VDSL2 Vectoring by TM, New technology that make copper 100mbps

TSnikrizal
post May 18 2016, 12:54 AM, updated 8y ago

1,230 posts

I have just chatted with my friend from TM and he revealed that TM is now testing a new technology called VDSL2 Vectoring. With this new technology, existing copper cables throughout nationwide will be capable to reach 100 Mbps. This new technology has already taken place in Europe and US.

VDSL2 Vectoring is noise-canceling technology. It cuts out all of the noise, or interference, among the VDSL2 lines in a bundle. With no interference, every VDSL2 line can operate at peak speeds, as if it were the only line in the bundle.

So we are looking at new Streamyx plans with 30, 50 or even 100Mbps!
JohnLai
post May 18 2016, 01:04 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

No amount of VDSL2 tech can win against our aging copperline infrastructure.
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 02:10 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 12:54 AM)
I have just chatted with my friend from TM and he revealed that TM is now testing a new technology called VDSL2 Vectoring. With this new technology, existing copper cables throughout nationwide will be capable to reach 100 Mbps. This new technology has already taken place in Europe and US.

VDSL2 Vectoring is noise-canceling technology. It cuts out all of the noise, or interference, among the VDSL2 lines in a bundle. With no interference, every VDSL2 line can operate at peak speeds, as if it were the only line in the bundle.

QUOTE(JohnLai @ May 18 2016, 01:04 AM)
No amount of VDSL2 tech can win against our aging copperline infrastructure.
Mostly it's still fine, just noise problem. Last I heard they will retain the existing million of kilometres of copper and their R&D still testing this VDSL2 vectoring still, in lab stage they are able to fetch few hundred mbps over vdsl2-vectoring technology. They're also considering G.Fast as future enhancement (500mbps theoritical speed). However, distance is still a problem, its effective distance only few hundred meters compared to adsl, which is 500m, and 250M for g.fast vdsl.

This video may interest you https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLgH990P9co (watch around minute 40 for ADSL updates)
Even our Unifi may have some upgrades soon from GPON (2.5/1.25gbps dl/ul) to TWDMPON (40/10gbps dl/ul)

This post has been edited by nymerine: May 18 2016, 02:21 AM
acid427
post May 18 2016, 02:25 AM

699 posts

Depends on our copper quality right? My line attenuation 8.3, hope can get high speed on vdsl2.

http://www.speedguide.net/dsl_speed_calc.php
dannielshazmeer
post May 18 2016, 07:39 AM

628 posts

when this technology will be implant ? 2-3 years more
Xefron
post May 18 2016, 08:10 AM

2,507 posts

similar to G.Fast,some Israelis succeed to get 750Mbps over copper using G.Fast.

http://www.sckipio.com/ultrafast-broadband...on-at-ces-2016/

This post has been edited by Xefron: May 18 2016, 08:12 AM
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 08:13 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 18 2016, 07:39 AM)
when this technology will be implant ? 2-3 years more
This should be for phase 3 or phase 4 HSBB. Now we're in phase 2. For SUBB I assume.
Phase 1 - 2010 - 2015
Phase 2 - 2015 - 2020
Phase 3 - 2020 - 2025
and so on..
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 08:15 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ May 18 2016, 08:10 AM)
similar to G.Fast,some Israelis succeed to get 750Mbps over copper using G.Fast.

http://www.sckipio.com/ultrafast-broadband...on-at-ces-2016/
Yes, this is planned for future enhancement for TM after vdsl2-vectoring. Not sure how are they going to deal with distance problem..
Xefron
post May 18 2016, 08:18 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ May 18 2016, 08:15 AM)
Yes, this is planned for future enhancement for TM after vdsl2-vectoring. Not sure how are they going to deal with distance problem..
the challenge is how to tackle brownfield areas compared to greenfields which are easier.
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 08:37 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ May 18 2016, 08:18 AM)
the challenge is how to tackle brownfield areas compared to greenfields which are easier.
Well I guess there's a reason it's still in trial in R&D biggrin.gif .
Danath
post May 18 2016, 10:50 AM

51 posts

The technology has been available for sometime. Like most say the problem is signal attenuation (due to degradation and distance). Also there is high cost involved in upgrading existing DSL equipment. Not to mention the further you are away from the exchange, the weaker your signal gets because it depends on active equipment. You might get better download speeds but upload speeds are still going to be pretty low.

It is a pretty good idea if TM is willing to invest in the new equipments involved.
Exeunt
post May 18 2016, 10:59 AM

828 posts

good news la.. also along the road i drove.. i always see tm tech doing works dunno upgrade the copperline or fix issue..hope in 10 years time my kg can rach 10mb..
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 01:05 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Danath @ May 18 2016, 10:50 AM)
The technology has been available for sometime. Like most say the problem is signal attenuation (due to degradation and distance). Also there is high cost involved in upgrading existing DSL equipment. Not to mention the further you are away from the exchange, the weaker your signal gets because it depends on active equipment. You might get better download speeds but upload speeds are still going to be pretty low.

It is a pretty good idea if TM is willing to invest in the new equipments involved.
Probably for a long term plan they will do that, from the slides, vdsl and adsl requires totally different infrastructure. Our current MSAN cabinet seems no longer needed, those are not cheap either.

QUOTE(Exeunt @ May 18 2016, 10:59 AM)
good news la.. also along the road i drove.. i always see tm tech doing works dunno upgrade the copperline or fix issue..hope in 10 years time my kg can rach 10mb..
Probably laying cables to MSAN cables or government building. It was mention in the video that they did lay cable directly to hospital if they ask, no question asked or cost quoted.
mztang52
post May 18 2016, 05:08 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 01:54 AM)

TM used VDSL copper system for unifi for a long time and it won't be streamyx.
dannielshazmeer
post May 18 2016, 05:33 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ May 18 2016, 06:08 PM)
TM used VDSL copper system for unifi for a long time and it won't be streamyx.
so unifi high rise will get this features
mztang52
post May 18 2016, 05:44 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 18 2016, 06:33 PM)
Yes only high rise building. But still remember it is copper not fiber. Speed may be different with Fiber internet.
nymerine
post May 18 2016, 05:48 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 18 2016, 05:33 PM)
It's always VDSL for high rise for UniFi

QUOTE(mztang52 @ May 18 2016, 05:44 PM)
Yes only high rise building. But still remember it is copper not fiber. Speed may be different with Fiber internet.
This tech intended to replace current streamyx adsl
cannavaro
post May 18 2016, 06:32 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

my place (5 storey apartment) use 100% fiber
TSnikrizal
post May 18 2016, 08:06 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ May 18 2016, 05:48 PM)
Exactly! TM plan to use this VDSL2 Vectoring to replace current outdated ADSL ! Existing copper infrastructure is already there. US did the same thing...

dannielshazmeer
post May 18 2016, 10:11 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ May 18 2016, 06:48 PM)
It's always VDSL for high rise for UniFi
TM NOT TO COVER ALL HIGH BUILDING IN MALAYSIA WITH FTTH SYSTEM .. MORE BUDGET IS NEED TO DO THIS ...
SO IMPLANT NEW VDSL TECHNOLOGY THAT SPEED CAN UP TO 100MBPS UNDER VDSL
nexona88
post May 18 2016, 11:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

glad to hear TM testing VDSL2 Vectoring rclxms.gif

later we can get up to 100Mbps via existing copper cables thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: May 18 2016, 11:15 PM
nexona88
post May 18 2016, 11:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

glad to hear TM testing VDSL2 Vectoring rclxms.gif

later we can get up to 100Mbps via existing copper cables thumbsup.gif
dannielshazmeer
post May 18 2016, 11:42 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 19 2016, 12:15 AM)
glad to hear TM testing VDSL2 Vectoring  rclxms.gif

later we can get up to 100Mbps via existing copper cables  thumbsup.gif
not very soon but in next 10 years

This post has been edited by dannielshazmeer: May 18 2016, 11:50 PM
nexona88
post May 18 2016, 11:50 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 18 2016, 11:42 PM)
no very soon but in next 10 years
what? in next 10years shocking.gif so long need to wait doh.gif
Alpha_Tay
post May 19 2016, 01:03 AM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

the different is would TM use this to deploy unifi for high rise only, which is same as before, but capable to serve higher speed package to high rise now.
or using this to deploy unifi for mass landed area nationwide, with remote dslam/msan/FTTx with VDSL2 Vectoring last mile at end user taman or nearby.

alot of place nationwide has been ride on remote dslam/msan to serve streamyx since some years ago, the fiber is already deployed, just that it is FTTx fiber except last mile, but not FTTH which is full fiber connection.

this tech is around 60% speed/distance increase.

Downstream speeds of 100 Mb/s can be achieved at distances of up to 400 m, and 40 Mb/s can be supported with loops as long as 1000 m.

