INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!
TSnelza_ax
Jan 28 2007, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 28 2007, 07:49 PM) Idle temp is so high?  Need very very got cooling device if you need to go 4GHz. Last time you were using Hyper 6 also? no lar..last time i'm using WC... and now changing to hyper6..juz for fun..huhuhuh... idle around 50-51.. 60-63 when full load @ 3.9 @ default vcore.. but, the temp..can consider high edi..
ekestima
Jan 28 2007, 08:32 PM
Greetings all 478er' I'm using stock cooling for my Soc 478 3.0 (details as per my siggy). This afternoon after finished playing my NFS Carbon, i opened my Abit EQ and was shocked. Temp was 97C  , so I let it idle for a while but temp still remain at 96C  Does anyone have this kind of prob before ? Pls not tat system was stock and totally no oc. another thing, when u start the system and check on Abit EQ immediately, temp is 57C-60C izzit normal ? Do i need to chance to 3rd party HSF, any recommendation ? or if anyone wanna sell theirs can PM me. Thx.
raymond5105
Jan 28 2007, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(ekestima @ Jan 28 2007, 08:32 PM) Greetings all 478er' I'm using stock cooling for my Soc 478 3.0 (details as per my siggy). This afternoon after finished playing my NFS Carbon, i opened my Abit EQ and was shocked. Temp was 97C  , so I let it idle for a while but temp still remain at 96C  Does anyone have this kind of prob before ? Pls not tat system was stock and totally no oc. another thing, when u start the system and check on Abit EQ immediately, temp is 57C-60C izzit normal ? Do i need to chance to 3rd party HSF, any recommendation ? or if anyone wanna sell theirs can PM me. Thx. 97 degree C?  Won't causing restart?
TSnelza_ax
Jan 28 2007, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(ekestima @ Jan 28 2007, 08:32 PM) Greetings all 478er' I'm using stock cooling for my Soc 478 3.0 (details as per my siggy). This afternoon after finished playing my NFS Carbon, i opened my Abit EQ and was shocked. Temp was 97C  , so I let it idle for a while but temp still remain at 96C  Does anyone have this kind of prob before ? Pls not tat system was stock and totally no oc. another thing, when u start the system and check on Abit EQ immediately, temp is 57C-60C izzit normal ? Do i need to chance to 3rd party HSF, any recommendation ? or if anyone wanna sell theirs can PM me. Thx. abit eq sux! i dun used it.. hav bugs mebe..
kabukiawie
Jan 28 2007, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Jan 28 2007, 05:28 PM) yeah..u r rite.. mine.... im using hyper6 now..  wao...62'C on hyper 6??  QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Jan 28 2007, 06:33 PM) i cant believe it......too impresive!!  i think is on extreme cooling in order to get 5GHz. Really hope that my stepping is E0.
sheeeng
Jan 28 2007, 09:14 PM
Where to get new S478 Motherboard now?
Most of the shop don't sell already.
wishbone
Jan 28 2007, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(ekestima @ Jan 28 2007, 08:32 PM) Greetings all 478er' I'm using stock cooling for my Soc 478 3.0 (details as per my siggy). This afternoon after finished playing my NFS Carbon, i opened my Abit EQ and was shocked. Temp was 97C  , so I let it idle for a while but temp still remain at 96C  Does anyone have this kind of prob before ? Pls not tat system was stock and totally no oc. another thing, when u start the system and check on Abit EQ immediately, temp is 57C-60C izzit normal ? Do i need to chance to 3rd party HSF, any recommendation ? or if anyone wanna sell theirs can PM me. Thx. I don't think that's possible. The processor gets restarted whenever temperature reaches 80 C. Processors don't go up to 57C - 60C without load. Something's definitely wrong with your temperature sensor.
kwangz
Jan 28 2007, 10:06 PM
anyone any suggestion on replacement of intel original fan which is extreamly noisy. ?
