511A / BP-512 / BP-514 which is good news for those upgrading from EOS 10D, 20D, 30D and some models of Canon camcorders (haha!). The EOS 40D still uses the CF card, needless to say. Looks-wise, I still think the EOS 40D is very handsome looking, as with the EOS 30D but with the 'LCD size' war, the placement of some of the crucial buttons suffered alot, especially the ON/OFF button. Although you can accidentally switch the camera off at some point, I think Nikon's ON/OFF switch is at a very smart position, which is high up sharing the same housing as the shutter release button.

DSLR photography has taken on to a next level with 'Live' view of your subjects, just like the good old days of film Point-and-Shoot photography. Eventhough I have not own one Point-and-Shoot digicam my entire life, I still think live view technology is at its infancy, starting with Olympus who took the plundge of incorporation live view on the LCD of their DSLR with so many can't-do-this-and-can't-do-that while you're live viewing. I dunno about actual phototaking as I haven't tried a full photo session using live view. Some argue that live view is only useful for still live or macro photopgraphy, so they say.

My conclusion : Canon made a leap with lotsa consideration of cost and consumer in mind whereas Nikon made quite a leap further with those with deeper pockets this time, throwing in higher MP, WiFi functions and pay-for-more-performance attitude. Canon goes into a lower gear with the EOS 40D but Nikon is screaming louder with the D300 offering higher technology and more funtions with the expense of more moolah.

If Canon is listening, I wanna say this ... "Oii, when are you guys putting WEATHERPROOFING into semi-professional models? EOS 50D-ah?" vmad.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif
kenlui
post Aug 25 2007, 11:32 PM

2,380 posts

@ac98

I thought certain parts of the 40D are weather proof? The batt & CF card compartment...
TSac98
post Aug 26 2007, 10:33 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Aug 25 2007, 11:32 PM)
@ac98
I thought certain parts of the 40D are weather proof? The batt & CF card compartment...
Only certain part of the camera being weatherproof is useless coz you're shooting with the entire body, not only with the battery or the CF card compartment. Water still sips in from the rest of the body if you're shooting under anything heavier than a drizzle.
julchin_09
post Aug 26 2007, 01:48 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Exactly!

When I read the reviews, I was puzzled how the 40D was listed as moisture and dust protected, till I read the fine print that it was the battery/card cover. Still dodgy looking and never really a concern for me using a 30D. I'd prefer BODY proofing instead of this minor parts. I wonder what the designers were thinking?

Im wondering. The D300 really outperforms the 40D? Are there any full reviews with pics out there we can trust?
TSac98
post Aug 27 2007, 01:57 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 26 2007, 01:48 PM)
Exactly!

When I read the reviews, I was puzzled how the 40D was listed as moisture and dust protected, till I read the fine print that it was the battery/card cover. Still dodgy looking and never really a concern for me using a 30D. I'd prefer BODY proofing instead of this minor parts. I wonder what the designers were thinking?

Im wondering. The D300 really outperforms the 40D? Are there any full reviews with pics out there we can trust?
The designers were thinking about those folks who would always work under weather stress but will definitely run away when it starts raining. Canon's idea is "If you want FULL weatherproof, buy a 1-Series". In reality and in fact, for Nikoners, I only see D1H or D2H users staying back for shoots during motorsports in heavy rain, D100/D200 users are no where to be seen in heavy rain, let alone 20D/30D users! You paid few thousand bucks and wanna be as confident in heavy rain as those that paid half a Proton Iswara for a camera body? Go get a life man, I'll run if I were you! laugh.gif

The numbers show that the D300 already outperform the 40D in at least 80% of its feature. It's up to you to decide whether you wanna fork out Rm1000+ difference to get the Nikon D300. For the price Nikon is asking, I rather get a used D2H thank you very much. I prefer to work quicker, more accurately and have my body withstand tougher situations that an intermediate model.
hanissyazwan
post Aug 29 2007, 03:25 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

i saw the price......of 17-50 f2.8 tamron @ RM1.7k
TSac98
post Aug 29 2007, 11:59 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Aug 29 2007, 03:25 AM)
i saw the price......of 17-50 f2.8 tamron @ RM1.7k
Not bad ... the 50mm end still can take decent portraits. Very good all rounder.
dawn152
post Sep 3 2007, 09:27 PM

419 posts

hi. can anyone recommend me a good macro lense for my eos 400d? something below 1k?
nairud
post Sep 3 2007, 09:51 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Sep 3 2007, 09:27 PM)
hi. can anyone recommend me a good macro lense for my eos 400d? something below 1k?
50mm f1.8 with +4 closeup filter
dawn152
post Sep 3 2007, 10:39 PM

419 posts

tq...is that a canon lens? price?

This post has been edited by dawn152: Sep 3 2007, 10:42 PM
julchin_09
post Sep 4 2007, 01:56 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Sep 3 2007, 10:39 PM)
tq...is that a canon lens? price?
yes, the EF 50 f1.8 II is a CANON Lens and probably the cheapest around at roughly RM280+/-. The closeup filter would have to be attached to the front of the lens and the prices vary from a few hundred to the high hundreds......
dawn152
post Sep 4 2007, 10:51 AM

419 posts

ok, tq for the info. another question, does anyone know the selling price for canon ef100mm f/2.8 macro usm?
julchin_09
post Sep 4 2007, 01:00 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

the RRP for that is RM3323 and for the EF 180 F3.5L Macro RRP = RM7043 in case you wanted to know. So maybe knock off a few hundred from the price of the EF 100mm and you'd get the price selling at the shops. Im guessing the mid - high RM2k.
vincent_audio
post Sep 4 2007, 02:58 PM

1,161 posts

dawn152: you can try the famous Tamron SP AF90mm f2.8 Di Macro http://www.tamron.com/lenses/prod/90mm.asp

you should be able to get it for around RM 1800. I know it's out of your budget, maybe you want to save some $ first, cause it has superb quality.
porkchop
post Sep 4 2007, 03:22 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

man......live view........................wonder how it looks on the slr?? and whats the limitation..need to go check already
fynet
post Sep 19 2007, 02:50 PM

120 posts

I would like to ask...i got this canon ixus 950 IS...and i was given a 2GB memory card of the brand keep. Somehow, when i tried to view the photos taken, it says image identified. Why is that so? Is it the memory card problem?
NasiLemakMan
post Sep 26 2007, 12:30 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

I got a question here.

Does my efs 17-85mm lens sufficient enough for wedding photography?

55 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0281sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:31 PM