4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

All new Toyota Sienta, Surprising package

calk
post Jul 8 2016, 11:54 AM

110 posts

I went to Mitsui outlet 2 days ago after seeing the email mentioning you can view this car there. Something funny is that, the SA told me he is yet to go through any training and perhaps if you ask them, they might not be able to answer you much in regards to this car features, etc. You can start the car to see how the MID and player work.. and some wrong info from the leftlet and stupid Toyota website which enter wrongly on the Height info which is supposed to be 1675 instead of 1695.. Also, the SA told me the V spec got nothing to upgrade but the website spec showing the player still upgradable to NAV version and will cost 2K+ for this upgrade which I think is unreasoable unless there is some additional features, i.e mirrorlink, wifi, etc beside navigation annd 7" LCD..

Anyway, will need to test drive the car when it is officially launch on August.

The car is lower as compare to Avanza(wrong Toyota info which mention both same height) by anyway, only 2cm.
calk
post Jul 8 2016, 11:55 AM

110 posts

Anyone notice about the front car driving video recorder? kind of interesting stuff there.. when I was there 2 days ago, both sliding doors working fine..
calk
post Jul 8 2016, 12:01 PM

110 posts

Anybody know why Toyota/UMW didnt apply for EEV on this car?? if they apply for EEV, the car price might be around 90K which they could attract more buyer but will kill the Avanza sales perhaps..
calk
post Jul 8 2016, 12:48 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:41 PM)
Finally some rational remarks on this issue. Spot on there.

Somehow,  there will always be nasty remarks on missing features such as airbags etc, and eventual buyers who purchase because of available items. Its a matter of which crowd is bigger.  For some reasons, the latter seems to attract a much bigger crowd and customers. Perhaps the lack of awareness.

Cant blame the car makers. These car makers are doing business, profit and volume is what matters. They can claim to have 24 airbags but if no one buys the car they are screwed. They will evolve with the market. Thats what they have been doing for the past 50 years or so and which is why they still survive today.

Interesting point though on the availability of the optional items on vw.
If im not mistaken, the indonesian sienta is built with a higher ground clearance than the japan spec ones. Since we are importing from there i assume ours would be higher too.

"The 170 mm ground clearance on Indonesian models is 25 mm higher than on the JDM cars, presumably to cope with the rougher roads."
<a href='http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-toyota-sienta-mpv-launched-in-indonesia/' target='_blank'>http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-to...d-in-indonesia/</a>

Spec sheet says that the V grade will come with driving recorder. None on the lower variant. Will try to find out more on the navi upgrade option.

Oh, and ive given up on getting useful info from salesman nowadays. Better off searching on my own than kena con by this people

The sienta passes as an EEV?
The Sienta non-hybrid version FC is around 20.6km/l and Hybrid is 27.2km/l as according to Japan JC08 test cycle. So this car should easily passing the EEV requirements under segment C category.. So if they secure EEV duty rebate from government, what will be the car price then? The Hybrid version should be using the similar engine as the Prius C and some Singapore Sienta user can even get an average FC of 31km/l on the Hybrid version..

The low FC is also one of the reason why I am consider this car as to replace my 10 years old Toyota Avanza 1.5G biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by calk: Jul 8 2016, 12:49 PM
calk
post Jul 8 2016, 12:54 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:51 PM)
Interesting. Is it possible that the current price IS already with EEV exemptions?

Doubt that there will be a hybrid since the gov only approves CKD hybrids to enjoy the incentives. Maybe after the new plant arrives we might see it depending on how well it sells now.

Just noticed that the sienta is heavier than the avanza??never expected that. Hopefully the cute 1.5 engine can pull its weight
Ya did a spec comparison but dont think the height is correct as what stated in the website or leftlet as feel that car is really lower as compare to my avanza.. Anyway, do not think the current price has consider EEV as else it should be stated there and SA mention no.. Anyway, not too sure whether is the EEV only applicable for CKD car or also include the CBU version too.. dry.gif
calk
post Jul 8 2016, 02:24 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:41 PM)
Finally some rational remarks on this issue. Spot on there.

Somehow,  there will always be nasty remarks on missing features such as airbags etc, and eventual buyers who purchase because of available items. Its a matter of which crowd is bigger.  For some reasons, the latter seems to attract a much bigger crowd and customers. Perhaps the lack of awareness.

Cant blame the car makers. These car makers are doing business, profit and volume is what matters. They can claim to have 24 airbags but if no one buys the car they are screwed. They will evolve with the market. Thats what they have been doing for the past 50 years or so and which is why they still survive today.

Interesting point though on the availability of the optional items on vw.
If im not mistaken, the indonesian sienta is built with a higher ground clearance than the japan spec ones. Since we are importing from there i assume ours would be higher too.

"The 170 mm ground clearance on Indonesian models is 25 mm higher than on the JDM cars, presumably to cope with the rougher roads."
<a href='http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-toyota-sienta-mpv-launched-in-indonesia/' target='_blank'>http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-to...d-in-indonesia/</a>

Spec sheet says that the V grade will come with driving recorder. None on the lower variant. Will try to find out more on the navi upgrade option.

