Anybody know why Toyota/UMW didnt apply for EEV on this car?? if they apply for EEV, the car price might be around 90K which they could attract more buyer but will kill the Avanza sales perhaps..
All new Toyota Sienta, Surprising package
Jul 8 2016, 12:01 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
110 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Anybody know why Toyota/UMW didnt apply for EEV on this car?? if they apply for EEV, the car price might be around 90K which they could attract more buyer but will kill the Avanza sales perhaps..
Jul 8 2016, 12:41 PM
3,854 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 7 2016, 04:58 PM) I'd say it's economics. The question is, what do customers want? What are they going to pay for? So far the thinking at car makers seems to be that while additional airbags cost money, people just don't care that much. If you show them a car with 6 airbags and steel rims, or a car with 2 airbags and alloy rims + maybe leather seats or a flashy aftermarket radio, both costing the same, they will get the car with alloy rims. Finally some rational remarks on this issue. Spot on there.Now, if that is still true... who knows. But as long as they can sell cars without additional airbags, they will. For my Golf there is the option of 2 additional airbags for rear passengers, it costs RM 1600. In comparison, some other popular items: Sun roof: RM 4700. Leather: Minimum RM 8900. HID: RM 3800. Radio (stock comes without radio I think): Minimum RM 1800. Rear doors: RM 9000. And going back to safety features: Adaptive cruise control with automatic braking in emergency situations: RM 2400. Lane assist with self correcting feature (doesn't only warn you if you leave the lane, but steers the car back into the lane/holds the lane): RM 3200. Traffic sign recognition (has the same camera as lane assist, so if you have it, the car can be hacked to offer lane assist too): RM 1400. So airbags are a cheap option, relatively speaking, but it is one deemed unnecessary for the SEA market. Just look at Proton sales vs Perodua sales. The significantly safer car easily loses. Or look at the Golf in Malaysia: VW could have ordered all the safety features, which would add up to RM 8600 (airbags, adaptive cruise control, traffic sign recognition and lane assist). Maybe drop the 150 hp engine, get 120 instead, that should pretty much even out what you pay extra for the safety features. Somehow, there will always be nasty remarks on missing features such as airbags etc, and eventual buyers who purchase because of available items. Its a matter of which crowd is bigger. For some reasons, the latter seems to attract a much bigger crowd and customers. Perhaps the lack of awareness. Cant blame the car makers. These car makers are doing business, profit and volume is what matters. They can claim to have 24 airbags but if no one buys the car they are screwed. They will evolve with the market. Thats what they have been doing for the past 50 years or so and which is why they still survive today. Interesting point though on the availability of the optional items on vw. QUOTE(calk @ Jul 8 2016, 11:54 AM) I went to Mitsui outlet 2 days ago after seeing the email mentioning you can view this car there. Something funny is that, the SA told me he is yet to go through any training and perhaps if you ask them, they might not be able to answer you much in regards to this car features, etc. You can start the car to see how the MID and player work.. and some wrong info from the leftlet and stupid Toyota website which enter wrongly on the Height info which is supposed to be 1675 instead of 1695.. Also, the SA told me the V spec got nothing to upgrade but the website spec showing the player still upgradable to NAV version and will cost 2K+ for this upgrade which I think is unreasoable unless there is some additional features, i.e mirrorlink, wifi, etc beside navigation annd 7" LCD.. If im not mistaken, the indonesian sienta is built with a higher ground clearance than the japan spec ones. Since we are importing from there i assume ours would be higher too.Anyway, will need to test drive the car when it is officially launch on August. The car is lower as compare to Avanza(wrong Toyota info which mention both same height) by anyway, only 2cm. "The 170 mm ground clearance on Indonesian models is 25 mm higher than on the JDM cars, presumably to cope with the rougher roads." http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-to...d-in-indonesia/ Spec sheet says that the V grade will come with driving recorder. None on the lower variant. Will try to find out more on the navi upgrade option. Oh, and ive given up on getting useful info from salesman nowadays. Better off searching on my own than kena con by this people The sienta passes as an EEV? This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 8 2016, 12:43 PM |
