13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

xander2k8
post Nov 6 2023, 12:38 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 4 2023, 04:25 PM)
FED won’t react that fast. It still will be next yrs.
Yes next year πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ but if the both wars accelerating during winter πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ expect cuts sooner

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 5 2023, 10:26 AM)
Already miss the train?

Unless the inflation going up and another hike.
Inflation will spike up during Winter but the current upcoming core CPI whether will factor in

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 5 2023, 03:04 PM)
...may go back down to 3.8% or lower next mth,........ Then Feds may decide to hike for one more time this year in the December Mtg....
That is why the next 2 CPI reading is important to see whether they will hike in Dec but he will still hawkish even if there is not a hike in Dec
xander2k8
post Nov 6 2023, 11:54 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 6 2023, 05:22 PM)
When cut is not my concern,........ Everybody is ready to WIN ! But of course, I hoped my SG Bank and HSBC share prices and dividends do not drop when Feds starts cutting.

I think,... Feds is reluctant to raise already !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let's see.

If I'm right,... I'll release the reasons for saying the above this evening.
You should be worried when your SG banks and HSBC is not performing when rates are cut πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ because the business is not growing and revenue is slowing down

If you just depends on your banks to have good NIM only πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ then your shares are in big trouble

xander2k8
post Nov 7 2023, 01:28 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 7 2023, 03:50 AM)
When rates are cut, loans growth will start to take over the revenue-generating work for the banks. Secondly, fee income will also pick-up as investors start coming back into the equities scene with low interest rates for their fixed income instruments. These two sources will be able to offset the drop in net interest income.

I have bought my banks at adequately-low prices, and with low holding-prices, my safety margin will be there shld the share price retreats when rates are cut. This is also why,... I am reluctant to average UP even when I see there is so much potential for the banks to do well this year and in 2024.

Such in the above is my strategy to 'play' the banks.
As long as you are buying low and there is a buffer then you should worry less but you should see US banks now πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ are even lower than earlier this year after regional bank debacle

Asian banks are much safer because their cash buffer is high and they can institute share dividends or buybacks to offset their weaker prices
xander2k8
post Nov 7 2023, 02:12 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 7 2023, 02:03 AM)
Not in the game of predicting market moves so that would be a dumb question. But im not invested in the US stock market for 5% gains and so far ive been on a good run for years with Big Tech. You can either choose to listen or you can follow your own path but just avoid coming up with some excuse in 2024 when you see the market outperforming your 5% money market return.
Good advise there πŸ‘ at least sensible person not too much in cash on hand πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ while losing out oppurtunities in the market
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2023, 05:04 AM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Nov 14 2023, 07:11 AM)
Hindsight is always 20/20.. maybe he has some 2021 high stocks?

So can we play the same book as last year? We buy nvidia this year and expect the same thing to happen next year.
The play book would be the same if you invest long term πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ if you want to shuffle the playbook often then you have trade a lot instead which higher chances of losing
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2023, 02:21 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Nov 15 2023, 08:57 AM)
haha sorry a bit of a confusion there. was just replying to cyber's comment on cubalagi's "missed out" stock rally  blush.gif

we can say "wahh u missed out on 2020-21 crypto boom oh wow D&O spectacular run from 2020 u didnt buy meh"

but can we really buy at the bottom and sell at the top?

so just DCA on TQQQ TMF  tongue.gif
That is why if you DCA only one playbook πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and if wanna shuffle playbook then you trade more simple as that

Yes you buy low and sell high but the occurrence will be very like probably 1 in 1000 trades
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2023, 02:26 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(rotloi @ Nov 15 2023, 05:27 AM)
I like bank of America.. it like roller coaster and reflect well with economic news
Especially with macroeconomic news due to consumer data

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 15 2023, 10:15 AM)
Better buy others if longterm.

