75 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

ataris
post Aug 29 2007, 08:50 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

u cant, uk and aus studies is different.
mars16
post Aug 29 2007, 10:08 PM

144 posts

well,thx for reply...
If i plan to go to UK london for my architecture study,wad is the basic requirement?for institute like AA and Bartlett is it hard to enter?..how about UEL?
xtracooljustin
post Aug 29 2007, 11:52 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Actually UK and AUS is about the same. You do your diploma here, means you have to do 3 years of degree abroad at a recognized uni to be able to get ur B. Arch which equals to Part 2.

In your case what you saying of studying for 1 year after Diploma is to get you B Sc. in Architectural Technology/etc. That will give you Part 1 provided you studied in an accredited uni. Go to www.lam.gov.my for a complete list of accredited unis.

For entry into any architecture uni, you must fulfill the basic requirement like how many credits in ur A Levels etc. These are different in evy uni. So you must refer to each uni's website for more clarifications.

If you pass those requirements, then only the uni will decide whether to select you for interview or not. If you're selected for interview and if you pass the interview, only then u'll b able to enter that uni.
TSazarimy
post Aug 30 2007, 05:25 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(mars16 @ Aug 29 2007, 08:44 PM)
Well,I have a question here.If I have a 3 years diploma study in Taylors then transfer to Melbourne U for further study,I only have to study for 1 year n 26 weeks of work exp to get a bachelor,is it same as part 1?...and am I able to apply for part 2 study in UK using this Melbourne U part 1?
3+1 for melbourne's architectural degree is considered twinning. and since LAM does not recognize any twinning programmes for architecture, it means u wont get LAM part 1 despite it being recognized with RAIA part 1. u will need to sit for LAM part 1 examination if u want to practice in msia.

however, RIBA does not distinguish between twinning and fulltime as long as it abides their requirements. so having RAIA part 1 means u can apply for part 2 in any UK universities. but be aware that RIBA require 1 year experience before joining part 2.

QUOTE(mars16 @ Aug 29 2007, 10:08 PM)
well,thx for reply...
If i plan to go to UK london for my architecture study,wad is the basic requirement?for institute like AA and Bartlett is it hard to enter?..how about UEL?
for most part, refer to justin's answer.

AA and bartlett are both very competitive schools. AA is slightly easier to get in bcoz the requirement is lesser (they dont require basics in arts in SPM/STPM/A-levels). but as they say, no matter how hard to get into those schools, it's even harder to graduate from it. they have the luxury to fail the students who're not up to par. UEL should be easy enough.
mars16
post Aug 30 2007, 08:51 AM

144 posts

Well,how about the Program offer by LUCT?I can straight away apply for the 3 years of diploma(part 1) study using spm result or a foundation is necessary?After finish part 1 at LUCT,is it that i can straight away go to UEL for part 2 study since they are partner university wif LUCT...

TSazarimy
post Aug 30 2007, 02:53 PM

10,672 posts

LUCTs diploma is NOT part 1. only LUCT's degree in architecture is considered equivalent to part 1. even so, they have not received full accreditation and are still working to get it from LAN.

so no to your third question.

even if u took LUCT's degree, u still wont be able to continue in UEL bcoz it's not recognized by msian authorities to be equivalent to part 1. only 4 part 1 degrees in msia are recognized and can be used to for part 2 in UEL: UM, USM, UiTM and UIAM (UTM only have part 2 degree).

what u can do with LUCT's degree is to further studies in curtin, australia. bcoz that's their partner university, same with taylor's = melbourne.
mars16
post Aug 30 2007, 09:13 PM

144 posts

Well,is it the 1 year experience is necessary for enter any uni in UK to take the part 2? but I dun see the requirement of 1 year experience for taking part 2 study in their website or is it base on which Uni oni?
xtracooljustin
post Aug 30 2007, 10:13 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(mars16 @ Aug 30 2007, 09:13 PM)
Well,is it the 1 year experience is necessary for enter any uni in UK to take the part 2? but I dun see the requirement of 1 year experience for taking part 2 study in their website or is it base on which Uni oni?
Sendiri mau baca...naa...
http://www.careersinarchitecture.net/page.asp?a=2&c=1
TSazarimy
post Aug 31 2007, 06:15 AM

10,672 posts

follow the link justin's given.

adding to that, certain schools may let u to join their school, given that they're outstanding during part 1. but they may be required to acquire the 1 year experience nonetheless. they can do this after finishing the 2nd degree. they'll award the part 2 AFTER u've finished the 1 year practical.

there are other ways to get around the requirement, but most of them are just delaying the inevitable. the 1 year experience is still a requirement.

today i spent 3 hours chatting with my supervisor who just came back from a visit to msian architecture schools as well as NUS. he's currently on advisory role to USM as well as the external examiner to NUS. also present were the dean of FSPU, UiTM and a senior lecturer from UM.

lots of things are going on in msian architecture education scene. UiTM are now on its way for their 2nd visit by RIBA to assess their school. the 1st visit didnt go quite well, but they're working on the issues for the 2nd visit probably in 2 years time.

