75 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

BridgestoneRE711
post Apr 21 2007, 10:18 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

if i am not mistaken , the steely exterior of the mesin niaga building is to make the building energy saving , reflect the sun light away which will warm up the building .
am i right ?
Jia0924
post Apr 22 2007, 12:42 AM

115 posts

I have been interviewed by UKM, Monday would be USM and then UTM and NUS. ....
Sir Azari,I want to ask: if we didn't put the schools in our first choice, they won't entertain us much? I would say that because I put UKM as my 4th choice and the interviewer seemed like asking only few questions and kept saying" u sudah letak UTM as ur first choice, kalau u put sini first choice mungkin dapat lah, tapi macam ini, susah lah maksud you tak berapa suka UKM , kalau tak dapat, pun takkan apa". ...I couldn't answer that..
So, I start to wonder if the choices influence the interviwers' judgement?! I have found that students who put the course in 4th choice normally takes 5 minutes to finish the interviews. some even less than 5 minutes.
Sigh...........The guy also asked kalau dapat UTM , u mesti pergi, kan?! But I have not yet passed UTM's interview what.... How could he so sure I would get it.? He is now denying me, doesn't give me a chance, if USm also doesn't want me because I put it as my third? and I failed UTM interview.. That means i couldn't study my favourite course anymore.?!

So sad...
You guys got passports?!
europology
post Apr 22 2007, 01:03 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Apr 22 2007, 12:42 AM)
Sir Azari,I want to ask: if we didn't put the schools in our first choice, they won't entertain us much? I would say that because I put UKM as my 4th choice and the interviewer seemed like asking only few questions and kept saying" u sudah letak UTM as ur first choice, kalau u put sini first choice mungkin dapat lah, tapi macam ini, susah lah maksud you  tak berapa suka UKM , kalau tak dapat, pun takkan apa". ...I couldn't answer that..
So, I start to wonder if the choices influence the interviwers' judgement?! I have found that students who put the course in 4th choice normally takes 5 minutes to finish the interviews. some even less than 5 minutes.
Sigh...........The guy also asked kalau dapat UTM , u mesti pergi, kan?! But I have not yet passed UTM's interview what.... How could he so sure I would get it.? He is now denying me, doesn't give me a chance, if USm also doesn't want me because I put it as my third? and I failed UTM interview.. That means  i couldn't study my favourite course anymore.?!

So sad...
You guys got passports?!
Gosh... I'm worried about that kinda question too. Don't know how to respond. shakehead.gif

Btw, do we need to bring parents' salary review?
TSazarimy
post Apr 22 2007, 01:53 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Apr 22 2007, 12:42 AM)
Sir Azari,I want to ask: if we didn't put the schools in our first choice, they won't entertain us much? I would say that because I put UKM as my 4th choice and the interviewer seemed like asking only few questions and kept saying" u sudah letak UTM as ur first choice, kalau u put sini first choice mungkin dapat lah, tapi macam ini, susah lah maksud you  tak berapa suka UKM , kalau tak dapat, pun takkan apa". ...I couldn't answer that..
Sigh...........The guy also asked kalau dapat UTM , u mesti pergi, kan?! But I have not yet passed UTM's interview what.... How could he so sure I would get it.? He is now denying me, doesn't give me a chance, if USm also doesn't want me because I put it as my third? and I failed UTM interview.. That means  i couldn't study my favourite course anymore.?!

So sad...
You guys got passports?!
who the heck interviewed u? it wasnt kamarul afizi was it?

to tell u the truth, that's not a good interviewing etiquette. they've put u in a predicament that u immediately second guess urself. whatever choice u've put in the application form shouldnt affect their judgement.

but usually people ask that question to gegar ur confidence. people will crack when they're faced with a question that is conflicting between honestly saying what u want or flattering them to increase ur chance. what would u answer? what WOULD be the best answer?

u can bodek ur way through the predicament. or u can be plain and straightforward answer "yes, i will choose UTM. but that doesnt mean i wont choose UKM if i didnt get UTM but was offered USM!". then it all boils down to confidence. but do be careful not to cross the line between confidence and arrogance.

good practice for the next interview now, isnt it?
BridgestoneRE711
post Apr 22 2007, 02:28 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

wow .. that is scary .

Added on April 22, 2007, 3:41 ammind to give out the Q they have asked ?