TSnelza_ax
Jan 28 2007, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(kwangz @ Jan 28 2007, 10:06 PM) anyone any suggestion on replacement of intel original fan which is extreamly noisy. ? go for watercooling
kabukiawie
Jan 28 2007, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(ekestima @ Jan 28 2007, 08:32 PM) Greetings all 478er' I'm using stock cooling for my Soc 478 3.0 (details as per my siggy). This afternoon after finished playing my NFS Carbon, i opened my Abit EQ and was shocked. Temp was 97C  , so I let it idle for a while but temp still remain at 96C  Does anyone have this kind of prob before ? at stock with 97C???  i think over 80C already hang or restart the computer. Is the reading not correct?? maybe you can try touch the heatsink with your finger, if you cant ly your finger on it for 5seconds, then its time for you to get a better HFS.
RokXIII
Jan 29 2007, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 28 2007, 11:13 PM) at stock with 97C???  i think over 80C already hang or restart the computer. Is the reading not correct?? maybe you can try touch the heatsink with your finger, if you cant ly your finger on it for 5seconds, then its time for you to get a better HFS. I think not all mobo can support this feature, some mobo still can operating at high temp but some will automatic restart or shut down directly...
kabukiawie
Jan 29 2007, 08:59 AM
but if the reading is correct, then cpu should be throttle at that temp.
ekestima
Jan 29 2007, 09:55 AM
When i chk Abit EQ on CPU temp setting, max temp is 80C. on restart, tat's d funny thing, system is still stable even at 97C.
like nezla_ax & wishbone said, might be bug in abit eq. bty anyone got any suggestion which software is better to monitor the system ?
used my finger to test the hsf, but hsf doesnt feels very hot, only normal (touchable). unfortunately my last finger got hit by the xtra 120mm fan, now blue black, luckily didnt break / cut off my finger.
kabukiawie
Jan 29 2007, 03:32 PM
Ouch, sorry for that.  if the temp is not so hot, i think is the reading problem. ever try to flash the bios?? maybe newer bios will give a accurate reading. I think most software temp monitor the temp from the reading of bios, so if bios temp is high, software reads high also. Just my 2 cents.
ekestima
Jan 29 2007, 04:35 PM
Tot i saw one thread about 478ers stating their proc type & speed, cpu cooler type, mobo, gc atc.
can some1 pls provide link to tat coz its good reference for ppl like me to c which cpu cooler to buy ba. Thx
raymond5105
Jan 29 2007, 07:03 PM
@ekestima ,IS7-E loading for so high temperature is preety impossible,even a prescott core also not going for so hot.What version of bios is your IS7-E using?
pengster
Jan 29 2007, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(kwangz @ Jan 28 2007, 10:06 PM) anyone any suggestion on replacement of intel original fan which is extreamly noisy. ? get those great performing coolers like Noctuas or Thermalright Ultra120  QUOTE(ekestima @ Jan 29 2007, 09:55 AM) When i chk Abit EQ on CPU temp setting, max temp is 80C. on restart, tat's d funny thing, system is still stable even at 97C. like nezla_ax & wishbone said, might be bug in abit eq. bty anyone got any suggestion which software is better to monitor the system ? used my finger to test the hsf, but hsf doesnt feels very hot, only normal (touchable). unfortunately my last finger got hit by the xtra 120mm fan, now blue black, luckily didnt break / cut off my finger. why not try to use speedfan or everest home/ultimate edition to monitor ur temps?97c can almost boil water already lor..or a good way to know if its really 97c,just touch the mobo
ekestima
Jan 29 2007, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 29 2007, 07:03 PM) @ekestima ,IS7-E loading for so high temperature is preety impossible,even a prescott core also not going for so hot.What version of bios is your IS7-E using? I think could be system bug. Tried again but manage to get 43C idle and 56C load. like u said i think need t chk bios.
kabukiawie
Jan 29 2007, 08:15 PM
43C idle, 56C load is more acceptable. haha....like Pengster said, Get Noctua from irangan or get TR Ultra120 from ShawTy.  Make sure your casing airflow is good enough. Bad airflow easilly rise up the cpu temp.
pengster
Jan 29 2007, 09:08 PM
wahlao.running disk defragmenter,disk cleanup,speedfan and firefox = 100% cpu usage  no background apps except antivirus somemore. time to change my rig