17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

raymond5105
post Jan 17 2007, 09:37 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 17 2007, 09:31 PM)
sienz.now duno whats wrong with my pc again.cant boot up at 2.7ghz sad.gif so now back on stock 2.4ghz.and without 1 stick of kvr.  icon_question.gif

i think i'll lay off till my fma returns  smile.gif
One of your RAM got faulty?Hehe,if dun run on dual channel also cannot boot up?
raymond5105
post Jan 17 2007, 09:58 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 17 2007, 09:47 PM)
lol cant be..i took out my old(er) ram which was working fine before..yeah forgotten to say that i wasnt on dual channel with 1.5gb of ram.now with 1gb also not dual channel  doh.gif

so now i using slot 1 and 4 with 2x KVR400.non DC 1:1 divider.p4 at stock 2.4ghz. sad.gif
You got try to clear the CMOS and put back 2 sticks of RAM? Might be CMOS corrupted.
raymond5105
post Jan 17 2007, 10:21 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 17 2007, 10:13 PM)
hmm nope..to clear the CMOS just take out the 5v battery right? unsure.gif lolz
you can either take out the battery for a while or use the jumper to reset it.
raymond5105
post Jan 18 2007, 10:14 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 17 2007, 11:33 PM)
Note : Lowest support is 865 PERL board :)This program only allows you to overclock 3% which you don't feel any difference on it after o/c. doh.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 18 2007, 01:15 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 18 2007, 01:14 PM)
so that program enable oc in window?? but 3% is consider same as no o at all. Never used before as my mobo is not supported.

Better get other mobo if really want to oc. s478 mobo is almost like antique now, really hard to find. sad.gif
The program is useless in Intel 865PERL. Last time i owned one,no matter after or before o/c,the performance is still almost the same. yawn.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 18 2007, 05:43 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 18 2007, 05:22 PM)
Tough luck for you guys then
Some guys OCed their Dell to 3.5Ghz without problems....laugh.gif
Can't believe it.I thought those Dell dekstops cannot be o/c at all. Right now i am using a Dell desktop in my office,2.6Ghz HT system.Don't know got chance to o/c or not...
raymond5105
post Jan 22 2007, 11:49 AM

5,341 posts

Nelza is not yet back? Nelza,I have changed my TI4200 to Gecube 9550 Extreme.One more thing need to edit also,i am currently using Abit IC7-G not AI7.Thank,please help me to update in the first page.
raymond5105
post Jan 22 2007, 04:05 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(MyCJS01 @ Jan 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
where to check the memory bandwidth? is this ?
I think you can use the Sandra software to test it. This Everest is just telling the max. speed that your RAM can read,write and copy.
raymond5105
post Jan 22 2007, 05:20 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 22 2007, 04:22 PM)
i thought everest is the same as sisoft sandra. Normally i bench memory bandwidth with sisoft. smile.gif
Bench with Sandra it can tell you how much is your RAM and memory controller's efficiency. smile.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 08:18 AM

5,341 posts

My new Super PI 1M result. smile.gif

raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 09:13 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 23 2007, 08:32 AM)
after reinstall still the same problem? i faced the problem before. sad.gif at last just install newer lite version now running fine
wa........38s drool.gif  drool.gif , mission impossible for me.
My RAM sometimes is limiting me,else i might go for higher frequency. sad.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 03:43 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(MyCJS01 @ Jan 23 2007, 03:25 PM)
ya, after reinstall the problem still there..
dl a free version already, lite.. cool2.gif
so, how about my memory bandwidth ? 71% only blink.gif
I cannot use the new lite version,install already and run the program nothing come out. doh.gif Weired. I use back the 2005 lite version.
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 06:13 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 23 2007, 05:08 PM)
a friend of mine got Gigabyte GA-81PE1000G, P4 1.5, 512MB DDR266, MSI GF5200 Seagate 80GB SATA HDD... I OC'd it to 1.7 and the timing i set to 2-2-3-7 but got slower windows loading... y is tat...? hmm.gif  same case wif my current rig on my siggy if i go beyond 2.5... sad.gif
I read an article showing that the memory controller will be throttle at certain frequency after overclock.I think i found back the page,you can try to refer here.

Intel Strap
I can't read the page already as i didn't register in this forum.You can try to read it up here.
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 06:43 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 23 2007, 06:31 PM)
1:1 bandwidth lower ar? unsure.gif i thought 1:1 divider gives you better performance over 5:4? hmm.gif
I got 75 - 76% in the Sandra testing using 1:1.. Tthis % is going to give huge effects on the whole system.I think the higher the memory bandwidth the better it does.
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 07:46 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Jan 23 2007, 07:41 PM)
im back.. will update it tonite  notworthy.gif
yeah.. i tot 1:1 will give better performance rite? hmm.gif
Thanks as need you to update the info. Well i am also thinking that the 1:1 will be giving the best performance in memory.I am doubt with the 5:4 divider.
raymond5105
post Jan 23 2007, 09:07 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(MyCJS01 @ Jan 23 2007, 08:26 PM)
divider can cause the system unstable is it ?
Not to say like that but the divider is always the best that you can run on 1:1.This will make the proc and memory speed be synchronize.
raymond5105
post Jan 24 2007, 09:37 AM

5,341 posts

I got one question that is blur about that.How to differentiate between the P4 "C" proc and a normal P4 HT proc? Since both of them also got the HT function on the processor there,it's hard to define them. I thought that all the procs that came with HT are P4 C not including the P4 "B" 3.06GHz with HT.
raymond5105
post Jan 24 2007, 01:38 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Jan 24 2007, 01:06 PM)
p4 c = northwood
p4 e = prescott

correct me if im wrong  notworthy.gif
That's under Northwood core.You can see from attachment below.

raymond5105
post Jan 24 2007, 08:05 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 24 2007, 07:33 PM)
From the pic, the place where you highlighted, it is still considered under the C category, due to its being Northwood, 0.13micron, HT and with 200Mhz QDR FSB and 1.5V

Prescott onwards different already, 0.09micron, 1MB L2 cache, lower Vcore
Why they don't make those P4 800FSB HT under "C" ?Just little bit confuse with it.But i know that those P4 800FSB HT are called "C" type proc. The table might be confused up other poeple as some of them are not declared with "C" in the table.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 24 2007, 07:59 PM)
i think later p4'B' uses northwood core with 533fsb non HT. The 'C' is the northwood that with 800fsb with HT. Northwood only having 512kb L2.

E is prescott that features 800fsb with HT, the low end prescott with 533fsb, non HT is the p4'A'. Both A & E having 1mb of L2 cache.

Just my 2 cent. tongue.gif
You are worng.P4 A type got 2 versions. Earlier version is just having 512kb L2 (Northwood)with the later one is based on prescott which is having 1MB L2. biggrin.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 24 2007, 08:29 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 24 2007, 08:17 PM)
i know la.......the 1st old p4 is fsb100 with 512kb L2. tongue.gif damn.....miss that..laugh.gif

But eventhough it state like that, normally when sell p4 northwood with 800fsb & HT sure is 'C'. maybe that is for OEM?? tongue.gif
The table i have atteched is confusing me. rclxub.gif Then conclusion is all the 800FSB proc with HT are categorized in " C " .

@ shinjite, the normal P4 HT proc i meant was pointing at the attachment that i posted,why is not P4 "C" ?

Regarding divider,i don't have experience on using the CH or BH chips but i know that those RAMs are good in overclocking. Bandwidth efficiently i think should be more or less the same with the Hynix chip right?

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:19 PM