LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG
Jul 11 2018, 04:24 PM
5,362 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor Bahru |
At MI JB, major service (for XV) normally will take 1 day (9am to 2-3pm normally). So they will not accept service booking of major service for Saturday coz Sat is half day only. My 100k km service is due some time next month, my last free service (labour+parts).
Jul 11 2018, 06:14 PM
Jul 11 2018, 09:01 PM
Nov 2 2018, 09:35 AM
Looks like there is a major recall exercise. I think my 2013 XV is affected.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singap...isplay-10887944 |
Dec 3 2018, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 2 2018, 09:35 AM) Looks like there is a major recall exercise. I think my 2013 XV is affected. An update for the global recall for the faulty engine part - I just received the official letter from MI Malaysia regarding this - my 2013 XV is affected. But part is not available yet, so they will send another notice once they are ready to rectify it.https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singap...isplay-10887944 This post has been edited by Cynox: Dec 3 2018, 12:15 PM |
Jan 8 2019, 01:47 PM
Jan 16 2019, 09:15 AM
The latest news seems to indicate launching in May/June. Will complete my 5 years instalment for my XV next month. Good timing for a change?
Jan 17 2019, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 17 2019, 09:18 AM) No, it is aftermarket stuff. Remember not to buy the one fix fitted below steering arm as we got 1 air-bag for knee below. Do you have any image for this type? Never knew there is such type. The best is the metal bracket that direct lock the brake or fuel pedal below it. look simple but effective as hard to saw or undo in tight space for car thief. |
Jan 22 2019, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 21 2019, 11:40 PM) https://www.lazada.com.my/products/stainles...-s21360999.html thanks for the info but looks cumbersome for the thief to saw it but also cumbersome for the driver to lock/unlock on frequent basis. Something similar to this. It is lock behind/below the brake padel, making the theft a lot of time needed to unlock/saw it in tight places unless it got your keys. |
Feb 9 2019, 06:07 PM
yes, it comes standard with my first gen XV.
Feb 9 2019, 10:52 PM
btw, my first gen XV just has its starter spoilt right on the dot after 5 years.
Feb 12 2019, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 12 2019, 08:51 AM) Starter can be fix by changing the carbon inside, dont be fool if they tell you cannot repair unless the PCB or electric circuit fried inside which is rare unless your car got submerge by water. yes, i have sent the car to an outside mechanic. They will check can repair or not first then only decide to buy the part or not. Subaru quoted me RM686 for the starter and RM100/hour for labour, need 2 hours for replacement.Besides that, Mitsubishi starter from half-cut also can be fix in, already got few Xv member change it without issue. Just need to bring your original starter go half-cut shop to find the same fitting & connector head. Btw, recond part is RM380, so if really need replace, will just get the original for peace of mind since price differ not a lot. This post has been edited by Cynox: Feb 12 2019, 10:33 AM |
Feb 12 2019, 02:17 PM
Feb 12 2019, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 12 2019, 04:40 PM) How he tell you cannot repair? Has he open out the starter and shown you the carbon? I know the mechanic. Felt like a lot of mechanic nowadays want easy money or job by asking owners to change new or recon without ever thinking of fixing it. https://www.howacarworks.com/ignition-syste...r-motor-brushes https://www.instructables.com/id/Starter-Motor-Repair/ http://www.euro4x4parts.com/en/mechanics_cap_starter.html |
Feb 14 2019, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2019, 02:51 PM) Now I know we can actually but ori spare parts from Subaru and fix it at 3rd party! I dun think there is any problem buying original spare parts from Subaru to be fixed ourselves. The parts got warranty as told by Subaru when my brother collect the part from them, but I am not sure how long though. Starter itself is RM686. The mechanic charge me around RM100 for the labour to change the starter.So it is thousand over? Got warranty? |
Mar 8 2019, 09:48 AM
Even for the last recall, they still not yet notify us when the part is available for replacement. Just send a letter saying my XV first gen is affected and they will contact me again when part available. I think almost 4-5 months passed.
Mar 8 2019, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Mar 8 2019, 10:21 AM) call in and check with them... thanks for the tips. Will call up Subaru and ask.i'm based in SG, and received the same letter here, waited for a year and no follow up from them. called in, scheduled appointment and all is done within the same week. MI likes to drag their feet when it comes to recall. |
Mar 12 2019, 03:28 PM
just receive message from MI to send my XV to change the valve spring . The process will take 3 days.
they mention they will charge me for the oil filter for RM49. i think it is because they need to drain the engine? anyone receive the same notice? |
Mar 12 2019, 05:15 PM
I think the notice letter for recall do state that the rectification will be done without any cost to us. I will bring the letter to them to dispute the charges.
3 days without car to use is one major thing. Another matter i worry also is the workmanship - I think they need to open the engine (like doing the heart surgery) to change the valve spring. Can they put the engine back in one perfect piece like when it was shipped from Japan? |
Mar 13 2019, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Mar 12 2019, 05:58 PM) Hi, sorry for not mention it clearly. I received a Whatsapp message from MI Johor Bahru service centre.Mind to share, you received the message via "SMS" or "official letter" from MI? My car was registered to my old house address...I sold the old house and I might not be informed via official letter. Thanks. But since I already got the message, I think no harm you just call up your nearest SC to ask about the valve spring replacement. littlefire Thank you for the explanation. This post has been edited by Cynox: Mar 13 2019, 08:58 AM |
| Change to: | 0.1075sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:08 AM |