5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

pengster
post Jul 21 2020, 04:27 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 21 2020, 08:27 AM)
Was Canon bad at ISO 6400?

Cos even my dinosaur D750 had great ISO 12800.
Nikon always had better high ISO than Canon, especially the D750 which is known to be a low light monster. It's great to see Canon improving now biggrin.gif

Pretty big improvement coming from the 5D3.

Taken from DPReview's sample gallery: https://www.dpreview.com/articles/742397803...udio-test-scene
pengster
post Jul 23 2020, 12:37 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 22 2020, 12:46 PM)
OK, interesting.

Thought Canon would be pretty good too.

I haven't throw high ISO on any Canon, come to think of it why didn't I do that with the RP? LOL case.

Was enjoying the RP more for video than photo.
Canon is good but can't touch Sony or Nikon (which uses Sony's sensors anyway laugh.gif ) The Nikon D4s and D5 are low light monsters. Sony A7 III also. Canon's best is the 1DX series in terms high ISO performance but still can't beat the D5.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jul 22 2020, 01:15 PM)
The improvement I see here is at least 1.5 to 2 stops over 5diii! Very impressive  thumbup.gif
Yeah looks really impressive! Can't wait to get one by end of the year.
pengster
post Jul 23 2020, 01:15 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Some really beautiful shots from the incredibly talented Irene with the R6 + RF 85mm f/1.2L thumbsup.gif

pengster
post Aug 13 2020, 04:09 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Interesting findings on the overheating issue on the Canon EOS R5, seems to be artificially limited hmm.gif

https://www.eoshd.com/news/chinese-user-mod...are-time-limit/

https://www.eoshd.com/news/eoshd-testing-fi...out-video-mode/
pengster
post Aug 26 2020, 03:11 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Aug 25 2020, 07:52 PM)
Anyone use this brand before?
Just receive mine today.
UHSii card. Can't wait to use it on the R6 once they arrive.
[attachmentid=10563514]
Where did you buy it from bro? They were previously Lexar before they sold the brand off. I can't seem to find any in Malaysia though hmm.gif
pengster
post Aug 26 2020, 04:24 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Aug 26 2020, 04:16 PM)
Haha yea, the packaging is simple yet elegant.
Bought it from Taobao, already checked authenticity with Prograde side.
Many reviews say prograde are good, fast, and reliable. Hence I try out this one. Since its not too expensive and its UHSII.
Lexar UHSII 64gb is around 150 on shopee. Sandisk one quite pricey, i think it was rm250 to 300.
Ah okay. Yeah reviews are pretty good on the ProGrade cards. How long did it take to arrive here? And when is your R6 arriving? laugh.gif
pengster
post Oct 14 2020, 03:31 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM)
Just applied glass screen protector on my R6.
Highly recommended brand GGS, fits perfectly, easy to apply, and no bubbles.

Nice bro, how much is it and where did you get it from? smile.gif
pengster
post Oct 14 2020, 03:43 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 14 2020, 03:32 PM)
Canon's latest L series speedlight
Canon Malaysia
Looks good, but not sure how much. I like the flash recycling speed and the built in filters.

Holy moly $1099 for this flash?! It's gonna be RM4999 in Malaysia guaranteed. What is Canon smoking? rclxub.gif
pengster
post Oct 14 2020, 04:31 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 14 2020, 04:14 PM)
What? So expensive? Where did you see the official pricing?
RM5k for a speedlight is probably Broncolor level already. Even Profoto also not that crazy.
I think reasonably should be about RM1800-RM2200 range.
Also, surprisingly it takes LPE6 battery, really alot of plus points for canon shooters.
Also just saw this on Canon USA

From DPReview. Crazy pricing. Yeah I'd rather buy a full set of Godox studio & hotshoe strobes for that kind of money.

It's the same form factor as the LP-E6 but it's not the same. It's a new LP-EL that can't be used in cameras. Another weird choice. If it were cross compatible then it would be pretty good.
pengster
post Oct 15 2020, 05:13 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 15 2020, 12:07 PM)
Got it from Taobao, including shipping is about RMB80+
Nice, thanks for the info. Will consider when I get my R6 next time. Used GGS tempered glass on my 5D3 also. Lasted since Day 1 so it's been 8 years laugh.gif
pengster
post Oct 15 2020, 05:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 15 2020, 05:36 PM)
i wonder how long will it take to hv the R6 market price drop to circa RM8k?
LOL
Same here. But ACCE Camera is selling import set R6 @ RM8999 with 1 year warranty tho. Tempting hmm.gif
pengster
post Oct 15 2020, 07:28 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 15 2020, 07:23 PM)
yohhh.. why u do tht to me?!!?

