127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 12 2016, 09:07 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 12 2016, 07:36 AM)

just saw the youtube.

so basically the zotac extreme amp has the best cooling out of all the 1080 since even on stress test it could on/off fans and still be 66c temp max drool.gif

http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/941...dition/?page=11

palit, msi, evga and asus all roughly the same, max temp at 70-74

anyway here is a more detailed review for the zotax extreme amp 1080
http://www.hardwareheaven.com/2016/07/zota...edition-review/

The AMP! Extreme Edition will take up three slots (or 2.5 if you have half slots) in your system due to the large cooler used. It features three 90mm fans (designed to have minimal dead zone) above a large aluminium heatsink. Six copper heat pipes pass through that heatsink and draw heat away from the copper GPU plate. Zotac use a metal cover and backplate on the AMP! Extreme and add carbon fibre style detailing to the former.

This cooler also features LED lighting (front and back) which allow us to choose the colour used and add effects such as breathing. It is also worth noting that when the GPU is under low load, or during desktop use, the fans shut down and the card becomes completely silent. Finally, Zotac has altered the card design calling their changes “power boost”. To you and I that means enhanced components on the build to reduce power ripple and noise when in use. The overall size is 325mm x 148mm.

http://videocardz.com/60496/custom-geforce-gtx-1080-roundup

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 12 2016, 09:12 AM
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 09:14 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 12 2016, 08:13 AM)
I noticed you made the jump from dual GTX970 SLI to a single GTX1080. Did you get the Gigabyte version?

How high or low is the temperature during load? Also, how noisy is the triple fans setup?
I don't have any numbers to recall. Plus I run my games with V-sync on, so I may not be really loading my Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 to the max. Just like any other GTX 1080, the fan is totally off when if the GPU temp is below 60 deg C, and the Gigabyte G1 has nice "Fan Stop" LED glowing logo on the side. So from that I know, that in all the games I played, it ran above 60C since the Fan Stop logo stopped glowing, except for Warcraft III (which I think never stressed the GPU beyond 60 C even at 4K resolution max settings)

What I can say, my PC fan noise (combination of the GPU and CPU cooler fans) is noticeably louder when I ran Firestrike. The G1 custom cooler design is dumping hot air into my case and its effecting my CPU temp. Again, I don't have exact number to put in. I'm using Enermax ELC240 AIO cooler for my Intel i7-4930K OC 4.6Ghz on all 6-cores, with the 240mm radiator located at the top of my NZXT Phantom case, 2 x 120 mm fan blowing the air upwards. The top of my case just feels noticeably hotter to the touch after I ran Firestrike with this G1 card, compared to when I was using Asus GTX 970 Turbo OC SLI (which was blower design). This could also explain why I think the CPU fans are running faster, hence contributing the overall noise level.

I would have preferred to get the GTX 1080 Founder Edition with the blower style cooler, but the price was higher, and I thought I could try custom cooler for a change. Also I don't want any of the 2.5 slot high cards, which will block PCI-E slot below the GPU, so that left with me with not that many options. So I settled for the G1 Gaming (also kind nostalgic to the time when I had Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X). One thing for sure, if I'm ever going to SLI, the second card will definitely have to be blower style.

Anyway, maybe later today, I'll try to run Firestrike or CoD:BO3 at 4K max V-sync off, with HW monitor running in the background, and post the temp results here.

This post has been edited by adilz: Jul 12 2016, 09:25 AM
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 09:24 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 12 2016, 08:55 AM)
Noob question, will changing CPU give rise to having to "re-activate" Windows 10? I know changing mobo will do that.
Changing CPU only using the same mobo will not de-activate Windows 10, no need to re-install or re-activate. On the other hand, changing mobo could be deactivate your Windows license especially if your changing to a different chipset (I have changed CPU and mobo without re-installing Windows 10,but the mobo same chipset only different brand)

This post has been edited by adilz: Jul 12 2016, 09:25 AM
kianweic
post Jul 12 2016, 09:34 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 12 2016, 09:07 AM)
just saw the youtube.

so basically the zotac extreme amp has the best cooling out of all the 1080 since even on stress test it could on/off fans and still be 66c temp max  drool.gif

http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/941...dition/?page=11
palit, msi, evga and asus all roughly the same, max temp at 70-74
anyway here is a more detailed review for the zotax extreme amp 1080
http://www.hardwareheaven.com/2016/07/zota...edition-review/
http://videocardz.com/60496/custom-geforce-gtx-1080-roundup
I would think it is mainly attributable to the GPU cooler which is Artic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 3. From my experience with Artic Cooling Accelerro Xtreme products, I usually leave it on at 100% as it is still sufficiently silent and it cools very well.

