Kodi Official Discussion Thread V2, Free and Open Source (GPL) Media Center

StevenL
post Aug 23 2016, 08:14 AM

732 posts

Morning folks

In Kodi, can we delete the zip file link and would the add-on still work?
TSvoncrane
post Aug 23 2016, 09:39 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 23 2016, 07:52 AM)
Nowadays people just so lazy they want to be spoon-fed.

Below is the first line explanation in your thread and yet they deem it too abstract,  can't tell whether Kodi is Software or Hardware it seems  doh.gif

" What is Kodi?
Kodi® (formerly known as XBMC™) is an award-winning free and open source (GPL) software media center for playing videos, music, pictures, games, and more. It is developed by the Kodi Foundation, a non-profit technology consortium. Kodi runs on Linux, OS X, Windows, iOS, and Android, featuring a 10-foot user interface for use with televisions and remote controls. It allows users to play and view most videos, music, podcasts, and other digital media files from local and network storage media and the internet.
Kodi is available as a native application for Android, Linux, Mac OS X, iOS, and Windows operating systems, running on most common processor architectures..................................... "
IKR... smile.gif

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 23 2016, 08:14 AM)
Morning folks

In Kodi, can we delete the zip file link and would the add-on still work?
Yep.. You can delete the original zip file.. Normally, most addons require a repo (short for repository) for updates, changes etc.. So leave that installed too.. Doesn't take much space on you installation.
lchee
post Aug 23 2016, 10:49 AM

511 posts

It was two weeks ago I bought android TV box. My first usage of kodi was also then. But what made it simpler for first timer like me i think is rather than to go into every single stuff and learn of the addons available in kodi, just install one particular build that is the latest you can find in youtube. It will have most details sorted out for you. For me, I used the ultra TT build and so far it seems good enough.
TSvoncrane
post Aug 23 2016, 01:32 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(lchee @ Aug 23 2016, 10:49 AM)
It was two weeks ago I bought android TV box.  My first usage of kodi was also then.  But what made it simpler for first timer like me i think is rather than to go into every single stuff and learn of the addons available in kodi, just install one particular build that is the latest you can find in youtube.  It will have most details sorted out for you. For me, I used the ultra TT build and so far it seems good enough.
Builds are great, especially the well maintained ones.. However, if it isn't maintained and for example, an addon is broken, one still needs to be able to manually fix the broken addon.. smile.gif
lhooipg
post Aug 24 2016, 08:04 PM

New Android User
1,403 posts

Hello, does anyone know any repo to watch cCNN international liv, tks? Try channel pear but they took off CNN already.
JohnLai
post Aug 26 2016, 11:09 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

http://astro1.rastream.com/lite can't seem to load.
Any alternative?

AVFAN
post Aug 27 2016, 12:04 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 26 2016, 11:09 PM)
http://astro1.rastream.com/lite can't seem to load.
Any alternative?
what is this supposed to give?
JohnLai
post Aug 27 2016, 12:13 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 27 2016, 12:04 AM)
what is this supposed to give?
Astro LiteFM radio channel when copy pasted into vlc -->Media ---> Open Network Stream..
But few days ago, it stopped working.
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2016, 12:17 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 27 2016, 12:13 AM)
Astro LiteFM radio channel when copy pasted into vlc -->Media ---> Open Network Stream..
But few days ago, it stopped working.
if u r asking if this is available on KODI, i doubt it.

kodi, las lotsa int'l radio, not local.

JohnLai
post Aug 27 2016, 12:20 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 27 2016, 12:17 AM)

It was usable in Kodi before....
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=72548748

EDIT: Hitzfm still works.....

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Aug 27 2016, 12:20 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2016, 12:24 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 27 2016, 12:20 AM)

ah, that one...

the developer has not not come in here for some time now.

not sure if he is maintaining the links...
TSvoncrane
post Aug 27 2016, 05:19 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 27 2016, 12:20 AM)

Link works on MX Player, but plays a loop recording.. Alternatively, there's a dedicated Lite FM app.. Haven't tried em myself, but it's there.
Ngto
post Aug 27 2016, 07:54 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 27 2016, 12:17 AM)

The KODIM addon has a section specially for Local Radio stations. But the particular 'Lite FM' plays some sort of message telling listeners to go to their website.

The other Radio stations I can't say whether they are what they claim because I don't listen to Radio myself.

The available English Channels are as follows :-

Red, Hitz, Lite (message only), Mix, Gold, Jazz, Rock, Traxx (not working).

The rest are the Malay Stations and one Chinese (My FM).