Next-generation xDSL advances began in 2007, when FTTx deployments combined deep fiber with VDSL2 to provide speeds up to 40 Mb/s at distances up to 400 m.

https://techzine.alcatel-lucent.com/boostin...rates-vectoring
dannielshazmeer
post May 19 2016, 01:59 AM

628 posts

Vectoring enables 100 Mb/s and beyond over copper lines and allows a very short time to market.
It offers a cost-effective way to deliver high bandwidth using existing copper infrastructure.
For optimal results, vectoring requires full coordination of all VDSL2 lines in the cable (binder)
dannielshazmeer
post May 19 2016, 02:00 AM

628 posts

Alcatel Lucent is also a provider of VDSL in Malaysia.
Telekom Malaysia is deploying VDSL/VDSL2 with its UniFi service in high-rise and residential apartment buildings.
VDSL Network S.B.[17] has also been a provider of VDSL technology for more than 3 years in Malaysia.
Telekom Malaysia deployed (FTTx-Residential) and (VDSL2-High Rise) with brand name UniFi in March 2010 offering symmetrical speeds of 5, 10 and 20 Mbit/s & asymmetrical speed of 30, 50 and 100 Mbit/s.
coolstore
post May 19 2016, 11:45 AM

1,524 posts

the key question is how much million tm going to bill u for the plan
nymerine
post May 19 2016, 12:01 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ May 19 2016, 11:45 AM)
the key question is how much million tm going to bill u for the plan
TM have government backing funds, for HSBB 2 they got 500m from gov, out of 2.8bil they had to fork out. They're expected to get more for the next phases. As of charging per users, no idea.
TSnikrizal
post May 19 2016, 01:43 PM

1,230 posts

They should smart enough to exercise fair prices as there are other players now with more attractive prices..
CyrusWong
post May 19 2016, 02:01 PM

1,643 posts

yea, i dun think tm gonna upgrade those kampung taman area... my town is not big but high population yet tm not going to implement fiber here...
Qash-M
post May 19 2016, 10:15 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ May 19 2016, 02:01 PM)
yea, i dun think tm gonna upgrade those kampung taman area... my town is not big but high population yet tm not going to implement fiber here...
Agree, our kampung maybe remain capped at 1mbps until 2050 (or when i'm 100 years old)... yawn.gif

C.C: TM staff
nexona88
post May 20 2016, 12:59 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

If can offer good pricing, I'm sure a lot people would sign up for the service.. It's still profit for them..
nymerine
post May 20 2016, 09:18 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ May 19 2016, 02:01 PM)
QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 19 2016, 10:15 PM)
Agree, our kampung maybe remain capped at 1mbps until 2050 (or when i'm 100 years old)... yawn.gif

C.C: TM staff
Let's keep the thread vibe positive ya, it's better that way.
Qash-M
post May 20 2016, 09:32 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ May 20 2016, 09:18 AM)
Let's keep the thread vibe positive ya, it's better that way.
I've been constantly requesting them to upgrade my area every month, since 4 years ago. Failed. shakehead.gif

Maybe they need some "donation" to deploy it faster.
spikey2506
post May 20 2016, 09:42 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

They will be at the losing end if they dont upgrade. At my hometown connection is 1Mbps max. Only those around town area can get 4Mbps. You can hardly see people using streamyx anymore. People are cancelling their accounts everyday. Not when they are charging RM110. And my hometown is covered with 4G by all major telcos.
nymerine
post May 20 2016, 09:54 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 20 2016, 09:32 AM)
I've been constantly requesting them to upgrade my area every month, since 4 years ago. Failed. shakehead.gif

Maybe they need some "donation" to deploy it faster.
Bro, I waited 6 years, I know longer doesn't mean better but when it comes, you'll love it.. until the bill came at the end of the month biggrin.gif .
Anyway, try asking local TM Point if they have any planned upgraded on your area soon, they know better.

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 20 2016, 09:42 AM)
They will be at the losing end if they dont upgrade. At my hometown connection is 1Mbps max. Only those around town area can get 4Mbps. You can hardly see people using streamyx anymore. People are cancelling their accounts everyday. Not when they are charging RM110. And my hometown is covered with 4G by all major telcos.
That's why they have TMGo (using P1's tower to broadcast) now, no idea why it isnt being marketed properly (ads on tv etc) but it does work for rural areas.
Qash-M
post May 20 2016, 02:25 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ May 20 2016, 09:54 AM)
Bro, I waited 6 years, I know longer doesn't mean better but when it comes, you'll love it.. until the bill came at the end of the month  biggrin.gif .
Anyway, try asking local TM Point if they have any planned upgraded on your area soon, they know better.

I probably will. And if the answer is still the same, babai TotalMonopoly... flex.gif
kimmo88
post Jun 11 2016, 02:19 PM

360 posts

Better to have FTTH/FTTP for future proof - full fibre installation all the way to your home! VDSLv2 or FTTB installation have limitations up to 250Mbps only.

As you can see, Msia BB speed is already reaching 500Mbps with TIME. If you have VDSLv2 typically on high rise buildings i.e. condo or apartments, you won't be able to get that speed sad.gif
casey
post Jun 29 2016, 09:11 PM

224 posts

Frustrated with my home network speed, I have been researching various broadband standard, and happens to read through this VDSL that still utilizes our existing copper wire.

VDSL standards EXPLAIN here >>>

VDSL2+ max speed up/down achievable 100MB provided that one is within, I think, 1KM from the telco switch box or DSLAM.

Will our telco ever wanted to try something new that could at least boost our hopeless network speed in today standard, where many in the region are enjoying at least 30~100MB connection doh.gif doh.gif

For those of us that are not cover by UNIFI, 1MB is a pain in the ass now a days bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

Anybody could suggest ways to achieve better speed without breaking the budget sweat.gif sweat.gif

mztang52
post Jun 29 2016, 09:23 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 10:11 PM)
Frustrated with my home network speed, I have been researching various broadband standard, and happens to read through this VDSL that still utilizes our existing copper wire.

VDSL2+ max speed up/down achievable 100MB provided that one is within, I think, 1KM from the telco switch box or DSLAM.

Will our telco ever wanted to try something new that could at least boost our hopeless network speed in today standard, where many in the region are enjoying at least 30~100MB connection  doh.gif  doh.gif

For those of us that are not cover by UNIFI, 1MB is a pain in the ass now a days bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Anybody could suggest ways to achieve better speed without breaking the budget  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Are you on ADSL2/Streamyx?
casey
post Jun 29 2016, 09:31 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jun 29 2016, 09:23 PM)
Are you on ADSL2/Streamyx?
It's actually my mother's place, where only streamyx is available doh.gif

I feel so frustrated every time i go back a stay there for a few days bangwall.gif bangwall.gif biggrin.gif
mztang52
post Jun 29 2016, 09:45 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 10:31 PM)
It's actually my mother's place, where only streamyx is available  doh.gif

I feel so frustrated every time i go back a stay there for a few days  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  biggrin.gif
Go google for VDSL2+ and click on the image. You will see that the speed of VDSL2+ drops to the speed like ADSL2 when it reaches a point. In rural places, the cable are pulled over KMs, probably around 3KMs or 5KMs. When the cables are long, the speed will drops. So if TM changes to VDSL2+ technology, it is still the same. What for do they need to waste money on the things which makes no difderence?
mztang52
post Jun 29 2016, 09:48 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

casey
post Jun 29 2016, 10:05 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jun 29 2016, 09:45 PM)
Go google for VDSL2+ and click on the image. You will see that the speed of VDSL2+ drops to the speed like ADSL2 when it reaches a point. In rural places, the cable are pulled over KMs, probably around 3KMs or 5KMs. When the cables are long, the speed will drops. So if TM changes to VDSL2+ technology, it is still the same. What for do they need to waste money on the things which makes no difderence?
Fully understood. but what i mean is that there are also some group of people, that are within the distance, that could be offer this option, especially those in a densely populated area, and are within range.

As I believe that changes and investment from the telco is not much, offering VDSL to those within reach.

I am not a specialist in this, but just here to learn from those who are in the industry rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
SUSpakji
post Jun 29 2016, 11:09 PM

1,386 posts

my place no unifi
streamyx max 4mbps bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

my house 2x streamyx 4mbps i paying RM148X2 =RM296+
No supprt 8mbps
seee i need 100mbps unifi very import
why i got 2x streamyx because my bro always uploading for iphone cloud daily and to much use i get slow then i got apply new streamyx for me only

daam my life bad

This post has been edited by pakji: Jun 29 2016, 11:11 PM
mztang52
post Jun 29 2016, 11:14 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 11:05 PM)
Fully understood. but what i mean is that there are also some group of people, that are within the distance, that could be offer this option, especially those in a densely populated area, and are within range.

As I believe that changes and investment from the telco is not much, offering VDSL to those within reach.

I am not a specialist in this, but just here to learn from those who are in the industry  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
TM only uses VDSL technology for those who stays in old high rise buildings only. The reason is because VDSL is costly and it only can covers a few places. Whereas, with fiber optic cable, it can be pulled for a long distance with a full 10Gb speed without any lost of speed. Compare to VDSL, its max speed is 100mbps. 100mbps/10Gb=100customers. 100mbps/100mbps=1 customer only. Also, the ping for fiber is much more lower than the ping for VDSL users.

This post has been edited by mztang52: Jun 29 2016, 11:14 PM
hashtag2016
post Jun 30 2016, 12:38 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 09:11 PM)

VDSL2 max speed up/down achievable 100MB provided that one is within, I think, 1KM from the telco switch box or DSLAM.

Will our telco ever wanted to try something new that could at least boost our hopeless network speed in today standard, where many in the region are enjoying at least 30~100MB connection  doh.gif  doh.gif

For those of us that are not cover by UNIFI, 1MB is a pain in the ass now a days bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Anybody could suggest ways to achieve better speed without breaking the budget  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
NO, i don't think it is a good idea. Unless u wanna stuck with low quality line for another decade or 2 decades. (don't u suffer enough from streamyx ? )

In long term, the fiber optic is the ONLY and cheap way to go..
other methods just look like white elephant projects.

