QUOTE(fubs @ Jul 1 2016, 09:17 AM)
yup. early may 2015 and end april 2016.
didn't expect the temperature to increase so much though. advised to wear a wetsuit last year but not this year.
wow. haha. talk about climate shift. LYN Scuba Divers Club V7.0.0
Jul 1 2016, 09:28 AM
865 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melaka/JB/Penang/PJ |
Jul 1 2016, 09:32 AM
330 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Jul 1 2016, 10:03 AM
1,874 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: KUL, MY |
new TS ni... mana monyet?
Jul 1 2016, 10:04 AM
1 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Jul 1 2016, 10:07 AM
1,874 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: KUL, MY |
Jul 1 2016, 12:34 PM
Jul 1 2016, 04:19 PM
175 posts Joined: Aug 2011 From: KL, Malaysia |
My friend was planning for a diving discovery package in perhentian. so i have a question, would it be an issue for a person with teeth braces? |
Jul 1 2016, 04:23 PM
Jul 1 2016, 06:20 PM
869 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
Jul 1 2016, 07:56 PM
339 posts Joined: Mar 2016 From: Malaysia |
I'm in perhentian now. With mama chalet and free transport to turtle bay divers. Customer fre sly dive center... Staying place clean.
Make 2 dives today. Temp around 30.C. Vis around 8meters. Spot big string Ray. About half of human size. And green turtle. And many others fishers which I dunno the name. Haha. Sorry, no bring GoPro so, don't have photos to share here. Just Fun diving around. Hehe. |
Jul 1 2016, 08:05 PM
339 posts Joined: Mar 2016 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jul 1 2016, 07:56 PM) I'm in perhentian now. With mama chalet and free transport to turtle bay divers. Customer fre sly dive center... Staying place clean. Wearing 3mm wetsuit. Long sleeve with short pant. Last time everytime i dive I get shivering. But this time a lot better after with wetsuit. Going to toilet also easy and convenience with separate top and btm. Everything is good so far. Enjoying around with fishy. Small Shrimp climb walk on my hand. Make 2 dives today. Temp around 30.C. Vis around 8meters. Spot big string Ray. About half of human size. And green turtle. And many others fishers which I dunno the name. Haha. Sorry, no bring GoPro so, don't have photos to share here. Just Fun diving around. Hehe. I think For me, everything is easy and convenience is the best. Underwater-Up down left right upturn down turn, surface-easy release and attach, bring dive gear up/down to boat. Really happy dive today. Because mostly all equipments I newly purchase suit me well. This post has been edited by kentmeng: Jul 1 2016, 08:09 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 1 2016, 08:28 PM
6,008 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sounds like a good trip
Jul 2 2016, 06:16 AM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 30 2016, 11:51 AM) im not sure how to describe my stature like but all i can say is im reasonably thin. oh and so i read triggerfish are highly territorial and badly tempered wouldnt want them fishies biting... You'll never forget being bitten by one QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jun 30 2016, 03:51 PM) Equalize as much as possible. If pain, stop and try again. If still pain, abort dive. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jul 1 2016, 10:03 AM) Hi sifu! Welcome back |
Jul 2 2016, 09:53 AM
2 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jul 1 2016, 08:05 PM) Wearing 3mm wetsuit. Long sleeve with short pant. Last time everytime i dive I get shivering. But this time a lot better after with wetsuit. Going to toilet also easy and convenience with separate top and btm. Everything is good so far. Enjoying around with fishy. Small Shrimp climb walk on my hand. So this trip is actually for testing gear rite? HahaI think For me, everything is easy and convenience is the best. Underwater-Up down left right upturn down turn, surface-easy release and attach, bring dive gear up/down to boat. Really happy dive today. Because mostly all equipments I newly purchase suit me well. |
Jul 2 2016, 10:44 AM
2 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
For those curious about why our diving syllabus teaches the equalizing techniques the way they do, here's my attempt to simplify it:
First, notice the anatomy of our Eustachian tube..The opening, found at the back of the throat, is cone-shaped and is shut most of the time. When you pinch your nose and blow hard, you create a high pressure area at the throat which forces air past the shut opening. I think everyone knows this by now. However, if you equalize only when you feel the pressure/pain, the air within the eustachian tube has already been compressed, pulling the soft structures, especially the walls of the tube and the opening, closer and tighter together. This makes it harder to equalize. If you keep going down despite failing to equalize, the excess negative pressure may: -pull fluid from the walls of the tube, causing the tube to fill up with fluid, looking like an infection as i mentioned previously (aka barotitis media), -suck in the soft membranes (eardrum, round/oval window) so hard it ruptures them Hence the recommendations are to: -equalize regularly in anticipation, even before you feel the pressure -stop descending and attempt to equalize if you fail, -ascend slightly and attempt again if you still fail Most of the time these steps will work, unless you have an underlying problem. Which is the sniffles and a blocked nose in most cases. An infection swells up the walls of the tube, throat and opening, making it very hard to open them up. And that is why decongestants such as Clarinase may help. The reverse squeeze is less common since air escapes easier from the inside. Unless of course your tube and opening walls are swollen as above. The eustachian tube opening has a few muscles surrounding it, which contracts and opens up the tube when you swallow. Sometimes, even if you do not have a nose block or have taken some decongestants, you may find that equalizing is a hit-miss thing. Sometimes easy, sometimes impossible, on the same dive. This may be due to mucus blocking the opening of the tube. I find that swallowing a few times before equalizing again helps sometimes, but not always. Hope this helps. Feedback and corrections are much appreciated. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 2 2016, 10:49 AM
23 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Cyberspace West Tokyo |
Jul 2 2016, 11:09 AM
1,633 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(demetrius @ Jul 2 2016, 10:44 AM) For those curious about why our diving syllabus teaches the equalizing techniques the way they do, here's my attempt to simplify it: First, notice the anatomy of our Eustachian tube..The opening, found at the back of the throat, is cone-shaped and is shut most of the time. When you pinch your nose and blow hard, you create a high pressure area at the throat which forces air past the shut opening. I think everyone knows this by now. However, if you equalize only when you feel the pressure/pain, the air within the eustachian tube has already been compressed, pulling the soft structures, especially the walls of the tube and the opening, closer and tighter together. This makes it harder to equalize. If you keep going down despite failing to equalize, the excess negative pressure may: -pull fluid from the walls of the tube, causing the tube to fill up with fluid, looking like an infection as i mentioned previously (aka barotitis media), -suck in the soft membranes (eardrum, round/oval window) so hard it ruptures them Hence the recommendations are to: -equalize regularly in anticipation, even before you feel the pressure -stop descending and attempt to equalize if you fail, -ascend slightly and attempt again if you still fail Most of the time these steps will work, unless you have an underlying problem. Which is the sniffles and a blocked nose in most cases. An infection swells up the walls of the tube, throat and opening, making it very hard to open them up. And that is why decongestants such as Clarinase may help. The reverse squeeze is less common since air escapes easier from the inside. Unless of course your tube and opening walls are swollen as above. The eustachian tube opening has a few muscles surrounding it, which contracts and opens up the tube when you swallow. Sometimes, even if you do not have a nose block or have taken some decongestants, you may find that equalizing is a hit-miss thing. Sometimes easy, sometimes impossible, on the same dive. This may be due to mucus blocking the opening of the tube. I find that swallowing a few times before equalizing again helps sometimes, but not always. Hope this helps. Feedback and corrections are much appreciated. |
Jul 2 2016, 02:08 PM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
Jul 2 2016, 08:57 PM
23 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Cyberspace West Tokyo |
Jul 2 2016, 09:35 PM
1,079 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Planet Earth |
QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jul 1 2016, 07:56 PM) I'm in perhentian now. With mama chalet and free transport to turtle bay divers. Customer fre sly dive center... Staying place clean. Big sting ray should be Jenkins' whipray. Make 2 dives today. Temp around 30.C. Vis around 8meters. Spot big string Ray. About half of human size. And green turtle. And many others fishers which I dunno the name. Haha. Sorry, no bring GoPro so, don't have photos to share here. Just Fun diving around. Hehe. This big guy always wandering around Perhentian one... He loved stay around De lagoon usually ... been spotted here couple of times edy... |
| Change to: | 0.0330sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:25 AM |