5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

pengster
post Oct 9 2019, 01:49 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

The new RF 24-70L IS looks promising, even better than the EF 24-70 II ohmy.gif

Michaelbyz23 Maybe consider this instead? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Oct 9 2019, 01:51 AM
pengster
post Oct 9 2019, 03:58 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 9 2019, 07:06 AM)
Can't bro, you must half focus first after you touch and drag, and also because you're looking into the view finder.
Hmm, considering. But don't know isit worth the extra 3k. EF2470 ii (Import) vs RF2470 (Local set). Plus, I will not have the flexibility to use it on my secondary body 5Diii.
The only 2 enticing features are the IS and control ring for me. RF also slightly heavier compared to EF.
I guess at the moment I'll just stick to my 2470i, until i manage to sell it off first.  biggrin.gif
True, since the 24-70L II can be had used for below 5k now. The IQ is much better than the original 24-70L, no regrets from me. Now it's the 16-35 that's disappointing me. sweat.gif
pengster
post Oct 9 2019, 09:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 9 2019, 05:34 PM)
Whats up with the 16-35? F4 IS? 2.8 i? 2.8 ii or 2.8 iii?
2.8 II. Corners are very soft. Skip to 3:20 for an example of what I mean. And this guy is shooting at f/10 already laugh.gif

pengster
post Oct 10 2019, 02:37 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 9 2019, 10:07 PM)
shocking.gif
Wow shockingly huge difference. The 17-40 f4L compare to 2.8 ii, similar image quality?
Yeah exactly - and I use my 16-35 for events very very often where I don't have the luxury to stop down so much. Especially noticeable for group shots. Center is fine though, nice and sharp laugh.gif So now I tend to use the 24-70L II unless I really need something wider.

If I'm not mistaken the 17-40L is similar quality to the 16-35L II. If you want good corners get the 16-35 f/4L IS or the 16-35 f/2.8L III. Or the new RF 15-35L IS rclxm9.gif
pengster
post Oct 10 2019, 05:35 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 10 2019, 08:39 AM)
My most used is still 24-70 for events. 2.8 I feel not sharp enough at corners to a point of unusable, especially low light. Same like your situation, no choice but to shoot at 2.8, at times iso 6000+ due to super low light condition in wedding halls.
So, I think getting mark II will be huge upgrade for me. No budget go for rf. Plus I still use 5diii, will cause huge inconvenience if my main lens is rf.

1740 occassionally will use for environmental portrait and landscape. In the future I might go for 1635 f4 is.. pocket friendly. Haha.

Now I'm still shooting with 70200 2.8 is I. That lens works really well on eos r. 2.8 may not be very sharp due to high mega pixels on eos r, but I think still usable. It is one of my least used lens since I stopped shooting sports. Longer focal length I shoot alot with 85 1.8.

So, you planning to upgrade to rf15-35? What events you shoot mostly?

Initially thought of YOLO-ing and migrate fully to Mirrorless, sell my 5diii, 2470i, 50 1.2, 85 to swap with 2870.. but that means I got no backup camera. Too risky.
Yeah in that case the II will be a big upgrade for you. I've used the OG 24-70 before and I've never really liked it. Haha I had the 70-200 IS I before also and upgraded to the II because mine was just soft. The II's are in a different league all together laugh.gif

Mostly corporate events, birthdays, functions those kind. Mostly indoors with limited space which is why I have to use the 16-35 sweat.gif

Eh I saw KLDSLR selling the 2870 F2L for RM7799 only. What a good price! Import set la but damn tempting haha
pengster
post Oct 10 2019, 05:52 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 10 2019, 05:41 PM)
Yea,. 10.10 shopping day deal. Hmm, but for this lens at this price is very tempting. Do you have the link?
Im just worried about the warranty only. RF lenses, i am not very confident yet with its built quality. I have the rf35, feels a little bit flimsy. Probably because alot of electronics going on inside, compared to EF lenses.
Eh I just saw it a few hours ago on their Shopee, but now it's gone. Looks like it was an error LOL. Somebody must've bought it and they had to take it down. hahaha

Canon L lenses should be fine la, the quality can't be off vs their EF L lenses biggrin.gif
pengster
post Oct 10 2019, 06:27 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 10 2019, 05:53 PM)
Asked already, it's RM8888 for Japan imported set.
Found the link, but it's unlisted now. Must've been a 10/10 promo for just 1 unit: https://shopee.com.my/Canon-RF-28-70mm-f-2L...KTPoZPFCmPZry3U

TBH RM8888 is still a good price for a lens that retails for $2999 biggrin.gif
pengster
post Oct 13 2019, 05:10 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 12 2019, 06:13 PM)
Amazing dynamic range of EOS R, in real world use.