JohnLai
post Aug 27 2016, 10:59 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 27 2016, 05:19 AM)
Link works on MX Player, but plays a loop recording.. Alternatively, there's a dedicated Lite FM app.. Haven't tried em myself, but it's there.
Exactly....some sort of MP3 CBR Mono loop recording....on the other hand....I found out how to bypass the darned loop....

http://astro1.rastream.com/lite.android

Yes...by adding extra 'android' word on the link. sweat.gif
5 seconds of astro advertisement before actual radio streaming, acceptable lah.... nod.gif
TSvoncrane
post Aug 27 2016, 11:20 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 27 2016, 10:59 AM)
Exactly....some sort of MP3 CBR Mono loop recording....on the other hand....I found out how to bypass the darned loop....

http://astro1.rastream.com/lite.android

Yes...by adding extra 'android' word on the link. sweat.gif
5 seconds of astro advertisement before actual radio streaming, acceptable lah.... nod.gif
Ha, you got just 5 seconds.. I'm getting a 20 second advert.. smile.gif Tested on Google Chrome Android... It's all good.
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2016, 11:33 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 27 2016, 07:54 AM)
The KODIM addon has a section specially for Local Radio stations. But the particular 'Lite FM' plays some sort of message telling listeners to go to their website.

The other Radio stations I can't say whether they are what they claim because I don't listen to Radio myself.

The available English Channels are as follows :-

Red, Hitz, Lite (message only), Mix, Gold, Jazz, Rock, Traxx (not working).

The rest are the Malay Stations and one Chinese (My FM).
i don't listen to radio on kodi. biggrin.gif

but i do listen to radio when i am at my desktop pc.

of all the stations, this is by far the best one i have come across.

almost anything u want, good sound, very smooth.

enjoy, radio lovers!

http://www.accuradio.com/
Ngto
post Aug 27 2016, 07:58 PM

4,350 posts

BPL season back , but how come so quiet?

No Liverpool fans?.... Spurs fans ? Game already started.

I myself am waiting for 12.30 match later smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 27 2016, 10:23 PM
SUSlowya
post Aug 27 2016, 11:00 PM

4,821 posts

how different is codi from miracast hdmi tv sticks? wouldn't it be easier just to keep all medias/games/movies/photos in android phone and stream it directly to tv with one of those miracast/ezcast/anycast/mirascreen ?
NotTheOne
post Aug 27 2016, 11:41 PM

241 posts

Hi guys,

1. I recently got my smart TV and have installed Kodi, now comes the daunting tasks of adding repo (repos) etc
Please share your experiences to help me out as I am overwhelmed at the amount of material to read and don't know where to start. I read the earlier thread and noticed I was getting lost in between superbuildware and installing other forks etc.
As I am using an Android TV, the material I read raises questions on my TV's RAM and storage space. I have a Sharp UE630X.
To those using Android TVs, please do guide me.

2. Also, please note that my current setup will be absolutely basic without any NAS. However, I want to make my browsing/typing experience better on the smart TV, so can anyone suggest which wireless mouse/keyboard are you guys using?
(Only spent few hours using the standard remote and have started to get annoyed already!)

This post has been edited by NotTheOne: Aug 27 2016, 11:49 PM
TSvoncrane
post Aug 28 2016, 12:54 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 27 2016, 11:00 PM)
how different is codi from miracast hdmi tv sticks? wouldn't it be easier just to keep all medias/games/movies/photos in android phone and stream it directly to tv with one of those miracast/ezcast/anycast/mirascreen ?
It's called Kodi and you SHOULD at least read Page one!!

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Aug 27 2016, 11:41 PM)
Hi guys,

1. I recently got my smart TV and have installed Kodi, now comes the daunting tasks of adding repo (repos) etc
Please share your experiences to help me out as I am overwhelmed at the amount of material to read and don't know where to start. I read the earlier thread and noticed I was getting lost in between superbuildware and installing other forks etc.
As I am using an Android TV, the material I read raises questions on my TV's RAM and storage space. I have a Sharp UE630X.
To those using Android TVs, please do guide me.

2. Also, please note that my current setup will be absolutely basic without any NAS. However, I want to make my browsing/typing experience better on the smart TV, so can anyone suggest which wireless mouse/keyboard are you guys using?
(Only spent few hours using the standard remote and have started to get annoyed already!)
See above.. Same applies...

Certain apps were not designed to be used with a remote, but rather a touchscreen.. Hence your frustrations..easy fix. There are tons of keyboards and mouse combos out there. It's just a question of preference.. Prefer the traditional keyboard and mouse or an Airmouse or a Touchpad+keyboard combo? Typically, either should work.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 28 2016, 12:59 AM

302 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:05 PM