So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

mars16
post Aug 16 2007, 03:53 PM

144 posts

hey guys,I have a question here...
anyone here know the partner of taylor's college at UK for the architecture study? I heard that taylor's give a 3+3 architecture course which go further study to UK after diploma.The exam of part 1 and 2 will take after finish study,is that true?Just wonder which are the partner university of taylors college at UK...

help pls..thx
mars16
post Aug 29 2007, 08:44 PM

144 posts

Well,I have a question here.If I have a 3 years diploma study in Taylors then transfer to Melbourne U for further study,I only have to study for 1 year n 26 weeks of work exp to get a bachelor,is it same as part 1?...and am I able to apply for part 2 study in UK using this Melbourne U part 1?
mars16
post Aug 29 2007, 10:08 PM

144 posts

well,thx for reply...
If i plan to go to UK london for my architecture study,wad is the basic requirement?for institute like AA and Bartlett is it hard to enter?..how about UEL?
mars16
post Aug 30 2007, 08:51 AM

144 posts

Well,how about the Program offer by LUCT?I can straight away apply for the 3 years of diploma(part 1) study using spm result or a foundation is necessary?After finish part 1 at LUCT,is it that i can straight away go to UEL for part 2 study since they are partner university wif LUCT...

mars16
post Aug 30 2007, 09:13 PM

144 posts

Well,is it the 1 year experience is necessary for enter any uni in UK to take the part 2? but I dun see the requirement of 1 year experience for taking part 2 study in their website or is it base on which Uni oni?
mars16
post Sep 22 2007, 08:28 AM

144 posts

well,have a question here.
Usually students who finish the part 1 study in UK,they work for a year to continue their part 2.Well,usually this part 2 they study full time or part time?and how long do part time take to finish the part 2 study?
thanks...
mars16
post Sep 22 2007, 01:52 PM

144 posts

BA (Hons) Architecture <-- this is part 1 or part 2??
mars16
post Sep 22 2007, 08:45 PM

144 posts

oh..ok...how long will part 2 take to study if i study it part time?
mars16
post Sep 23 2007, 07:07 PM

144 posts

well..anyone here know which institution in London provide part time study for part 2 ?

thanks in advance
mars16
post Sep 24 2007, 07:31 PM

144 posts

eh...want to ask that the part 2 study provide by the uni in UK for part time study,is it we get the working permit to work at there and study oni weekend or night class?because i see many people talk about the limit working hour,juz wan to make thing clear XD
mars16
post Sep 24 2007, 08:10 PM

144 posts

eh..so wad u mean is as long as we already hold a work permit and working in UK although we are non-EU,we still can study the part time part2 program in any uni that provide this?
mars16
post Oct 18 2007, 09:45 PM

144 posts

well, if it is RIBA part 1 and working at UK how much will be the salary ?

mars16
post Oct 20 2007, 02:28 PM

144 posts

about GBP 1000 to 1300 per month...
before tax or after?

Added on October 20, 2007, 2:39 pmabout GBP 1000 to 1300 per month...
before tax or after?

This post has been edited by mars16: Oct 20 2007, 02:39 PM
mars16
post Oct 29 2007, 03:47 PM

144 posts

have a question here.Is it an architect who able to use more different type of program like archicad will be more competitive when finding a job?
which program is usually teach in uni and which is usually required when apply job?help to list out if can biggrin.gif...
I would also like to know some books which is suitable for someone who is going to study architect like me tongue.gif list out some if can...

thank you.
mars16
post Nov 4 2007, 09:46 PM

144 posts

woot...can see that yawhong come from a rich family after i see the calculation from uncle azarimy.well...i m planning to go UK to finish my part 1 after diploma in taylors.
want to ask....is that we can apply any uni in UK after the diploma from taylor with advance 1 or 2 years for part 1?since the thing teach in taylors is base on Melb U?
however,if kimi,if u going to taylor on january for architecture then we will be fren then biggrin.gif
mars16
post Nov 9 2007, 01:07 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 9 2007, 08:02 AM)
well, one point u should be aware is that newcastle (UK) architecture school has quite a good reputation, not to be confused with the australian one. not that newcastle australia is bad, just that newcastle UK's reputation might overshadow its aussie counterpart. biggrin.gif

ur dad is not trying to scare u. architecture demands alot from u, and it's not just for assignments or academic advancements, but also for u to develop ur social and people skills, leadership, situational awareness as well as being up-to-date with what goes on around u. this may cause people to resort to something out of their normal habits - people started smoking, drinking, become rebellious and so on.

