75 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

TSazarimy
post Jun 15 2007, 06:47 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jun 15 2007, 01:02 AM)
yeah
*sigh
better start searching then

Added on June 15, 2007, 4:51 pmhahaha 1 thing!
i got a question for u all

this question i get when i was interviewed(spelling ok ka?)

Can u change a community culture with architecture?
How?
Why can?
example community~Orang Asli~
why dont u share with us ur answer first? then we can discuss even better wink.gif

QUOTE(lazo @ Jun 15 2007, 05:40 PM)
oh no. i came to a question.

seeing the post here saying that architecture also emphasise on drawing and designing the building or blablabla.

but i found that i dont really like drawing (but i can draw la XD) i'm more like to upgrading a city with LRT, building a skyscraping moden shopping complex or a very geng building with basement, building underwater railway or highways, or something like that, instead of just drawing design of building.

or building the new sky walk (at the grand canyon) something like that

am i come to the right choice?
it's part of architecture that is known as urban design. u will learn this quite late in architecture, and u can specialize into urban design during ur masters. urban designers are a close relative to architects rather than town planners. town planners have minimal design ability, but they have firm understanding on (guess what?) town and regional planning.

so combine both the design ability of an architect and the town planning ability, u'll get the urban designer. so most of ur preferences (except building a skyscrapping modern shopping complex) is pretty much infrastructures - the very playground of urban designers.

note that there are no courses offering urban design in undergraduate level in the world. u either go through town planning or architecture.

on the other hand, the skywalk over grand canyon is architectural engineering; while the skyscraper shopping complex is still architecture.
kazasho
post Jun 15 2007, 07:55 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

haha
well
i dnt knw~sigh

i told the inteviewer
~some sort using their(community) material
~do what they want;love but creating new things that change their habit

something like that la
lazo
post Jun 15 2007, 10:22 PM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

Wah, i just saw an undergraduate and graduate programme in NUS, namely

- B.Sc. (Building) (Hons.)
- MASTER OF SCIENCE (BUILDING SCIENCE)

This knowledge is vital for persons engaged in the design, construction commissioning, operation and maintenance of today's buildings and their services which have increased in sophistication and complexity.  The program offers scope for specialization in Building Performance Mandates; and Building Systems and Technologies.
I think this course suits me more o_O

argh, i'm not an architect anymore =.=
TSazarimy
post Jun 16 2007, 01:40 AM

10,672 posts

lazo, u seem to be interested in the art of creating: design. building courses dont do design, they do construction technologies. means, architects design, builders build. builders (also known as contractors: eg phua chu kang) dont always get credited for designing beautiful buildings, dynamic structures or long span bridges. it's always credited by the designers, namely architects or engineers.

lazo
post Jun 16 2007, 06:24 AM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

No no,

I think i'm more interest in those building technology instead of designing.

When building a bridge or a shopping complex, we need both architect and the building technology, isn't it? architect can design the outlook and interior, while the technology makes the building become more high class and high end.

I think i'm the latter one =D

I can research the technology about making the world tallest lift, design the most efficient highway (so no more traffic jam in malaysia XD), blablabla.

Any idea what job prospect will the latter option offers me after my graduation?

Added on June 16, 2007, 6:33 amAdd on : look at the document file i linked in the above Master of Building. The modules in the new syllabus really interest me so much!

Elective Modules (Performance Mandates)
BS5403 Computational Design Support
BS5404 Bioclimatic Building Design
BS5405 Advanced Acoustics and Noise Control
BS5406 Lighting Design and Technology
BS5407 Indoor Air Quality
BS5408 Energy Performance Measurement and Verification

Elective Modules (Building Systems and Technologies)
BS5409 HVAC Systems
BS5410 Protective Building Technologies
BS5411 Fire Technology
BS5412 Structural Systems for Buildings
BS5413 Maintainability of Buildings
BS5414 Faade Engineering and Technology
BS5415  Special Topics in Building Science

Advanced Modules
BS6001 Advanced Indoor Air Quality
BS6002 Building Energy Simulation and Analysis
This post has been edited by lazo: Jun 16 2007, 06:33 AM
TSazarimy
post Jun 16 2007, 09:23 AM

