10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

mingyuyu
post Aug 21 2017, 10:19 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 21 2017, 12:11 AM)
If not C and N got what others? Sony's A99 II? I think that one is DSLT already. Didn't follow, SLR is pretty much abandoned other than the 2 big names.
You forgot Pentax tongue.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 21 2017, 12:12 AM)
I have been using the Sony A6500 for the past week or 2, I must say that while I like it very much, the mirrorless is no where near to replace my DSLR but it depends on situation.

It doesn't replace my DSLR because there are flaws in the system, however for many cases it can very well replace my DSLR. I got many good shots with the A6500. biggrin.gif
what are the flaws?
mingyuyu
post Aug 23 2017, 03:13 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

I owned quite a few 3rd party lenses before and they performed reliably throughout my ownership period.

Not until I got the Tamron 24-70mm sad.gif I bought it used from a camera shop and within the first month both the rubbers of the zoom and focusing ring fell off (it was a really common issue for this lens after i did some Googling). Seller took the lens and sent it for replacement and the issue was solved.

And just on last Saturday while I was shooting some portraits for a friend, I kept on getting Err 01 on my 5D II. At first I thought it was something to do with dirty contacts or loose mounting so I took off the lens and remounted it for a few times. The problem kinda went away after a few tries.

It then came back yesterday evening, this time I managed to find out the reason behind the error. It happens when I am shooting past 35mm or so and with the aperture closed down to any value smaller than f2.8. Again I did some Googling and found out that its very likely the ribbon cable within the lens is snapped or broken. I did not drop the lens or damaged it in any way but somehow it just broke sad.gif

Now im left with a lens that can shoot at any aperture for focal lengths between 24-35mm and only at f2.8 past 35mm. Hopefully its only the cable that is damaged and not the aperture/ diagram unit and the repair will not be costly.
mingyuyu
post Aug 23 2017, 05:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Aug 23 2017, 03:58 PM)
3rd party lenses will always have issues like this.

have the same problem with two units of tokina 16 - 28mm f2.8 and sigma 20mm f1.4, luckily the guys at Kldslr allowed me to refund

they said its a common problem with third party lenses  sad.gif
a lot of people suffered the same thing with 24-105mm F4L too which is surprising and it costs around $200 to fix.

as for the Tamron it is not as common as I don't see that many results upon searching online, but it is really frustrating to deal with mechanical issues of a lens. All i can do now is pray that its a simple fix and won't cost me an arm and leg.
mingyuyu
post Aug 25 2017, 03:32 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldbricks @ Aug 24 2017, 10:12 AM)
Shooting them is easy, but to make them look alive is very challenging. Some instagrammer made that very nicely.
Thanks for the suggestion. My kit lens is stuck and hard to turn for zooming and auto focus is down, still usable but if can get cheap good macro lens would be nice.
if you dont mind noisy autofocus (i think you are going to use manual focus most of the times anyway), the tamron 90mm f2.8 (old version with extending barrel when focusing) can be a nice upgrade. good condition used units are around rm600 if i remember correctly, not that easy to find one though.

the other option is the canon 100mm f2.8 USM, but its a more expensive lens as used ones are around rm1k.
mingyuyu
post Sep 4 2017, 05:05 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Puddles are so handy when you are trying to get interesting foreground biggrin.gif

mingyuyu
post Sep 25 2017, 05:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Finally get to shoot light trails without worrying of getting robbed (took this in Kampar). Im finally returned to KL for holiday, anyone here interested to shoot some cityscapes?

Side note : Anyone here has suggested shop for cleaning fungus ?

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Sep 25 2017, 05:20 PM
mingyuyu
post Oct 14 2017, 12:10 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Oct 13 2017, 03:15 PM)
canon quote me total of rm580 to revive 1100D

is it worth it or buy new better
buy new 1100D or upgrade to newer bodies?

1100D doesn't worth that much for used unit, so I wouldn't recommend spending that much to fix it.
mingyuyu
post Oct 18 2017, 04:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(TheMakers @ Oct 17 2017, 03:39 PM)
I am planning to get camera flash as the inbuilt flash is quite harsh especially during indoor photoshooting.

I do not have so much of knowledge except bouncing the light theory. So maybe auto such as ETTL would be sufficient for me. But then I'm kinda hoping I can get HSS and second curtain option available.

Anyone can advise me any recommendation?

My dslr is canon 70D

(P/S: Budget wise should be below RM500, a bit limit on the budget. Hopefully can get some feedback)
A used 450 exii should cost around rm500 (thats if you are ok with used items), generally I prefer Canon TTL flash over 3rd parties, due to it being more accurate in most conditions.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Oct 17 2017, 07:29 PM)
lai lai...i sell u my 2nd hand 580exii. PM me if interested.
used 580 exii so cheap meh? blink.gif

I thought it is around rm700-800 mostly.
mingyuyu
post Oct 19 2017, 06:28 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Oct 18 2017, 06:06 PM)
My unit is just collecting dust....1 last item to sell off, nego a bit lo. I've already jumped to Fuji....
nice price biggrin.gif , its a good flash.

