blacktubi
post May 4 2016, 04:23 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ May 4 2016, 04:20 PM)
Just ported to TIME 300 mpbs yesterday, stupidly forgot my device capability cant reach full speed.

So here is the questions, will it solve if i got the DLink DWA-182 adapter?

The router is the DIR-850L
If you want to enjoy the full speed, you have to use Ethernet.

That's the truth of wireless even you have really fast router and adapter. The throughput drop significantly after a certain distance.
blacktubi
post May 4 2016, 05:15 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ May 4 2016, 04:30 PM)
Say the router is just beside my face, will i get a decent speed about 200mpbs+?

Ill leave the spare 100mpbs to the rest of the family using it when im streaming stuff tongue.gif
I will prefer 100Mbit Ethernet over wireless anytime.

Wired is stable and consistent. Wireless is not, I expect around 100+ even if it is beside for a USB wireless adapter
blacktubi
post May 29 2016, 06:03 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(twinshell @ May 29 2016, 12:14 AM)
Actually no-one is using for Netflix and Twitch. The daily application is general web browsing and probably YouTube/Spotify. Office is open-concept so no-one really watches movies.

My first assumption was the default router couldn't handle the number of connections (i.e. 10 users x 2 devices).

I have done a Speedtest and it is about 80-90% of our plan rate. So it looks alright.

I will look at starting with 1 user then slowly adding more users to see what happens. It could be a user that is torrenting, and we don't know off.  ohmy.gif
jjj2 : what's the estimate price range for Business Routers for 10-20 people setup?
Thanks all...
What you need is some effective QoS. It depends on how much you want to spend.

If you want something easy to setup, just get those high-end Asus with Adaptive QoS. It works pretty well.

For the best performance, get some SMEgear. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Jun 14 2016, 11:03 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(hlmilk112 @ Jun 14 2016, 04:30 AM)
Hi all sifu, what is the main requirement if wanna buy n change TIME router? sorry not familiar with router.
For example:

- max speed. at least 100mbps to.........
- router cobfiguration that require by TIME???
- router type a, b, c, d, e.......? TIME is what type?
- 2.4g or 5g or greater is better?
- others?????

This is bcoz i found that China brand router more powerful n more cheaper. For example:

1. Xiaomi router 3.
2. B-link BL- AC886M.
3.Huawei WS550.

Please help to choose the best n reasonable price router.

thanks...........
I have used a few China routers. On the spec sheet itself, it looks good. However, the actual performance and stability is still behind those established router makers.

They are really cheap anyway. laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 7 2016, 12:49 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(vicyow @ Sep 7 2016, 12:29 PM)
hello,

I just upgraded from 100Mbps to 300Mbps. The current router I am using is Dlink 850L model.

When I using wired connection to test speed, it's about above 250+ / 280+ using host server from TIME.

So, when I am using iPhone6+, the wifi test speed is about average 80-90+ Mbps and won't go above 100Mbps. (Using 5G mode). When I put my phone on top of the router, the speed will go above 180-200Mbps only.

It the current router (dlink 850L) is not that good? Or can you recommend a good router to improve wifi connection within the house?

thanks.
Partly router and partly your phone. Do not expect full 300Mbps on an iPhone 6. As for router, it depends on your budget.

blacktubi
post Sep 8 2016, 12:25 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(vicyow @ Sep 7 2016, 12:52 PM)
thanks for the reply, blackubi.

Can you recommend which type of suitable router that not that expensive. Of course the wifi must be good.
Asus RT-AC55UHP.
blacktubi
post Nov 5 2016, 09:19 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Nov 5 2016, 05:06 PM)
mine also.

all my devices using wifi, gets speeds of +- 20-30mbps, all except one. my mom's xiaomi mi3. hers can get the usual 100mbps speed. Weird why ah.

I read on this matter before something about the router but i totally forgotten what is it about already.
can someone educate me on that or give me a link to read.

is it anything to do with 2.4ghz vs 5ghz wifi?
Stand beside the router and conduct the speedtest again. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Nov 5 2016, 10:56 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Nov 5 2016, 09:38 PM)
that was literally the first thing i did to check it..
if you are near the router, you get better speeds (but still in the 20-30mbps region), as compared to when you are further away.

and when i tested the mi3, it was in another room.
Well, certain devices have terrible wireless chip. sweat.gif
blacktubi
post Dec 21 2016, 11:01 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(chialatz @ Dec 20 2016, 11:31 PM)
Lol...the wifi strength of DIR 850L is really pathetic.
2.4Ghz is fine. The problem is on the 5Ghz.
blacktubi
post Jan 24 2017, 01:44 PM

-
8,409 posts

MU-MIMO router is useless if you do not have a MU-MIMO client.