My old Asus Geforce GTX 970 will only reach a maximum of 61c (during Doom) based on 100% fan speed.

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 12 2016, 09:14 AM)
I don't have any numbers to recall. Plus I run my games with V-sync on, so I may not be really loading my GTX 1080 to the max. Just like any other GTX 1080, the fan is totally off when if the GPU temp is below 60 deg C, and the Gigabyte G1 has nice "Fan Stop" LED glowing logo on the side. So from that I know, that in all the games I played, it ran above 60C since the Fan Stop logo stopped glowing, except for Warcraft III (which I think never stressed the GPU beyond 60 C even at 4K resolution max settings)

What I can say, my PC fan noise (combination of the GPU and CPU cooler fans) is noticeably louder when I ran Firestrike.  The G1 custom cooler design is dumping hot air into my case and its effecting my CPU temp. Again, I don't have exact number to put in. I'm using Enermax ELC240 AIO cooler for my Intel i7-4930K OC 4.6Ghz on all 6-cores, with the 240mm radiator located at the top of my NZXT Phantom case, 2  x 120 mm fan blowing the air upwards. The top of my case just feels noticeably hotter to the touch after I ran Firestrike with this G1 card, compared to when I was using Asus GTX 970 Turbo OC SLI (which was blower design). This could also explain why I think the CPU fans are running faster, hence contributing the overall noise level.

I would have preferred to get the GTX 1080 Founder Edition with the blower style cooler, but the price was higher, and I thought I could try custom cooler for a change. Also I don't want any of the 2.5 slot high cards, which will block PCI-E slot below the GPU, so that left with me with not that many options. So I settled for the G1 Gaming (also kind nostalgic to the time when I had Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X). One thing for sure, if I'm ever going to SLI, the second card will definitely have to be blower style.

Anyway, maybe later today, I'll try to run Firestrike or CoD:BO3 at 4K max V-sync off, with HW monitor running in the background, and  post the temp results here.
Thanks for explaining.

I presume that you will eventually go for a SLI setup. Do share you benchmarking later. I hope to join the Geforce GTX1080 team or at least the GTX1070 soon.
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 09:54 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 12 2016, 09:34 AM)
I would think it is mainly attributable to the GPU cooler which is Artic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 3. From my experience with Artic Cooling Accelerro Xtreme products, I usually leave it on at 100% as it is still sufficiently silent and it cools very well.

My old Asus Geforce GTX 970 will only reach a maximum of 61c (during Doom) based on 100% fan speed.
Thanks for explaining.

I presume that you will eventually go for a SLI setup. Do share you benchmarking later. I hope to join the Geforce GTX1080 team or at least the GTX1070 soon.
Review helps with decisions, but I don't take the reviews temp and noise results as indication to what I will actually be getting with my build. Almost all the GPU reviews uses open test bench, so I think generally the GPUs will run cooler because case ventilation is taken out of the equation. Once you put it into a PC casing, too many variables already (case size, ventilation fan qty and positioning), all of which will effect how the GPU fan works and the temperatures. Even if the GPU can maintain the same temp in casing similar to open bench, chances are its because the fan spins faster. And that doesn't take into account the effect on other components inside the case, and in my case, my CPU. Like I said, I would have preferred a blower style cooler. Its easier for thermal management of the whole PC, cool air comes into the case, heated up by the GPU and CPU, and gets dump outside the case.

