12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Very bad RMA for Sapphire GPU

TSPowerSlide
post Jun 30 2016, 06:36 PM, updated 9y ago

----------
6,035 posts

This is a warning to anyone who owns a Sapphire GPU and needs to RMA their EOL card. Your experience might be better so treat this as a good read.

I own a Sapphire R9 280X vaporx tri-x which comes with 2 years warranty until June 2016. So May last month the card goes defective. No problem still in warranty so i send it back to the shop and the shop can send it back to the distributor. All fine and well.

2 days ago, 28th June i got news from the shop and told me the distributor cannot replace same card for me anymore because it's EOL. This is normal as the 280X is quite old and the distributor also ran out of R9 380 and 380X to replace for me.

So here comes the absurd part, compensate me RM100 or i topup RM1050 and get myself a shiny new RX480. Why RM100? because when they refer back to Sapphire my card is "out of manufacturer warranty" so Sapphire only CN(Credit Note) them RM100. For my case they make it "special" and give me the RM100. So i say a big NO, what kind of ridiculous offer is this.

Next day they came with another offer, this time ask me pay RM636 for a nitro R7 370! I say NOOOO and guess what they reduce the R7 370 to RM565..wow so generous..im beginning to feel special now

Onwards to today, they make me special again by reducing the top up to RX480 to RM1007 (RM950+gst)..now i'm being offered below market price i feel like i'm gonna be hauled up by MACC. Just now they revealed why i only get RM100...

card price RM1199/24 months = RM49.95 , warranty count as 2 months left so i get RM100

So what's missing until now? YES the "WARRANTY" I send in my card in the warranty time frame i should be given back the same card, if not a comparable card or compensate me more. They just use the excuse "out of manufacturer warranty" to compensate me RM100 or ask me top up alot for a new card. So whats the point of a warranty then, sapphire CN them RM100 nothing to with me..i send in the card in the warranty period and i should get back what a warranty is for.

The distributor is build tech and below is their site

http://www.build.com.my/

Shop given me the number for the person in charge and so far no reply in whatsapp, so i ask the shop to tell them to call me or reply me in whatsapp. That's it for now, if you find it funny please laugh..the RM100 can be funny lol and will be updated when i have any update.

CyrusWong
post Jun 30 2016, 06:42 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jun 30 2016, 06:36 PM)
ran out of R9 380 and 380X to replace
tell them and say you can wait for the restock, ask how long their next restock.
SUSPh 7.00
post Jun 30 2016, 06:45 PM

309 posts

can bring to court? make this a great example and save the sweat for customers after you.
SUStlts
post Jun 30 2016, 06:50 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

i bought like 3 sapphire card b4..and nvr RMA any of the 3 b4,(sold away)
guess i will start to black list sapphire and POWERCOLOR gpu from now on...
my GPU powercolor they doing FALSE advertizing..i aready file a complain to KPDNKK oledi....but no respond from them almost 3 weeks liao
chrisqck
post Jun 30 2016, 06:51 PM

135 posts

TS, if you have black & white proof that you sent in for RMA before warranty expired, go to consumer courts. They have to either give you back same model OR higher model but you top up to make for the price difference.

The point about the card is out of warranty when they refer back to Sapphire is NOT customer's problem. Whomever handling warranty at their end should be aware of the warranty status of each items customer sent in and keep track of it.

You have your rights as a customer, TS. Try approaching Consumer Court and ask for their advise. See what they recommend.
TSPowerSlide
post Jun 30 2016, 07:06 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(chrisqck @ Jun 30 2016, 06:51 PM)
TS, if you have black & white proof that you sent in for RMA before warranty expired, go to consumer courts. They have to either give you back same model OR higher model but you top up to make for the price difference.

The point about the card is out of warranty when they refer back to Sapphire is NOT customer's problem. Whomever handling warranty at their end should be aware of the warranty status of each items customer sent in and keep track of it. 

You have your rights as a customer, TS. Try approaching Consumer Court and ask for their advise. See what they recommend.
they have acknowledge that i send in inside the warranty period so i'm eligible for RMA

i didnt abuse my rights as a customer, i'm just asking for a reasonable compensation in this matter nothing more nothing less. They can came up with offer but at least be reasonable

filing a complaint is my last option, i'm not the kinda person who pushed anyone to their limit..i can have a good conversation with them to sort this out the easy way so no hard feelings to anyone and can move on
chrisqck
post Jun 30 2016, 07:53 PM

135 posts

TS,

Yes. I have handled cases previously where the RMA model is EOL. Usually the supplier will give us credit memo for the price of the stock then it's up to us to make a deal with customer.

For eg let's say customer bought the product at RM 500. This means customer has a "credit" with the shop of RM500. If the customer then decides to exchange for something with retail price of RM 455, the remaining RM45 is burned. If customer decides to get something that's retailing for RM 650, then customer only needs to top up RM150.

That's, in my opinion, how this case should be handled.

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jun 30 2016, 07:06 PM)
they have acknowledge that i send in inside the warranty period so i'm eligible for RMA

i didnt abuse my rights as a customer, i'm just asking for a reasonable compensation in this matter nothing more nothing less. They can came up with offer but at least be reasonable

filing a complaint is my last option, i'm not the kinda person who pushed anyone to their limit..i can have a good conversation with them to sort this out the easy way so no hard feelings to anyone and can move on
TSPowerSlide
post Jun 30 2016, 08:05 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(chrisqck @ Jun 30 2016, 07:53 PM)
TS,

Yes. I have handled cases previously where the RMA model is EOL. Usually the supplier will give us credit memo for the price of the stock then it's up to us to make a deal with customer.