Jul 8 2016, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:41 PM) Finally some rational remarks on this issue. Spot on there. The Sienta non-hybrid version FC is around 20.6km/l and Hybrid is 27.2km/l as according to Japan JC08 test cycle. So this car should easily passing the EEV requirements under segment C category.. So if they secure EEV duty rebate from government, what will be the car price then? The Hybrid version should be using the similar engine as the Prius C and some Singapore Sienta user can even get an average FC of 31km/l on the Hybrid version..Somehow, there will always be nasty remarks on missing features such as airbags etc, and eventual buyers who purchase because of available items. Its a matter of which crowd is bigger. For some reasons, the latter seems to attract a much bigger crowd and customers. Perhaps the lack of awareness. Cant blame the car makers. These car makers are doing business, profit and volume is what matters. They can claim to have 24 airbags but if no one buys the car they are screwed. They will evolve with the market. Thats what they have been doing for the past 50 years or so and which is why they still survive today. Interesting point though on the availability of the optional items on vw. If im not mistaken, the indonesian sienta is built with a higher ground clearance than the japan spec ones. Since we are importing from there i assume ours would be higher too. "The 170 mm ground clearance on Indonesian models is 25 mm higher than on the JDM cars, presumably to cope with the rougher roads." <a href='http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-toyota-sienta-mpv-launched-in-indonesia/' target='_blank'>http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-to...d-in-indonesia/</a> Spec sheet says that the V grade will come with driving recorder. None on the lower variant. Will try to find out more on the navi upgrade option. Oh, and ive given up on getting useful info from salesman nowadays. Better off searching on my own than kena con by this people The sienta passes as an EEV? The low FC is also one of the reason why I am consider this car as to replace my 10 years old Toyota Avanza 1.5G This post has been edited by calk: Jul 8 2016, 12:49 PM |
Jul 8 2016, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(calk @ Jul 8 2016, 12:48 PM) The Sienta non-hybrid version FC is around 20.6km/l and Hybrid is 27.2km/l as according to Japan JC08 test cycle. So this car should easily passing the EEV requirements under segment C category.. So if they secure EEV duty rebate from government, what will be the car price then? The Hybrid version should be using the similar engine as the Prius C and some Singapore Sienta user can even get an average FC of 31km/l on the Hybrid version.. Interesting. Is it possible that the current price IS already with EEV exemptions?Doubt that there will be a hybrid since the gov only approves CKD hybrids to enjoy the incentives. Maybe after the new plant arrives we might see it depending on how well it sells now. Just noticed that the sienta is heavier than the avanza??never expected that. Hopefully the cute 1.5 engine can pull its weight |
Jul 8 2016, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:51 PM) Interesting. Is it possible that the current price IS already with EEV exemptions? Ya did a spec comparison but dont think the height is correct as what stated in the website or leftlet as feel that car is really lower as compare to my avanza.. Anyway, do not think the current price has consider EEV as else it should be stated there and SA mention no.. Anyway, not too sure whether is the EEV only applicable for CKD car or also include the CBU version too.. Doubt that there will be a hybrid since the gov only approves CKD hybrids to enjoy the incentives. Maybe after the new plant arrives we might see it depending on how well it sells now. Just noticed that the sienta is heavier than the avanza??never expected that. Hopefully the cute 1.5 engine can pull its weight |
Jul 8 2016, 02:18 PM
796 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Sienta seem like a single product, not build on any existing toyota platform. Whereas Honda B-rv is built on Brio or Amaza platform. B-RV is not a JDM model. Got to wait till Honda launch it, to do a actual comparison.
