Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion
Jack128
May 10 2019, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(digidigi @ May 10 2019, 10:23 AM) Big pay don’t accept Amex, VI get 2 point Thanks for your super fast response u guys are really the sifus here lol! U reckon I shud swap for the MU VI? I mean i see the benefit but the hassle of tracking match days and outcome of matches may not seem worth it ( I saw all the debate here recently ) all seems quite confusing to old uncle like me This post has been edited by Jack128: May 10 2019, 10:49 AM
Jack128
May 11 2019, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 10 2019, 12:07 PM) Worth it or not depends how big is your spending Assuming the normal RM10k swipe to BP every month, you getting 10k miles from MU VI (if MU wins) vs only 4k miles from normal VI (or suey with MU loses) My own experience, I been getting the MU bonus every month since I got the card in Oct. maybe 1 or 2 months not the full because splitting to 2 matches and MU lost or draw 1 of it. Even during the shitty results period in April, did manage to swipe RM5k during the 2-1 win against West Ham Wow that's an impressive track record congratulations. I'm sorry to ask this again and I know this topic has been discussed repeatedly with many heated exchanges among the users here but when do I top up BP for match days again? I read through many pages on this forum but I'm not absolutely certain on the timing . Your advise will be much valued cheers This post has been edited by Jack128: May 11 2019, 11:55 AM
Jack128
May 11 2019, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 11 2019, 12:18 PM) To make it simple.... Before MN Msian time.... On the day of match.... doesn't matter time of match.... For eg if match is played at 2am Malaysia time on Monday we should be topping up anytime on Sunday ? All local time
Jack128
May 11 2019, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 11 2019, 12:41 PM) Oh and if the match is at 10pm Sunday local time then anytime Sunday before the match begins? Is there a time buffer? Or at least 1 min before starting whistle? I may well be an MU fan after this god forbid This post has been edited by Jack128: May 11 2019, 12:47 PM
Jack128
May 11 2019, 01:46 PM

Ok got it! Thanks guys you have been very helpful
Jack128
Jun 4 2019, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 4 2019, 10:33 AM) They sent physical mails to your registered address to notify on the changes as well. Maybe someone in your home took the mail. Yes I received the notification by mail too. Cannot fault MBB for making all the necessary effort to communicate these changes to the customers.
Jack128
Jun 4 2019, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 4 2019, 10:33 AM) They sent physical mails to your registered address to notify on the changes as well. Maybe someone in your home took the mail. Yes I received the notification by mail too. Cannot fault MBB for making all the necessary effort to communicate these changes to the customers.
Jack128
Jun 21 2019, 01:28 PM

Guys, for hotel reservations on Booking.com do we still get 5X TP for both VI and AMex?
Jack128
Sep 30 2019, 06:08 PM

Guys, do we get 5X points on the MBB VI on hotel booking websites like Agoda, Booking.com or Hotel.com?
Jack128
Sep 30 2019, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(digidigi @ Sep 30 2019, 06:15 PM) Why don’t just use Amex? I believe Amex applies a higher forex exchange rate? Correct me if Im wrong but I learned this from here
Jack128
Oct 1 2019, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(eshopez @ Sep 30 2019, 06:47 PM) the forex will only apply IF you choose to pay in currency other than malaysian ringgit. when you book via agoda, if you see it in MYR, the payment will be in MYR and no forex charges will be imposed. therefore, using amex or vi you'll pay the same MYR amount. Amex sure gets 5tp for VI, agoda will get 5tb, because the company is registered other than malaysia. for others booking websites i'm not sure. Got it, thanks for the tip!
Jack128
Oct 1 2019, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(charlesj @ Sep 30 2019, 07:30 PM) Most of the time I prefer booking.com Usually I will opt to pay on site (pay while check-in) using VI in foreign currency, no need to worry about currency / card issue. Only a few occasions I will pay in advance especially those non-refundable and price difference is huge, else I always prefer flexibility vs a few $ cheaper. That's my normal practice too but I realized that advance payments can mean a savings of close to 30% for Japan hotels. Too tempting
Jack128
Jul 27 2020, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(charlesj @ Jul 26 2020, 10:18 PM) Many people apply M2P during golden era when we earned easy points by topping up ewallet. Many of those are not into air miles, with unlimited TP for topping up, it is a good source of cash back. This is still the best card for air miles. Of course, without travel due to covid, many cant hit 80k for AF waiver, lead to mast cancellation too. Golden era was when we earned 5X points with Amex for utility bills- many of us here sapu more than 1 million TP. Those were the days...
Jack128
Jul 27 2020, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(charlesj @ Jul 27 2020, 03:14 PM) Agree, the good old days with KF Amex. Too bad started too late, only managed to earn myself a first class ticket. However, only a handful are paying utilities for million (or even 6 digit) a year. It only benefited a small group of people with genuine spending. However with ewallet + withdrawal, almost everyone can apply and game the loophole. The peak was during Boost accepting Amex + withdrawal. Nothing last forever, life has to move on and wait for next opportunity. Unfortunately the next opportunity may be a long time coming. Banks are not doing great at such a low interest rate environment and the loan moratorium which could possibly be extended will hit them hard. Anyway with travel being so restricted no need to earn some many miles la...
Jack128
Aug 7 2020, 03:40 PM

Hi guys, my 2 Card Premier were issued many years back without wave function. Or are mine just defective? Strangely enough there is a wave logo on the Visa card though. Anybody else have the same problem? Want to do contactless payments
Jack128
Aug 7 2020, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 7 2020, 03:41 PM) "without wave function" or wave not functional? The wave logo is printed on the card but it is not functional. Never has been. Do I need to contact them to activate or something? What about Amex? Does that come with wave function too?
Jack128
Aug 7 2020, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 7 2020, 04:01 PM) contact bank, say the contactless/wave is not functioning if possible, get them to issue a replacement card, FOC Got it, thanks!
Jack128
Aug 7 2020, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(pingoz @ Aug 7 2020, 04:09 PM) My amex doesn't come with wave function. Only Visa has. Maybe the newer cards have this function? Mine is old and cracked, as a premier card they should come in better quality really. The metal cards from OCBC is solid!
Jack128
Aug 21 2020, 03:01 PM

Does anyone have any experience making settlements on share purchase on online trading platform using FPX? Apparently there is a credit card option to draw funds from. I am wondering if they award any points for this as the amount can be very large. Thanks!
Jack128
Aug 21 2020, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Aug 21 2020, 03:07 PM) Good option. FPX can use credit card as payment? I use Hong Leong e-broking and it seems their FPX allows credit card payments. I was in a rush to make settlement so just drew funds from my current account with another bank instead. Was not sure how the credit card works with FPX? Maybe someone here with experience?