VDSL2 Vectoring by TM, New technology that make copper 100mbps
mztang52
May 18 2016, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 01:54 AM) I have just chatted with my friend from TM and he revealed that TM is now testing a new technology called VDSL2 Vectoring. With this new technology, existing copper cables throughout nationwide will be capable to reach 100 Mbps. This new technology has already taken place in Europe and US. VDSL2 Vectoring is noise-canceling technology. It cuts out all of the noise, or interference, among the VDSL2 lines in a bundle. With no interference, every VDSL2 line can operate at peak speeds, as if it were the only line in the bundle. So we are looking at new Streamyx plans with 30, 50 or even 100Mbps! TM used VDSL copper system for unifi for a long time and it won't be streamyx.
mztang52
May 18 2016, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ May 18 2016, 06:33 PM) so unifi high rise will get this features Yes only high rise building. But still remember it is copper not fiber. Speed may be different with Fiber internet.
mztang52
Jun 29 2016, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 10:11 PM) Frustrated with my home network speed, I have been researching various broadband standard, and happens to read through this VDSL that still utilizes our existing copper wire. VDSL standards EXPLAIN here >>>VDSL2+ max speed up/down achievable 100MB provided that one is within, I think, 1KM from the telco switch box or DSLAM. Will our telco ever wanted to try something new that could at least boost our hopeless network speed in today standard, where many in the region are enjoying at least 30~100MB connection For those of us that are not cover by UNIFI, 1MB is a pain in the ass now a days Anybody could suggest ways to achieve better speed without breaking the budget  Are you on ADSL2/Streamyx?
mztang52
Jun 29 2016, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 10:31 PM) Go google for VDSL2+ and click on the image. You will see that the speed of VDSL2+ drops to the speed like ADSL2 when it reaches a point. In rural places, the cable are pulled over KMs, probably around 3KMs or 5KMs. When the cables are long, the speed will drops. So if TM changes to VDSL2+ technology, it is still the same. What for do they need to waste money on the things which makes no difderence?
mztang52
Jun 29 2016, 09:48 PM
mztang52
Jun 29 2016, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(casey @ Jun 29 2016, 11:05 PM) Fully understood. but what i mean is that there are also some group of people, that are within the distance, that could be offer this option, especially those in a densely populated area, and are within range. As I believe that changes and investment from the telco is not much, offering VDSL to those within reach. I am not a specialist in this, but just here to learn from those who are in the industry  TM only uses VDSL technology for those who stays in old high rise buildings only. The reason is because VDSL is costly and it only can covers a few places. Whereas, with fiber optic cable, it can be pulled for a long distance with a full 10Gb speed without any lost of speed. Compare to VDSL, its max speed is 100mbps. 100mbps/10Gb=100customers. 100mbps/100mbps=1 customer only. Also, the ping for fiber is much more lower than the ping for VDSL users. This post has been edited by mztang52: Jun 29 2016, 11:14 PM
mztang52
Jun 30 2016, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jun 30 2016, 01:58 AM) with G.fast can reach 500Mbps or more . our country is too far behind.  That's why.
mztang52
Jun 30 2016, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(casey @ Jun 30 2016, 02:06 PM) With no competition at all, in particular of TELCO industry, where the whole world is basically network connected, at the end, everyone lost out in the competition. Let us just look around the region like Singapore, Korea or Hong Kong, for the progress they made. For us, everything still seems like yesterday, with the same slogan shouted, but we are just deceiving our self in many occasion. Everything of our daily living are rising, just that our GAJI not rising  Ok. The fees they need to use for deploy the fiber cable is already a huge cost. (Not to tell you that the ISP company uses taxpayers money to deploy for their Fiber service) Still, they can't cover the whole Malaysia. The size of Malaysia is larer than Singapore and Hong Kong. Even GB and USA, they are well develped country but their service still stuck with the coverage and speed. Money is the first factor, only when you have enough money, then only you can talk about the other factors.
mztang52
Jul 3 2016, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 08:52 PM) our copper infrastructure is beyond help la....demmit. just dont waste anymore more in RnD on this sh!t vdsl vectoring go on for full fibre......in long terms it save even more Save cost mah.
mztang52
Jul 3 2016, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 10:35 PM) Long run still waste a lot. Be4 unifi....streamyx were using adsl which is copper base. Copper means is prone to thief. This reason alone is enough to use fiber They just need to pull the fiber optic cable to the dslam. All those previous phone line from your house to their dslam is fixed, cost saved. If they need to pull the fiber optic cable for everyone in Malaysia with the population of 30 million houses or more, they may facing bankrupt because one feet of fiber optic cable costs RM10.
mztang52
Jul 3 2016, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2016, 11:14 PM) Fiber is cheaper than copper now Yup, I know.
mztang52
Jul 3 2016, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 3 2016, 11:35 PM) But, UK's fiber internet services use VDSL technology. And they can get 70mbps speed.
mztang52
Jul 4 2016, 07:21 AM
QUOTE(Eralus @ Jul 4 2016, 03:13 AM) Yes i can confirm TM already start this VDSL or what they call it From what the contractor told me can get speed up to 30mbps for rural area,they now upgrading box in my area,some more they say its combination of fiber and copper,from outsife to tm box is fiber,while box to house using copper My area is kuala langat Yup. We know VDSL uses copper and fiber. VDSL-Very high bit rate digital subscriber line.
mztang52
Jul 4 2016, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Jul 4 2016, 09:02 AM) I believe this one is the old VDSL? VDSL2 Vectoring can go multiply that speed by 10 times. (theoritically) When it comes to the distance, the speed drops too. Probably VDSL Vectoring 's speed at that distance is around 80-120mbps only.
mztang52
Dec 15 2016, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Dec 15 2016, 10:43 AM) You think it's so easy, bro? By just connecting the DSLAM to fibre backhaul? The network equipments for VDSL and ADSL are totally different. You have to do some equipments change at the last mile too! Yes, I know. Different technology uses different equipments. Takkan lah you drive a BMW with a Toyota engine, right?
mztang52
Jan 2 2017, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(killerjeya @ Jan 3 2017, 12:53 AM) Jaring is still on that list...  But it is closed forever.
mztang52
Jan 3 2017, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 3 2017, 08:20 AM) AIMS which is a child company of TM bought over all the assets like the servers and data centers from Jaring before Jaring closed down. AIMS belongs to TIME now.
mztang52
Jan 3 2017, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 3 2017, 02:41 PM) May I know whether Streamyx version of VDSL will come with triple play service like what Unifi have? Internet+Phone+IPTV with dedicated bandwidth. Not sharing the same resources like current Streamyx 4/8mbps now. Yes. VLAN will be implemented. VDSL has been used in old type Condos and apartments for years and so far it runs on VLAN too. So HyppTV, Phone and Internet should be seperated if it is on VDSL2 Vectoring.
mztang52
Jan 5 2017, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 5 2017, 02:34 PM) VLAN will not be implemented for Streamyx area which is SUBB. Wow.. So VLAN will not be implemented on VDSL2 Vectoring?
mztang52
Jan 7 2017, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(nemesisz @ Jan 7 2017, 01:06 PM) I dunno if this is new or what but suddenly I got call by TM to upgrade my streamyx from 2 to 4Mbps. Last time I ask they say my place cannot support 4. Last month I see lots of TM guy in my area working with wiring and other thing. And this month I got a call saying that they have upgrade my area and now can support 4Mbps. But cannot support 8Mbps.