Jul 8 2016, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:41 PM) Finally some rational remarks on this issue. Spot on there. Just check the Indonesia spec, seen like the Height is also 1695mm which should be the same as Avanza height.. so in this case, the cabin height should be higher as compare to Avanza.. but when sit inside feel lower... perhaps they raise up the seat so have not natural sitting like on a normal chairSomehow, there will always be nasty remarks on missing features such as airbags etc, and eventual buyers who purchase because of available items. Its a matter of which crowd is bigger. For some reasons, the latter seems to attract a much bigger crowd and customers. Perhaps the lack of awareness. Cant blame the car makers. These car makers are doing business, profit and volume is what matters. They can claim to have 24 airbags but if no one buys the car they are screwed. They will evolve with the market. Thats what they have been doing for the past 50 years or so and which is why they still survive today. Interesting point though on the availability of the optional items on vw. If im not mistaken, the indonesian sienta is built with a higher ground clearance than the japan spec ones. Since we are importing from there i assume ours would be higher too. "The 170 mm ground clearance on Indonesian models is 25 mm higher than on the JDM cars, presumably to cope with the rougher roads." <a href='http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-toyota-sienta-mpv-launched-in-indonesia/' target='_blank'>http://<link removed>/2016/04/07/iims-2016-to...d-in-indonesia/</a> Spec sheet says that the V grade will come with driving recorder. None on the lower variant. Will try to find out more on the navi upgrade option. Oh, and ive given up on getting useful info from salesman nowadays. Better off searching on my own than kena con by this people The sienta passes as an EEV? |
Jul 8 2016, 03:40 PM
1,128 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 8 2016, 03:18 PM) Sienta seem like a single product, not build on any existing toyota platform. Whereas Honda B-rv is built on Brio or Amaza platform. B-RV is not a JDM model. Got to wait till Honda launch it, to do a actual comparison. Have seen the actual BRV and I would say it is not that nice looking car. It looks a MPV on stilt yet lower than a SUV. |
Jul 8 2016, 03:59 PM
Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 12:51 PM) Interesting. Is it possible that the current price IS already with EEV exemptions? More solid... and hybrid drivetrain also weights a bit.Doubt that there will be a hybrid since the gov only approves CKD hybrids to enjoy the incentives. Maybe after the new plant arrives we might see it depending on how well it sells now. Just noticed that the sienta is heavier than the avanza??never expected that. Hopefully the cute 1.5 engine can pull its weight I thought EEV and hybrid incentives are for CKD cars only? |
Jul 8 2016, 04:40 PM
72 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
already see banner hanging in toyota showroom but no car display
Jul 8 2016, 05:13 PM
1,128 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Jul 8 2016, 11:42 PM
Went to take a look at the car awhile ago. Was lucky that i had a good 15 mts alone with the car.
Not a single sole, around including the salesmen. It was all empty. All electrics on the car were off. Assume battery was dead. Doors open only by push and couldnt open the rear door to checkout the cargo space properly. I had a few criteria as my priority to look out for today, in summary COMFORT - seat comfort beyond expectation. Currently driving a peugeot 207 and the comfort of the sienta far exceeds that - 2nd row too was very comfortable as well. Wife was happy with the seat padding and the chair reclines up to 45 degrees with the headrest shaped perfectly as a pillow. - 3rd row, didnt expect much to be honest from the thin seat materials in the photo. But again it exceeded my expectations. Seat was firm and comfortable enough and surprisingly leg room was sufficient with the second row moved slightly forward. (My Height ~175cm) in the alza i had to bend my knees sideways but could comfortably fit my knees in the sienta. With the second row pushed all the way back, not so comfortable as the front seat frames pushes into your shins. I believe the extra space at the last row comes from the higher position of those seats and the large space available under the second row. PRACTICALITY - the Sienta excels here. Was surprised by how effortless it was to tuck the seats in and out under 30 seconds even when accessed from the side doors. I believe female drivers will appreciate this. - storage and cupholders and secret compartments everywhere and blended in well with the design. - however i did find the front cupholders to be slightly annoying when getting into the car. - wife could very easily get in and out from the car with a baby in hand. - the flat flooring in the rear is a big plus for a car like this. Really does give a spacious feel. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Flat floor on the rear CARGO AREA - in 5 seats configuration, space is abundant. Distance from the rear to the seats are standard as per normal sedan, vios/city. - not happy that there doesnt seem to be a cover to form a flat surface to cover the gaps between the folded seats. japan specs seems to have this. - trunk tray is available but the size is for 7 seat configuration and with seats folded, i doubt that it will be useful at all. Imagine putting in a heavy luggage bag with half of it on the tray and the other half outside. Moght probably remove it all together - couldnt judge the space properly due to the rear door not working - with 7 seats configuration and fully reclined seats, a standard luggage back would not fit upright. - with 5 seats configuration you can fit a baby elephant there. (Luggage can be stacked compared to sedan) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Looks like the tray cant be removed due to a hidden compartment under DESIGN - beautiful in flesh - rear might not suit many but not much can be done with such a flat surface - the car actually appears lower than it actually is. Might be the curves or overall stance shying away from a typical van look. - The dashboard motives actually looked good in flesh. Materials looks good to the eyes but of course, all plastic. (would have preferred those orange touch like the Japan model) OTHERS - aircond panel doesnt look as cheap as in the photos. The glossy finish and soft button touch was actually good. - if you are sitting in the rear, you might notice that the driver is very low due to the stadium seating arrangement Thats all i can remember as of now. Will upload some photos as soon as i have the time. paultan seems to have an extensive undressing of the car with hi-res photos as well Next of course would be a test drive to see the NVH level ,comfort and if it has sufficient power for casual driving. If it scores decently there, i think my decision would be quite clear. This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 8 2016, 11:59 PM |
Jul 9 2016, 09:09 AM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
nice observation... the car overall looks fine to me just the engine is abit too underpowered for a 7 seater. even my innova with 2.0 also feel sluggish with 7 can't imagine this... will be like Avanza all over again
Jul 9 2016, 09:28 AM
2,532 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(calk @ Jul 8 2016, 02:24 PM) Just check the Indonesia spec, seen like the Height is also 1695mm which should be the same as Avanza height.. so in this case, the cabin height should be higher as compare to Avanza.. but when sit inside feel lower... perhaps they raise up the seat so have not natural sitting like on a normal chair Somehow, this car doesn't feel as high as Avanza. I own Avanza as well. When do you plan to upgrade?aztechx, good write up. |
Jul 9 2016, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 8 2016, 11:42 PM) Went to take a look at the car awhile ago. Was lucky that i had a good 15 mts alone with the car. Nice preview. Not a single sole, around including the salesmen. It was all empty. All electrics on the car were off. Assume battery was dead. Doors open only by push and couldnt open the rear door to checkout the cargo space properly. I had a few criteria as my priority to look out for today, in summary COMFORT - seat comfort beyond expectation. Currently driving a peugeot 207 and the comfort of the sienta far exceeds that - 2nd Next of course would be a test drive to see the NVH level ,comfort and if it has sufficient power for casual driving. If it scores decently there, i think my decision would be quite clear. in term of size, Sienta is comparable to Alza and Avanza. It offer better safety feature, comfort level, .. ... Need to pay fork out premier of 20k to 30k over the others 2. |
Jul 10 2016, 02:42 PM
What color is nice for sienta? I'm thinking the grey or white.
Jul 10 2016, 05:25 PM
Jul 10 2016, 06:33 PM
145 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Orange
Jul 10 2016, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 10 2016, 05:25 PM) Now that you mentioned it, yeah, it does resemble them. As much as I like the white, I probably won't get that color. Worry it will get dirty easily.QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Jul 10 2016, 06:33 PM) Yeah, this looks like their signature color from their ads. It's nice. |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:37 AM |