Don't think I'll be going SLI soon because I'm not going to buy the second GPU brand new. Even if that happens, most probably only after GTX Titan or AMD Vega is out, when second hand GTX 1080 is available from those upgrading or changing camp (err never I know I might also change camp kah kah kah)

ps: Err Stringfellow, wanna swap your GTX 1080 FE with my Gigabyte G1? blush.gif he he he he

This post has been edited by adilz: Jul 12 2016, 09:58 AM
goldfries
post Jul 12 2016, 10:07 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(alsa @ Jul 12 2016, 07:41 AM)
whats the price for upcoming 1060 cards in malaysia. me consider to buy if under rm 1500.
Yes, can get it under RM 1500.
Demonic Wrath
post Jul 12 2016, 10:50 AM

My name so cool
1,667 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 12 2016, 08:11 AM)
I think as far as GTX 1080 is concern for DOOM,  does not matter if Async Compute comes through or not,  coz already running high fps even at 4K Ultra, unless someone who has that Dell 4K 120Hz monitor, and still want to juice whatover possible.  Even for GTX 1070 impact may not be much of a concern.

But the upcoming GTX 1060, it will be more important as its more of a direct competition to RX 480, and even AMDs older cards which so far shown significant bump with Vulkan Async Compute implementation.
I'd be seriously surprised if enabling Vulkan increases the performance of NVIDIA GPUs further by 20-30%. Scenes that are CPU-limited will see increase. Low end CPUs should see a performance increase too.

AMD GPUs are gaining a lot because their driver problem. See, in this DOOM benchmark http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/evga_..._review,17.html,

FuryX, Fury, R9 390X performing roughly 70+fps only. Their driver is bottlenecking their performance for DX11 and OpenGL.

Well, NV still holds the top performance in terms of FP32 TFlops shader performance. But those R9 390, R9 390X will get a tier up (RX480 against GTX980, R9 390X against 980Ti, FuryX performing closer to GTX1080*) in DX12 and Vulkan optimized games.

I also predict that RX480 OC (1350MHz) will perform 10% faster than GTX1060 OC (2000MHz) in Vulkan/DX12 titles. But GTX1060 has an edge at DX11/OpenGL titles.

*FuryX 4GB VRAM is a problem though..
goldfries
post Jul 12 2016, 12:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Check with you guys about Nvidia SLI.

I'm running 2x GTX 1070 now and what I notice is that the higher speed card does not downclock to match the lower speed card.

I've also tried MSI Afterburner to sync it (it's enabled) but it still shows different frequency when running benchies.

Good news is that it's not crashing. biggrin.gif

EDITED : hrmm then on other test when I see MSI Afterburner OSD, it seems to be synced.
kevink82
post Jul 12 2016, 12:34 PM

1,134 posts

I Vulcan is mainly for amd CPU if u watch tech of tomorrow playing doom on the amd setup with rx480 there's tons of stuttering......
stringfellow
post Jul 12 2016, 12:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 12 2016, 09:54 AM)

ps: Err Stringfellow, wanna swap your GTX 1080 FE with my Gigabyte G1?  blush.gif he he he he
No thanks. I've never gone AIB in my life and am not gonna start now. Fat cards are no go. These cards may look fierce and "sexy" to the average teenager, but to me they look garish and unrefined. The Apple DNA in me wants minimalism. Plus the fact that the FE blows hot air out of the case. The last "FE" that I had that blew hot air INTO the case was the GTX690, and I am not gonna have my case internals "cooked" that way again.
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 01:13 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 12 2016, 12:55 PM)
No thanks. I've never gone AIB in my life and am not gonna start now. Fat cards are no go. These cards may look fierce and "sexy" to the average teenager, but to me they look garish and unrefined. The Apple DNA in me wants minimalism. Plus the fact that the FE blows hot air out of the case. The last "FE" that I had that blew hot air INTO the case was the GTX690, and I am not gonna have my case internals "cooked" that way again.
Kih kih kih, my card not so fat lah. Still slim, 2-slot high only. Not like Palit humongous size. Anyway, just trying. Jangan marah arrrrr.

Ps: now that exchange with stringfellow is a no go, i hope Asus comes out with GTX 1080 Turbo OC in white, exactly like my ex GTX 970s.
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 01:21 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 12 2016, 12:23 PM)
Check with you guys about Nvidia SLI.

I'm running 2x GTX 1070 now and what I notice is that the higher speed card does not downclock to match the lower speed card.

I've also tried MSI Afterburner to sync it (it's enabled) but it still shows different frequency when running benchies.