My experience.
It depends on how you wanna express your investment views

BAC tracks a lot on based macro consumer economics views πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ while banks like GS and MS tracks more on institutional investment banking
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2023, 06:35 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 15 2023, 02:37 PM)
I have invested in BAC for 11yrs. The annual return is pretty low. Even buy low sell high.
But steady dividends right?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2023, 04:06 PM)
Avoid BCA. Buy JP Morgan or TD or RBY. Better banks than Bank of America.
Did you mean BNY Mellon or RBC instead of RBY?

But the better option than BAC would be definitely JPM
xander2k8
post Nov 22 2023, 05:48 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 21 2023, 11:12 PM)
Its way overbought. There will be a price correction. That's to be expected. But this stock is a long term hold.
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 22 2023, 10:10 AM)
"Our sales to China and other affected destinations, derived from products that are now subject to licensing requirements, have consistently contributed approximately 20-25% of Data Center revenue over the past few quarters," Nvidia CFO Colette Kress said in a release.

Uncertain next Q4 that cause the price drop.

Won't expect it to have much correction with AI trend and strong growth from Nvidia. It already leave the 300 region and into support at above 400.

This stock is already beyond my expectations. Is already in profit + profit. How long want to hold.
Wait for competition to come up with chips to compete with it

NVIDIA case is the AI fuelling but without it πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ it will crash faster
xander2k8
post Nov 28 2023, 05:31 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(Moneylust @ Nov 27 2023, 08:34 PM)
Looks like no Santa Claus rally this year ... no happy ending, no wind behind the stock market's sails. It's all Brandon and Dowager Xi's fault.
Nothing to do with Dowager Xi this time πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ but Brandon Biden big time support for starting another war and escalating another big time πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Santa Claus came early this year πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ in fact after Memorial Day
xander2k8
post Dec 3 2023, 06:33 AM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 3 2023, 01:32 AM)
That's not correct.

The US stock market has been on a bull run since Nov 3 FOMC day and after Powell's fireside chat on Friday, another round of buying by institutions for mid and small caps pushed the market up.

Been a great month for me as a trader in US equities and I expect more to come.
In fact the bull run started the week before the Fed meeting πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ which you have missed out at least 10 to 15% in gains not on Nov 3

If you have started placing on 26 to 27 Oct you would have probably almost doubled on your gains with right selection of stocks
xander2k8
post Dec 3 2023, 02:28 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 3 2023, 10:00 AM)
Trading by hindsight - aren’t we all geniuses in cyberspace? LOL I am sure you are a billionaire by now.

Another example of some plebian who can miraculously allocate his or her entire portfolio at the very bottom of the market cycle and sell at the absolute top.

Show us your trading statement to validate that but naturally you won't and I very much doubt you even trade US equities  rolleyes.gif
Do you think I am genius all the time πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ as I am human yet still make trading mistakes πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

My recent trades are the ones that are making money because I know the real volatility is always before the Fed meeting πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ not after because the hype and FOMO are the ones just like you thinking that πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ because on decision day when no changes happens and expected markets are flew before that
xander2k8
post Dec 3 2023, 07:40 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 3 2023, 04:52 PM)
Goes to prove what a fraud you are with your boasts about being the perfect market timer.

Sideways market?  laugh.gif  rclxub.gif
Did I prove I am perfect market timer πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ I already hinted before hand when the blood bath happens before this πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ as I already mentioned that the blood bath happens on 23 Oct onwards πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ if you know how to read
xander2k8
post Dec 4 2023, 08:44 AM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 23 2023, 07:03 PM)
It might go even lower but you have see this week conditions to signal go ahead after next week so I am just like you standing by to buy another round

Earnings are not the driver but the macro and geo is the current driver
QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 3 2023, 08:24 PM)
I post your comment verbatim here

Earnings will be bleh and market will just go up a bit and then come back crashing down πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and it will be sideways till year end