If they do deploy VDSL2 widely, they need a lot of money to upgrade their devices, and old copper lines(which not in qualify or stolen) . Exist streamyx users have to upgrade their modem (about RM300 or more).
for best case, most of the VDSL2 users (within 2KM)usually got only download:30Mbps and upload:5M-10Mbps .
if u r using 1Mbps now, i don't think u can reach that speed .
and (as far as we know about TM) i believe they will make the minimum price about RM200 or above like current price of UNIFI PRO.

so, make no sense go for VDSL2
UNIFI is your only hope, although the progress of its deployment is too slow. (they don't have any reason to speed it up, coz no matter how , they still earn money from u rclxub.gif doh.gif brows.gif )

modified@2016.07.01 : rename VDSL2+ to VDSL2. misled by TS ,so sorry about that.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jul 1 2016, 02:20 AM
hashtag2016
post Jun 30 2016, 12:58 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jun 29 2016, 11:14 PM)
TM only uses VDSL technology for those who stays in old high rise buildings only. The reason is because VDSL is costly and it only can covers a few places. Whereas, with fiber optic cable, it can be pulled for a long distance with a full 10Gb speed without any lost of speed. Compare to VDSL, its max speed is 100mbps. 100mbps/10Gb=100customers. 100mbps/100mbps=1 customer only. Also, the ping for fiber is much more lower than the ping for VDSL users.
with G.fast can reach 500Mbps or more .
our country is too far behind. doh.gif
mztang52
post Jun 30 2016, 11:27 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jun 30 2016, 01:58 AM)
with G.fast  can reach 500Mbps or more .
our country is too far behind. doh.gif
That's why.
casey
post Jun 30 2016, 01:06 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jun 30 2016, 12:38 AM)
NO, i don't think it is a good idea.  Unless u wanna stuck with low quality line  for another decade or 2 decades. (don't u suffer enough from streamyx ? )

In  long term, the fiber optic is the ONLY and cheap way to go..
other methods just look like white elephant projects.
If they do deploy VDSL2+ widely, they  need a lot of  money to upgrade their devices, and old copper lines(which not in qualify or stolen) .  Exist streamyx  users  have to upgrade their modem (about RM300 or more).
for best case, most of the  vdsl2+ users (within 2KM)usually got only download:30Mbps and upload:5M-10Mbps .
if u r using 1Mbps now, i don't think u can reach that speed .
and (as far as we know about TM) i believe they will make the minimum price about RM200 or above like current price of  UNIFI PRO.

so, make no sense go for VDSL2+
UNIFI is your only hope, although the progress of its deployment is too slow. (they don't have any reason to speed it up, coz no matter how , they still earn money from u  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  brows.gif )
With no competition at all, in particular of TELCO industry, where the whole world is basically network connected, at the end, everyone lost out in the competition.

Let us just look around the region like Singapore, Korea or Hong Kong, for the progress they made.

For us, everything still seems like yesterday, with the same slogan shouted, but we are just deceiving our self in many occasion.

Everything of our daily living are rising, just that our GAJI not rising bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

mztang52
post Jun 30 2016, 05:00 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(casey @ Jun 30 2016, 02:06 PM)
With no competition at all, in particular of TELCO industry, where the whole world is basically network connected, at the end, everyone lost out in the competition.

Let us just look around the region like Singapore, Korea or Hong Kong, for the progress they made.

For us, everything still seems like yesterday, with the same slogan shouted, but we are just deceiving our self in many occasion.

Everything of our daily living are rising, just that our GAJI not rising  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Ok. The fees they need to use for deploy the fiber cable is already a huge cost. (Not to tell you that the ISP company uses taxpayers money to deploy for their Fiber service) Still, they can't cover the whole Malaysia. The size of Malaysia is larer than Singapore and Hong Kong. Even GB and USA, they are well develped country but their service still stuck with the coverage and speed. Money is the first factor, only when you have enough money, then only you can talk about the other factors.
TSnikrizal
post Jul 1 2016, 01:12 AM

1,230 posts

Guys, here some updates by a source in TM:

SubB ( Sub - urban Broadband ) projects have been launched in stages , for example, to this day we have to 130K ADSL ports that have been upgraded to VDSL vectoring across the country . Deployment areas are subject to the agreement of TM and the Malaysian government . Examples of exchanges that have been successful in upgrading is Simpang Pulai ( Perak ) and Bandar Permaisuri ( Terengganu ) few others.

Theoretically, customers can enjoy the higher speed , but it is still subject to factors within the home / premise customers with exchanges / VDSL MSAN .

So , not all customers in the area can enjoy high-speed SubB evenly , some can reach up to 20M some cannot because of the distance factor.
hashtag2016
post Jul 1 2016, 02:37 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 1 2016, 01:12 AM)

SubB ( Sub - urban Broadband ) projects have been launched in stages , for example, to this day we have to 130K ADSL ports that have been upgraded to VDSL vectoring across the country . Deployment areas are subject to the agreement of TM and the Malaysian government . Examples of exchanges that have been successful in upgrading is Simpang Pulai ( Perak ) and Bandar Permaisuri ( Terengganu ) few others.

Theoretically, customers can enjoy the higher speed , but it is still subject to factors within the home / premise customers with exchanges / VDSL MSAN .

So , not all customers in the area can enjoy high-speed SubB evenly , some can reach up to 20M some cannot because of the distance factor.
if this occur a few years back, it indeed a good news.
but it is gonna outdated now . drool.gif
not to mention that , it still a plan that yet to be launched , and will take 10 years to bring the last 2km to nationalwide users.
-oc-gassa
post Jul 1 2016, 11:01 AM

967 posts

agreed.. seems like TM late to upgrade.. nowdays wireless infra are on peak upgrading..from 2g < 3g <LTE upgrade timeline seems much faster and cover wider coverage... dint TM see this all along ?? (side from they acquired P1 which are now WEBE)
GOPI56
post Jul 1 2016, 01:31 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 1 2016, 02:12 AM)

When at Klang Valley areas like Kajang area.
klmojuze
post Jul 1 2016, 04:34 PM

157 posts

At least they can make the most of the copper "last mile" around the world until more fibre is laid.

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jun 30 2016, 05:00 PM)
Ok. The fees they need to use for deploy the fiber cable is already a huge cost. (Not to tell you that the ISP company uses taxpayers money to deploy for their Fiber service) Still, they can't cover the whole Malaysia. The size of Malaysia is larer than Singapore and Hong Kong. Even GB and USA, they are well develped country but their service still stuck with the coverage and speed. Money is the first factor, only when you have enough money, then only you can talk about the other factors.
In the end in terms of coverage and sheer numbers I think 5G wireless, especially with massive quota, will probably outpace copper and fibre.

Fibre of course will still be king.

OPTICAL FIBRE MASTER RACE! smile.gif

This post has been edited by klmojuze: Jul 1 2016, 04:36 PM
hashtag2016
post Jul 1 2016, 09:05 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(klmojuze @ Jul 1 2016, 04:34 PM)
At least they can make the most of the copper "last mile" around the world until more fibre is laid.
pls don't dream up for that, unless your area is already been pre-defined as UNIFI area in their "dictionary".

-------
i do believe they will upgrade adsl to vdsl in steps by steps way , by starting from the area which already offer 4Mbps and 8Mbps.
so, for 1Mbps users like Casey (ex-topic starter, b4 admin combined 2 similar topics) ,
it cound be a very very long and painful time to wait ,might take 5 years or more .
Unless TM gonna deploy it in reverse process (which is very insane way ,even to me). brows.gif
They will be always be the one who pay more but get less..

Current price for Streamyx 1Mbps still at price RM110(no including GST yet).
if sb lucky enough, got some discount, still need to pay about RM70 for 1Mbps broadband. ranting.gif
In the same time , it is only take RM7 per Mbps for an UNIFI 30Mbps user !!
non offer Price for UNIFI ADVANCED 30Mbps(with HyppTV Aneka or Varnam or Ruby Pack) is RM199 . brows.gif

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jul 1 2016, 09:08 PM
hashtag2016
post Jul 1 2016, 10:48 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jun 30 2016, 05:00 PM)
ya,agree, it is not fair that comparing SG with whole Malaysia.
but how about SG vs KL ? brows.gif

IMHO, it might not a simply budget issue.
After all, any single ringgit they invested, will be taken back from the users , soon or later.
With our TM highly overprice packages, the harvest moon will come even sooner. (our 1 year , 2 years contract with them already ensuring their stable income)

so, maybe their goal is simply reaching their financial target , rather than building an Intelligent Nation.
or maybe they just simply no need to hurry.
coz, no matter how, u still need their product to connect to www . u can hide, but u cannot run away. drool.gif

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jul 1 2016, 10:54 PM
nymerine
post Jul 2 2016, 02:50 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 1 2016, 01:12 AM)

This is faster than I expect, good news nonetheless.

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Jul 1 2016, 11:01 AM)
agreed.. seems like TM late to upgrade.. nowdays wireless infra are on peak upgrading..from 2g < 3g <LTE upgrade timeline seems much faster and cover wider coverage... dint TM see this all along ?? (side from they acquired P1 which are now WEBE)
They did, thus webe & TMGo.
QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jul 1 2016, 10:48 PM)
ya,agree, it is not fair  that comparing SG with whole Malaysia.
but how about  SG vs KL ?  brows.gif

IMHO, it might not a simply  budget issue.
After all,  any single ringgit they invested, will be taken back from the users , soon or later. 
With our TM highly overprice  packages, the harvest moon will come even sooner. (our 1 year , 2 years contract with them already ensuring their stable income)

so, maybe their goal is simply reaching their financial target , rather than  building an Intelligent Nation.
or maybe they just simply no need to hurry.
coz, no matter how, u still need  their product to connect to www . u can hide, but u cannot run away. drool.gif
Indeed they're in no hurry, they achieved lots of objective past year. HSBB/SUBB come in many phase, each phase takes 5 years to complete.
herojack41
post Jul 3 2016, 07:52 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

our copper infrastructure is beyond help la....demmit.

just dont waste anymore more in RnD on this sh!t vdsl vectoring

go on for full fibre......in long terms it save even more
mztang52
post Jul 3 2016, 08:13 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 08:52 PM)

Save cost mah.
herojack41
post Jul 3 2016, 09:35 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 3 2016, 08:13 PM)
Save cost mah.
Long run still waste a lot.

Be4 unifi....streamyx were using adsl which is copper base.
Copper means is prone to thief.

