QUOTE(KVReninem @ Apr 20 2007, 10:01 PM)
azarimy, i had seen some stuff about aussie architecture..so actually what is UTS is debated thr?
mind to share about view on aussie unis in architecture?
just to let those who is coming in to unimelb 2008 ..they r changing the system to 3 yrs of study and which the bachelor/master type..
so which mean after 3 yrs u can work..
tat is all i know..plz correct me..
i browse thru UWA and they r going to do the same too...
i wondering if i finish i shud proceed joining the 1st batch of this type of programme or work and wait for another year?coz im doing diploma here ...which will lead to deakin uni...which i doubt of it status...
UTS? university technology sydney? i dunno, coz i didnt follow them closely.
i dont quite understand, what is going to be changed? as far as i know, australian univs comply to RIBA, means it's either 3+2, or 4+1 for part 2. which degree are they changing into a 3 year system? 1st or 2nd degree?
QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Apr 21 2007, 12:18 AM)
Haha. Same here. Haven't done any preparation yet...
As for attire, I also don't have any idea. Any recommendation here? Semi-casual? I think collared long shirt with tie will do.
BTW, when the guy from USM called, I asked him whether we need to prepare any drawing or not. He said just bring anything which is relevant. So I guess we should be bringing, right?

QUOTE(europology @ Apr 21 2007, 01:23 AM)
I guess I'll just stick to long sleeves and pants. Shud be formal rite then. Just that tie is optional. Anything that we shud bring? Birth cert and all that?
QUOTE(europology @ Apr 21 2007, 04:32 PM)
Confirm it's formal wear, and tie is optional.
I've just asked a fren of mine who's doing archi course in USM.

and btw, may i know some of the most famous architects in Malaysia? and cud u list down their most famous representative works? very very thank u!
and btw aza, wat r the questions that r normally asked during the interview?
boring nak ulang, but i'll just write it here. do refer to this post from this point forward.
3 things to BRING
i. ur certificates. original certs. ALL OF THEM including ur birth certificate.
ii. ur portfolio. a collection of drawings, designs or artworks showcased neatly to give an outline of ur skills, capabilities and resourcefulness.
iii. ur stationaries. for any drawing tests that u will have to sit especially for UTM. i'm not sure if USM still have their drawing tests.
what to wear?i'll be short and simple. be
OUTSTANDING.
if u can be outstanding using formal attire, then do so. u need to burn the image of urself in the minds of the interviewers. ofcourse, the safest way is to wear the typical white shirt, long sleeve, black slacks, leather shoes and a tie combo. but believe me, u'll find that almost everyone is wearing that.
if u believe in ur personality, results and abilities to sell urself, then what u wear is not important. just wear something and be confident about it.
do not wear something offensive. dont wear like a mat rempit or a slut. dont wear sandals or slippers (for girls TOO!). dont wear like u're going home to sleep. no t-shirts whatsoever. no 3/4 pants, shorts, or even cargo pants.
things that have been asked during interview:
i. why didnt u wear any watches?
ii. red socks?
iii. what's in the bag?
iv. too much mascara today?
v. there's something on ur neck. is that a tie?
be sure to have a good answer to whatever u wear. u must be able to reason properly. simple answers like "it's the only stuff i have to wear", "i wear this bcoz i like it" or "i wasnt informed what else to wear" just wont cut it. u must be able to explain what u wear and why. all architects do. dressing up is a conscious effort, people!
QUOTE(*TeDucK* @ Apr 21 2007, 01:21 PM)
huhu..i got an offer to matrix (yes..im a post spm)
i heard that the ones that have gone to oversea are those who wants to pursue in medicine.
i also been informed that some universities in UK accept matrix graduate.
really dizzy thinking how im gonna get into oversea Universities if i enter matrix.
aza,know any Uni there (or mayB urs,seffield) that accept matrix graduate to do degree (specifically--->>architecture) ???
really blur right now..need to know b4 entering matrix (not really sure to go in or not

) on 14 may.
times ticking...

as far as i know, matrix students are NOT accepted in overseas universities. that's the default standpoint. and yes, there might be some students that are accepted to overseas universities using matrix, but i'm pretty sure those are unique cases and does not apply to everyone. for example, a matrix student awarded with a joint petronas-british petroleum scholarship might allow him to straightaway study in the UK using a bypass clause.
point is, no u cant. not by conventional means.