Where is the sideways market?  Do you even read what you wrote?  laugh.gif

And reporting my post because I pointed out what a fraud you are goes to show what a wuss you are.  rclxub.gif
I don’t think you understand the context in the 1st as you are reading the wrong posts itself πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ read the above and see whether you can decipher properly or not in the 1st place πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

xander2k8
post Dec 12 2023, 02:48 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 11 2023, 01:29 AM)
US growth stocks will trounce dividend stocks in 2024. There is alot of money on the sidelines in money market funds. Alot of these excess liquidity will come back into the market in 2024. They wont go into dividend stocks.
Growth stocks won’t trounce dividends stocks in 2024 πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ undervalued stocks will even trounce growth stocks as growth stocks is at high valuation now which the excess liquidity comes will goes into undervalued stocks 1st and then only followed by high yield and dividends stocks and the only growth stocks will comes in
xander2k8
post Dec 15 2023, 11:09 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Dec 15 2023, 08:06 AM)
has it ever live  blush.gif

its been dead or zombied for the past few years

for malaysia to bull you need china to be bullish..

for china and malaysia to be bullish..you hope US also bullish and not to fall into a recession..

so in the end.. or

this is normal bursa. not dead nor alive  tongue.gif
Bursa been dead since the peak in Jun 2014 at 1800+ πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ it is now hovering slightly above pre GFC levels and you need a major catalyst to change the narrative and turn it to raging bull just like in 2014 when mega projects was the catalyst with China state backed companies plowing money into Malaysia
xander2k8
post Jan 17 2024, 11:25 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 17 2024, 02:41 PM)
I purchase few US stock through RHB many year ago. After 1/Mar/2024. Government introduce capital gain tax. How they calculate the gain tax once I sales the stock?

Can I offset with capital loss stock?
Only affect those with unlisted stock πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ so just wait for the next deadline

The tax will be imposed upon buying or selling on top of or or deduction from the selling value as they won’t allow tax loss harvesting unlike in US

The government will impose a capital gains tax on the disposal of unlisted shares by companies starting from March 1, 2024. For shares acquired before that date, investors can choose to pay a capital gains tax of 2 per cent on the gross disposal value, or 10 per cent on the net gain on disposal.
xander2k8
post Jan 18 2024, 12:59 AM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jan 18 2024, 12:07 AM)
what is the definition of unlisted share?

do that means stocks not traded publicly at stock market??
Private companies that are not traded on public stock exchange

Example like Boring and Twitter which are privately owned and not traded on the exchange

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 18 2024, 12:36 AM)
What is the next deadline ?
The exemption on foreign-sourced income is effective from Jan. 1, 2024 until Dec. 31, 2026 while the exemption on capital gains tax is effective from Jan. 1, 2024 until Dec. 31, 2028.

Hence the next deadline would be 2027 and 2029 and you need to look out for any hints during budget 2027 and 2029 for signs or hints on it
xander2k8
post Jan 18 2024, 12:49 PM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jan 18 2024, 01:39 AM)
i guess the capital gains tax  on unlisted stocks doesnt apply to us. we only traded  listed stocks
For now yes but in the future we won’t know until the next deadline above whether the govt will widen the taxes to listed shares only time will tell
xander2k8
post Jan 20 2024, 06:55 AM

4,644 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 19 2024, 03:48 PM)
Nobody can say what will happen in future. We look at present data to gauge what may happen in future, and then we position ourselves to face the challenges 'to our advantage'.

As of now, I believe we can only try to trap the funds being remitted back to Msia to impose tax on,... but not to tax on all foreign income earned outside of Msia.

Edited by adding : In-ctry-wise, we will try to tax on all income sources as much as possible,...
We will know somehow in advance because the govt have an obligation πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ to give notice for the changes as usually they will tabled it during the budget the year before hence you will around 15 months to prepare such changes

So if you can prepared in advance as the deadline is already set in stone and look for signs in changes during the budget tabling because it is not as simple because it needs to have legislation changes and amendments before such taxes take place in effect

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.3990sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:14 PM