This reason alone is enough to use fiber
sHawTY
post Jul 3 2016, 10:14 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Save cost mah.
Fiber is cheaper than copper now

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 3 2016, 10:15 PM
mztang52
post Jul 3 2016, 10:33 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 10:35 PM)

They just need to pull the fiber optic cable to the dslam. All those previous phone line from your house to their dslam is fixed, cost saved. If they need to pull the fiber optic cable for everyone in Malaysia with the population of 30 million houses or more, they may facing bankrupt because one feet of fiber optic cable costs RM10.
mztang52
post Jul 3 2016, 10:34 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2016, 11:14 PM)
Yup, I know.
herojack41
post Jul 3 2016, 10:35 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2016, 10:14 PM)
QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 3 2016, 10:33 PM)
They just need to pull the fiber optic cable to the dslam. All those previous phone line from your house to their dslam is fixed, cost saved. If they need to pull the fiber optic cable for everyone in Malaysia with the population of 30 million houses or more, they may facing bankrupt because one feet of fiber optic cable costs RM10.
owh2.....
mztang52
post Jul 3 2016, 10:54 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 11:35 PM)
owh2.....
But, UK's fiber internet services use VDSL technology. And they can get 70mbps speed.
mztang52
post Jul 4 2016, 07:21 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 4 2016, 03:13 AM)
Yes i can confirm TM already start this VDSL or what they call it

From what the contractor told me can get speed up to 30mbps for rural area,they now upgrading box in my area,some more they say its combination of fiber and copper,from outsife to tm box is fiber,while box to house using copper

My area is kuala langat
Yup. We know VDSL uses copper and fiber. VDSL-Very high bit rate digital subscriber line.
DellMalaysia
post Jul 4 2016, 07:32 AM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 4 2016, 07:21 AM)
Yup. We know VDSL uses copper and fiber. VDSL-Very high bit rate digital subscriber line.
Slow technology in boleh land shakehead.gif
nymerine
post Jul 4 2016, 08:02 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 07:52 PM)

Save cost mah.
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 09:35 PM)

This technology will be used to retain usability of current copper cables throughout Malaysia, Fibre still will be rolled out in major cities and towns. This is for last mile connectivity.

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 4 2016, 02:13 AM)
Yes i can confirm TM already start this VDSL or what they call it

From what the contractor told me can get speed up to 30mbps for rural area,they now upgrading box in my area,some more they say its combination of fiber and copper,from outsife to tm box is fiber,while box to house using copper

My area is kuala langat
I believe this one is the old VDSL? VDSL2 Vectoring can go multiply that speed by 10 times. (theoritically)

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 4 2016, 07:21 AM)
QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Jul 4 2016, 07:32 AM)
Slow technology in boleh land  shakehead.gif
We're consumer country, unless we're the one who invent those technology, we might able to use it first hand. In this case no, we just taking the current technology, try it in lab and release it to the consumer.
mztang52
post Jul 4 2016, 08:13 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jul 4 2016, 09:02 AM)
I believe this one is the old VDSL? VDSL2 Vectoring can go multiply that speed by 10 times. (theoritically)
When it comes to the distance, the speed drops too. Probably VDSL Vectoring 's speed at that distance is around 80-120mbps only.
klmojuze
post Jul 6 2016, 12:22 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jul 1 2016, 09:05 PM)
pls don't dream up for that, unless your area is already  been pre-defined as UNIFI area in their "dictionary".
Well, I already have Unifi, I hope more people get fibre. smile.gif

But who knows, as you all have pointed out, this country ain't the most... er, sensible, one.
miloaisdino
post Aug 22 2016, 05:17 PM

1,418 posts

vdsl speed is quite badly affected by noise. vdsl vectoring would help but dont expect much when tm puts 1 dslam for >6km of houses...

Fibre to the cabinet was present in countries like singapore since the early 2000s... and their copper was cat5e (seriously) for adsl....
sigh...

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Aug 22 2016, 05:18 PM
Hummingbird
post Dec 13 2016, 06:00 PM

1,007 posts

I wonder why they still opt for this technology when the G.fast is already started to be rolled out in other countries.
dannielshazmeer
post Dec 13 2016, 07:27 PM

628 posts

if u are live in condo maybe you can install fibre line by management
if in rural area only may use this technology VDSL2 Vectoring
Qash-M
post Dec 13 2016, 11:32 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Dec 13 2016, 07:27 PM)
if u are live in condo maybe you can install fibre line by management
if in rural area only may use this technology VDSL2 Vectoring
I'm on later one...though still stuck with 1mbps... cry.gif
Hummingbird
post Dec 15 2016, 09:43 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 3 2016, 10:33 PM)
You think it's so easy, bro? By just connecting the DSLAM to fibre backhaul? The network equipments for VDSL and ADSL are totally different. You have to do some equipments change at the last mile too!
GOPI56
post Dec 15 2016, 10:26 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Dec 15 2016, 10:43 AM)
You think it's so easy, bro? By just connecting the DSLAM to fibre backhaul? The network equipments for VDSL and ADSL are totally different. You have to do some equipments change at the last mile too!
Futhermore the price of the new equipment are expensive as all are imported from outside and our ringgit value is dropping.
mztang52
post Dec 15 2016, 10:12 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Dec 15 2016, 10:43 AM)
Yes, I know. Different technology uses different equipments. Takkan lah you drive a BMW with a Toyota engine, right?
skywardsword
post Dec 16 2016, 09:27 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Jun 29 2016, 11:09 PM)
my place no unifi
streamyx max 4mbps  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

my house 2x streamyx 4mbps i paying RM148X2 =RM296+
No supprt 8mbps
seee i need 100mbps unifi very import
why i got 2x streamyx because my bro always uploading for iphone cloud daily and to much use i get slow then i got apply new streamyx for me only

daam my life bad
I suggest, if you can make friends with your neighbours. Ask them to sign petition to request for unifi.( get about 50 signature in your jalan/tmn/kampung.

Submit to http://complaint.cfm.org.my/

And cc to TM.

Wait for magic to happen. *** could be another 1 year to 2 year wait.

Quite frequently, lots of area, the kampung/tmn appears to be very small as each street is their own kampung and taman. Then TM will not install fibre cable thinking small population. But if you can prove that there is demand, chance is quite good.
dannielshazmeer
post Dec 19 2016, 04:27 PM

628 posts

how much to upgrade fiber optic in high rise building ??
GOPI56
post Dec 19 2016, 07:05 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Dec 19 2016, 05:27 PM)
how much to upgrade fiber optic in high rise building ??
Quite high cost, some new high rise building comes preinstalled with fibre from the developer. Then on each floor there is fibre patch panel for the units on that floor.

This post has been edited by GOPI56: Dec 19 2016, 07:05 PM
dannielshazmeer
post Dec 20 2016, 12:52 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Dec 19 2016, 08:05 PM)
Quite high cost, some new high rise building comes preinstalled with fibre from the developer. Then on each floor there is fibre patch panel for the units on that floor.
cost nearly rm 300k
-oc-gassa
post Dec 23 2016, 03:48 PM

967 posts

that expensive? i tot fibre cheaper than cooper.. maybe installation charges that rise the price up..
mydurian
post Dec 30 2016, 10:46 AM

854 posts

http://www.ospmag.com/issue/article/vdsl2-...ing-copper-gold
GOPI56
post Dec 30 2016, 11:13 AM

1,494 posts

The new streamyx package which will launched next year will be using VDSL vectoring technology. Not all places are supported. Only current streamyx users in supported places will be offered with the new Streamyx package next year.
Alpha_Tay
post Dec 30 2016, 05:50 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

wrong thead post.

This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: Dec 30 2016, 05:53 PM
rhytion
post Dec 30 2016, 07:29 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:13 AM)
The new streamyx package which will launched next year will be using VDSL vectoring technology. Not all places are supported. Only current streamyx users in supported places will be offered with the new Streamyx package next year.
That's some good news but is there anyway we can know which areas are supported? I'm stucked with 8Mbps currently without UniFi coverage and I'm seriously need higher speeds. cry.gif
GOPI56
post Dec 30 2016, 07:53 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Dec 30 2016, 08:29 PM)
That's some good news but is there anyway we can know which areas are supported? I'm stucked with 8Mbps currently without UniFi coverage and I'm seriously need higher speeds.  cry.gif
TM is developing a webpage where streamyx users can check whether they are eligible to apply for the new streamyx package. The webpage will be up next year.
jimlim007
post Dec 30 2016, 11:41 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Dec 30 2016, 07:53 PM)
TM is developing a webpage where streamyx users can check whether they are eligible to apply for the new streamyx package. The webpage will be up next year.
does it still require fibre?
rhytion
post Dec 30 2016, 11:58 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:41 PM)
I think no, cause it should be using VDSL2 vectoring which is discussed in this thread.
JayceOoi
post Dec 31 2016, 08:00 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Dec 30 2016, 07:53 PM)
Thanks for the info. Hopefully, my place is covered on the new plan. Else I am still stuck at VERY VERY SLOW upload...
afiq10
post Dec 31 2016, 10:04 PM

394 posts

So I'll have to use a new kind of modem to support VDSL eh?
GOPI56
post Jan 1 2017, 12:11 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Dec 31 2016, 12:41 AM)
Will use the existing copper line. Fibre will terminate at the cabinet on the road street and from cabinet to customer premise use copper line.
GOPI56
post Jan 1 2017, 12:14 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(afiq10 @ Dec 31 2016, 11:04 PM)
So I'll have to use a new kind of modem to support VDSL eh?
TM will provide VDSL2 modem during installation.
jimlim007
post Jan 1 2017, 07:37 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 1 2017, 12:11 AM)
Will use the existing copper line. Fibre will terminate at the cabinet on the road street and from cabinet to customer premise use copper line.
as i tried to understand from internet, Unifi also use VDSL. then i wonder why there are so many place still not in coverage since fibre termination just at cabinet and not hook up long fibre at road.... what is actually ISP problem in large scale coverage?

Broadband Termination Unit (BTU)
BTU is a terminating unit from the Access Network (TM Exchange) into a customer's premise. This unit functions like a modem and translates the pulses of light that carry data over the fibre optic cables into electrical signals.

There are two types of BTU which will be used depending on customer premise. If a customer premise is a landed property, the FTTH BTU will be used and if a customer premise is a high rise building, the VDSL2 BTU will be used. A BTU's back panel can support both internet and telephony services.
lpsoldier007
post Jan 1 2017, 08:59 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 1 2017, 12:14 AM)
Will there any speed upgrade for uploading?
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 1 2017, 08:10 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jan 1 2017, 09:59 AM)
Will there any speed upgrade for uploading?
ermm based on the package nothing upgraded
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 1 2017, 08:12 PM

628 posts

vdsl user no free upgrade 2017 only fibre user can get free upgrade
Zaryl
post Jan 1 2017, 10:30 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

according to my colleague who works in IT department, there will be a so called "UniFi Lite" which is the Streamyx that can go up to 20mbps later in 2017 this year.