Good news is that it's not crashing. biggrin.gif

EDITED : hrmm then on other test when I see MSI Afterburner OSD, it seems to be synced.
You're running SLI with identical cards?

Saw this from Nvidia Driver 368.69 release note

"Differing GPU Voltages in SLI Mode
When non-identical GPUs are used in SLI mode, they may run at different voltages. This occurs because the GPU clocks are kept as close as possible, and the clock of the higher performance GPU is limited by that of the other. One benefit is that the higher
performance GPU saves power by running at slightly reduced voltages.
An end-user gains nothing by attempting to raise the voltage of the higher performance GPU because its clocks must not exceed those of the other GPU"

Dont know if its tied to the clock speed too
edmund_yung
post Jul 12 2016, 01:34 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 12 2016, 09:34 AM)
I put the AX3 on my reference 980 Ti too, couldn't be happier. I did fail to make my 2x 120mm fan cooling the cards to stop during idle. Not sure how to mod fan values in the firmware, I only managed to mod some extra power limit.
goldfries
post Jul 12 2016, 01:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 12 2016, 01:21 PM)
You're running SLI with identical cards?
Non-identical. Managed to sync.

Not all games work well. I see The Division with no performance gain while Ashes and Hitman saw performance drop.

adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 01:55 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Jul 12 2016, 10:50 AM)
I'd be seriously surprised if enabling Vulkan increases the performance of NVIDIA GPUs further by 20-30%. Scenes that are CPU-limited will see increase. Low end CPUs should see a performance increase too.

AMD GPUs are gaining a lot because their driver problem. See, in this DOOM benchmark http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/evga_..._review,17.html,

FuryX, Fury, R9 390X performing roughly 70+fps only. Their driver is bottlenecking their performance for DX11 and OpenGL.

Well, NV still holds the top performance in terms of FP32 TFlops shader performance. But those R9 390, R9 390X will get a tier up (RX480 against GTX980, R9 390X against 980Ti, FuryX performing closer to GTX1080*) in DX12 and Vulkan optimized games.

I also predict that RX480 OC (1350MHz) will perform 10% faster than GTX1060 OC (2000MHz) in Vulkan/DX12 titles. But GTX1060 has an edge at DX11/OpenGL titles.

*FuryX 4GB VRAM is a problem though..
An article from extremetech

http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/231527-n...rformance-boost

Not only talk about the Vulkan patch, but general response from both camps on shifting to the new APIs.

On the Async Compute, here is excerpt from that article
"According to AMD, Doom now takes advantage of asynchronous compute and shader intrinsics that allow the game engine to directly access hardware (a video describing how this works is embedded above)."

I can only hope Nvidia lack of response is only because they are working on way to overcome this.
kianweic

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jul 12 2016, 01:34 PM)
I put the AX3 on my reference 980 Ti too, couldn't be happier. I did fail to make my 2x 120mm fan cooling the cards to stop during idle. Not sure how to mod fan values in the firmware, I only managed to mod some extra power limit.
I am curious but which 2x120mm fans?

AX3 only have 3x 92mm fans which are non-replacable.
Skylinestar

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

No fps improvement with Doom - Vulkan 1440p on my GTX1070 & i5 6500 rig.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 12 2016, 02:03 PM
adilz
post Jul 12 2016, 01:56 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 12 2016, 01:40 PM)
Non-identical. Managed to sync.

Not all games work well. I see The Division with no performance gain while Ashes and Hitman saw performance drop.
Its okay, maybe Nvidia is working on SLI profiles right now.
edmund_yung
post Jul 12 2016, 02:02 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 12 2016, 01:55 PM)
I am curious but which 2x120mm fans?

AX3 only have 3x 92mm fans which are non-replacable.
I did not use the fan bracket that comes with AX3, but used two 120mm case fans that positioned well inside the Ncase to cool the card.
kianweic
post Jul 12 2016, 02:04 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jul 12 2016, 02:02 PM)
I did not use the fan bracket that comes with AX3, but used two 120mm case fans that positioned well inside the Ncase to cool the card.
Interesting setup, can you post some photos of that?

What are the temperatures like after doing so?

127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:45 PM