LYN Scuba Divers Club V7.0.0

munkeyflo
post Jun 23 2016, 10:14 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jun 23 2016, 06:57 PM)
Hi sifus..i'm interested in SCUBA diving but why do i have to dress up like an astronaut to go underwater?
You are a lego, I can just throw you into the water and you'll survive. tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 25 2016, 06:35 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jun 24 2016, 07:14 PM)
I would be very photogenic underwater. I'd make a good 'model' for creative underwater shots. If you want something other than fish or nudis la. Lol
Hahaha I have no such creativity lol. Plus I suck at portrait and wide angel shots tongue.gif

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Jun 24 2016, 08:48 PM)
Greetings,

Can anyone point me to the cheapest PADI Open Water Certification in Klang Valley please.

Thank you
Cheapest doesn't mean bestest. If you are looking for good deals, just wait for MIDE coming up end next month at pwtc.

QUOTE(dogdog133 @ Jun 25 2016, 12:01 AM)
hi,any dive comp recommend?around RM1k- RM1500
Check out mares smart. Now got many nice colors too.
munkeyflo
post Jun 26 2016, 04:50 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 25 2016, 11:04 PM)
unfortunately no,

although i should come clean and mention that i did plenty of homework over the course of a year and roughly know what kind of equipment make,model i want and thought that finally after all of that i should bite the bullet and make a serious purchase since i do intend to make the most out of this.

i know i might sound like shooting for the moon on short notice but this is what i plan to get during MIDE

-Seawing Nova Gorilla or either Seawing Nova(depends on the feedback i get since they seem to be getting a mixed reaction)
-Delta Boot 5mm or Base Boot 5mm(depends on creature comforts i guess)
-Scubapro Trinidad Frameless

and maybe

-a full Rash guard of some sort?

so all in all any rough estimates what im looking at in terms of pricing during MIDE?
Although I personally am using seawing and I always say they are the best fins ever and I love my fins till bits. I would still say, go try it out first before buying. Seawing gorilla is like 2 pieces of planks, make sure your legs have muscles. evansoon might be able to sell you his gorillas. Prepare to pay at least rm700+ for any seawing, gorilla is more expensive. I'm not sure with the conversion rates now.

Booties - we mostly use seapro booties. You can get it from rainbow runner shop at MIDE for below rm100. It's cheap and serves its purpose for general diving around SEA. Plus I like how the center part has the hard thingy and it fits nicely with my seawing nova to protect the center part of my feet from getting bruise if I fin a lot. I've had other booties but seapro was my first and it's still my favourite.

Mask - actually the only piece of equipment I would suggest you to get before your course. If you have the budget, go ahead and get your preferred one. I assure you, you will definitely have more than one mask (at a time) thruout your diving life. A cheap mask is generally around rm100, a good one is around rm100-200, and higher end ones are rm250+ or so.

Since you like scubapro, if you have friends or family traveling to Hong Kong soon, get them to check the dive shops there.
munkeyflo
post Jun 26 2016, 06:13 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 26 2016, 09:00 AM)
Well for starters i do cycle alot,i dont suppose that should do some damage in the water and 700+ refers to the gorilla or standard nova? diving express is selling the gorilla for about 640 but the color they have available is orange which is a tad bit obnoxious personally tongue.gif

well as for booties and masks,generally i like to follow a few hard and fast rules which i carry over from PC Building which is to not underspend or overspend but spend on the best thing you can afford within a given set budget which is about 1100 for the said 3 basic equipment which shouldnt be too bad.

as for branding i dont really mind,it really isnt a must to get everything from scubapro with the exception of the fins tongue.gif

i guess from the information ive gathered so far im still within my set target budget assuming i go with the average prices youve mentioned 700ish?(fins) + 100(booties) + 150(mask) = 950ish?
although i hope during MIDE the seawings would be cheaper than expected...?
It's amazing for fighting currents, but I notice I hardly fin lol. Seawing is selling like rm800+ if not mistaken, check with Sealantis (distributor) and Scuba Warehouse (might be cheaper than Sealantis). Scubapro is expensive in Malaysia. Diving express is the hk based online shop right? I've gotten my seawings from them as well, so did Evan and his orange gorilla. We used to be able to get a pair of seawings for like rm400 laugh.gif

Our MIDE isn't exactly WOW pricing for scubapro. Like I said, scubapro ain't cheap in Malaysia. If you can source from overseas, by all means, do it.