Is this UniFi Lite = Streamyx Vector Thrust Vectoring or whatever it's called technology?
jimlim007
post Jan 1 2017, 10:35 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jan 1 2017, 10:30 PM)
according to my colleague who works in IT department, there will be a so called "UniFi Lite" which is the Streamyx that can go up to 20mbps later in 2017 this year.

Is this UniFi Lite = Streamyx Vector Thrust Vectoring or whatever it's called technology?
can ask your friend what is the upload speed for streamyx Lite? 0.5Mb?
jimlim007
post Jan 1 2017, 11:16 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 1 2017, 10:48 PM)
I think around 1-3mbps,dont expect u can get aame dl/ul like unifi cos its still copper not fibre
if they invest this tech laugh.gif , just prove they are stupid
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 2 2017, 02:15 AM

961 posts

with VDSL2 vectoring, only 20Mbit/s? come on tm, even VDSL (ITU-T G.993.5) can surpass this rate and support up to 50Mbit/s for downstream. but as expected la, after all this is tm, sure got many reason like aging infrastructure, distant & ...

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 1 2017, 10:35 PM)
can ask your friend what is the upload speed for streamyx Lite? 0.5Mb?
QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 1 2017, 10:48 PM)
I think around 1-3mbps,dont expect u can get aame dl/ul like unifi cos its still copper not fibre
actually with VDSL2, it can support up to 300Mbit/s (downstream) and 100Mbit/s (upstream) in theory. but u know la, tm ... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Jan 2 2017, 02:23 AM
Azusa_San
post Jan 2 2017, 03:35 AM

309 posts

nama je "Lite" ! but the price more or less the same and not worth compare to unifi.
afiq10
post Jan 2 2017, 03:50 AM

394 posts

VDSL2 Vectoring not even 100% Confirmed yet by TM right?

Only streamyx users registered before 31December2016 would be able to get this upgrade speed right?

..My main concern is the price for it..

Still have no idea if its really "FREE 2 UPGRADE" or just "PAY 2 UPGRADE"..

This post has been edited by afiq10: Jan 2 2017, 03:50 AM
GOPI56
post Jan 2 2017, 10:32 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jan 1 2017, 11:30 PM)

Yes it is the one using the VDSL vectoring technology but I not sure about the packages. The download speed will be probably around 15-20Mbps and upload will be probably around 1-2Mbps.
GOPI56
post Jan 2 2017, 10:33 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(afiq10 @ Jan 2 2017, 04:50 AM)
VDSL2 Vectoring not even 100% Confirmed yet by TM right?

Only streamyx users registered before 31December2016 would be able to get this upgrade speed right?

..My main concern is the price for it..

Still have no idea if its really "FREE 2 UPGRADE" or just "PAY 2 UPGRADE"..
The free upgrade is only for Unifi customers not Streamyx customers.
jimlim007
post Jan 2 2017, 10:45 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 2 2017, 10:32 AM)
Yes it is the one using the VDSL vectoring technology but I not sure about the packages. The download speed will be probably around 15-20Mbps and upload will be probably around 1-2Mbps.
2Mbps upload speed is ridiculous to implement laugh.gif betul betul kangkung land thumbup.gif
rhytion
post Jan 2 2017, 10:51 AM

389 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 2 2017, 10:45 AM)
2Mbps upload speed is ridiculous to implement  laugh.gif betul betul kangkung land  thumbup.gif
That's not the worst part. The worst thing is only a small portion of Streamyx users will get to enjoy the upgrade speed (if they choose to pay LOL). Whatever lah here is bolehland. biggrin.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 2 2017, 10:56 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 2 2017, 11:45 AM)
2Mbps upload speed is ridiculous to implement  laugh.gif betul betul kangkung land  thumbup.gif
TM monopoly fixed broadband service in Malaysia while being supported by the Goverment. TM has the power to do what ever they want to do to increase their profit.
JayceOoi
post Jan 2 2017, 12:00 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 2 2017, 10:45 AM)
Make it at least 5Mbps please. nod.gif
Azusa_San
post Jan 2 2017, 02:52 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 2 2017, 10:32 AM)
how u know it gonna be 15-20Mbps? any source?
jimlim007
post Jan 2 2017, 04:03 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 2 2017, 10:56 AM)
TM monopoly fixed broadband service in Malaysia while being supported by the Goverment. TM has the power to do what ever they want to do to increase their profit.
hope current gov go eat shit in next GE. hope new gov allow more ISP enter msia market; if u see below, u can see many companies earn billion profit still can increase price multiple time a year. watch out for that one in 0-9 list laugh.gif among SEA, streamyx 1MB rm110  thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Jan 2 2017, 04:07 PM

archonixm
post Jan 2 2017, 11:50 PM

774 posts

vdsl2 vector? afaik vdsl2 user with shit copper still dc every 5 seconds lol
killerjeya
post Jan 2 2017, 11:53 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 2 2017, 04:03 PM)
hope current gov go eat shit in next GE. hope new gov allow more ISP enter msia market; if u see below, u can see many companies earn billion profit still can increase price multiple time a year. watch out for that one in 0-9 list  laugh.gif among SEA, streamyx 1MB rm110  thumbup.gif
Jaring is still on that list... doh.gif
mztang52
post Jan 2 2017, 11:54 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(killerjeya @ Jan 3 2017, 12:53 AM)
Jaring is still on that list... doh.gif
But it is closed forever.
GOPI56
post Jan 3 2017, 07:20 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jan 3 2017, 12:54 AM)
But it is closed forever.
AIMS which is a child company of TM bought over all the assets like the servers and data centers from Jaring before Jaring closed down.
mztang52
post Jan 3 2017, 09:58 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 3 2017, 08:20 AM)
AIMS which is a child company of TM  bought over all the assets like the servers and data centers from Jaring before Jaring closed down.
AIMS belongs to TIME now.
AjkR06
post Jan 3 2017, 01:41 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 1 2017, 12:14 AM)
May I know whether Streamyx version of VDSL will come with triple play service like what Unifi have? Internet+Phone+IPTV with dedicated bandwidth. Not sharing the same resources like current Streamyx 4/8mbps now.
mztang52
post Jan 3 2017, 04:15 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 3 2017, 02:41 PM)
May I know whether Streamyx version of VDSL will come with triple play service like what Unifi have? Internet+Phone+IPTV with dedicated bandwidth. Not sharing the same resources like current Streamyx 4/8mbps now.
Yes. VLAN will be implemented. VDSL has been used in old type Condos and apartments for years and so far it runs on VLAN too. So HyppTV, Phone and Internet should be seperated if it is on VDSL2 Vectoring.
SUSnemesisz
post Jan 4 2017, 12:31 PM

176 posts

For me, I still think that the Japanese approach is still the best. When you want internet connection to your home in Jpan, basically you have to pay for 2 thing...first is the cable company...second is the ISP. The cable company is the one who have invest in laying the cable either cooper or fibre around japan while the ISP company provide the internet connection. Bcause of this, their fibre cable coverage is so wide compare to us. Since in Msia, the ISP is the one who do the cable installation and at the same time providing the connection, the process tend to be slow. Entering 2017 and mojority of TM subscriber is still using streamyx. sweat.gif

The rate there is also damn cheap. For fibre cable rent, you need to pay about 4600yen about rm170. Then after you have cable, you pay about 460yen (about RM17) to the ISP. So total about RM187 per month. That price is for 1Gbps speed. I also shock when Im hearing that from my friend who study and work there. To compare that price to a real life situation, average part-timer there make RM46 per hour while here in Msia, part-timer usually make 5 ringgit per hour. So, to pay RM187, our part timer have to work for almost 37 hour while in Jpan, they only have to work for 4 hours to pay their internet bill. cool2.gif
Azusa_San
post Jan 4 2017, 06:46 PM

309 posts

even with VDSL2 vectoring, it is still impossible for tm to offer the same speed as unifi using fiber. Since the signal travel in copper line will attenuate and deteriorates quickly with increasing distance. in other words, the longer the distance user with dslam/exchange, the lower the speed user will get.

Starting from 1.6 km (1 mi) VDSL2 performance is equal to ADSL2+.
* from wiki sweat.gif

after all, fiber is still the future.

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: Jan 4 2017, 06:50 PM
GOPI56
post Jan 4 2017, 06:57 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jan 4 2017, 07:46 PM)
even with VDSL2 vectoring, it is still impossible for tm to offer the same speed as unifi using fiber. Since the signal travel in copper line will attenuate and deteriorates quickly with increasing distance. in other words, the longer the distance user with dslam/exchange, the lower the speed user will get.

* from wiki sweat.gif

after all, fiber is still the future.
TM will use Fibre To The Cabinet(FTTC). The possible setup would like in the picture below.Only the last mile to customer premise will use copper.
GOPI56
post Jan 4 2017, 07:01 PM

1,494 posts

Azusa_San
post Jan 4 2017, 07:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 4 2017, 06:57 PM)
TM will use Fibre To The Cabinet(FTTC). The possible setup would like in the picture below.Only the last mile to customer premise will use copper.
The maximum available bit rate is achieved at a range of about 300 meters; performance degrades as the loop attenuation increases.

* refer to VDSL2

VDSL2 Speed Versus Distance From the Cabinet
http://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co.uk/20...gainst-distance

even with streamyx 4 and 8mbps, many user still can't subscribe due to "too far" - excuse/reason given by tm staff.

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: Jan 4 2017, 07:22 PM
JohnLai
post Jan 4 2017, 07:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Just log into current adsl/router and find out downstream attenuation value and input it at the website to find out approximate distance.
Azusa_San
post Jan 4 2017, 07:39 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 4 2017, 07:35 PM)

Just log into current adsl/router and find out downstream attenuation value and input it at the website to find out approximate distance.
1.3 meter sweat.gif
JohnLai
post Jan 4 2017, 07:43 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jan 4 2017, 07:39 PM)
1.3 meter sweat.gif
1.3meter?
Impossible.....
Attenuation, not SNR bor.......

