Why most car in MALAYSIA is AUTO?

shinjite
post Mar 6 2007, 09:11 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

it doesn't matter whether it CAN beat or not, we are not talking about drag here. I am stating that auto GB is getting better.

Plus the GTA has lower HP and torque, what do you expect?

This post has been edited by shinjite: Mar 6 2007, 09:12 PM
su8aru
post Mar 6 2007, 09:33 PM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

well u taking about the auto gearbox on a Evo 7.5.. ofcos it will still quite responsive...
shinjite
post Mar 6 2007, 09:55 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

but I didn't talk about comparing it to a EVO 7 manual and beating it in a 0-100 drag, did I?

This post has been edited by shinjite: Mar 6 2007, 09:55 PM
su8aru
post Mar 6 2007, 10:54 PM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

so i'm just comparing the manual n auto version of the Evo 7.. smile.gif

Added on March 6, 2007, 11:06 pmyet auto gearbox is getting better... but most the auto car still cant beat the manual car... especially in terms of power.. acceleration... & FC...

This post has been edited by su8aru: Mar 6 2007, 11:06 PM
Kclee2002
post Mar 6 2007, 11:29 PM

5,135 posts

there is a good example of an auto beating manual

the DSG VW Golf GTI vs Manual VW Golf GTI. Both are of the same spec. The DSG model is faster than the manual in terms of acceleration. This has been proven in one of the BMI Hot Version hosted by Keiichi Tsuchiya.

shinjite
post Mar 6 2007, 11:40 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

You got your answer smile.gif
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 12:00 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Mar 6 2007, 11:29 PM)
there is a good example of an auto beating manual

the DSG VW Golf GTI vs Manual VW Golf GTI. Both are of the same spec. The DSG model is faster than the manual in terms of acceleration. This has been proven in one of the BMI Hot Version hosted by Keiichi Tsuchiya.
That's not a pure auto. It's basically 2 manual gearboxes in one, operated by robots. It has 2 clutches for 2 different gear sets, one for odd numbered gears, one for even numbered gears. Doesn't have fluid coupling, just the good ol' clutch plates. smile.gif

No true auto can beat a manual. The DSG is just the best of both worlds.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 7 2007, 12:00 AM
Kclee2002
post Mar 7 2007, 12:01 AM

5,135 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 7 2007, 12:00 AM)
That's not a pure auto. It's basically 2 manual gearboxes in one, operated by robots. It has 2 clutches for 2 different gear sets, one for odd numbered gears, one for even numbered gears. Doesn't have fluid coupling, just the good ol' clutch plates.  smile.gif

No true auto can beat a manual. The DSG is just the best of both worlds.
well, yes thats true, but maybe soon most autos will actually have such systems built into the car?
haylui
post Mar 7 2007, 12:05 AM

235 posts

technology pushes automobile makers can produce more user friendly cars therefore more and more auto-transmission cars on road now but in malaysia there are a lot of old cars so I think the ratio is 1:1. Manual transmission is fun especially FR configured car!!!
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 12:05 AM

9,309 posts

@Kclee2002
Yeah when they can find a way to mass produce it.
Right now it is reserved for Audis and VWs top models. The DSG is extremely complex and quite expensive.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 7 2007, 12:06 AM
hezry79
post Mar 7 2007, 07:26 AM

74 posts

my opinion, manual is very easy to handle so it quite boring also using manual...sometimes people want to use different style like auto...and auto also easy...it's up to driver
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 10:14 AM

9,309 posts

Manual is boring if you don't know some of the "luxury" skills out there. brows.gif
Like heel-and-toe and clutchless shifting. I want to learn these two so I can be hell on wheels! brows.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Mar 7 2007, 10:14 AM
Jyi
post Mar 7 2007, 12:32 PM