USM are currently working for their RIBA recognition, but i was told it's still quite a long way to go before their 1st visit. UTM on the other hand are working to split the 5 year single degree course into a 2 degrees. otherwise, UTM have already fulfilled all RIBA requirements and are good to go. this may take some time bcoz it requires a considerable change in the curriculum.

UKM and UPM are still struggling to get their LAM part 1 and 2 recognition. i prefer not to mention the details here. UIAM are getting prepared for their LAM part 2 soon (they already got LAM part 1).

moving to private school, taylor's college's performance were the highlight of his visit. the performance of the students rivaled the IPTAs, which is much to everyone's surprise. in general, the students performed better than LUCT's. LUCT on the other hand are concentrating to get full LAM part 1 and 2 recognition. they've already got partial part 1, so they're going all out to get full of both. i was told they're eyeing for RIBA as well in the future.

no other private schools were mentioned though.

NUS on the other hand seems to have emerging problems in their hands. i wont go into the details just yet, but one of the reason is that they're lacking in specialization of fields in architecture compared to the msian counterparts. NUS is the ONLY school of architecture in singapore. msian have several, each with its own specialization - UM with research, UTM with technology and technical, UIAM on Islamic architecture, USM with management and so on. NUS is attempting to cater for all (read: kiasu) biggrin.gif

will update more.
kazasho
post Aug 31 2007, 03:18 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 31 2007, 06:15 AM)
follow the link justin's given.

adding to that, certain schools may let u to join their school, given that they're outstanding during part 1. but they may be required to acquire the 1 year experience nonetheless. they can do this after finishing the 2nd degree. they'll award the part 2 AFTER u've finished the 1 year practical.

there are other ways to get around the requirement, but most of them are just delaying the inevitable. the 1 year experience is still a requirement.

today i spent 3 hours chatting with my supervisor who just came back from a visit to msian architecture schools as well as NUS. he's currently on advisory role to USM as well as the external examiner to NUS. also present were the dean of FSPU, UiTM and a senior lecturer from UM.

lots of things are going on in msian architecture education scene. UiTM are now on its way for their 2nd visit by RIBA to assess their school. the 1st visit didnt go quite well, but they're working on the issues for the 2nd visit probably in 2 years time.

USM are currently working for their RIBA recognition, but i was told it's still quite a long way to go before their 1st visit. UTM on the other hand are working to split the 5 year single degree course into a 2 degrees. otherwise, UTM have already fulfilled all RIBA requirements and are good to go. this may take some time bcoz it requires a considerable change in the curriculum.

UKM and UPM are still struggling to get their LAM part 1 and 2 recognition. i prefer not to mention the details here. UIAM are getting prepared for their LAM part 2 soon (they already got LAM part 1).

moving to private school, taylor's college's performance were the highlight of his visit. the performance of the students rivaled the IPTAs, which is much to everyone's surprise. in general, the students performed better than LUCT's. LUCT on the other hand are concentrating to get full LAM part 1 and 2 recognition. they've already got partial part 1, so they're going all out to get full of both. i was told they're eyeing for RIBA as well in the future.

no other private schools were mentioned though.

NUS on the other hand seems to have emerging problems in their hands. i wont go into the details just yet, but one of the reason is that they're lacking in specialization of fields in architecture compared to the msian counterparts. NUS is the ONLY school of architecture in singapore. msian have several, each with its own specialization - UM with research, UTM with technology and technical, UIAM on Islamic architecture, USM with management and so on. NUS is attempting to cater for all (read: kiasu) biggrin.gif

will update more.
nice2
update more
hehe
KVReninem
post Sep 11 2007, 09:38 PM

IX
5,369 posts

architects, where do u find block, tips regarding drafting software like archicad, autocad? and rendering..etc

xtracooljustin
post Sep 12 2007, 03:37 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Sep 11 2007, 09:38 PM)
architects, where do u find block, tips regarding drafting software like archicad, autocad? and rendering..etc
Use da Help file in da software LOL. I learn it that way.

If you're loaded go get the Bible series, like Autocad Bible, 3D Studio Max Bible etc.