Example:

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jan 4 2017, 07:47 PM
Azusa_San
post Jan 4 2017, 07:47 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 4 2017, 07:43 PM)
1.3meter?
Impossible.....
Attenuation, not SNR bor.......
typo, its 1.3km.
JohnLai
post Jan 4 2017, 07:48 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jan 4 2017, 07:47 PM)
typo, its 1.3km.
mad.gif bangwall.gif
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 4 2017, 07:52 PM

961 posts

Approximate Distance: 941 meters
rhytion
post Jan 4 2017, 07:52 PM

389 posts

I hope my area will get VDSL rclxms.gif

JohnLai
post Jan 4 2017, 08:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Jan 4 2017, 07:52 PM)
I hope my area will get VDSL  rclxms.gif

.....hate to break it to you, but with VDSL standard....you probably get 34268kbps. (Divide VDSL2 by two)
So....no 50Mbps for you....

EDIT: Reason being most high-rise uses VDSL instead of VDSL2.

If VDSL2 Vectoring is being used, multiply* VDSL2 bandwidth by 3.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jan 4 2017, 08:39 PM
rhytion
post Jan 4 2017, 08:40 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 4 2017, 08:35 PM)
.....hate to break it to you, but with VDSL standard....you probably get 34268kbps. (Divide VDSL2 by two)
So....no 50Mbps for you....
At least can get upgrade for my Streamyx if my area really under their project. No UniFi coverage currently so yea, when 30Mbps is not even available, 50Mbps is totally just a dream.
AjkR06
post Jan 4 2017, 09:29 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

If I can get 20Mbps downstream and 5Mbps downstream I'll be glad so much. What to do, since I'm living in rural areas. Not feasible for TM to lay their 'precious' fiber cable here. Currently I'm using streamyx 8mbps with JUST 512Kbps upstream speed. Gosh! iCloud backup take up so much time to do and I need to use my mobile data in order to do it fast.
komag
post Jan 4 2017, 10:15 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 4 2017, 07:35 PM)

rclxub.gif
JohnLai
post Jan 4 2017, 10:26 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(komag @ Jan 4 2017, 10:15 PM)

rclxub.gif

My condolences
GOPI56
post Jan 4 2017, 10:38 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Jan 4 2017, 08:52 PM)
I hope my area will get VDSL  rclxms.gif

Maybe can get 20Mbps.Pray hard.
killerjeya
post Jan 5 2017, 02:37 AM

80 posts

Honestly, I don't really care about download speed anymore...Over the years, I've gotten so used to it, I don't even get mad anymore when I have to leave downloads overnight to complete...At this point, I'll take whatever I can get, even just double the speed to 8Mbps...A price cut would be nice too... But then again, seeing how TM likes to screw us Streamyx users upside down, it does seem unlikely...

The one thing that DOES annoy the hell out of me is the f***ing upload speed...In this day and age, an upload speed of 500Kbps is a cruel joke...At least give us 5Mbps upload speed this year, goddamnit TM... ranting.gif
Xefron
post Jan 5 2017, 09:35 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 09:26 AM)
Too bad we will forever stuck with this speed..u wanna fibre,move from ur current place
this is what I say to my friends... there must be a reason why u still stuck at the same place.
JayceOoi
post Jan 5 2017, 11:11 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(killerjeya @ Jan 5 2017, 02:37 AM)

Honestly, I don't really care about download speed anymore...Over the years, I've gotten so used to it, I don't even get mad anymore when I have to leave downloads overnight to complete...At this point, I'll take whatever I can get, even just double the speed to 8Mbps...A price cut would be nice too... But then again, seeing how TM likes to screw us Streamyx users upside down, it does seem unlikely...

The one thing that DOES annoy the hell out of me is the f***ing upload speed...In this day and age, an upload speed of 500Kbps is a cruel joke...At least give us 5Mbps upload speed this year, goddamnit TM... ranting.gif
Same here. Need faster upload speed. Everything hangs once a person uploading files. vmad.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 5 2017, 01:21 PM

1,494 posts

TM is performing cable upgrade works at my place.

Xefron
post Jan 5 2017, 01:34 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jan 3 2017, 04:15 PM)
Yes. VLAN will be implemented. VDSL has been used in old type Condos and apartments for years and so far it runs on VLAN too. So HyppTV, Phone and Internet should be seperated if it is on VDSL2 Vectoring.
VLAN will not be implemented for Streamyx area which is SUBB.

Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 5 2017, 03:03 PM

961 posts

later come out price reduce only, no free upgrade doh.gif

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 5 2017, 01:21 PM)
TM is performing cable upgrade works at my place.

this is unifi right? unrelated to this thread, later other user will get confuse about this.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Jan 5 2017, 03:06 PM
GOPI56
post Jan 5 2017, 03:13 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 5 2017, 04:03 PM)
later come out price reduce only, no free upgrade doh.gif
this is unifi right? unrelated to this thread, later other user will get confuse about this.
The black cable is copper cable but not sure what is the cable in the last picture.
mztang52
post Jan 5 2017, 03:40 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 5 2017, 02:34 PM)
VLAN will not be implemented for Streamyx area which is SUBB.
Wow.. So VLAN will not be implemented on VDSL2 Vectoring?
dannychen
post Jan 5 2017, 09:59 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 04:32 PM)
lagi bad news

so this SUBB just waste of money lah

1.8B wasteeddddd

Meanwhile, the SUBB infrastructure will also be rolled out over a period of ten (10) years, involving the upgrading of existing copper lines to deliver high-speed broadband access speeds of up to 20Mbps and up to 100Mbps in areas deployed with Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) technology, to over 420,000 premises by 2019.

The total cost of the HSBB 2 investment for a period of ten (10) years is RM1.8 billion whereby the Government will be investing RM500 million and the remaining RM1.3 billion will be invested by TM. The total cost of the SUBB investment for a period of ten (10) years is RM1.6 billion with the Government investing RM600 million and TM investing RM1.0 billion.
they added RM1b this year.

84. Offer a more competitive price for broadbands (higher speed at the same price)
85. Increase ethernet broadband speed in public universities to maximum 100 Gbps
86. Widen the coverage and enhance the quality of broadband up to 20 Mbps throughout
the nation (RM1 billion)

afiq10
post Jan 5 2017, 10:26 PM

394 posts

will VDSL vectoring have better ping/latency than ADSL? (this is my main concern)
westlife
post Jan 6 2017, 05:35 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 03:27 PM)
maybe take out copper and replace with fibre
There is no need to remove existing copper cabling as they are still used for telephone line which it is impossible for them to remove.
westlife
post Jan 6 2017, 05:48 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 5 2017, 09:59 PM)
they added RM1b this year.

84. Offer a more competitive price for broadbands (higher speed at the same price)
85. Increase ethernet broadband speed in public universities to maximum 100 Gbps
86. Widen the coverage and enhance the quality of broadband up to 20 Mbps throughout
the nation (RM1 billion)

I dun think TM will really invest in new technology to make the existing copper. Given the quality of the copper wire, for certain area they cannot even support 4Mbps or 8Mbps but limits to 1Mbps or 2Mbps.

The existing copper infra is already broken even in terms of profits for TM, to do something just to boost the maximum speed to 100Mbps? They might as well expand the unifi coverage in a faster rate since this is what they are pushing currently.
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 6 2017, 05:59 AM

961 posts

384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10?

free or paid upgrade sweat.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 6 2017, 09:08 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 6 2017, 06:59 AM)

384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10?

free or paid upgrade sweat.gif
There is no much information for streamyx users.
dannychen
post Jan 6 2017, 08:52 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 6 2017, 09:08 AM)
There is no much information for streamyx users.
384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10
SUSnemesisz
post Jan 7 2017, 12:06 PM

176 posts

I dunno if this is new or what but suddenly I got call by TM to upgrade my streamyx from 2 to 4Mbps. Last time I ask they say my place cannot support 4. Last month I see lots of TM guy in my area working with wiring and other thing. And this month I got a call saying that they have upgrade my area and now can support 4Mbps.
mztang52
post Jan 7 2017, 03:23 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(nemesisz @ Jan 7 2017, 01:06 PM)
I dunno if this is new or what but suddenly I got call by TM to upgrade my streamyx from 2 to 4Mbps. Last time I ask they say my place cannot support 4. Last month I see lots of TM guy in my area working with wiring and other thing. And this month I got a call saying that they have upgrade my area and now can support 4Mbps.
But cannot support 8Mbps.
rhytion
post Jan 7 2017, 03:54 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jan 7 2017, 03:23 PM)
But cannot support 8Mbps.
I wonder why TM don't provide 8Mbps support since it's already 2017 and instead just upgrade to provide 4Mbps support. With this kind of effort put in I wonder how are we going to get minimum 20Mbps internet for 50% of households in our country by 2020 as someone mentioned before. confused.gif

This post has been edited by rhytion: Jan 7 2017, 03:56 PM
Maxieos
post Jan 8 2017, 11:41 PM

3,758 posts

How to know which area support the VDSL2 ?
JayceOoi
post Jan 9 2017, 10:08 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Any news today?
ricstc
post Jan 13 2017, 10:08 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 12:54 AM)

what kind of plan are you using now that your speed test is so terra? what plan or hack is this?
TSnikrizal
post Jan 13 2017, 11:07 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jan 13 2017, 10:08 PM)
what kind of plan are you using now that your speed test is so terra? what plan or hack is this?
It's not hack, I'm on unifi50

Soon to be 100 biggrin.gif
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 14 2017, 12:32 AM

628 posts

still frust stuck only 20mbps download 20mbps upload
tm capped my speed
ricstc
post Jan 14 2017, 12:47 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jan 13 2017, 11:07 PM)
It's not hack, I'm on unifi50

Soon to be 100  biggrin.gif
what do you do with such capabilities of 50mbps?

download watch movies somemore what to do with so much of speed?
TSnikrizal
post Jan 14 2017, 07:36 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jan 14 2017, 12:47 AM)

50mbps is good enough to handle my two 4K tvs. I watch 4K from Netflix. 25mbps is the minimum speed if you want to stream 4K contents.

