75 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

TSazarimy
post Jun 18 2007, 04:16 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

update:

LeoDaVinci - UTM and NUS
europology - USM
BridgestoneRE711 - UTM

congratulations to everyone. anybody else got the offer?

bridge:

there are rape cases everywhere, but bcoz of the close ties between the johor based tabloid reporters with the police, then the "spicy" stories will almost always make it to the front page. biggrin.gif but i dont suppose u're afraid to get raped, are u?
europology
post Jun 18 2007, 07:16 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

lol imagines bridgestone gets raped... wat will the world turn into? tongue.gif

congrats 2 those who succeed in getting their desired course, including me lol! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 18 2007, 07:16 PM
xtracooljustin
post Jun 18 2007, 08:36 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

all the best on ur orientation week. If u need to know anything, can give me a buzz. though i'll only b back in UTM after 14th July.
kazasho
post Jun 19 2007, 05:59 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

aiyooo
how about uitm?
be in uitm this july
Jia0924
post Jun 19 2007, 06:49 PM

115 posts

I got UTM and NUS. I don't know which one to choose. sad.gif
Any suggestion?

This post has been edited by Jia0924: Jun 19 2007, 06:51 PM
TSazarimy
post Jun 19 2007, 07:09 PM

10,672 posts

update:

LeoDaVinci - UTM and NUS
europology - USM
BridgestoneRE711 - UTM
Jia0924 - UTM and NUS

jia, between NUS and UTM, i'd say it's basically at par. UTM and NUS have been rivals since i dunno... the 80s. but if u can afford it, go to NUS laaa. learn to be the ultimate kiasu there hehehe...
LeoDaVinci
post Jun 19 2007, 07:11 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Jun 19 2007, 06:49 PM)
I got UTM and NUS. I don't know which one to choose. sad.gif
Any suggestion?
Haha! Same dilemma here. Having the opportunity to choose perhaps is not the greatest thing after all. We have to be responsible and bear the consequences of the choice we made. Ewww.... unsure.gif

Added on June 19, 2007, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 19 2007, 07:09 PM)
update:

LeoDaVinci - UTM and NUS
europology - USM
BridgestoneRE711 - UTM
Jia0924 - UTM and NUS
jia, between NUS and UTM, i'd say it's basically at par. UTM and NUS have been rivals since i dunno... the 80s. but if u can afford it, go to NUS laaa. learn to be the ultimate kiasu there hehehe...
Really? You mean the standard is almost the same? Erm...what are the advantages studying in UTM rather than NUS?

This post has been edited by LeoDaVinci: Jun 19 2007, 07:12 PM
TSazarimy
post Jun 19 2007, 07:28 PM

10,672 posts

the only disadvantage i know is that UTM doesnt have RIBA, NUS does.

NUS are often visited by professional architects all over the world, but usually when one does come for a visit, UTM will get an invitation as well, so we'd be sending students to attend the talk or review in NUS. so we didnt actually miss anything. we do get international architects visiting utm as well, where a few years back we got mario botta, another spanish architect and a japanese architect that i dont quite remember the name (bcoz i wasnt there at the time).

UTM also have an exchange programme, similar to NUS. UTM's exchange programme currently is with italian universities (french in the works), while NUS is with british, american and chinese universities.

facilities wise is more or less the same, although their architectural computing labs have more experts in them than UTM's. but UTM compensates by having civil engineering working in collaboration with architects for various projects.

and UTM's (or any other IPTAs) waaaay cheaper than NUS. but the built environment in singapore is far superior than johor. so it's a tough pick. but u can come to johor anytime, so i'd push for NUS. more msians we have there, the better. easier to work together.
kazasho
post Jun 19 2007, 08:15 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

how can u all get offer from NUS?
is it for part 2?
europology
post Jun 19 2007, 09:07 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

apply for NUS, if your results are gr8, then u'll be invited for interview. if u pass the interview with flying colours, then u're in! biggrin.gif
hubswitch
post Jun 19 2007, 09:31 PM