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Apr 22 2007, 03:41 AM
menmissed
post Apr 22 2007, 03:48 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

im received the letter from utm .. interview on next saturday.
n its need to bring some contoh lukisan, what should i bring ?
i study ekonomi n business when i was in form 6...

oh no ... the upper floor topic is scarying... cos i putting UTM arki at first choice, i kena first choice... but .........

my second,third,........ until seven is choicing accounthing, n my last choice is commerce.
if they ask me why only u make 1 choice for architecture n putting 6 choices 4 account? it doesnt mean i dislike arki... i jz put accoutn for my backup cos im studying eko n business, n i worry i didnt get arki at all because of my study subjs.
TSazarimy
post Apr 22 2007, 03:57 AM

10,672 posts

like i told bridgestone in a chat:

"first born child isnt necessarily the favourite".

menmissed,

congratulations for getting the interview. we've discussed the portfolio (contoh lukisan) in page 26. any questions, dont hesitate to ask.
menmissed
post Apr 22 2007, 04:19 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

azarimy bro,
if i don hav a portfolio, can i draw some in these fews day n bring it on that day? but i checked back the letter, it said that the portfolio must "sah" de,.. issit check by teacher ? if i don hav sah, issit a problem?

i had designed some logo, website graphic, t shirt, n editting some graphic in Photoshop & Macromedia Flash, if i print it out, it can b accepted?

im doing my part time job at jb now, will go back to interview soon, my job is designing sticker, n the software i use is something like drawing graphic with lines, can it support AutoCAD graphic. can i print out the image too ?
TSazarimy
post Apr 22 2007, 04:37 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Apr 22 2007, 04:19 AM)
azarimy bro,
if i don hav a portfolio, can i draw some in these fews day n bring it on that day? but i checked back the letter, it said that the portfolio must "sah" de,.. issit check by teacher ? if i don hav sah, issit a problem?

yes, u can draw something up in these few days.

the issue here is, how do u prove that the drawing belongs to u, or u're the original author/designer? this might be asked during the interview, especially when what u draw during the drawing test is considerably different from what u show in ur portfolio.

the pengesahan is a method to shift the burden of proof on to ur side. for example, if somebody makes a fuss about your work and tries to blame UTM, UTM can just say "look, the boy have all his drawings 'disahkan', so go blame either the boy or the guy who 'sahkan' the drawings ler...".

i had designed some logo, website graphic, t shirt, n editting some graphic in Photoshop & Macromedia Flash, if i print it out, it can b accepted?

im doing my part time job at jb now, will go back to interview soon, my job is designing sticker, n the software i use is something like drawing  graphic with lines, can it support AutoCAD graphic. can i print out the image too ?
yes and yes.
BridgestoneRE711
post Apr 22 2007, 11:34 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

anyone here mind to set up a meet up at utm soon ?
menmissed
post Apr 22 2007, 11:57 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

thank you azarimy...
these day i will practise my drawing skill n draw something out....

can i let my pre U school teacher mark for it ?
like that is disahkan or not ?
LeoDaVinci
post Apr 22 2007, 12:15 PM

116 posts

I've prepared a few drawings for the interview tomorrow but I didn't get it certified because the school is closed yesterday and today. Who else can certify my drawings?
europology
post Apr 22 2007, 02:09 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Apr 22 2007, 12:15 PM)
I've prepared a few drawings for the interview tomorrow but I didn't get it certified because the school is closed yesterday and today. Who else can certify my drawings?
Me too didn't get them certified. Well, I doubt the other interviewees will get their drawings certified, unless they r notified prior to that. I think most of us didn't know the drawings shud be certidied. Anyway, js bring them watsoever.

What did u draw? and how many drawings did u draw? Mine like craps!
BridgestoneRE711
post Apr 22 2007, 03:59 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

u can try police station .
maybe they can certified it for ya .
xtracooljustin
post Apr 22 2007, 04:18 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Apr 22 2007, 12:15 PM)
where are u located? any commissioner of oath can do it for a fee. Usually RM5 per certification.

Added on April 22, 2007, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Apr 21 2007, 05:46 PM)
I don't have portfolio. So I think I'll draw a few drawings and compile them into a clear holder file. Hope that's sufficient.

I just know a few architects from Malaysia, namely Ar. Jimmy Lim, Ar. Hijjas Kasturi (yea, I like his design! The upcoming Kuching Tower is designed by him), Ken Yeang, etc.