user posted imageEOSR4164 by Michael Boon, on Flickr

That's pretty good man! More than enough DR for normal real world usage. BTW, how's the 1.4.0 firmware for your R? Is the Eye AF better now?
pengster
post Oct 13 2019, 09:44 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 13 2019, 08:28 PM)
Yea bro, 1.4.0 is amazing. Very fast, accurate and easy to use for Eye AF. When I was using the 50 1.2, shoot at 1.2, i think the hit rate was close to 100%.
Damn that's really impressive. On my traditional bodies it's a hit or miss shooting at 1.2. I might have to pick one up in the future laugh.gif
pengster
post Oct 24 2019, 03:57 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Anyone still on the dSLR camp upgrading to the 1DX Mark III? laugh.gif

pengster
post Oct 24 2019, 10:06 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 24 2019, 05:08 PM)
But hor grey unit through shop can often be faster than official unit.
Sounds about right to me, recently I tried to apply for CPS again and it took them 6 weeks to even acknowledge my application. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 24 2019, 10:02 PM)
Time to upgrade bro!
Hmm, I never had any experience with either one though. Only had some experience sending (out of warranty) lens faulty problem back to canon to be fixed. Since I am in Sarawak, they will ship the item back to Shah Alam to be fixed, may take up to 10 days total. For gray unit, not sure how long it will take for them to replace. But Canon quality, generally very rare will have problems. Been with Canon since 2008, never had any problem, except for my 5diii battery grip dial become loose after 5 years, and 2470 diaphragm problem. All fixed quite quickly. The quality of Made in Japan! biggrin.gif
I also want to upgrade but it's gonna cost RM30k sweat.gif Either I get a used 1DX II or wait for the next R laugh.gif
pengster
post Oct 27 2019, 04:46 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 27 2019, 01:03 AM)
Tonight's assignment, low light? No problem.

Nice bro, how's the AF in low light? Eye AF still reliable @ 1.2?
pengster
post Oct 27 2019, 05:29 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 27 2019, 04:59 PM)
Almost all my shots are nailed if I switched to eye AF and its activated. biggrin.gif
Here are some shots taken:

Great shots man! Focus looks great, definitely better than what the 5D3 could achieve @ 1.2 in that condition. I'll have to get my hands on an R soon! thumbup.gif
pengster
post Oct 28 2019, 03:06 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 27 2019, 06:38 PM)
I have not put the 50 1.2 on my 5diii. In fact I haven't really touched my 5diii for few months already. Have you tried 1dx with 50 1.2? Sharp focus?
You will not regret getting the EOS R. Lightweight, great focus accuracy and speed. biggrin.gif
Everything is better on the 1DX, especially the metering system. Even so, I still get OOF shots with the 50L @ 1.2 occasionally. But less often compared to the 5D3 la. Definitely not 90% hit rate like on your R though laugh.gif

Let me sell off my 1DX first then I can get the R. Someone buy my 1DX! 12FPS beast of a machine laugh.gif laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 23 2019, 04:57 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

First Officer 2 by Qian Wei Goh, on Flickr

Re-edited some older photos for fun, shot with 5D3 & 70-200 II laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 23 2019, 11:54 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Nov 23 2019, 06:19 PM)
Nice shot with 5diii!
Thanks bro! Now trying to sell it off so that I can get an R and join you laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 24 2019, 06:56 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Nov 24 2019, 05:27 PM)
Not easy to sell off now. Good luck! Faster get EOS R, christmas sales and join the R.

But for all portrait shooters using off camera flash, do take note that EOS R got one big issue.. I hope they solve it soon.

Whenever shooting with off camera flash, (in my case I use Onsmo triggers), but same with Godox and other triggers, it will occasionally switch to AUTO ISO. So some shots will be over exposed unintentionally. Very bad for people who shoot portrait with OCF.
I have had many photos unusable because of this. Shooting full Manual with manually set iso to 100, sometimes it will jump to Auto, and ISO goes to 125, 160, and even 320.
Thanks bro, hopefully got interested buyers that won't lowball la.

Hmm, that seems to be quite an issue, do you think it's caused by the triggers or is it just a problem with the R?
pengster
post Feb 18 2020, 02:10 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(makoshark @ Feb 17 2020, 12:02 PM)
I saw on mudah.my today EOS R new import set RM6199..i think it a good deal but is it good enough to buy import set?
If I'm not mistaken it doesn't come with the EF to R adapter. Might wanna call up and check first. smile.gif
pengster
post Feb 18 2020, 03:43 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(makoshark @ Feb 18 2020, 03:09 PM)
i don't mind if it doesn't come with adapter..the price is very attractive but i'm a bit worry about the import set..
He provides a 1 year in house warranty, so it should be fine. For me it's not a big deal as I've never had any issues with Canon bodies in the past. Just think of it as going on a holiday to Japan/US, buying a body over there and bringing it back. Same thing, no warranty laugh.gif
pengster
post Feb 19 2020, 12:09 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(makoshark @ Feb 18 2020, 05:06 PM)
Thanks..just sold all my nikon gear last week..at the 1st i want to buy A7III but when i saw EOS R review my mind was change, not because of EOS R alone but the variety of RF lenses that Canon offer..the thing that hold me back is coz the RF lens price, compare to Sony, it have many 3rd party lens & some zeiss lenses that affordable to buy..here is what in my mind..

EOS RP + RF24-105mm F4 (import)- RM7500
EOS R (import) + RF24-105mm F4 (import) - RM9300
Sony A7III + Zeiss 24-70mm F4 (used) - RM8000
The R5 is coming out soon, maybe get an RP first and then the R5 later? laugh.gif

A7 III is a good camera but I've read that the Zeiss 24-70 F4 isn't that great.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1018sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:34 AM