Fluctuating ping is due to weak wireless signal and signal interference and it can be solved by using 5Ghz or switch to powerline homeplug. Getting a stronger wireless router is helpful as well .
blacktubi
post Jan 24 2017, 01:44 PM

-
8,409 posts

MU-MIMO router is useless if you do not have a MU-MIMO client.

Fluctuating ping is due to weak wireless signal and signal interference and it can be solved by using 5Ghz or switch to powerline homeplug. Getting a stronger wireless router is helpful as well .
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2017, 02:19 PM

-
8,409 posts

Quick question before I pull the trigger on Time Fibre.

It comes with private IP or public IP?
blacktubi
post Feb 23 2017, 09:55 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 23 2017, 07:51 AM)
HI Bro,

Great to see that...we tested this Router at a small office of 3 storeys...signal strength is very much comparable to Asus AC3200.

Proven  thumbup.gif  Thanks.
It's powered by the same Broadcom chip actually. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 24 2017, 12:04 AM

-
8,409 posts

My installation is scheduled this Saturday. Anything I should take note during the installation. My condo come with Fibre prewired and I am using Maxis Fibre currently.
blacktubi
post Feb 24 2017, 12:27 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Feb 24 2017, 12:23 AM)
Hi, thanks for subscribing TIME Fibre.

Arrange the place where you want to install the Router, ONU and DECT Phone

There will be drilling needed

Prepare 3 available socket for the equipment

I hope your installation smoothly on this coming Saturday
I already have fibre up and running in my unit as my building is prewired with fibre. Are there any additional drilling required?

How long it takes normally?
blacktubi
post Feb 24 2017, 01:49 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(peanjo @ Feb 24 2017, 01:17 AM)
Should be done in less then 1 hour if no issue. No drilling required if standard installation for prelaid building. Usually devices will be put next to the fiber termination outlet, next to power point. Might have charge if installer need to terminate your internal cat5e cabling or help you setup other devices not related to ISP equipment etc. Check the rate with them before proceeding.

If you building is not prelaid then the installation will be between 3-4 hour as the installer will have to pull fiber optic cable to the nearest splitter inside riser. Standard installation free of charge is one point of entry hole and 15m of fiber. Any more than that got charge. Again check with the installer before proceed.
I already have all the cables ready as I am switching from Maxis to Time.

Will they give me the PPPOE credential on the spot? I am going to use my own router.
blacktubi
post Feb 24 2017, 10:41 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(peanjo @ Feb 24 2017, 02:23 AM)
you can request the pppoe username n password from the installer and let them know you will configure the router yourself  laugh.gif

Fiber termination outlet is the thing like below installed at wall when the building still under construction. If it a fiber termination box with maxis logo pulled previously by maxis installer then your building is not prelaid and Time installer will have to pull a new fiber into your home, can't use maxis cable since both ISP have their own splitter at riser.

Mine was deployed by the developer without any stickers on it so I think it should be fine. Thanks for the info. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 24 2017, 09:13 AM)
Yes the pppoe credentials will be provided & written on the docket to hand over to you to sign after they completed the Installation.

Not much settings to set, what you need is to request the pppoe login credentials from the SI and configure yourself into your own router.

If you request the SI to configure for you, they can charge you RM80 depending on them.

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 24 2017, 09:22 AM)
Hi Bro,

You need to make sure this prelaid fibre cabling is genericly designed for FTTx use. Usually done by your developer or management hired some contractors to do it for the entire building.

If so, no much to worry as the installation of the ONU (aka fiber modem) will be installed at the location of the FWS (fiber wall socket) or in the DP/DB distribution box.

If you need any help, let me know.

Yes, the prelaid fibre is definitely for FTTX as I am using it with my Maxis Fibre now. (Non VDSL)

I am totally fine with configuring it myself. Just hope that everything is smooth tomorrow.
blacktubi
post Mar 2 2017, 11:01 AM

-
8,409 posts

Finally got my Time Fibre installed. Many thanks to jjj2 which manage to get my installation scheduled within 1 week and the amount of assistant provided by him to solve my condo's terrible cabling. I definitely recommend jjj2 for those looking for Time Fibre subscription. biggrin.gif

100Mbps over wireless AC tongue.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 2 2017, 04:58 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(maxcheam @ Mar 2 2017, 12:48 PM)
nice!  wub.gif

i can only dream about it..  cry.gif
Hi maxcheam. biggrin.gif

You can always try using a wireless bridge with a nearby place with Time. Recently done a 5KM link and manage to get 80Mbps throughput with UBNT gear. brows.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 2 2017, 09:32 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(maxcheam @ Mar 2 2017, 05:54 PM)
i've thought about it. But I need to find someone that's willing to do it. UniFi is available at landed properties opposite my apartment. I even tried to ask if anyone willing to share their connections with me but none get back to me so far.  cry.gif
Time have no interest on your apartment? They are quite aggressive in Penang.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:14 PM