4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

basSist
post Dec 21 2006, 01:08 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 20 2006, 10:51 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

@kaiser_falco

hm.. weird.prime95x2 can but orthos cannot?

try to up ur vcore again lah~ orthos is designed for dual core tongue.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Dec 21 2006, 01:11 AM
basSist
post Dec 26 2006, 02:48 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(hisoKHALID @ Dec 26 2006, 01:13 PM)
can someone help me OC? i'm newbie to this...

my specs:-

e6300 (stock hsf)
gigabyte 965P DS4
mushkin ddr2 5300 1Gb
cooler master 450w
you can refer here(on your own risk):

Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1
basSist
post Jan 1 2007, 08:01 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Jan 1 2007, 04:01 PM)
of course my system is running at rock stable right now. My PSU? refer to my sig down there smile.gif it has 33 amps on +12v rail.  wink.gif

tested 6 hours dual prime with no probs. will test my ram using memtest later.
are u sure 33A for +12v rail?
basSist
post Jan 1 2007, 09:40 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Jan 1 2007, 09:16 PM)
My Enermax FMA 460W is v1.1 not v2.0 - so it has SINGLE =12v rail. 33A on SINGLE +12v rail is VERY good already. very stable, very low ripple and fluctuation. thumbup.gif
oo just realize u got the version1 of FMA laugh.gif
basSist
post Jan 5 2007, 11:56 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:02 PM)
I tried to overclock my E6600 as below:

-9x400FSB
-ddr2 800 4-4-4-10

-Mch Voltage +0.2V
-FSB Voltage +0.2V
-VDIMM +0.5V (I am using Micon DG9)

-CPU Voltage at 1.45V

My mobo is Gigabyte 965 S3 with DS3 BIOS F9 smile.gif

I can get the above spec running perfectly in WinXP, I even using Everest tools to check all the system setting without any error.
The question here is my CPU temp on Core 1 and 2 rise up to 73 celcius!!! I am using stock heatsink.... I dare not run other benchmark since the temp is high!!!

May i know what is the Over'clock temp on E6600 on FSB 400? Whick heaksink come best to reduce the temp? Ninja or thermaltake Big Typhoon better? Thanks
how can u determine "running perfectly in WinXP"? is it u can boot into windows then is counted as "perfectly"? a perfect oc machine should be stressed 100% over 8-12 Hours without any errors and also with acceptable temp range.

73c is ur idle temp? then this is terrible man. try to lower ur vcore but the first aid is changing another 3rd party hsf. pls do tell us ur budget for hsf so that we can try to recommend u the best hsf with ur budget wink.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 6 2007, 12:07 AM
basSist
post Jan 6 2007, 01:15 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Jan 6 2007, 07:17 AM)
As i said, The Core 1 and 2 temp rise up to 73++, meanwhile the Overall CPU temp at 56++... I only dare to run this temp for a while (approx 30 minutes), using Everest to test the setting etc... I dare not use other benchmarking tools to burn in my CPU...

I plan to get a Sycthe Infinity/Ninja or maybe a Noctua... May i know which one is the best?  rclxub.gif
Try to change ur hsf faster. then temp is too high. which one is the best? if ur budget around RM170 = TT BTVX, RM200 = Infinity,Ultra120,Noctua perhaps.

Try to google around wink.gif
basSist
post Jan 7 2007, 02:13 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(pal33x @ Jan 7 2007, 01:22 PM)
Guys im new in oc hope can help...actualy i oc my pentium 1 pc b4,,,

but heck 1.7k item with no warranty...so hope any1 can enlighten me what shud i do after
i assemble my rig

e6600 ES
gaygaybyte ds3 (heard many complaint duh)
Micron OEM ddr2 800
PSU acbel............

I just want a little oc...3ghz maybe,Just good for everyday use ...stabe if i on 24/7.
Or u guys can share ur link in bookmark where shud i start in oc arena.Maybe after read can ask a few question from sifoo
try this:

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Co...pict197995.html
basSist
post Jan 7 2007, 06:28 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 7 2007, 05:51 PM)
is e6600 L29b any good in overclocking??

just curious...

not for ocing purposes...
u are asking "any good in overclocking?" buthen not for o/c purpose. then why did u wanna know it?

Every single unit proc has different overclocking potential. we cant really tell u that izzit good in overclocking. Even a proc from a famous batch o/c range will fail or not good enough probably.

To determine the overclocking by batch number is not really a correct way. What ya have to do is test it urself. burn and fry it with ur knowledge and at ur own risk perhaps laugh.gif

L29"b" i believe it is from Europe and it is "more" overclockable. Anyone can clarify if i was mistaken?

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 7 2007, 06:28 PM
basSist
post Jan 7 2007, 10:57 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(pal33x @ Jan 7 2007, 10:15 PM)
Woah thnx buddy...its so easy to oc nowday duh....last time i oc pentium 1 need to open mobo manual....need to play jumper...166~233hz haha....

i dun understanding this

Part6. Finalising
-Lower vCore by one notch at a time until lowest possible while maintaining the same stableness
-Do the same for vMCH, vFSB, vICH after the above step is completed
-Record the BIOS settings which works (except DFI and ASUS owners)
-(Optional) Pull off a PCMark and/or SuperPi32M score and compare to stock to gauge performance increase

why low?

what is Note3: vCore should not fluctuate by more than +/- 0.100V. If it does, improve cooling on MOSFETs

ny curent pc...becos instal diferent brand ram...volatage keep up and down if open games......msi pc alert keep alerting.........
Lower vcore would help u bring down the cpu temp.

Fluctuation would cause unstableness so have to do more cooling on it lo.