Oh, and ive given up on getting useful info from salesman nowadays. Better off searching on my own than kena con by this people

The sienta passes as an EEV?
Just check the Indonesia spec, seen like the Height is also 1695mm which should be the same as Avanza height.. so in this case, the cabin height should be higher as compare to Avanza.. but when sit inside feel lower... perhaps they raise up the seat so have not natural sitting like on a normal chair
calk
post Jul 11 2016, 08:48 AM

110 posts

I am driving an 10 years old Avanza 1.5G which still work for me to take 8 persons(2 kids) from KL to Penang to Cameron highland without any problem.. I was looking for an upgrade now and was considering Nissan Serena(to me, quality so so after test drive and car too big for occasional use as MPV-fetch more than 5 persons).
Honestly I am happy with Toyota build quality but sometime not so happy about their service center(particular the aircond guy) but still I am servicing my car in Toyota for the past 10 years.. Anyway, plan to trade in at UMW and book white or silver Sienta end this week..
calk
post Jul 11 2016, 10:25 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jul 11 2016, 09:46 AM)
Please keep us posted. You are one of the first in this forum to get the sienta. smile.gif
Oh really? thought those SA keep on telling me that, there are lots of booking for now since they open for booking from 2nd June. Anyway, will see and anyone could recommend which bank offer the best interest rate?
calk
post Jul 20 2016, 11:02 AM

110 posts

I guess nobody will drive a family car for racing and no family car racing ever happen in the world as nobody will risk their family members life for racing..
I am driving an close to 10 years old Avanza 1.5G and did went up to Genting in less than a week after I am getting the car.. and when nobody except me inside the car, will drive like crazy as this car is rear wheel drive so you will probably enjoying the drifting sensation biggrin.gif
Will change to Sienta as trusted the Toyota car quality but comparing Perodua Bezza.. which 1 Sienta = 2 Bezza(10 seater), feel a bit uneven now sad.gif
calk
post Jul 21 2016, 08:33 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 20 2016, 06:04 PM)
Since u hv not place any booking fee, why not wait till u test drive it then u decide? Judge the actual car then decide, no uneven feeling then buy.
Well, it is just like when you wanted to upgrade your smartphone or computer, things will always come newer, better, more powerful and better in the future.. anyway, car is for me to use for at least around 10 years.. so need to make a good decision now.. Anyway, will just place the order this weekend and wait for the new car to come..

One SA told me that it will officially launch by 24 August but car delivery will mostly be by early September or later depending on delivery.. Seen to be in Singapore, they will be selling those version from Indonesia also and currently all model in SGP are all imported from Japan. Based on the comments, mostly are good and think in SGP PI car will allow for modification without voiding any warranty I guess so most of them just mod or poisoning their car whenever they get it

calk
post Jul 21 2016, 09:25 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 21 2016, 09:12 AM)
I saw one in Sgpore sumtime in June recently n yes its pretty quirky but is kinda small - ala our Alza..

D
Guess this is for different customer requirements, to me I only need 7 seaters function occasionally and most of the time will just drive alone to work and back home.. but I need one big and another small car for my family for some special occasion like shopping in Ikea which I can bring those stuff back home without the needs of paying for delivery, dinner with family and friend sometime by going out with 1 car instead of 2(save for parking, fuel, etc), but not to drive a big car like Serena all the time which I feel very burden..

Anyway, Alza is also fine for me but older technology beside higher fuel consumption and older model and planning to use this car for the rest of 10 or more years.. so need something more reliable, thats all tongue.gif cool2.gif
calk
post Jul 21 2016, 11:50 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 21 2016, 09:47 AM)
Hey bro,

I understand totally on requirements there.. not everybody wan a veilfire to lug ard if going to the malls for a movie or sumting ..
Alza is not bad for its asking price - looks not withstanding.. actually on paper - specs wise tis Sienta isnt tat much greater than the Alza..
Again tis is my thoughts only..

tongue.gif
D
Yes agreed. Alza advanced cost only around 2/3 of Sienta and whether those new engine, push start/stop, better cabin space & safety, LED light, electrical sliding doors, CVT, better FC count for the the remaining 1/3 of the car price. Anyway, certainly if Alza came out with similar DVVT-i engine and same current pricing, I will certainly go for Alza instead of Sienta I guess.. 1/3 = to half Alza price or one full Axia car biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
calk
post Jul 21 2016, 11:54 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Jul 21 2016, 10:00 AM)
Sienta price can get a recon wish 1.8
one recond 4 years old Wish = 2 Advanced Alza with full warranty = 3.8 Axia?? = 2.5 Bezza??