so what type of mind would be suitable for architecture? well, i can only advise u to be very, very open yet strong minded. 1st year is one of the hardest, bcoz this is the "make-or-break" point, where we sort out those who're not suitable and tell them straight in the face to better find something else to do for a living. in 1st year, u will also go through a sort of mind-bending experience. u will be exposed to extremely different way of learning, some have dub it as "a process to unlearn what u've learned, and reprogramme ur mind entirely the other way around".

but it's not a process where u get stuck on ur table studying. no way. architects are social beasts. clubbing, hanging out and socializing are parts and parcel of the architecture game. if u're the sort of person who cant manage between studying and fun, better not be sucked into this world.

thou hath been warned.
woot..i think i can manage between study n fun biggrin.gif those ppl start smoking,drinking to de-stress?lol..i can play my guitar haha...strong determination is needed too...woot XD
mars16
post Nov 14 2007, 07:31 PM

144 posts

ya..i confirm going on january,let's make a fren here 1st..haha.Well,I plan to go Uk after finish diploma in Taylor coz diploma is not yet part 1,u can go Melb U for 1 year to part 1,or apply to uni that can let u enter with 1 year advance(mean 2 years more to part 1,slower for 1 year if go melb U).Melb u let u advance to the last year because Taylors programe is base on Melb U.

Ya,is kinda hard and i read a lot of post which stated that architect student also known as "panda".but if u really interested in,it doesn't matter biggrin.gif

i'm not rich family too and i live in Johor.however i plan to work 1st after part 1 too.As I know both Aus and UK nid to have working experience b4 continue for part2,that's y.and I plan to do part 2 part time,which spend 3 years to finish(usually 2 years if full time).But as i said,i not rich too >.< cant let me parent to burden so much tongue.gif

I also took a visit to taylor last month.the consultant told me that the total fee include tuition fee n living cost is actually very near between Aus n Uk,around rm100,000 per year.I duno y,but she explained to me that the tuition fee at aus is quite high,and living in Melb is not cheap too @@.But if u have decided where to go,then dun think so much,juz try ur best n go for it!

Kimi66 P.s. - U r a fan of KIMI too huh?So m I,so happy for him to win the championship this year,i have been supported him since he Mika left and he joined Mclaren....biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mars16: Nov 14 2007, 07:36 PM
mars16
post Nov 16 2007, 03:27 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Nov 16 2007, 06:30 AM)
@mars16
which uni you plan to go?
well..i can go there to study because of my sis at london,so i plan to go there...I have gather some information of the uni there and the consultant at taylors tell me beside the partner uni i also can try to apply for other uni.Uni of East london,metropolitan london,westminster...this is some that I have found.Newcastle,shefiel n manchester is also in my list biggrin.gif of course Bartlett n AA is not in my list coz i think is way too hard XD
mars16
post Nov 17 2007, 12:18 AM

144 posts

lol...get it.however as azarimy said,finish up part 1,u shud continue ur part 2 and part 3 biggrin.gif and become a professional architect.u can choose to study part time if u think full time is too expensive n need a lot of $$ when part 2 study... ( juz like me ).I think part 3 is only a exam is it?correct me if i m wrong!

however how is ur decision?consider this seriously biggrin.gif this may change ur life!
mars16
post Dec 7 2007, 08:14 PM

144 posts

ya,for part 3 it is part 1 + part 2 + 2 years working experience.however the Melbourne U 1 I want to correct u tongue.gif
from taylors to Melbourne u is 3+1 because taylors programe is base on Melbourne Uni,u can straight away go to the final year of archi degree there after finish diploma at taylors.but to other then u only manage to enter the 2nd year of degree from a 3 years course.
however u need 2 years of working experience is neccesary,it's same everywhere i think.however it is usually 1 year after part 1 and another after part 2....

juz my 2 cents,correct me if im wrong biggrin.gif

0.0267sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:16 AM