If not just torrent only la icon_idea.gif
KVReninem
post Sep 12 2007, 08:24 AM

IX
5,369 posts

dont you have something like blocks site?
TSazarimy
post Sep 12 2007, 04:45 PM

10,672 posts

honestly, we hardly use any blocks bcoz most blocks out there are using american standard (feet and inches). it's a big hassle to convert everything back to metric bcoz the measurements wont be perfect anymore. it's kinda weird designing a room 3450mm x 4223mm. people will ask "why not make it 3500mm x 4250mm?"

so no, not much use of autocad blocks for me there. keep asking around, somebody might have found a different site with large collection of blocks.
kazasho
post Sep 12 2007, 08:10 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

when u study archi, u use what apps?
AutoCAD?
can GMA950 with 1 gb ram handle it?

xtracooljustin
post Sep 12 2007, 11:58 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

depends on which version of autocad u plan to use. the primitive R14 which most office still use can be run happily on a Pentium 3 unit wif 256MB RAM.

obviously, later versions of software especially Autocad 2007 need a good machine wif high processing power either Pentium 4 or Pentium D. for 2D drafting, graphic cards isnt an important factor. raw processing speed does.
TSazarimy
post Sep 13 2007, 12:09 AM

10,672 posts

R14 ran quite smoothly on my late pentium 2 with 128 MB RAM biggrin.gif.

but like justin said, if u're doing 2D drafting, it doesnt really matter much what hardware u use bcoz the requirements are pretty low.
yawhong
post Sep 13 2007, 10:33 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

This is the booklist that Newcastle University ask me to buy,should i get the book here or just go UK get? I scare price in Uk quite exepensive. Ahhh now i started to worry about my studies.... Hope my List can help
1. Architecture: A Very Short Introduction, 2002 -- Ballantyne A
2. Drawing and Design with Confidence 1993 -- Lin M W
3. Why Building Stand Up: The Strengh of Architecture 2002 -- Salvadori M
4. Green Architecture 2000 -- Wines J
5. Architecture form,space and order, 1996 -- Ching F
6. Why Building Fall Down: How Structure Fail 1994 -- Levy M & Salvadori M
7. Architecture Graphic 1996 -- Ching F
8. Rethinking Architecture: A reader in Cultural Theory 1997 -- Leach N (Ed.)

Intruments and Equitment
- Portfolio to take A1 Sheets
- Pocket calculator approved for University examinations, Casio FX83....
- Retractable 3m steel tape
- 300mm metric scale (1/200, 1/100, 1/50, 1/20, 1/5)
- 300mm adjustable square ( the bigger the better)
- Modelling knife ( for cutting card or balsa )
- Sheet of hardboard or similar as cutting board
- Cluth pencil and sharpener
- Pencil Clip
- Compass set (capable of taking pen attachment and beam attachment for large circle)
- Colour pencils and/or parsel
- Water-colour and marker pens
- Charcoal, compressed charcoal, white chalk
- Pencil and Ink rubber
- Erasing Shield
- A3 white cartridge and A3 layout pad
- Digital Camera with video capability
- Rotring sketching pen or similar
- USB pen Drive
- Laptop with at least Core2 duo, 1gb ram, 80gb harddisk, window xp/window vista

Added on September 13, 2007, 10:38 amBeside, i want to know, what laptop is better for architecture? Window base or Mac? i got 1 core duo laptop now

This post has been edited by yawhong: Sep 13 2007, 10:38 AM
kazasho
post Sep 13 2007, 06:13 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

for me, i bought the books cheap coz buying many
for laptop, to me mac is better coz dont have viruses, got a lot of my frens all got viruses coz from thumbdrives..
now mac can boot windows also, so takde hal la if u buy mac and want to use windows apps such as autocad

so?what r u waiting for?
yawhong
post Sep 13 2007, 06:30 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Sep 13 2007, 06:13 PM)
for me, i bought the books cheap coz buying many
for laptop, to me mac is better coz dont have viruses, got a lot of my frens all got viruses coz from thumbdrives..
now mac can boot windows also, so takde hal la if u buy mac and want to use windows apps such as autocad

so?what r u waiting for?
i don quite understand, u bought in MPH u bought many books also no discount rite? I just want to know if compare to UK book price, where is cheaper? Or i can just go Amazon buy?

Ya i know Mac is good, no virus blah blah.. But is it suitable for Architecture students? Many of software like Autocad, 3d studio Max all is window based. So if i buy mac and boot to window, is it got possibility to get infected by virus?

75 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:10 AM