10,672 posts

lazo
post Jun 16 2007, 11:29 AM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

TSazarimy
post Jun 16 2007, 05:02 PM

10,672 posts

builders and building specialists are generally the same family, but different level of expertise. builders, otherwise commonly known as contractors, are capable of constructing buildings according to plan. as we all know, there are different classes of contractors, from A to F. each has different level of expertise and capabilities, A being the most capable and specialized, F is the most common.

specialists are usually classes D and above, and non specialists are E and F, which are abundant in msia.

lets take KLCC for example. bcoz of the sheer height of building, they would require tall structure specialists, which consists of steel engineers and builders. the architects work with the engineers to design the steel structures and how it should be constructed, and later the engineers will work together with the builders to actually construct the structures.

u cant just get any building contractor to build the steel structures, u'd need specialists. this is where ur degree comes in. similarly, ur masters degree will give u more specialization: in this case building integrated technologies. specialists may become part of the design team, but their main function is to actually build it.

i wouldnt want some guy with less than adequate SPM to actually build my megastructure wink.gif. look what happened to the ceilings of some buildings!
lazo
post Jun 16 2007, 08:28 PM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

Ahaha, well said. was laughing at your last sentence XD

Perhaps i can work with you in the future if my plans and paths work tongue.gif

let me bring up another case, and pls elaborate about the job prospect for me if possible.

the SMART tunnel in KL, which meant to control flash flood and also for motorcars. this tunnel requires both the technology and the great design, isnt it? in most cases, specialist and architects are the most important in a project and could not progress without either 1 party, yea?

Hehe, i think i am more to be a specialist! XD

Well, as you mentioned about A-F level in the post, and A-C level is those master/degree honors; and E, F group are those people working on the work site. Those higher level group most of the time just sit in the office to plans and discussing projects with architects and give order to those lower group to work it out, is it like that? and those higher level will go to the work site to investigate the progress from time to time.

hmm. i like that kind of job xD

This post has been edited by lazo: Jun 16 2007, 08:28 PM
TSazarimy
post Jun 16 2007, 08:49 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(lazo @ Jun 16 2007, 08:28 PM)
Ahaha, well said. was laughing at your last sentence XD

Perhaps i can work with you in the future if my plans and paths work tongue.gif

let me bring up another case, and pls elaborate about the job prospect for me if possible.

the SMART tunnel in KL, which meant to control flash flood and also for motorcars. this tunnel requires both the technology and the great design, isnt it? in most cases, specialist and architects are the most important in a project and could not progress without either 1 party, yea?

Hehe, i think i am more to be a specialist! XD

for projects such as the SMART tunnel in KL, architects are not involved. it is a project that is run almost entirely by engineers. even so, specialists will work with the engineers to construct the tunnel and assist in the project according to each specialists' area of expertise.

Well, as you mentioned about A-F level in the post, and A-C level is those master/degree honors; and E, F group are those people working on the work site. Those higher level group most of the time just sit in the office to plans and discussing projects with architects and give order to those lower group to work it out, is it like that? and those higher level will go to the work site to investigate the progress from time to time.

hmm. i like that kind of job xD
contractor classes arent depending on what qualifications u have, but more on job descriptions. according to malaysian treasury, the classes are defined as:

Kelas A1 bagi kontrak kerja dan $750,001 keatas bekalan yang dianggarkan berharga
Kelas A bagi kontrak kerja dan $500,001 hingga bekalan yang dianggarkan berharga $10,000,000
Kelas B bagi kontrak kerja dan $250,001 hingga bekalan yang dianggarkan berharga $4,000,000
Kelas BX bagi kontrak kerja dan $100,001 hingga bekalan yang dianggarkan berharga $2,000,000
Kelas C bagi kontrak kerja dan $100,001 hingga bekalan yang dianggarkan berharga $1,000,000
Kelas D bagi kontrak dan bekalan $75,001 hingga yang dianggarkan berharga $500,000
Kelas E bagi kontrak dan bekalan $70,001 hingga yang dianggarkan berharga $350,000
Kelas EX bagi kontrak dan bekalan $35,001 hingga yang dianggarkan berharga $100,000
Kelas F bagi kontrak dan bekalan $70,000 kebawah

contractor classes depends on what project they could take, which is where their area of specialization are. getting a degree doesnt mean u become a class C contractor, but it depends on ur capabilities in ur specific area of work. if u have a masters in building technologies, for sure u wouldnt want to work as a class F contractor, whom work mainly consists of basic house construction.

