So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect
*TeDucK*
Apr 3 2007, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(sleep_walkerz @ Apr 3 2007, 10:53 AM) thnks,sleep_walkerz! Added on April 3, 2007, 11:58 amQUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 2 2007, 07:51 PM) Added on April 2, 2007, 7:54 pmcontact UTM KL and file for rayuan. there's still time. in my opinion, 7As should be good enough for the interview. they will usually announce it in the newspaper,wouldnt they? cz,uitm's interview result (names that are shortlisted) is announced in the newspaper now,which told applicants to start checking their names on 5 april at the given links. i havent come across for utm's.or,utm doest announce like uitm do? This post has been edited by *TeDucK*: Apr 3 2007, 11:58 AM
sleep_walkerz
Apr 3 2007, 02:20 PM
i called utm n asked they said no such things as appealing for the interview if u got it, u got it....n vice verse.. lol...seems we have to find other alternative dy ,the_aki
MAYB they havent sort out everything nicely but i doubt so coz my friend, who got 6A1,2A2n 3B3, had been accepted...n the interview date is on the 10th...a week from now everything is dependin on luck~
cheers~
TSazarimy
Apr 3 2007, 04:53 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
well, i'd have to say i'm sorry u guys didnt get in. but i do wish u goodluck in ur future endeavours! if u didnt get in for diploma, there's still STPM->UTM degree if u're still interested! or any other paths as i've iterated in the first post.
i dont think UTM will announce the interview candidates in the newspapers, coz it hasnt been done before, but that doesnt mean they wouldnt try the first time. so just keep ur eyes open.
there will be 2 interview sessions for UTM. for the diploma intake, if sleep_walkerz's right, it will be on the 10th. for degree, i was informed it will be in the 21 and 22 april.
the_aki
Apr 3 2007, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(sleep_walkerz @ Apr 3 2007, 02:20 PM) i called utm n asked they said no such things as appealing for the interview if u got it, u got it....n vice verse.. lol...seems we have to find other alternative dy ,the_aki cheers~ Damn.. you're fast.. Oh well.. Guess should jz try other alternative.. ;'( Good luck to you friend! But your results' good, why didn't you apply for JPA?
Jia0924
Apr 3 2007, 11:44 PM

Would we be informed by the letter or call if we have been chosen for the interview? I mean For both SPM leavers who are going to study Diploma and STPM leavers who are goint to study Degree.
I don't think it's easy to get the JPA scholarship . My frn last time got 12A1 also didn't get it. Maybe she screwed up her interview.?! I don't know but I think she could communicate well.either in Eng or BM. However, she got into the matriculation and scored four flat. She's currently studying the course she wants in UKM. But, you may try your luck as well.
Sigh....I feel bad when talking about JPA. Last time after SPM , I 've set my ambition as architect. However, the JPA require an A for LUkisan Kejuruterraan if you want to apply Architecture.It's written in the requirement. My school no teacher teaching this subject, and I never knew I had to take this subject before. That's why I didn't apply for JPA scholarship. Feeling a bit dissapointed.If you are going to apply that, make sure u take lukisan.
Last,Te Duck, you are spm leaver or STPM leaver, I am just curious.
*TeDucK*
Apr 4 2007, 12:03 AM