Yea booties is around that price, below rm200 can get pretty good ones. You might wanna increase your budget for mask a bit though if you're looking for frameless and stuffs.
munkeyflo
post Jun 26 2016, 06:43 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 26 2016, 06:32 PM)
400? you mean like 5 years ago when the nova was originally released? because currently at diving express with all said and done including shipping is about roughly 720MYR assuming during MIDE if i someone price matches it or thereabouts i might as well bite the bullet and get it there and then. additionally hence the 1100ish i plan to set aside which allows for some wiggle room.

there was another online store which i found called scubastore but there doesnt seem to be a way for me to add items to the cart so i could gauge the shipping prices which frustrated me. the seawing gorilla was going for about 595MYR which does look like a steal but alas the site seems broken to me with no way to try to register as a customer or even add items as a guest.
Oh 5 years only? I guess so haha. It was around 2011 or so when I first tried on my friend's seawing and fell in love with it. She bought it for below rm400 in hk then since she was a stewardess and flew there often. I think my first pair was around rm400+ (early 2013) then second pair around rm500+ (mid 2014). I remember KL pricing was always around rm800 or so. You have to consider our awesome currency as well tongue.gif

MIDE is in a month's time. Just wait for MIDE and then decide later. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 27 2016, 06:37 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Peppercorn @ Jun 26 2016, 09:34 PM)
Hi all!

That is about a US 4.5.I do plan to try more in MIDE. Do they run out of sizes too early?

I was looking inititally for full foot, paddle type fin with reasonable power but not too stiff. But at my size, I think my choices are limited. and I did manage to fit into the Mares Plana Avanti Excel XS so that will be my last option.

Definitely going to consider thicker booties/wearing neoprene socks with full foot, if its going to help with fitting! I can fit into size 5 or 6 booties, my ankles are just too narrow.

So far I do have in mind to check these out at MIDE (since I found them to be available in smaller sizes)
- Oceanic Viper
- Tusa Solla
- Mares Volo Race with booties/ thicker socks
- Aqualung Shot FX
- Gull mew and Gull coco

Any opinion?

Thanks very much!!!
Many girls I know with smaller feet uses Mares X-stream as well. So far only good reviews about that pair of fins.

munkeyflo
post Jun 29 2016, 11:13 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

There's always the ATM machine downstairs tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2016, 06:53 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 29 2016, 12:52 PM)
sorry newbie here, do they sell Powered Mask in MIDE?
Check out Scubatex for powered mask. I'm not 100% sure if they sell them at MIDE but I'm sure they do. Even if it's not MIDE price, it should be quite affordable.

I have a rotting powered mask at home, contact lens all the way. Get dailies, no maintenance, just use and throw. Bring spare spectacles on your dive trips. I've lost many things to the sea before.

QUOTE(GearX_SaM @ Jun 29 2016, 02:07 PM)
Just completed my open water diving course at  Tioman last month! Hope to have more dive in future haha.

Anyone here experience ear infection before? It seems like I have developed ear infection on my left year after one of the dive where I have hard time equalizing my left ear.

HAve some meds from clinic mainly antibiotic and anti-inflammation. Hope it recovers asap. Might going to another round of ENT checking just to ensure everything is fine.

lol
Welcome to the underwater world!

Go see an ENT specialist for a check up. And yes, make sure you are completely healed before going on your next dive.

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 29 2016, 03:55 PM)
ahaha...ha..... whistling.gif  i am planning to get a 5mm wetsuit sometime later and when i mean later i mean waaaaay after dealing with basic equipments... , theres no pleasing both sides hmm? its either you roast on land(hypothetically speaking) and stay warm in the water or stay cool on land and freeze in the water.... what a conundrum rclxub.gif
5mm in Malaysian/SEA waters? Hows your body size like?

The water temp is getting warmer these days. I wear a wetsuit is because I'm afraid of triggerfish.
munkeyflo
post Jul 2 2016, 06:16 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jun 30 2016, 11:51 AM)
im not sure how to describe my stature like but all i can say is im reasonably thin. oh and so i read triggerfish are highly territorial and badly tempered wouldnt want them fishies biting... sweat.gif
You'll never forget being bitten by one laugh.gif

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jun 30 2016, 03:51 PM)
How to be more careful? decrease the ascend / descend speed? or deepstop? hmm.gif
Equalize as much as possible. If pain, stop and try again. If still pain, abort dive.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jul 1 2016, 10:03 AM)
new TS ni... mana monyet?
Hi sifu! Welcome back tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 2 2016, 02:08 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jul 2 2016, 10:49 AM)
Dont say like you enjoyed it!  sweat.gif
Oh you will never know. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 4 2016, 03:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Jul 4 2016, 02:53 PM)
Then where do you recommend for me to get my licence? I wanted to try it out over in perhentian but I believe it's a moonsoon season over there in September.

My choices would be either Indonesia or Thailand.
Perhentian is fine in September, east coast islands are open till October or so, just don't go during November. Instructors turnover rate there also quite high because matsallehs love to go perhentian too.