so u would wanna work as a class C and above, bcoz most projects that require ur expertise would probably be in those 3 classes.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 16 2007, 08:58 PM
lazo
post Jun 16 2007, 10:23 PM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

for projects such as the SMART tunnel in KL, architects are not involved. it is a project that is run almost entirely by engineers. even so, specialists will work with the engineers to construct the tunnel and assist in the project according to each specialists' area of expertise.
What about building bridges? not sure whether you went to penang before or not, but penang bridge is one of the great project few years ago (and it is impressive isnt it?) and now the bridge company is going to expand the 2lane bridge into 3lane bridge.

once before i cross the penang bridge and i saw they pumping water out from the seabed to allow sement to dry and then they do the piling work. it is so impressive and amazing! i wonder these kind of project requires what category of human resources? architects/specialist/engineers?

besides, since you say that SMART is more about engineers and specialist instead of architect, what is about the engineers? which courses/programmes lead to the engineers in the end?

what about projects like the grand canyon skywalk?

despite drawing designs of the building, do architects consider what material/technology to use for a certain project?

the building in Dubai also very pro. if i'm not wrong, most of the land in Dubai are filled from seawater. i believe that this ground filling (or what terms you call this?) is more on technology/specialist right (yea undoubtedly architecture design the talltall building xD)?
TSazarimy
post Jun 16 2007, 10:56 PM

10,672 posts

all above are civil engineering = kejuruteraan awam. this is one of the most popular course in malaysia, almost every university has it. from bridges to sky scrapers to SMART tunnel, all are civil engineers who're mostly specialized into their areas. u can go into specializations with ur masters in civil engineering.

on architects: one thing u need to understand is architect's job is not to draw what they design. drawing is the technical assistants' job, not the architect. the architect designs from the spaces to circulations to structures to materials and even what colour ur door knob would be. everything is decided by the architect as part of his design scheme.

just look at ur house. the architect decides how it looks like, the comfortability, accessibility, security, ventilation, spatial usage and even which way u're facing when u pee. that's the architect's job.

Dubai's Burj tower is built on reclaimed land off the shore. the land reclamation is the civil engineers job. u dont really need to specialize for this. the rest of the building is designed by the architect.
europology
post Jun 18 2007, 01:07 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

Oh my gosh! I've been accepted into USM Architecture. Very very glad! biggrin.gif
LeoDaVinci
post Jun 18 2007, 01:32 PM

116 posts

I got UTM Architecture. OMG. First choice!
europology
post Jun 18 2007, 01:37 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

So UTM or NUS? brows.gif
LeoDaVinci
post Jun 18 2007, 02:06 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Jun 18 2007, 01:37 PM)
So UTM or NUS? brows.gif
So very difficult for me to make decision now. Haih. BTW, congratz for getting USM Architecture! biggrin.gif Really glad for those who got it!
europology
post Jun 18 2007, 02:09 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

BTW, Bridgestone got UTM...
LeoDaVinci
post Jun 18 2007, 02:14 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Jun 18 2007, 02:09 PM)
BTW, Bridgestone got UTM...
Wow! Glad to hear that!!! He must be freaking happy now. Haha! We had our interview together last time de... rclxms.gif
europology
post Jun 18 2007, 02:28 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

Of cos he is feeling so syok now. I'm sure he's now busy spreading the news. tongue.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Jun 18 2007, 02:58 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

fu-yoh ... europology got it . ...
hmm ... i am happy to get utm .. but the problem is johor ... got ppl got raped there ... damn ... be safe be safe .

75 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:03 PM