5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

pengster
post Dec 1 2020, 02:42 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Nov 30 2020, 10:49 PM)
I find it a hassle in a way that I need to take extra precautions to make sure dust and moist doesnt go in.  Yes, already have a UV filter on it. My RF35 also have UV filter since day 1.
But i am waiting for the lens hood ET77 (3rd party) to come out, because the lens hood can cover the extending barrel.

Another close up demo.
Review here
[attachmentid=10708090]
Nice! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Which is why I don't get why people like to complain about 20MP being insufficient. Especially when most if not all pictures end up on social media and compressed to hell anyway doh.gif
pengster
post Dec 1 2020, 11:08 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 1 2020, 08:27 AM)
True. Most people share via whatsapp/facebook/insta and rarely view it on larger screens. Which is ok cause that's just the way it is now.

Especially people like me who take photos of family/events and share via WhatsApp for the most part.
Yeah and not to mention WhatsApp's compression is the absolute worst. Everything becomes a blurry mess doh.gif Unless you send as attachment which is the full actual file itself.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 1 2020, 08:54 AM)
Thanks bro, definitely more than enough. Even 1dxiii also 20mp.
If you're doing events, or casual family photos, you do not want to go for 45mp, later your hard drive space fill up twice as fast, post processing takes twice as long. 20-26mp is the sweet spot.
Yup, no intention of going 45MP or whatever. End of the day it doesn't matter to my clients.

QUOTE(syk @ Dec 1 2020, 09:49 AM)
20mp is not an issue to me too.
But the complain is other competitors able to provide 24mp model.
And Canon is selling R6 more expensive than the rest. (Price between mid to high end model)
Which I find baseless, like can you (not you per se, I mean those complainers) even tell the difference between 20mp and 24mp in a blind test?

About the pricing, I look at it as a 1DX Mark III at 40% the cost. The few things the 1DX III does better is build quality, battery life and the 5.5k RAW video. It's a damn steal laugh.gif
pengster
post Dec 2 2020, 03:46 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 2 2020, 03:04 PM)
Yes, I would definitely buy Lexar cards again in the future. Great brand and customer service.
Yes that's right, better just use Sandisk UHS I. Plus i dont think I would EVER shoot up to 150 RAW files straight. Even during my sports event time, max also 15-20 RAW straight (due to 5DIII maxed out).
Sandisk UHS II cards are very expensive.
Thanks for the tests. Have you tried shooting RAW to 1 card and JPEG to the 2nd card? Wondering how's the buffer like when shooting RAW+JPEG. With the 1DX and 5D3 the buffer is lower vs just shooting RAW to both cards.
pengster
post Dec 3 2020, 06:58 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Had a meet & feel session with the EOS R6, R5 and a bunch of RF lenses today thanks to Canon Malaysia and CPS. They even brought a model for us to take test shots with. Perfect timing as I'm just about to get an R6 laugh.gif

Warning: pic heavy!

Not shown here: RF 35mm, RF 85mm F2, RF 15-35L, EF 24L II
pengster
post Dec 3 2020, 08:20 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Dec 3 2020, 07:00 PM)
gears sanitized after each participants handle it?
Nope, but we sanitized before entering the cafe.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 3 2020, 07:41 PM)
Wow bro, where is this? Got Canon event? How's your feel towards R6 and R5?
Damn poisonous event!
Not a Canon event per se, just an invitation to CPS members to try out the R system. 3 sessions this week, each session has only 4-5 pax excluding the Canon rep and model. This was at Cafe 123 @ Jalan Gasing. There's another one this Saturday.

Damn damn poisonous....Will post up some sample pictures soon laugh.gif
pengster
post Dec 3 2020, 08:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 3 2020, 08:48 PM)
Already put booking too?  drool.gif
Not yet, the Canon rep said they might try getting some good deals for CPS members, so waiting for that laugh.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 3 2020, 08:53 PM)
Haven't been following the thread in detail - are you on R yet?
Not yet, but looking to buy an R6 this month. See if got any good deals for Christmas / year end. hmm.gif
pengster
post Dec 15 2020, 04:14 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Just got this on 12.12 in preparation for my R6 laugh.gif

pengster
post Dec 15 2020, 04:42 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 15 2020, 04:20 PM)
Welcome to the mirror less R6 club.
You bought 2 of these cards? How much for R6?
Haven't bought the R6 yet, soon lah. Only bought 1 of this Lexar card. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Lurker @ Dec 15 2020, 04:21 PM)
highest end atm $$$$$ ... hahaha
on par with the Sony Tough

how come u no go with the Kingston Canvas React Plus?
The React Plus will be my second card laugh.gif Sony Tough G faster tho. 299mb/s write hmm.gif

Both also 300mb/s read and 260mb/s write. Want to avoid as much slowdowns as possible biggrin.gif

Also, this card comes with a UHS-II reader, good value IMO.