81 posts

Well, i was hoping for UM but with crappy results...USM works for me. Guess we will be meeting together then europology? rclxms.gif
xtracooljustin
post Jun 19 2007, 09:33 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

yes yes...pls go to NUS. if not u will face the wrath of xtracooljustin and his merry band of mishaps in UTM rclxms.gif
europology
post Jun 19 2007, 09:47 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(hubswitch @ Jun 19 2007, 09:31 PM)
Well, i was hoping for UM but with crappy results...USM works for me. Guess we will be meeting together then europology?  rclxms.gif
Really? Gr8! Maybe we can arrange a meet! And we can discuss the things we need to prepare and bring! Cos I hv no idea what to do now... tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Jun 19 2007, 09:33 PM)
yes yes...pls go to NUS. if not u will face the wrath of xtracooljustin and his merry band of mishaps in UTM  rclxms.gif
LOL! Yes, I do support going to NUS. Exposure to international students is a lot higher than local ones. And those who get it ought to know, not everyone has this chance of a lifetime!
LeoDaVinci
post Jun 19 2007, 11:59 PM

116 posts

The offer letter can be accessed through www.jpt.utm.my liao.

Anda akan mengikuti Program Pengajian SENIBINA DAN SENIREKA selama lima (5) tahun. Anda hanya perlu membayar RM 7,000.00 sahaja untuk mendapat Ijazah SARJANA MUDA SENIBINA. Sebanyak RM 37,045.00 lagi ditanggung oleh Kerajaan Malaysia.

That sounds really attractive. Gosh. Now I feel like going to UTM liao. rclxub.gif
europology
post Jun 20 2007, 12:04 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

Fees for USM:

Yuran Pengajian Setahun: RM 8,809.00

Yuran dibayar Pelajar Setahun: RM 1,400.00

Yuran dibiayai Kerajaan Setahun: RM 7,409.00

Since the degree offered is the first 3 yrs, I dunno whether the same annual fees are applicable to the remaining 2 yrs or not.

Added on June 20, 2007, 12:06 amedited: I counted, and it's the same as UTM. smile.gif

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 20 2007, 11:58 AM
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2007, 07:00 AM

10,672 posts

i believe the fee for architecture courses of all IPTAs is the same. perhaps the only difference would be the cost of accommodation, which is usually included in the fees.

other than that, just get urself prepared mentally and physically. u'll be needing about RM300-RM500 for starting up which includes stationaries, toiletries and other stuffs. good luck to everyone wink.gif.

i'm off for summer holidays in italy. see u guys in a week.
KVReninem
post Jun 20 2007, 09:50 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 20 2007, 08:00 AM)
i believe the fee for architecture courses of all IPTAs is the same. perhaps the only difference would be the cost of accommodation, which is usually included in the fees.

other than that, just get urself prepared mentally and physically. u'll be needing about RM300-RM500 for starting up which includes stationaries, toiletries and other stuffs. good luck to everyone wink.gif.
i'm off for summer holidays in italy. see u guys in a week.
goda il vostro viaggio in Italia! icon_rolleyes.gif
dont forget to bring back some pics yeah of italian architecture which is the tuscany right?
europology
post Jun 20 2007, 12:03 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

@azarimy:

wow italy! so which part r u goin to? rome milan venice florence naples? or sicily?
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2007, 01:27 PM

10,672 posts

2 nights in turin, 2 nights in florence.

dah dah... aku nak gerak dah ni... ciao torino! ciao firenze!

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 22 2007, 01:26 AM
BridgestoneRE711
post Jun 20 2007, 02:28 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

hi mr.azarimy ,
want to ask something ...
my frined in UTM , his place is .... so called .. Kolej Tuanku Chancellor , mine is Kolej Rahman Putra ...
what how far is the distance ... can i stay with my friend ?

75 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:46 PM