MOSFET? try to refer here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MOSFET
http://www.overclockers.com/tips1141/

basSist
post Jan 12 2007, 09:23 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 12 2007, 12:33 PM)
Guys, after so many posting about duo core temp. Temperature read from bios is not so accurate. Diff Mobo had diff reading which is very had to do comparison....that is why TAT or CoreTemp was widely used....I am not sure how accurate it is...but at least it act as a "standard" temp measure tool for duo core proc.
So, I would like every1 use either coretemp or TAT whenever involving Duo Core temp....
yeah i agree with mikelanding. although i already explained many times the differences between core temp and cpu temp many times in some threads. but still got alot of forumers ask about it. sigh.. i also googled then only know the answer why not they google for themselves and keep asking those answered questions.

QUOTE(irenic @ Jan 12 2007, 05:31 PM)
in my case everest ultimate shows 10c higher than coretemp or TAT.. haih..
my everest ultimate = coretemp and tat hehe

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 12 2007, 05:59 PM)
Cpu temperature show on 26-33, but TAT temperature show on 68-72c, almost 40c different... so do u guys the cpu temperature showing is useless n throw it in the rubbish bin.  doh.gif
TaT or coretemp read the temp measured by the diode inside the CPU itself. so it is accurate. CPU temp is measured by the sensor of the Mobo (also called as Cpu Case Temp) .. i hope u all can go google for urself for better explaination. laugh.gif
basSist
post Jan 19 2007, 01:49 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 18 2007, 08:40 PM)
monitor ur +12v rail...make sure it not drop under 11.80v
woah my +12v alwiz under 11.80 woh~ 11.65 and 11.58 heavy load. how eh? belum meletup eh sweat.gif
basSist
post Jan 19 2007, 08:56 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 19 2007, 09:17 AM)
if not terbabommm lucky for u...but its not gud for everyday usage...but if u want to take the risk...its ok then...anyway its ur own rig... icon_rolleyes.gif
hm.. that's meant my fma2 460w got problem eh? sweat.gif
basSist
post Jan 22 2007, 02:46 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 22 2007, 12:32 PM)
now im running 5-5-5-15, what should i change?

is 70c maxx cpu temp okie???  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
5-5-5-15 is ok d.

70 max is CPU temp or CORE temp? if it really 70c CPU temp then u better becareful. Anyway if 70c CORE temp then still consider ok. better get below 65c lah.
basSist
post Jan 23 2007, 12:20 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 22 2007, 06:33 PM)
i tried lower to 2.8ghz stock vcore orthos failed.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

who here really tried running orthos more than few hours and pass?
i got more than 30 hours laugh.gif

E6400 400x8 @ 1.375v 58c Load
basSist
post Jan 24 2007, 12:38 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

@vassalle

Nice info for beginner wink.gif

suggest to be posted in First page first post to let ppl easy to find wink.gif
basSist
post Jan 27 2007, 12:01 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

@prescott

nice ram u got there wink.gif great oc too
basSist
post Jan 27 2007, 01:57 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(prescott @ Jan 27 2007, 12:56 AM)
yea thanks~ same to ur Mushkin 2GB EM2 PC6400 DDR2-800. How high can go anyway?
haven't try to o/c yet. will update here some days later laugh.gif
basSist
post Jan 27 2007, 10:23 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(prescott @ Jan 27 2007, 05:21 AM)
Is that flatfinger havin the same ram as urs? coz i saw him posting his result with these ram.... anyway, i had using Muskhin value ram, Elpida IC b4, quite oc-able, will be stay tune for ur result~ Good luck...
yeah but that i am using dual channel kit. hehe
basSist
post Feb 5 2007, 03:52 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

got serious problem with my ds3 sad.gif

kind enuf to drop by the thread about my problem in technical support and give some opinions thanks smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/405789
basSist
post Feb 6 2007, 02:27 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Feb 5 2007, 09:42 PM)
test rig:
e6600
abit ab9
zeppelin ddr667 512mb x 2
oc:
FSB: 356MHz (3.2GHz)
SPD: 1:1
vCPU: 1.3625 (default: 1.3125)
vDDR: 1.90 (default: 1.80)
vMCH: 1.25 (default)
vICHIO: 1.50 (default)
idle temp: 43 celcius
SuperPI (1M): 16.015s
SuperPI (16M): 17m10.859s

I run prime95 n toast together once n after 2 hour it reboot. no msg, nothing. wat happen? (playing powerdvd too).

i dunno how to set prime95 coz i'm noob here. how to run multiple prime95? i tried installing 2nd copy but it detected 1st copy. wat should i set prior running this program. i just click "torture test"... sorry for noob question coz i tried reading the prime forum (msssmmger, haha can't spell) but wow they r too gud n i dun understand 85% wat they meant... any1 care to teach??? 

tq..
Try this:

How to run 2x Prime95 in one shot?:

- copy and paste the prime95 folder.

- to run CPU stress test : option -> torture test -> custom.
Set min FFT to 8K, max FFT to yr L2 cache size. TICK 'run in place FFT' and set to 1 min.

- to run RAM stress test : option -> torture test -> custom.
Set min FFT to 8K, max FFT to 4096K. RAMsize = 1/10th of yr system RAM, UN-TICK 'run in place FFT' and set to 1 min.

..................................................................................................................................................................

For HT/ Dual Core system
"i think for computers with HT, dual core, or other PCs with "more than one CPU" should have prime95 running on separate affinities. if it's not changed, then at the end of the day, regardless of how many instances of prime95 is run, your CPU utilisation would be 50% at most." - thanx myuu for reminder

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0432sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:40 AM