spm leaver?
y ask?
sleep_walkerz
Apr 4 2007, 12:12 AM
the_aki : well..better fast than late...we need to see wat other option we have left........dont wanna be sorry later~ i did apply....got the interview on this thursday... but i doubt i get it....since aza said its not a fav course ..plus evidence that even flat As cant get in....in addition..im a non-bumi .. reasons i got the interview?...lol....its election year...anyway..7000 ppl are selected for the interview...n only 1800 will get~
erm jia0924 : now the requirement is A2 for fizik n some important subj ( cant really remember...they do not require lukisan kejuruteraan)
if chosen..yea..u will get the letter.....i called n asked my fren...utm even poss the letter by poss laju...n she got it today
This post has been edited by sleep_walkerz: Apr 4 2007, 12:13 AM
Jia0924
Apr 4 2007, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(*TeDucK* @ Apr 4 2007, 12:03 AM) huh?! you answered my question or asking what spm leaver means??? no, I am just curious. I did say that. Just asking. Azarimy, UTM that drawing test...are STPM and SPM students taking the test together at the same day and same place? Added on April 4, 2007, 12:38 amQUOTE(sleep_walkerz @ Apr 4 2007, 12:12 AM) i did apply....got the interview on this thursday... erm jia0924 : now the requirement is A2 for fizik n some important subj ( cant really remember...they do not require lukisan kejuruteraan) You've got it? Congratulation. ! Hope you could get in!. She 's also applied senibina?I mean your frn who got the letter. But it did mention before . For senibina, it requires Lukisan . IT put " DAN" .. I still remember. This post has been edited by Jia0924: Apr 4 2007, 12:40 AM
sleep_walkerz
Apr 4 2007, 01:53 AM
yea...she out senibina as 1st choice...though she din really want it at 1st .. coz there's arent really much choice for non-bumi there... now she's happy she got it~
btw..thanks for ur wish...will try my best in the interview...cant really let go one of my last chance so easily~
TSazarimy
Apr 4 2007, 02:13 AM
first of all, i dunno much about JPA scholarship requirement or the interviews, but what i know about any interviews is that, it is conducted bcoz on paper, there are too many people qualified. so the only way u can fail is if u screw up the interview. that's why we always see full A1 students still couldnt secure a scholarship or a place in a university.
anyways, back to topic. i was informed that for UTM, there will be only two interview centres: UTM KL and UTM skudai for the whole malaysia this year. it will be held on 21 and 22 april 2007.
this would mean sabah/sarawak people will need to get off their asses and fly over to either KL or JB. i'm not sure why, but it was part of a new instruction from kementerian. so i suggest any of u who got the UTM interview to counter check the dates.
the interviews for the both SPM and STPM students will be held on the same day. but i'm not sure if it will be held in the same room or hall. u will be informed by written letter, but u can check the call for interview online. the order of the interview is usually:
i. aptitude test (written exam) - mostly objective, some fill in the blanks.
ii. drawing test - drawing laa what else?
iii. interview.
during the interview, u will be called one by one. usually u can wait in the waiting room of doom until ur name is called. if the lecturers are conducting the interviews, usually they will be lenient enough to allow parents/guardians/friends to wait in the interview room with u. but u r allowed to come and go as u please, just make sure u're there when ur name is called.
on the interview day, dont come late. aptitude and drawing test is just as important as the interview itself. make sure u've had ur breakfast, but dont eat anything unusual or u'll throw up. bring a book to read. although u've done the test in the morning, ur name might be called at 4.30pm.
dont worry, they'll announce the list early in the morning, so u can plan ur day and not be kept in oblivious waiting. another thing worth to note: since both interviews will be in KL and JB campus, make a point to visit the architecture schools there. i was informed that UTM KL students will be conducting an exhibition of the students work. u're welcome to bring friends and family to the exhibition. i'll try to arrange the JB students to organize similar exhibition as well.
xtracooljustin
Apr 4 2007, 04:23 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 4 2007, 02:13 AM) i'll try to arrange the JB students to organize similar exhibition as well. our portfolio days range from 15 to 17th of April. Perhaps the students can leave their works. But most students would have left by 20th as on 23rd, 3rd yr and 4th yr students MUST start their practical.
TSazarimy
Apr 4 2007, 06:59 AM
i'll get architech to organize a small, select exhibition in ruang pameran 1 then. shouldnt be too hard to organize.
*TeDucK*
Apr 4 2007, 08:54 AM

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Apr 4 2007, 12:31 AM) huh?! you answered my question or asking what spm leaver means??? no, I am just curious. I did say that. Just asking. oppps!!sorry.i didnt realize i put a question mark after 'spm leaver'.heheh!!! yep!spm leaver.
the_aki
Apr 4 2007, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(sleep_walkerz @ Apr 4 2007, 12:12 AM) the_aki : well..better fast than late...we need to see wat other option we have left........dont wanna be sorry later~ i did apply....got the interview on this thursday... but i doubt i get it....since aza said its not a fav course ..plus evidence that even flat As cant get in....in addition..im a non-bumi .. reasons i got the interview?...lol....its election year...anyway..7000 ppl are selected for the interview...n only 1800 will get~ Oh that's great!!! GOOD LUCK!! Really hope you can get it
Jia0924
Apr 4 2007, 09:23 PM

!!!!!  Oh my god. It's so early. I thought It will be on May. When would we(STPM)be informed? When could we check and see whether we have been chosen? This post has been edited by Jia0924: Apr 4 2007, 09:35 PM
sleep_walkerz
Apr 5 2007, 09:42 PM
erm aza, i would like to ask wat ur opinion towards cholalangkorn uni. coz according to some ppl, they say that it is one of the most exciting contemporary design cultures in Asia.
juz seeking more opinion, thanks in advance~
TSazarimy
Apr 5 2007, 09:47 PM
i have a friend who used to teach there. great environment to study in, as well as the leading university for architecture in thailand. i dunno about it being an "exciting contemporary design cultures in asia" though.
UTM have had collaborations with chulalongkorn university a few years ago, but i wasnt involved as i was in the UK at the time. maybe i can go and ask some other friends of mine.
BridgestoneRE711
Apr 6 2007, 01:07 AM
TSazarimy
Apr 6 2007, 02:07 AM
not to give u false hope, but keep on checking.
if the due date is last week, i dont suppose the results of calling the interview could be up already, knowing how the system works. from UPU, the list will be sent to UTM's admissions office. then from there it will go down to the faculty, and then to the school. the people in the school sorts the list out, and then comes up with the shortlist. the shortlist goes back to the faculty, then to the admission's office, where they will update the website database.
those things happening in one week? yeah right.
but things might have improved alot since last year...
europology
Apr 6 2007, 02:50 AM
dun think that's final. cos the mohe webpage hasnt got the link added yet. and last yr, even stpm students with 2.33 got to enter the archi course in utm. i dun think u'll fail.  *fingers crossed*