lucky won't be much to shoot till year end at least
Hahaha same here, gonna wait till year end. Now not much to shoot yet. So still can tahan the urge laugh.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 15 2020, 07:24 PM)
Yeap, one of the best brands for screen protector.
So, when are you getting your R6? haha, hand itchy?
Very itchy when I saw the import set going for RM8999 brows.gif But realistically end of the year la. Hopefully we can control the cases and events can restart again. Just when events were starting back we got hit by CMCO doh.gif
pengster
post Oct 16 2020, 03:33 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 16 2020, 01:34 PM)
Wait a min, why i see the usual dealer like YL or KLDSLR arae selling body for like 10K and above. Did I miss out on something or they usually will have additional discount that are off the record?

I remember i missed out on the 5d mark iv body set selling at RM9k plus for new unit during the first month of MCO in March from one of the dealer doh.gif  ranting.gif
Can you advise how much does it cost and how long they will take the lens for cleaning?
I got the feeling canon poach some Olmypus engineer to do their full frame IBIS since they are as  second best after Oly IBIS. And i dont recall reading any IBIS issues with Oly camera (yes i am well aware of the substantially smaller sensor size)
Official Canon MY set is still RM10k+. The RM8999 that I found is imported set without Canon Malaysia warranty. So if you don't mind not having local warranty, you can save RM2k which could go to a RF 35 1.8 brows.gif
pengster
post Oct 16 2020, 04:17 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 16 2020, 04:07 PM)
Sorry my mistake, I meant EOS R still selling at RM8k officially..
The R6 is still selling at RM11999, they will not really be offering any discount as this is high demand and short supply item for the time being.
There are 2 shops selling Canon MY set for RM10,899, slightly cheaper than pre-order price but you don't get the extra free battery la.
pengster
post Oct 28 2020, 05:32 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Another photography focused review on the R6. The GAS is real laugh.gif

pengster
post Oct 28 2020, 10:08 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 28 2020, 09:37 PM)
All those complain is about video la, R5 and R6 just as all the R series are splendid for photography purpose.
Yup, my thoughts exactly. Get a C camera if all you want to do is videos. doh.gif
pengster
post Nov 24 2020, 11:40 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

That's why you dual sling one with 15-35 and another with 28-70 laugh.gif

But in all seriousness I can see the benefits of the 28-70 for event works. Gonna get that after I replace my mediocre 16-35 with the 15-35.
pengster
post Nov 27 2020, 09:14 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 27 2020, 04:03 PM)
anyone spotted any good deals for USH-II SDXC?
Check out the Kingston Canvas Reach Plus. 300mb/s and much cheaper than Sony/Lexar/Sandisk and comes with a UHS-II reader as well. smile.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Nov 27 2020, 04:49 PM)
Haha, but yes. If got budget definitely.
Which 1635 are you using?
The 16-35L II. To be fair it's my oldest lens, have been using it for more than 10 years. laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 27 2020, 10:09 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 27 2020, 09:58 PM)
at TB also?
Nope, you can get it locally from Shopee/Lazada. I just recently found out about this card too. Will most probably be getting one soon smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 28 2020, 04:44 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 27 2020, 11:39 PM)
thanks for the head up on this.. a pretty nice read/write speed paired with a price I can afford!
Gotta wait for more reviews out on the reliability part for Kingston!
I've read some initial reviews and it seems pretty positive so far, just that no long term durability test yet. Will probably have to take the plunge to find out laugh.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Nov 28 2020, 01:42 PM)
Just got my RF85 f2.

First impressions:
Build quality - inferior to the original f1.8, feels plasticky. Doesnt have the sturdy feel.
Made in Malaysia vs Made in Japan for the Original F1.8
Lens hood - both ori and 3rd parties are unavailable yet
Focusing speed - slightly more sluggish compared to original f1.8, and noisier due to STM motor vs USM motor
Weight and size - larger and heavier than original
IS - with IBIS in R6, both ef and rf appeared to perform quite similarly based on my first impression.
Love the macro capability of this lens.

If ask me got regret or not now, answer is probably abit of buyer's remorse. Haha
Hope tomorrow's shoot will make me feel better.
Looking forward to your review vs the EF 85 1.8! For me I would probably pick up the Samyang RF 85mm 1.4 for the same price and replacing my 100mm L macro with it but I'm also interested in finding out how the RF 85mm F2 compares. hmm.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0325sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:50 PM