For eg let's say customer bought the product at RM 500. This means customer has a "credit" with the shop of RM500. If the customer then decides to exchange for something with retail price of RM 455, the remaining RM45 is burned. If customer decides to get something that's retailing for RM 650, then customer only needs to top up RM150.

That's, in my opinion, how this case should be handled.
yes this should be the way, even i expect it to be this way

half the value or so its reasonable, i can't ask them to pay me back full price

RM100 is just absurd
puifah
post Jun 30 2016, 08:15 PM

451 posts

since i work at retail shop 10years ago, sapphire brand very seldom sold from my hand, majority is because after sales n service is very bad…somemore it's distributed by build technology…good luck to u 1st…now i got do some freelance also never buy the products supplied by them…filtered by me already…
TSPowerSlide
post Jun 30 2016, 08:56 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(puifah @ Jun 30 2016, 08:15 PM)
since i work at retail shop 10years ago, sapphire brand very seldom sold from my hand, majority is because after sales n service is very bad…somemore it's distributed by build technology…good luck to u 1st…now i got do some freelance also never buy the products supplied by them…filtered by me already…
so they got quite a bad reputation

i need alot of luck even that i don't think nothing good will come out of this mess

things like this what ruined a brand here
contestchris
post Jul 1 2016, 01:32 AM

5,582 posts

QUOTE(chrisqck @ Jun 30 2016, 06:51 PM)

No, if the same model is out of stock, they MUST upgrade to a similar performing or better model for free. This is standard practice.

TS, buy your goods online from Amazon and deal with their Taiwan centre directly.
Lurker
post Jul 1 2016, 01:35 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Company you can trust

- More than 13 Years Exprience Management team in IT distribution Line

- Experience in IT Distribution Line

- Efficient Logistic with On Time Delivery

- Up to Date Online Accounting Package

- Organizes Warehousing System

- Efficient RMA Service

SUSGregyong
post Jul 1 2016, 01:37 AM

1,167 posts

Pretty bad experience on your end then, Isolated imho.
Sapphire's distributor is JW powers located in Imbi Plaza. (at least they one that I deal with directly)
Last time when I fried my 6950, even during CNY season, they replaced it along with my motherboard in 3 weeks with a new card ( same model ).

This post has been edited by Gregyong: Jul 1 2016, 01:40 AM
madballs
post Jul 1 2016, 02:15 AM

237 posts

I had a feeling its a con job from the shop, the distributor don't dictate reseller mark up pricing aka consumer pricing but they will give you a guideline pricing to sell, so how did the come up with the rm1199 /24 months figure(I'm assuming this is the figure you bought from the shop)?

if lets say they were to CN, they will only CN the shop purchase price, not consumer price, that's what I know cuz I work in distribution line.

Also, distributor would not waste their time to keep on offering replacement with top-up to the consumer.
TSPowerSlide
post Jul 1 2016, 02:20 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 1 2016, 01:32 AM)
No, if the same model is out of stock, they MUST upgrade to a similar performing or better model for free. This is standard practice.

TS, buy your goods online from Amazon and deal with their Taiwan centre directly.
I thought buying from elsewhere a hassle but now its even a bigger hassle going thru this

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 1 2016, 01:35 AM)
Company you can trust

- Efficient RMA Service

LOL!!!

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Jul 1 2016, 01:37 AM)
Pretty bad experience on your end then, Isolated imho.
Sapphire's distributor is JW powers located in Imbi Plaza. (at least they one that I deal with directly)
Last time when I fried my 6950, even during CNY season, they replaced it along with my motherboard in 3 weeks with a new card ( same model ).
i never do alot RMA, either sold it off still working or it breaks after warranty is over but this is the 1st time go thru such a bad RMA..there is always first time for anything right lol

TSPowerSlide
post Jul 1 2016, 02:33 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(madballs @ Jul 1 2016, 02:15 AM)
I had a feeling its a con job from the shop, the distributor don't dictate reseller mark up pricing aka consumer pricing but they will give you a guideline pricing to sell, so how did the come up with the rm1199 /24 months figure(I'm assuming this is the figure you bought from the shop)?

if lets say they were to CN, they will only CN the shop purchase price, not consumer price, that's what I know cuz I work in distribution line.

Also, distributor would not waste their time to keep on offering replacement with top-up to the consumer.
RM1199 is the purchase price, the shop is just the middle in all this passing the message from distributor to me as the distributor themself can't be bothered to contact me

This whole mess is that my card is not covered anymore by sapphire, so what sapphire do is just cn RM100 to the distributor..distributor doesnt want to cover any more cost to compensate me so they came up with the calculation hence the RM100

SUStlts
post Jul 1 2016, 05:59 AM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

to ts...would u like me to post this at thier fb page?
just to speed up the prosess
puifah
post Jul 1 2016, 08:41 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(tlts @ Jul 1 2016, 05:59 AM)
to ts...would u like me to post this at thier fb page?
just to speed up the prosess
i can tell u is totally useless, now inside this company, operation n management messy like hell!
puifah
post Jul 1 2016, 08:43 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 1 2016, 01:35 AM)
Company you can trust

- Efficient RMA Service
hahaha…this company a lot of story behind this…efficient RMA service??? really bullshit and talk cock…

ZeonKid
post Jul 1 2016, 11:36 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(tlts @ Jun 30 2016, 06:50 PM)
i bought like 3 sapphire card b4..and nvr RMA any of the 3 b4,(sold away)
guess i will start to black list sapphire and POWERCOLOR gpu from now on...
my GPU powercolor they doing FALSE advertizing..i aready file a complain to KPDNKK oledi....but no respond from them almost 3 weeks liao
can share about the powercolor gpu false advertising?

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0268sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:39 PM