Other than that, I watch movies using KODI via torrent seeders (Quaser addon) and also 4K contents (Sanctuary addon)
ricstc
post Jan 14 2017, 09:53 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jan 14 2017, 07:36 AM)
50mbps is good enough to handle my two 4K tvs. I watch 4K from Netflix. 25mbps is the minimum speed if you want to stream 4K contents.

Other than that, I watch movies using KODI via torrent seeders (Quaser addon) and also 4K contents (Sanctuary addon)
Ohhhh everything 4k no wonder.

I'm 90% blind so even 1k also okay

Thanks for sharing
SUSnemesisz
post Jan 14 2017, 10:43 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Jan 7 2017, 03:54 PM)
I wonder why TM don't provide 8Mbps support since it's already 2017 and instead just upgrade to provide 4Mbps support. With this kind of effort put in I wonder how are we going to get minimum 20Mbps internet for 50% of households in our country by 2020 as someone mentioned before.  confused.gif
I'm also thinking the same. Ask them about 8Mbps but the CS girl said my area not supported. But what to do right. This guy are mega company with monopoly power and being back by the government. There is no pressure for them to rush anything.
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 14 2017, 10:53 AM

628 posts

WHY MY SPEED STUCK AT 20MBPS ONLY ?
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 14 2017, 11:58 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 14 2017, 11:56 AM)
Unifi or streamyx?
unifi blink.gif
Chrono-Trigger
post Jan 14 2017, 12:24 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jan 14 2017, 12:47 AM)

if got a family who all using Youtube, then 50mbps may not be enough.

TSnikrizal
post Jan 14 2017, 01:54 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jan 14 2017, 12:24 PM)
if got a family who all using Youtube, then 50mbps may not be enough.
I'm quite surprise when I check the router it shows there are 15 connected devices at any given time!
GOPI56
post Jan 14 2017, 06:55 PM

1,494 posts

1080P resolution is already good enough for me. No need for 4K resolution futhermore 4K televisions are expensive.
OneFarEast
post Jan 14 2017, 07:52 PM

81 posts

when i set the modulation to auto-sync my modem connect through VDSL2 but didnt assign ip adress..im using streamyx 8mbps
lpsoldier007
post Jan 14 2017, 08:30 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(OneFarEast @ Jan 14 2017, 07:52 PM)

when i set the modulation to auto-sync my modem connect through VDSL2 but didnt assign ip adress..im using streamyx 8mbps
Your model support vdsl 2?
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 16 2017, 12:21 AM

628 posts

Unifi by TM run adsl2+
JayceOoi
post Jan 16 2017, 09:02 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Interesting... My old old modem shouldn't support it then. dry.gif
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 16 2017, 01:43 PM

961 posts

last week got tm lorry came to laid cable at mine taman, but not sure whether it is a copper or fiber optic cable, perhaps it is something relate to the vdsl or subb project.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Jan 16 2017, 01:46 PM
Qash-M
post Jan 16 2017, 11:11 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 16 2017, 01:43 PM)
last week got tm lorry came to laid cable at mine taman, but not sure whether it is a copper or fiber optic cable, perhaps it is something relate to the vdsl or subb project.
I wish my area had one too... sweat.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 17 2017, 10:21 AM

1,494 posts

The signal to ratio (SNR) have increased when i checked the stats in my router after TM have completed the cable upgrading works at my place. My SNR now is 31db.

I think the cable upgrading works has something to do with the upcoming VDSL vectoring.
-oc-gassa
post Jan 18 2017, 12:51 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:21 AM)
The signal to ratio (SNR) have increased when i checked the stats in my router after TM have completed the cable upgrading works at my place. My SNR now is 31db.

I think the cable upgrading works has something to do with the upcoming VDSL vectoring.
the higher SNR the better supposedly right? how about your ping test? reduce in ms ?
GOPI56
post Jan 18 2017, 12:58 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Jan 18 2017, 01:51 PM)
the higher SNR the better supposedly right? how about your ping test? reduce in ms ?
The higher the SNR, the better the connection quality. Ping have reduced from 30 something to 20 something.
post Jan 19 2017, 11:12 PM

222 posts

how to check wheter im on VDSL2 or ADSL?
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 20 2017, 01:50 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(3825968 @ Jan 19 2017, 11:12 PM)
how to check wheter im on VDSL2 or ADSL?
Streamyx is on ADSL, unless u are using unifi in high rise building.
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 20 2017, 01:51 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:21 AM)

For me, snr and attenuation is still the same after they perform cable upgrading.
GOPI56
post Jan 20 2017, 02:00 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 20 2017, 02:51 PM)
For me, snr and attenuation is still the same after they perform cable upgrading.
Is the internal wiring in your house new or old.
afiq10
post Jan 21 2017, 11:54 AM

394 posts

max upload speed 600kbps? this is vdsl2?

This post has been edited by afiq10: Jan 21 2017, 11:54 AM
pot
post Jan 21 2017, 02:38 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 21 2017, 12:40 PM)
mine

[attachmentid=8425633]
port 8Mb only..... then shoulr me speedtest 6-7Mbps?
blacktubi
post Jan 25 2017, 08:47 PM

-
8,408 posts

I guess it requires some VLAN tagging just like Unifi
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 31 2017, 04:36 PM

961 posts

any update on this vdsl thing?

already 2017, stimix still expensive like hell, yet the speed is horrible. ask tm about 8mbps, they answer not support, ask them about unifi coverage, they said no idea.

fuuuu, if not because of stimix's unlimited quota, i already dump it a long long time ago. vmad.gif
zeronehza
post Jan 31 2017, 08:37 PM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

all we have to do is just wait 1st march of surprise and new package introduce in June 2017 sad.gif
JohnLai
post Jan 31 2017, 11:37 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 31 2017, 04:36 PM)
any update on this vdsl thing?

already 2017, stimix still expensive like hell, yet the speed is horrible. ask tm about 8mbps, they answer not support, ask them about unifi coverage, they said no idea.

fuuuu, if not because of stimix's unlimited quota, i already dump it a long long time ago. vmad.gif
Nothing new.

The problem is....if TM use VDSL....who is going to sponsor the modem/router?
Ebony & Ivory
post Feb 1 2017, 12:26 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 31 2017, 11:37 PM)
Nothing new.

The problem is....if TM use VDSL....who is going to sponsor the modem/router?
should be the isp/tm, like those who upgrade from streamyx to unifi is getting both btu and router for free.

dannielshazmeer
post Feb 19 2017, 06:18 PM

628 posts

my snr VDSL2

dannielshazmeer
post Feb 19 2017, 07:40 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Feb 19 2017, 07:39 PM)
Ur location?latency?plan?
location shah alam
latency 28ms
plan 30mbps only
i want 50mbps but cannot
mztang52
post Feb 20 2017, 09:36 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Feb 19 2017, 07:18 PM)
my snr VDSL2
But your attainable rate an reach more than 50Mbps.
dannielshazmeer
post Feb 20 2017, 11:36 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 20 2017, 10:36 PM)
But your attainable rate an reach more than 50Mbps.
more than 50mbps
but tm not allow me to upgrade 50mbps
kupang
post Feb 21 2017, 03:34 PM

160 posts

what modem do you use for your streamyx 8 ?
mztang52
post Feb 21 2017, 03:54 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Feb 21 2017, 12:36 AM)
more than 50mbps
Does TM know that your line can support 50Mbps?
NyOx
post Feb 21 2017, 05:36 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 01:54 AM)

i dont think current infra ready for this technology. unless tm change entire DSLAM infrastructure.

first tm need fix faulty port and provide enough port on every area.
OneFarEast
post Feb 22 2017, 04:10 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Feb 21 2017, 03:34 PM)
what modem do you use for your streamyx 8 ?
DSL-2877AL

hashtag2016
post Feb 23 2017, 06:15 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Feb 20 2017, 11:36 PM)
more than 50mbps
no, they don't provide UNIFI 50Mbps package for high rise building with copper.
u can do nothing about it.
btw, u and your neighbours may try to talk to your building management office to upgrade the infra of the building from copper to fiber optic. cry.gif

NyOx
post Feb 23 2017, 10:37 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Feb 23 2017, 07:15 AM)
btw, u and your neighbours may try to talk to your building management office to upgrade the infra of the building from copper to fiber optic.  cry.gif
if you stay at high rise building. just email to TIME. when they come, fully fiber end to end. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
dannielshazmeer
post Feb 23 2017, 09:28 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Feb 23 2017, 07:15 AM)
btw, u and your neighbours may try to talk to your building management office to upgrade the infra of the building from copper to fiber optic.  cry.gif
ermm building management cannot upgrade fiber optic because community majority dont want because other things need to recover first

TM also dont have enough equipment to supplier fiber optic to all resident
TM need to korek lubang and pull fiber optic from the nearest exchange first
Hummingbird
post Feb 27 2017, 10:27 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Feb 23 2017, 09:28 PM)
ermm building management cannot upgrade fiber optic because community majority dont want because other things need to recover first

'Don't have enough' is an excuse la. Who doesn't supply when you have all the money?
Ebony & Ivory
post May 1 2017, 12:24 AM

961 posts

Haha tm never fail to disappoint us, tak bleh harap one, again unifi lite VDSL is in limited place only.
AsuKi
post Jul 26 2017, 11:36 AM

♥C.S.I♥
1,144 posts

sighs 10 years later still no unifi
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 26 2017, 02:23 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Jul 26 2017, 11:36 AM)
sighs 10 years later still no unifi
which area? perak? Penang ?
archonixm
post Aug 1 2017, 08:51 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Feb 23 2017, 09:28 PM)