This post has been edited by pengster: Dec 15 2020, 04:42 PM
pengster
post Dec 15 2020, 09:30 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Dec 15 2020, 04:51 PM)
yea.. when u factor in the reader
https://www.cameramemoryspeed.com/reviews/c...4u-7000-uhs-ii/
can keep one in bag, one in office, one at home... etc etc  cool2.gif
Yup, and the React Plus also comes with a UHS-II reader. Good for backup thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Budakkumai @ Dec 15 2020, 09:03 PM)
How much for the card?
RM300 during the 12.12 promo. Also comes with a free 16GB USB drive. smile.gif
pengster
post Dec 19 2020, 07:45 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Testing out the Lexar and Sandisk Extreme Pro SD cards on the included Lexar UHS-II card reader.

Lexar Professional 2000x 64GB 300MB/s UHS-II

Sandisk Extreme Pro 64GB 170MB/s UHS-I

The Lexar card doesn't seem to reach it's rated speed, I wonder why. It's plugged directly to my motherboard on a USB 3.1 port. I'll have to try it on another system and perhaps with the Kingston UHS-II card.
pengster
post Dec 19 2020, 11:09 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 19 2020, 10:25 PM)
It seems like Sandisk is only running at its older card speed at 95mbps.
But good comparison, thank you for this!
Yup, you can't get higher than 100mb/s on UHS-I cards as the bus speed is limited. You'll have to use their proprietary card reader to achieve the 170mb/s read speed. So for all practical purposes, it's a 95mb/s card just like their older cards.
pengster
post Dec 23 2020, 09:31 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Had fun the past few days getting used to

rclxm9.gif
pengster
post Dec 24 2020, 04:19 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 23 2020, 10:40 PM)
Congrats and welcome to the mirrorless club!
Same lenses and camera setup as me  icon_rolleyes.gif
How isit so far comparing to your older 5diii and 1dx?
Super impressed with the Eye AF and tracking performance. No need to focus recompose anymore thumbup.gif

BTW, my new Lexar 2000x card is giving me problems. I think the new cards made by the new owners of Lexar isn't very good. Reviews online seems to match my experience too. Had this happen 3 times in a couple of hours. I recommend you check your Lexar card too.

Transfer speeds are really disappointing too. Much slower than my Lexar CF card which I can get around 130-150mb/s and this SD card is supposed to be a 300/260mbps card.

I'm going to have to return this card and try another brand. Can't have this happening to me during a paid photoshoot. Very very disappointed with Lexar. doh.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Dec 24 2020, 04:25 PM
pengster
post Dec 24 2020, 04:51 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 24 2020, 04:46 PM)
Are u using UHS-II Card reader?
Yes, this Lexar card comes bundled with a Lexar UHS-II card reader.
pengster
post Dec 24 2020, 08:11 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 24 2020, 06:49 PM)
I had no issue for my shoot today and yesterday with the 1667x version.
I tried using sandisk card reader, just now was transferring at 180mbps, didn't screenshot.
I'll keep monitoring mine for my next few shoots.
BTW after reinsert the photos still there or corrupted?
This happened to me on my first real outing with the R6. Card has been formatted in camera prior to usage. Photos are still there after powering the camera off and on again. But I can't be doing that on assignment, powering the camera on and off, taking the card in and out etc and who knows maybe one day the photos inside will be corrupted. Too risky for me, so I'll be sending it back. Already ordered the Kingston Canvas React Plus, hopefully it's better.
pengster
post Dec 24 2020, 08:24 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Dec 24 2020, 08:21 PM)
Yes. For professional work definitely a No No.
Shopee side accept return for full refund?
BTW have your updated R6 latest firmware?
Bought from Lazada, and since it was from Lexar Mall themselves I have a 15 day return window to return the card.

Yup, on V1.2.0 now biggrin.gif
pengster
post Dec 29 2020, 04:49 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Dec 25 2020, 08:17 PM)
By any chance are you copying the photos into a hard disk? That looks a lot like a hard disk transfer speed after the buffer is full. No comment on image corruption, not using any Lexar storage for the moment.
Yup to a hard drive. But previously with my CF card, I get a consistent 130-150mb/s transfer rates to the same drive with even larger total file sizes. Will test out with the Kingston Canvas React Plus and see if there's any difference.
pengster
post Jan 2 2021, 05:10 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Happy new year Canon fam! party.gif

Tested out the Kingston Canvas React Plus 64GB UHS-II card and so far it delivers on it's advertised speed:

In comparison with the Lexar that advertises 300mb/s read and 260mb/s write:

Used the Kingston card on a job recently and no funny error messages like with the Lexar. Hopefully it stays that way. For about RM115 less than the Lexar card, it's a no brainer. smile.gif
pengster
post Jan 5 2021, 09:31 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 5 2021, 07:07 PM)
Probably going to get one if got budget, to test it out myself  biggrin.gif
For RM215 and that kind of speed, seems like a good value. Used it once for a job and so far so good. But only time will tell on the reliability. Also comes with a UHS-II card reader so that's nice.

Saw that you posted your recent Lexar card for sale, any reason why? biggrin.gif
pengster
post Jan 12 2021, 07:29 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 12 2021, 01:36 PM)
user posted imageuser posted image

results with a Transcend RDF9K2 reader
Nice! At least yours is close to the rated speed on the packaging. And for $50 per piece it's really cheap too. smile.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1343sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:37 PM