Anyway, your choice with the comfort, safety feeling, power, showoff, usefulness, needs level.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
calk
post Jul 22 2016, 08:58 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Jul 22 2016, 12:56 AM)
same here, wife approves Sienta and not recon/ap japanese mpvs due to maintenance cost++++. for 100k new car GL & Sienta or you want to try Chevy smile.gif which after sales support is a big no no.
Any concern from you guy on buying the first batch car?? Anyway, I guess the Avanza 1.5G that I has now is also the first batch car but so far still happy with its performance for the past close to 10 years

Will probably book the Sienta V today.. Have you book one yet or you want to wait till test drive first?? To me, me and my family are very happy about this Sienta so far as my gals can easily get inside the car when carrying her school bag but having some challenge when getting inside my Avanza . blush.gif blush.gif
calk
post Jul 23 2016, 11:09 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Jul 22 2016, 11:35 AM)
Being first batch, there is some concern too. but i'm looking  into early next year hopefully before Chinese New Year. one of the criteria is the sliding doors. its a blessing. have fun waiting and do let us know whats the lead  time to get the car. What color are you choosing? brows.gif
I had booked the v spec silver on yesterday with UMW SA, what he said is that they dont actually know when will the delivery date but he said around Sep for booking done on June and July, for August will mostly be by October. He can only let me know a more confirm date of delivery after 24 August official launching.

What he told me, most of the people booked the orange color but dont think this color will be easier to maintain for long term so decided on the more general color..

calk
post Jul 23 2016, 12:29 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Jul 23 2016, 12:11 PM)
having said that, orange is funky. thats my first choice too, or the grey my second choice, but have to see it in flesh. your avanza cant wait?
Can wait but certainly wanted to have a new car soon will always be good.. anyway, close to 10 years old already so time to change or some upgrade perhaps

The Orange is sweet color but feel after time, those color will be faded.. the dark brown will make the car feel very warm and this is why guess if not white then will be silver.. but book with silver at this moment. As according to Toyota, the super white II is is different from what the white color toyota car now on the road as those are all super white I only.. so perhaps more white and shining I guess..

White is nice color but think it is not metallic but with added sort of shine pant as to make the car color looks more bright but white always is difficult to maintain.. perhaps with 9H coating(2-3K additional at car salon shop) will help to reduce the maintenance but that money can wash the car for maybe 10 years.. not sure whether worth it or not
calk
post Jul 23 2016, 04:32 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jul 23 2016, 01:22 PM)
Congrats. Any discount offered?
Similar discount with free gifts as well.. anyway need to consider 2 factors which one of it is how much they willing to trade in my car.
calk
post Jul 24 2016, 01:15 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 24 2016, 10:26 AM)
Was browsing online upon your remark of the super white color. Itsoes look good and different from the typical white from the photo below. But ofcourse just like any white, its going to be a pain to maintain.

But for white we can change the misai to blue or other colors in the future if we ever get bored  tongue.gif

Ya, white got more flexibility to make it more colorful just like what I seen in few Singapore Sienta group with some owner painted those black plastic part into orange which make it look really nice than black.. I would guess maybe for silver car, those black plastic parts might not look so obvious as compare to white.. but maybe if got opportunity in future, will paint those into metallic gray or perhaps dark red to make it looks nicer..

Anyway, wont spend much money on those yet as not really necessary bye.gif bye.gif
calk
post Jul 26 2016, 11:27 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(miseralim @ Jul 26 2016, 09:02 AM)
Assembly of first batch of 500 cars will be done in August. Another batch of 500 cars will be done in September. I think this quantity is for showroom cars only. I think Toyota is not very optimistic about the sales volume of this car. Normally like vios they'll hantam 2000 cars for the first few months.
Saw somewhere in the internet, the Indonesia plant supposed to produce 4000 Sienta per month initially so guess they will supply to ASEAN countries including Thailand, Malaysia and Singapore(currently all PI only getting the JDM version but heard soon they will get from Indonesia). Hopefully I can get my car by before mid Sep.
calk
post Jul 27 2016, 01:30 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 27 2016, 11:58 AM)
Its probably never meant to directly go head to bead with the avanza.

The avanza is a basic model meant for third world markets like malaysia and indonesia. A basic people carrier that can comfortably carry 7.

The sienta on the other hand is a global model selling in Japan and now ASEAN region. Comes with all the bells and whistles we typically see in a higher end vehicle, but with lesser space than the van based avanza. I guess you win some, you lose some in this case
Actually there is still some space behind the 3rd row seat which similar to one in Avanza. In fact, the Sienta length is longer as compare to Avanza by around 4.5cm tongue.gif tongue.gif
I did check the real unit at Mitsui Outlet early July and if you need lots of space behind without the needs of 3rd row seat, it is definitely bigger than Avanza. Both car are actually very similar in dimension with Sienta slightly better L/W/H: Sienta: 4235/1695/1695, Avanza: 4190/1660/1695. When you saw the real unit, I just feel the Sienta is lower as compare to my Avanza.. but cabin space is bigger as they lower down the clearance between car and ground so should be more stable as compare to Avanza beside FWD, longer wheelbase, heavier as compare to RWD in Avanza.

Missed one of the point is that, this car is using different engine as compare to one in Japan and FC and it use the current Avanza DVVT-i with CVT 7 speeds so most can only achieve 18km/L. Some Sienta user in SGP able to achieve 20-21KM/L with nominal at around 19+KM/L.

Anyway, seen like Indonesia also yet to have much of this car on the road so hopefully they could improve the FC in actual drive as the FC info I got is from internet review.

Booked the car already so hopefully no regret. bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:59 PM