Yeah, most of high rise suffer this. Unless u bought one with Fiber......u need to move to landed house.
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 1 2017, 08:56 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Aug 1 2017, 08:51 AM)
Yeah, most of high rise suffer this. Unless u bought one with Fiber......u need to move to landed house.
i think not in the very old type landed.
archonixm
post Aug 1 2017, 09:05 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 1 2017, 08:56 AM)
i think  not in the very old type landed.
nope, it doesn't matter new or old, if housing area under coverage, for old one, they will replace from copper to fiber. But if not under coverage..nothing can be done here. U will rot with copper till dead bangwall.gif
GameSky
post Aug 1 2017, 09:48 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

so any news on this? so far i heard some area using vdsl tho..not sure in kuching
joevo2
post Jul 12 2018, 03:04 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Feb 23 2017, 06:15 AM)
my old condo actually have 50mbps... using copper wire... during the last free speed upgrade.... they upgraded but same 30mbps, then called and they send technician. Fix my copper wire a bit for free, then 50mbps cun cun... but the technician tested and tell me my house copper wire max can 90mbps~ so yeah in future if wanna pay for higher speed take note on that he said
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 13 2018, 11:57 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(joevo2 @ Jul 12 2018, 03:04 PM)
my old condo actually have 50mbps... using copper wire... during the last free speed upgrade.... they upgraded but same 30mbps, then called and they send technician. Fix my copper wire a bit for free, then 50mbps cun cun... but the technician tested and tell me my house copper wire max can 90mbps~ so yeah in future if wanna pay for higher speed take note on that he said
wait for this
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...eed-to-800mbps/
zulkarnain98
post Jul 13 2018, 08:16 PM

116 posts

VDSL1 max upgrade 30mbps, VDSL2 max upgrade 100mbps.
Ebony & Ivory
post Jul 13 2018, 10:45 PM

961 posts

yup, speed will reduce with further distance. noise like EMI, cross talk n etc.

fiber is the future.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Jul 13 2018, 10:45 PM
GameSky
post Jul 14 2018, 08:42 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

vdsl2 is good if for just a single building, or small residential area... for long term is not future-proof.. for sure it will stuck with such same speed.
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 14 2018, 10:46 AM

3,821 posts

This is the challenge of TM go for fully fiber
AjkR06
post Jul 14 2018, 10:53 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

Turned out to be white elephant project due to insufficient funds. Those area that already got their cabinet upgraded/included in the 2015-2017 project before general election can considered lucky because at least they would be able to subscribe for Unifi Lite 10Mbps. Far a way better than Streamyx (sorry.. pre unifi) 8Mbps.
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 14 2018, 11:03 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jul 14 2018, 10:53 AM)
Turned out to be white elephant project due to insufficient funds. Those area that already got their cabinet upgraded/included in the 2015-2017 project before general election can considered lucky because at least they would be able to subscribe for Unifi Lite 10Mbps. Far a way better than Streamyx (sorry.. pre unifi) 8Mbps.
u know Malaysia have bought a lot of latest technology include healthcare industry, but no expertise Malaysian to utilize it as those expertise already migrated.
Likewise for TM site
Hummingbird
post Jul 14 2018, 12:25 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 13 2018, 08:38 PM)
After 100meter speed reduce drastically

Vdsl is not future proof

Tm should upgrade all to fibre.period
VDSL has reached its peak at VDSL2 with vectoring, but it's not the end. Some countries have started to upgrade VDSL2 to new technology called G.Fast or even GX.Fast. The technology can reach gigabit level for copper wiring.
Hummingbird
post Jul 14 2018, 12:48 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 14 2018, 12:38 PM)
Gigabit till how far?under 50meter?

What about the latency and jitter

What the point have gigabit speed but high latency
You can read about the technology in Nokia's website.
hashtag2016
post Jul 14 2018, 07:50 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Jul 14 2018, 12:25 PM)
VDSL has reached its peak at VDSL2 with vectoring, but it's not the end. Some countries have started to upgrade VDSL2 to new technology called G.Fast or even GX.Fast. The technology can reach gigabit level for copper wiring.
I think it would be another white elephant project,if we really wannna deplay it nationalwidely....slow speed(if comparing to others countries) and expensive..
i mean the vectoring.
From our experience with ADSL (so called Streamyx thing)..
just my 2 cents.

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Jul 14 2018, 12:25 PM)
yes,but their ADSL deployment is alotx better than ours since last decade, so it is make sense for them to invest some money to let the old DSL dinasours to spin a little more longer.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jul 14 2018, 07:59 PM
Hummingbird
post Oct 14 2018, 09:54 AM

1,007 posts

Just as MCMC has announced, government plans to phase out the copper based infrastructure in a few years time. So what TM gonna do with the heavily invested SUBB which based on the VDSL2 vectoring?
AjkR06
post Oct 14 2018, 11:24 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Oct 14 2018, 09:54 AM)
Just as MCMC has announced, government plans to phase out the copper based infrastructure in a few years time. So what TM gonna do with the heavily invested SUBB which based on the VDSL2 vectoring?
SUBB which utilizing VDSL2 technology can also be considered as 'fiberization'. It also known as 'Fiber to The Cabinet' instead of 'Fiber To The Home' whistling.gif

I think government will only phasing out the first mile copper (from exchange to the street port/cabinet), the last mile from the cabinet to the residential area will still in operation.

Anyway, just my opinion. TM surely has invested a lot on replacing the ADSL port to VDSL2 port by upgrading the MSAN cabinet and I don't think they'll come back to the SUBB and implement FTTH to that particular area. sad.gif

Well, at least those 'lucky' in the SUBB will get 20Mbps if TM wish to implement that speed there. Things much more complicated in the 'grey' area, which doesn't falls as SUBB and HSBB. My area, considered as SUBB but TM didn't upgrade all the ADSL port to the VDSL2. mad.gif

Ckmwpy0370
post Oct 14 2018, 01:15 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Oct 14 2018, 09:54 AM)
it is extremely difficult do phase out the copper as majority old housing area or even some new housing are still using copper (dun have fiber)
doh.gif

amirul hafizz
post Oct 14 2018, 05:56 PM

369 posts

i am unifi lite 10mbps, got free upgrade last month 50mbps. and today i test my speed, download 70-80mbps and upload 50-60mbps. now, copper can get highest speed 100mbps. brows.gif

yhsiau
post Oct 14 2018, 05:58 PM

790 posts

Another "vaporware" from TM... They just want easy $$$!!!
ftfong700
post Oct 14 2018, 06:54 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Oct 14 2018, 05:56 PM)
i am unifi lite 10mbps, got free upgrade last month 50mbps. and today i test my speed, download 70-80mbps and upload 50-60mbps. now, copper can get highest speed 100mbps. brows.gif

Means you are using copper now?
amirul hafizz
post Oct 15 2018, 05:35 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(ftfong700 @ Oct 14 2018, 06:54 PM)
Means you are using copper now?
yess, copper user.
gokucorp
post Oct 15 2018, 05:49 AM

42 posts

how to know if your unifi copper or fiber?
Ckmwpy0370
post Oct 15 2018, 10:33 AM

3,821 posts

r u staying high rise or landed?
misspinky
post Oct 15 2018, 11:01 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Oct 15 2018, 11:33 AM)
if i'm not mistaken he is in high rise..
TSnikrizal
post Oct 15 2018, 11:50 AM

1,230 posts

It's quite amazing to reach 100Mbps with copper!
Ckmwpy0370
post Oct 15 2018, 11:57 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Oct 15 2018, 11:50 AM)
It's quite amazing to reach 100Mbps with copper!
however, it only reach Max 100Mbps
moving forward, those in fully fiber can reach 500Mbps 800Mbps, or GB soon
at the end, VDSL2 still cannot cope or support those apps require high resolutions

AmyDazz
post Oct 15 2018, 12:10 PM

159 posts

When you got download speed 70-80Mbps, did you do the upgrade to 100Mbps?

amirul hafizz
post Oct 15 2018, 05:36 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Oct 15 2018, 10:33 AM)
yess, living in high rise building.
amirul hafizz
post Oct 15 2018, 05:39 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Oct 15 2018, 12:10 PM)
When you got download speed 70-80Mbps, did you do the upgrade to 100Mbps?
i am got free upgrade from 10 to 50mbps last month. when i make speed test, i got 70-80mbps. my unifi portal, still 50mbps advanced.
Ebony & Ivory
post Oct 15 2018, 05:45 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Oct 15 2018, 05:39 PM)
i am got free upgrade from 10 to 50mbps last month. when i make speed test, i got 70-80mbps. my unifi portal, still 50mbps advanced.
thumbup.gif free upgrade, how much u pay per month?
wanek
post Oct 15 2018, 07:22 PM

2 + 2 = 5
760 posts

vdsl2 @ fiber ?

This post has been edited by wanek: Oct 15 2018, 07:22 PM
Hummingbird
post Oct 15 2018, 09:36 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Oct 14 2018, 11:24 AM)
SUBB which utilizing VDSL2 technology can also be considered as 'fiberization'. It also known as 'Fiber to The Cabinet' instead of 'Fiber To The Home'  whistling.gif

I think government will only phasing out the first mile copper (from exchange to the street port/cabinet), the last mile from the cabinet to the residential area will still in operation.

Anyway, just my opinion. TM surely has invested a lot on replacing the ADSL port to VDSL2 port by upgrading the MSAN cabinet and I don't think they'll come back to the SUBB and implement FTTH to that particular area.  sad.gif 

Well, at least those 'lucky' in the SUBB will get 20Mbps if TM wish to implement that speed there. Things much more complicated in the 'grey' area, which doesn't falls as SUBB and HSBB. My area, considered as SUBB but TM didn't upgrade all the ADSL port to the VDSL2.  mad.gif
Oh man, then those in the SUBB coverage are caught in the limbo!

No steady price reduction but there is no room for upgrade too. TM's PR and strategic officers are not really using brains huh...
amirul hafizz
post Oct 15 2018, 11:28 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(wanek @ Oct 15 2018, 07:22 PM)
vdsl2 @ fiber ?
vdsl2
amirul hafizz
post Oct 15 2018, 11:29 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Oct 15 2018, 05:45 PM)
thumbup.gif free upgrade, how much u pay per month?
RM99 for wifi plus RM60 for ultimate pack.
Ebony & Ivory
post Oct 16 2018, 12:12 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Oct 15 2018, 11:29 PM)
RM99 for wifi plus RM60 for ultimate pack.
have free call?
amirul hafizz
post Oct 16 2018, 07:31 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Oct 16 2018, 12:12 AM)
have free call?
yess, free call.

0.1113sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:54 PM