post May 28 2008, 03:43 PM

17 posts

have u seen the traffic jam around KL?
jeez
it gives me nausea everytime i think of it
krizijau
post May 28 2008, 04:30 PM

23 posts

Yup, cannot agree more on the manual is fun to drive with, but very frustrating in traffic jams loh.. one more thing is with an autobox u cannot just be faster than manual if u need to quick reversing the car or making the car drift at the corner...
One more is the auto gb durability is still at question, do it can take wear and tear up to say 20 years? and the cost of repairing one will be costly compared to manual. i still remember the problem with the H.city which been quoted rm15k to repair the failed gearbox.
anyway the new vios will coming with a manual tranny thou (J-specs.) i think the price will less than E-specs.
dokidoki
post May 28 2008, 04:44 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(kurosaki_ichigo @ Jan 11 2007, 07:32 PM)
Would like to know why most of the cars sold in MALAYSIA is AUTO??????

Why there is no manual transmission????  doh.gif  sweat.gif
your 'most' got official proof?...or u just based on your own calculation?..my home town still got a lot of manual car le~
dirsly
post Jun 4 2008, 02:42 PM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

bcoz trafic flow n pleasure to drive..in fact new car wit auto-box can claim gud mpg.. invecs, ect, twin-clucth...soon there wil b all autobox vehicle... tongue.gif
nd_4ever
post Jun 4 2008, 02:54 PM

Vision is my Destination & Mission is my Journey!
586 posts

Most M'sian drivers prefers automatic tranny cars rather than manual bcoz of the terrible traffic jams, flood, etc. that's a norm for M'sian drivers. That's y the demand for automatic transmission cars sells more than manual sticks.

As for me, i prefer manual cars for weekend driving but daily driving for working purposes, definitely an auto.
Esky
post Jun 5 2008, 01:37 PM

394 posts

Sometimes I find that using an auto tranny in traffic jams is also very tiring as I need to press the foot brake all the time, especially in heavy jams. In a manual tranny, at least you can free gear and not have to depress the clutch all the time. And not forgetting that auto tranny cars have much faster brake pad wear & shorter brake bulb life too! heheh
bysquashy
post Jun 5 2008, 01:52 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Jun 5 2008, 01:37 PM)
Sometimes I find that using an auto tranny in traffic jams is also very tiring as I need to press the foot brake all the time, especially in heavy jams. In a manual tranny, at least you can free gear and not have to depress the clutch all the time. And not forgetting that auto tranny cars have much faster brake pad wear & shorter brake bulb life too! heheh
It means that you are driving it wrongly doh.gif
Esky
post Jun 6 2008, 12:42 PM

394 posts

Wrongly? Care to elaborate?

makaveli
post Jun 6 2008, 06:06 PM

Livin' la Vida Loca
1,491 posts

haiyaaa..in traffic jam no need to press clutch la...My Myvi the clutch level is so low is very painful...i stop at the middle Jam then i adjust the clutch ?!!!
ae101rulez
post Jun 6 2008, 09:02 PM

289 posts

prefer manual...atleast i can downshift when i want to unlike auto car..have to wait for right moment after sudden press on fuel pedal....but nowadays petrol increase....rather drive manual car...atleast can neutral when going down hill..save petrol huhu...even in jam...for manual, just wait for "half-a-car size spot" den only move forward...just couldn take my auto Aveo which have to constantly N-D in traffic to save petrol, if not leg brake not sufficient to hold car down for a long period...
greedy5513
post Jun 9 2008, 06:39 PM

142 posts

neutral going downhill? try that when coming back down from genting,

unless u have high high high high performance brake

try it at your own risk biggrin.gif
yngwie
post Jun 9 2008, 06:51 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

manual tranny is fun to drive for cross country while auto tranny is the best for city driving. it help us get rid of the manual gearchange and we don't have to play with handbrake / brake and clutch during uphill stop.

auto tranny is far less tiring for city driving.
nkphnx
post Jun 9 2008, 07:48 PM

390 posts

Just a side note here, all these new techologies in the automotive industry that were designed to ease the driving experience of the drivers, although most of the time good and saves lives, do however cause some side effects.. Drivers now think that they are invincible behind the wheel with all these technologies aiding them like ABS, EBD, Traction Control, etc. They tend to speed recklessly and drive like wanna-be Schumachers high on pot..

That is why you now tend to find more accidents occuring due to high speed and reckless driving compared to 10 years ago.. So PLEASE be careful on the road and drive safe.. wink.gif
ae101rulez
post Jun 10 2008, 12:43 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(nkphnx @ Jun 9 2008, 07:48 PM)
Just a side note here, all these new techologies in the automotive industry that were designed to ease the driving experience of the drivers, although most of the time good and saves lives, do however cause some side effects.. Drivers now think that they are invincible behind the wheel with all these technologies aiding them like ABS, EBD, Traction Control, etc. They tend to speed recklessly and drive like wanna-be Schumachers high on pot..

That is why you now tend to find more accidents occuring due to high speed and reckless driving compared to 10 years ago.. So PLEASE be careful on the road and drive safe.. wink.gif
hehe...is this the reason why we see dumbdumbo drivers crashing cars like mini cooper, new beetle, BMs and Mercs tongue.gif ...the car too safe de till crash also xpela..hahaha...
icyd
post Jun 11 2008, 01:11 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Jun 5 2008, 01:37 PM)
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 5 2008, 01:52 PM)
It means that you are driving it wrongly  doh.gif
i second post by esky. how to drive auto properly in jam?i dont like pressing the brake holding the car still.i usually change to N and roll to stop.of cos thats my sister's car.my car manual

SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2008, 07:17 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Use D and brake (to stop) and handbrake (when stopped) in jam lah. Ada handbrake tak mau guna. Next time should tell the carmakers to have it as an optional accessory. Since its auto try to modulate ur right leg to keep rolling instead of total stop if possible

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 11 2008, 07:18 PM
icyd
post Jun 11 2008, 08:27 PM

727 posts

i thought handbrake=parking brake?anyway,thats just my preference.manual suits me more even in jam or anything.at least i can still drive auto.i got a friend who cant even drive auto.his left foot keeps pressing brake paddle mistaking it for clutch padle
radioactive
post Jun 11 2008, 08:55 PM

1,857 posts

QUOTE(makaveli @ Jun 6 2008, 06:06 PM)
haiyaaa..in traffic jam no need to press clutch la...My Myvi the clutch level is so low is very painful...i stop at the middle Jam then i adjust the clutch ?!!!
myvi clutch very easy to adjust....just turn the black cylinder thing around the clutch cable...its right on the gearbox
SUSdothackRAVE
post Jun 12 2008, 02:01 AM

206 posts

Why Auto?

-Cynical Answer:

All the Malaysians who buy nice cars are just posers with no passion for driving.

-Marketing Answer:

Traffic jams make it quite hard to drive manual... Even with sports cars, Malaysian roads are too small and the attitudes too dangerous to enjoy fast cars..., so the engine's power becomes useless. Might as well drive auto by then la.

I see all the people on the Ampang flyover highway flying so fast..., might be coz its the ONLY place in town with space for their cars to stretch.
SUSN's
post Jun 12 2008, 02:05 AM

1,091 posts

Auto has more parts in a car. So for the same amaount of money...

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0138sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:58 PM