QUOTE(TheMakers @ Oct 19 2017, 10:33 AM)
I saw in Lazada there is one model is call YN600EX-RT II unit, but the discount is from RM2.4k to RM400+... Not sure whether it's legitimate or not....

http://www.lazada.com.my/yongnuo-yn600ex-r...Wi&ff=1&sc=EQgB
PM you. smile.gif
flash itself is legit, but the rm2.1k markup is plain BS, typical lazada tactic. i never used the flash itself but newer generations of Yongnuo products are quite robust and reliable. my 5 years old Yongnuo 560 II is still kicking strong even though it only costed rm250 when i bought it.
mingyuyu
post Oct 20 2017, 10:08 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Some recent shots smile.gif

Amazing sunsets thanks to the super hot weather and clear sky.

mingyuyu
post Oct 20 2017, 10:57 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Oct 20 2017, 10:37 PM)
Ini pun Canon mau patent ka? EOS 1D Selfie anyone?

Canon Patents a Giant DSLR Flip Screen
https://petapixel.com/2017/10/19/canon-pate...lr-flip-screen/
Interesting idea, by doing so you get a much larger screen (who doesn't love big screens anyway), but at the same time you get to keep the physical controls (all the dials and buttons). Canon's touch screen is one of the best in the industry, and the cameras will still be perfectly usable even without any physical controls.

Imagine shooting professional video without the need of external screen since you already have a large enough display.

Its all about how are they going to implement this idea into something acceptable, mainly the aesthetic part (the rendering shown is a nightmare).
mingyuyu
post Oct 24 2017, 01:03 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Oct 22 2017, 09:04 PM)
Got users use the 1D to shoot video meh?  hmm.gif I taught by now everyone would have gone for the A9 or something for professional video  laugh.gif .
never really heard anything about the a9 other than the initial hype laugh.gif

im not sure how is the 1dx2 when compared the a9, but for sure there are still quite a number of people out there that uses the Canon.

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Oct 24 2017, 01:06 AM
mingyuyu
post Oct 27 2017, 02:33 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Oct 27 2017, 11:40 AM)
haha glad that i stayed with 6d1
even ancient FF like 5D II (my current camera) is still fantastic to use, and they are so cheap these days. Basically no point to upgrade from 6D to 6D II if you don't need the AF and flip screen.

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Oct 27 2017, 12:32 PM)
haha thanks, i only know how to shoot a bit of food sadly blush.gif  blush.gif
your food pictures are always awesome thumbsup.gif

too bad its all about gear talks and not photography discussion these days yawn.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 28 2017, 10:07 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Oct 27 2017, 04:12 PM)
thanks boss  blush.gif  blush.gif

by the way, what i would love to see would be canon coming out with something that can rival fuji xt2 or even something like a6500, coz the way i see the minimal upgrades they add into the ff these days are really not worth investing
the m5/m6 are quite nice to use actually, tried them at camera shop and i quite liked it. too bad they are kinda overpriced, rm4k+ for the m5 is unacceptable.

i heard that canon is developing FF mirrorless? sounds exciting to me, especially when they already have really good AF for liveview.
mingyuyu
post Oct 28 2017, 10:38 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Oct 28 2017, 10:23 AM)
exactly the reason why i wont invest in the m5/m6, so bloody pricey, pengsan... doh.gif
at least the m100 is affordable, at around 2.2k only.

i don't understand why canon price the m5/m6 so high, probably got greedy and wanted to cover R&D costs through the easy way.
mingyuyu
post Oct 28 2017, 05:33 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Oct 28 2017, 11:55 AM)
yup, was comparing it against my 6D, for me my requirement is simple, the image quality from the new camera must be on par if not better with my current gears smile.gif
not fair to compare apsc to FF lah tongue.gif

unless u are comparing 2017 apsc with 2007 FF
mingyuyu
post Oct 30 2017, 02:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Some new photos from last Saturday morning biggrin.gif

mingyuyu
post Jan 5 2018, 03:14 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jan 2 2018, 12:55 AM)
7d with nikkor 105mm f2.5

they seemed quite underexposed i think?

QUOTE(Kay @ Jan 3 2018, 07:26 PM)
Hello guys,

I am in a dilemma on choosing 6D, 5Dm3(second hand) and 6Dm2.

I m holding 550D and 600D.

I m shooting more on actual day/night wedding.

Any suggestions?
5d3 for sure, unless you need the flipping screen and liveview autofocus of 6d2.
mingyuyu
post Jan 9 2018, 06:33 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jan 8 2018, 12:00 AM)
5D2 should be dirt cheap now.
Below RM2k.

5D3 is about RM5K.

5D2 AF will not be as accurate as your 60D, but it should be better in nearly everything else.
yet to see any good condition 5d2 under 2k, most are around 3k or 2.5k for higher SC units.
mingyuyu
post Jan 10 2018, 12:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jan 9 2018, 10:38 PM)
Maybe the price is negotiable to about 2k?

I tried to sell another of mine for 2.4k more than a year ago.
It was in really good condition and about 70k shutter.
Waited 2 months. No reply. Gave up.

Figured it should be below 2k now. I guess not yet.
you posted it in GS?

meanwhile people are stilling selling 5dc for 1k+ rclxub.gif

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1384sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:25 PM