QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 30 2017, 11:52 AM)
TLDR: Malaysia boleh! Malaysia is bestest.. If tak suka, ye keluar. Easier to rule.
Okay, no pent up anger, just frustrations at the country, folks and processing within. Semantics.. I'm an expat who's being here a couple years, lived in and visited a few other countries (some better, some worse). So believe you me that the frustrations are mutually shared. For instance, I've been meaning to change my current vehicle and been doing research on options. However, it's quite potong steam when the vehicles end up being launched here as I've drooled over specs & quality available in other countries as per YouTube videos. End up, no choice.. Not worth the amount at the moment, so continue using current vehicle. Here's to hoping that a significant amount of the population will also realize we are being shortchanged, do the same and the manufacturers or dealers will realize that and match specs and quality. Cuz if the consumers don't vote with their wallets, the same will continue and no change.
I think you need to re-read my post and try to see what I meant but didn't spell out blatantly... I was simply trying to remain on topic. TM and Astro already have software options, though not full scale or really standalone packages yet. TM has Hypptv (desktop and mobile) while Astro has AOTG for mobiles. Ever since their release, it's has been one issue after another..why? Inefficient delivery system, device and OS fragmentation leading to app incompatibility. Then there's the issue of stable, fast and "cheap" internet connections..that's another story entirely.
A closer example would be this Kodi thread. Despite how few of us are here. No week goes by without someone needing some assistance to get an addon or their installation working properly. Scale that up to even a fraction of the millions of subscribers TM & Astro has, you should see that it's going to be a customer service nightmare and costly for them. More and more people are ditching Astro for alternatives and so they've bleeding. With any regular (non-niche) business, cost reduction is the number one priority as shareholders must be pleased. Like you suggested, can they offer a Kodi addon in the future? Maybe, I'll welcome that. From my little IT background, I can imagine what it'll take for such to happen. Rollout an addon with EPG, recording, etc.. Absolutely 100% doable and inexpensive considering their budget. However, securing said streams and preventing people from simply hijacking it and selling/distributing on the down low? That's a a huge endeavor. See the likes of Netflix and Sky Sports.. If not done right, they'll lose even more customers to the rise of more illegitimate sources, which now get premium Astro content far easier than before. We all know that unlike in the UK recently, proper enforcement in Malaysia is a joke. More so when these illegal providers are backed by some big shots. So all in all.. If cost and control permits? We'll see it. Else, ride the wave.

Some of us have no choice. If i could get job in UK or EU i would live there but over there now theres quite a lot of racism and incompetence in hiring the right person for the job. Technical jobs always get the wrong people because the ones looking and HR managers have no clue about technical. HR incompetence is a global problem.
I myself i make really good android apps, so if IPTV companies want they can approach me if they want the best quality apps, but they wont because my CV isnt shiny or im probably not chinese and that im not working for them. I make sure my apps run well on downclocked phones at the frequencies that you wouldnt believe.
I've seen both astro and tm apps. Problem with TM is that you cant watch the basic channels online (tv1-tv9).
Securing said streams, extremely easy. If not by kodi can be done via own apps, however many programmers are simply brainless or noobs and im not joking about this. I have 2 very simple rules when making good software, 1) no frameworks, do the damn code yourself otherwise your software will be bloated, 2) same thing, dont use external libraries, use only what the programming language provides so programming language libraries are ok, but not external 3rd party libraries.
Cheap fast internet connection is easy.
1) provide more PPPOE gateways per area (in the UK my ISP had 4 in the area, everywhere in malaysia has only 1 gateway per large area. I live near a tm building and yet only see 1. )
2) ditch dlink, they are costing us loads of money by exposing us so others collect our data and hack us and are unreliable and insecure pieces of crap hardware.
3) use a GPON/SFP box that only converts GPON to ethernet. For VOIP, have a proper multi port VOIP box that connects to ethernet. This is because the modems given arent very reliable since they can overheat too (personal experience with tm).
I myself i use mikrotik as my router and asus as my wifi AP on. Very reliable and only the modem is the issue.
Too much irrelevant ranting. Still all these companies are welcome to hire me to improve their service.