Not sure whether they will ask specifically about the works of these architects or not...haha.

How about reknowned architects from other countries?
try more international architects like Frank Lloyd Wright (US), Mies van der Rohe (German) and Norman Foster (UK).

Added on April 22, 2007, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Apr 22 2007, 11:34 AM)
anyone here mind to set up a meet up at utm soon ?
anything, PM me for my hp number. Cant help you guys if you're not interviewing at UTM, Skudai campus though. so wats the exact number of LYN members coing to UTM for interview?

and places of interview? Pls list down.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Apr 22 2007, 04:23 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 22 2007, 05:32 PM

10,672 posts

justin is extending a helping hand. i suggest those interviewing in JB, go get his number and meet him prior to the interview.

justin, jangan mengorat. lu dah ada girlfren!
xtracooljustin
post Apr 22 2007, 05:53 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 22 2007, 05:32 PM)
justin is extending a helping hand. i suggest those interviewing in JB, go get his number and meet him prior to the interview.

justin, jangan mengorat. lu dah ada girlfren!
ha ha ha.... i think most if not all of them here that got the offer letters are guys. i have a strict schedule to run this final week im here in JB.. so give me a buzz quickly so i can plan my week.

Cheers!
katunX
post Apr 22 2007, 08:24 PM

391 posts

some universities didnt submit or made clear enough information for the assessment. it doesnt mean that they were too low in the ranking . but personally, deakin is not high on my list.

then, it's better for me to accept the offer from Newcastle U in Australia then, but I really wanna try out for University College Dublin. Since Dublin is in Euro that make it excluded from UK ranking in architecture school rite? Or not? sweat.gif

TSazarimy
post Apr 22 2007, 09:27 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(katunX @ Apr 22 2007, 08:24 PM)
then, it's better for me to accept the offer from Newcastle U in Australia then, but I really wanna try out for University College Dublin. Since Dublin is in Euro that make it excluded from UK ranking in architecture school  rite? Or not? sweat.gif
dublin is in republic of ireland, so yes, it's not in the UK.

http://www.architecture.com/fileLibrary/pd...chools_List.pdf

this list above shows schools that are accredited with RIBA in the UK especially, but there's also a worldwide list. deakin's on the list too, if i might point out. graduating part 2 from ANY of these schools will allow u to skip PAM part 1 and 2 exams. just come back home, bring ur certs, register and get ur license!

note to all going for UTM interview

make a point to know who're the ones interviewing u. easier for me to chase them down if anything happens (like jia's complaint over UKM's interview session).
Glenn
post Apr 22 2007, 10:02 PM

I am Jia0924. using my sister's bf account now smile.gif

I only know when I got into the room, there were two interviewers.
One is better and nicer.( who is more willing to listen to us), one is that one kept saying that" pilihan pilihan". Sigh.
The first question is... they asked me about my choices.Is it UKM my fourth choice and then What are my other choices... and then decribe my drawing. When I was describing, the person stoped me and asked me about my CGPA. then he asked ada apa persoalan? I said nope. Then, he said then it's okay, I may go out.
I was little shocked. Then asked" is it all? tak payah introduce my self dan answer questions?"Hehe.. a bit straight huh? Because I got shocked .. Before getting in, they let us read some questions .. The person then said tak payah larh, u punya details kita sudah ada, kalau nak answer question , boleh la, 2 minutes. Then.... after that, he said those things that really made me not confident ( the pilahn pilihan punya ). I also did show them my drawings for their comments. I think in fact they weren't very rude.. maybe they were tired of interviewing candidates . I was the second last to be interviewed.
Sir Azari, I thought we have to be honest ?! ... I really don't know how to flatter others.. sad.gif

I think I have failed that interview.But it's okay for me now as I gained some experience.Hehe.. but that day, after my interview, I felt quite angry.. but now, feeling okay. Treat that as an experience. I hope USM interviewers would be more friendly...now Learning to flatter my interviwers..hehe

The drawings ... need to be certified? MUST?!
I got only three pieces as Sir azari said it's better to have to let them know we are serious about that course.Hey, Is it three enuf? I really want to study and must study my faourite.After USM, would be sharing again my experience here. Hehe..

This post has been edited by Glenn: Apr 22 2007, 10:28 PM

75 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:14 AM