Check out MIDE for good deals if you are around kl end of this month.

If you got the budget to go Indonesia or Thailand, you can go Sabah too. Choose instructor, not so much on location.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Jul 4 2016, 03:03 PM
munkeyflo
post Jul 4 2016, 03:20 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Jul 4 2016, 03:08 PM)
Any tips on how to select a good instructor? Was planning to visit Sabah as well, but it's just that my friends are sceptical about the kidnappings and stuff like that.
Hard to choose instructor if you're planning to do crash course on the island/resort. It's like a 50/50 chance but some dive centers do have good instructors.

There's Kota Kinabalu too. Kidnapping - no comment laugh.gif

If Indonesia, Padang is only a short flight away and pretty good too. Pulau Weh not really recommended for beginners since current there can be crazy but if you don't go during full moon should be alright, cheap too. You can check with Bali too, not the crazy current areas.
munkeyflo
post Jul 5 2016, 04:44 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Jul 4 2016, 07:12 PM)
Kidnapping in Kota Kinabalu? Boy you must be one of those "think they know all"
Wow your comprehension skills amazes me!

Well, all the best with your OW course at Pulau Sapi. Hope you see many many school of fishies there wink.gif

QUOTE(hazelnet @ Jul 4 2016, 08:45 PM)
I love that guy's work lust.gif
His underwater museums are on my to-dive list, one day.... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jul 4 2016, 08:50 PM)
She meant 'there's KK if u're afraid of kidnappings. But even kidnappings in semporna would not deter one who truly wants to dive there'. We've discussed this matter plenty of times before, and the conclusion still stands. Risk is increased in semporna waters, but not that great. In the end it's up to yourself.

Sorry munkey for putting words in your mouth tongue.gif
Not don't train anymore, but don't purposely create an OOA situation just to use it. You can still practice without putting yourself in danger right? (assuming you're talking about CESA and buddy air sharing?)
Aww thanks.
Yea we've discussed it quite a bit before I think. But I have not much to comment these days as I sendiri also takuts edi hahaha.

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jul 5 2016, 12:29 AM)
Well, no issues diving with no weights if you're really comfortable. Problem is too many new divers too confident just when the instructor tell then they are good to boost their confidence, but took it wrongly and think they're really that good. And go out and start buying all the backplate and stuffs and dive with no weights and end up having all the ballooning issue. Imagine if it's in the strong current area and bit enough dm or instructors or even rescue divers around.
Actually I always wondered, if like need to release our weight/weight belt during emergency situation. How bout those with backplate?
munkeyflo
post Jul 5 2016, 07:51 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jul 5 2016, 06:22 PM)
There are no old gungho divers because they either died-ed or become smarter divers after KENA
This! Hahah.

And wow so active today.

And yea I'm sure lots of cases covered up, especially in countries where rules and regulations are not so strictly enforced.
munkeyflo
post Jul 6 2016, 03:07 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Selamat Hari Raya to all celebrating smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 7 2016, 07:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 7 2016, 05:52 PM)
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-06/scub...-ordeal/7574496
You never know when you're going to need that big SMB...
I need a bigger sausage.

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jul 7 2016, 07:19 PM)
How about a bright strobe light? wink.gif
Strobe light will run out of battery after so many hours also.

Reflector mirror will work I guess?
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2016, 02:12 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jul 7 2016, 09:30 PM)
Or lie the sausage flat on the water, and spin it. While blowing away your huge whistle. Choppers are noisy but i guess they wouldn't miss a high pitched whistle? Lol
Hm you'll need a powerful whistle as well. Haha. My whistle is more compact than powerful. SMB also smaller than usual size. My normal sized one leaking edi hahaha.
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2016, 02:13 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jul 8 2016, 12:17 AM)
Christmas tree means a lot of things dangling. Not because if lights. Haha.
That's why wkKay has many pockets like doraemon. tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2016, 03:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 8 2016, 01:18 PM)
Next time I can pull out a packet drink for you too laugh.gif
Ok. Do I need to pay you in cash? tongue.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 8 2016, 01:42 PM)
Wanna upgrade and share shipping? Found a storm whistle here for $11, but shipping is $10 sweat.gif
I think MIDE was selling storm whistle for around rm20 or so. Bought one for my friend last year. Shipping $10 so expensive laaa. Aussie no storm whistle meh?
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2016, 03:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(KiraTomaru @ Jul 8 2016, 03:06 PM)
i mean i know what they look like i was being playful with the word pockets since they kept making pocket jokes,but thanks for your effort although did you chose scubapro as an example exhibit because i kept mentioning that i prefer scubapro?  laugh.gif
No la. If not mistaken, he glued his scubapro pockets to his sharkskin.

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2513sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:33 AM