83 posts

IMO, most cars in Malaysia are automatic because of the traffic, for the first reason. Start stop traffic in KL can cause you to cook the clutch if you can't handle it properly. (like in the Porsche Carrera GT, with a tiny clutch of just 169mm in diameter) You also might end up in a spin which might be a serious problem. Also, manual gearboxes can be tiring if you drive them for a long time. (Because of the clutch) Like on the Ferrari F40, it has a VERY heavy clutch. The other reason is that we don't really need to have manuals on say, Proton Wiras, although they do have manual Wiras. Manuals are basically for optimizing the performance of cars, where you need the revs high. Automatics will back off and switch up even before you hit the red line. That's why I think most, but not all cars in Malaysia are automatic. I don't wanna go into paddle shifts/e-gear/DSG/semi-auto.
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 03:02 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Jyi @ Mar 7 2007, 12:32 PM)
IMO, most cars in Malaysia are automatic because of the traffic, for the first reason. Start stop traffic in KL can cause you to cook the clutch if you can't handle it properly. (like in the Porsche Carrera GT, with a tiny clutch of just 169mm in diameter) You also might end up in a spin which might be a serious problem. Also, manual gearboxes can be tiring if you drive them for a long time. (Because of the clutch) Like on the Ferrari F40, it has a VERY heavy clutch. The other reason is that we don't really need to have manuals on say, Proton Wiras, although they do have manual Wiras. Manuals are basically for optimizing the performance of cars, where you need the revs high. Automatics will back off and switch up even before you hit the red line. That's why I think most, but not all cars in Malaysia are automatic. I don't wanna go into paddle shifts/e-gear/DSG/semi-auto.
Uhuh, you trapped yourself there. laugh.gif
It's because of Wira's crappy performance that it needs a manual.
Jyi
post Mar 7 2007, 03:23 PM

83 posts

You mean low-performance cars need a manual? Which also means that high-performance cars need autos at the same time. Why aren't we seeing automatic Lamborghinis and Porsches then? Most autos have torque converters, unlike manuals, and that's why i think a Wira will go better with an auto.
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 03:57 PM

9,309 posts

Yes, poor performing cars needs a manual to maximise its performance. Actually need is a bit incorrect. Any car can have any transmision, but it's up to the engineers and the market demand on which gearbox to put in. The Wira shouldn't have an auto. The weight overwhelms the torque and power. But the market demand it, customer say, "we want an auto, our legs are killing us". So they put an auto to satisfy the customers.

From an engineering pint of view, the Wira would be best with a manual, but customers want easy driving. Driving a manual doesn't necessarily mean that you want performance out of it. Most people buy a manual because of its apparent advantage in fuel economy. There is less power loss with a manual. The shift-point for both would probably be the same, but an auto would need more effort to get to the shift-point than a manual.

So in conclusion, it's not about the car's needs, it's the driver's needs.
Jyi
post Mar 7 2007, 04:11 PM

83 posts

Yeah, it's the driver's needs.
gkl83
post Mar 7 2007, 06:32 PM

8,377 posts

how about gen2 1.3? i know tat all of the 1.3 car using auto... low cc car using auto? doh.gif whistling.gif

perhaps proton think campro 1.6 was high end engine performance for gen2? then campro 1.3 should be normal performance for gen2? perhaps 1.0cc means low-end engine performance for gen2? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Mar 7 2007, 06:34 PM
shinjite
post Mar 7 2007, 06:47 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

I can't even imagine an auto 1.3 Gen2 man.....
Need to rev gila high baru boleh jalan baik baik

This post has been edited by shinjite: Mar 8 2007, 04:31 AM
tunertoobe
post Mar 7 2007, 07:19 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 7 2007, 06:32 PM)
how about gen2 1.3? i know tat all of the 1.3 car using auto... low cc car using auto? doh.gif  whistling.gif

perhaps proton think campro 1.6 was high end engine performance for gen2? then campro 1.3 should be normal performance for gen2? perhaps 1.0cc means low-end engine performance for gen2? shakehead.gif
Haha, again, it's us. laugh.gif
"We want auto!!" we says. laugh.gif

Yeah they just thought people would want an auto but still want a low price. You see, either the customer demands stink(people still buy a 1.3 auto, no?) or the engineers in Proton can't think properly. I think it's the customers.

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:57 PM