Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

allenpee85
post Apr 23 2016, 07:53 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Apr 23 2016, 02:27 AM)
Actually, that's not quite accurate. Its just a misconception that noob UTCs perpetuate to get their clients to buy new funds, switch etc.

Apart from market forces, the unit price drops (significantly) when
1. the manager decides to split the units, eg : 100 units @ NAV1.00 => 200 units @ NAV0.50
2. the manager declares distibutions eg : 100 units @ NAV1.00 declares 0.01 distribution/unit => 100 units @ NAV0.99 + RM1.00 distribution

With that being said, NAV is purely a reflection of how much it cost to buy a unit in the fund right yesterday. I would strongly suggest tracking performance using  MYR values instead.

Just need to figure out as below:-

a) How reliable is the Bid-to-Bid Annualized Return analysis? If shows uptrend, much of the time they gain profit?

b) What they mean as below?
"The performance figures in the table above are calculated using bid-to-bid prices, with any income or dividends reinvested. Performance figures of over 1 year are annualised.(Eg. A 33.1% gain in 3 years works out to a 10% gain per year when annualised.)"

T231H
post Apr 23 2016, 08:07 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(allenpee85 @ Apr 23 2016, 07:53 AM)

a) How reliable is the Bid-to-Bid Annualized Return analysis? If shows uptrend, much of the time they gain profit?

"The performance figures in the table above are calculated using bid-to-bid prices, with any income or dividends reinvested. Performance figures of over 1 year are annualised.(Eg. A 33.1% gain in 3 years works out to a 10% gain per year when annualised.)"
while waiting for value added responses....I found this while googling...
How to calculate NET annualized returns ( ie. after deducting Fundsupermart sales charge)
note the responses from "weiji"....
https://www.fundsupermart.com/main/communit...d=000981&page=1

https://www.fundsupermart.com/main/communit...d=001626&page=1

allenpee85
post Apr 23 2016, 09:47 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 23 2016, 08:07 AM)
while waiting for value added responses....I found this while googling...
How to calculate NET annualized returns ( ie. after deducting Fundsupermart sales charge)
note the responses from "weiji"....
https://www.fundsupermart.com/main/communit...d=000981&page=1

https://www.fundsupermart.com/main/communit...d=001626&page=1
What's the best benefits in terms of return if we put money in RHB Cash Management Fund 2 or shall we direct GIRO to our account instead?

Assume GIRO in our saving account getting normal interest rate.
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2016, 09:58 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(allenpee85 @ Apr 23 2016, 09:47 AM)
What's the best benefits in terms of return if we put money in RHB Cash Management Fund 2 or shall we direct GIRO to our account instead?

Assume GIRO in our saving account getting normal interest rate.
No need Giro or RHB Cash management fund. Maybank eGIA-i with 4% returns. Flexible and instant withdrawal. No penalty. You will still be given 4% p.a for the duration you put (days/weeks)
Downside is not protected by PIDM, principals and returns are not protected, upon uplifting, whatever balance you have, you will need to place back into eGIA-i to earn 4%.

Recommendation
Put few times of rm1k inside. If you need, just withdraw whatever you need and make a new placement with the balance.
xuzen
post Apr 23 2016, 11:11 AM

4,436 posts

Cybermaster,

You told us that your NAV dropped and you have been in the UTF market for one year thereabout.

Please note that in Q1-Y2016, all indices were affected. Not one was spared. So no matter where you put your money, it would have wiped out your gain in that one year.

That is the nature of investing and time and time again investment professionals and gurus always say that investment gain is due to the "time spent in the market" and not timing the market.

For example, for those who invested since 2013, their NAV should hold up quite well.

If I were to be able to peek at WMK's portfolio whom has been investing in UTF > 10 years, I am sure his NAV is still very much positive right? Paging WMK!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 23 2016, 11:14 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2016, 11:45 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 23 2016, 11:11 AM)
Cybermaster,

You told us that your NAV dropped and you have been in the UTF  market for one year thereabout.

Please note that in Q1-Y2016, all indices were affected. Not one was spared. So no matter where you put your money, it would have wiped out your gain in that one year.

That is the nature of investing and time and time again investment professionals and gurus always say that investment gain is due to the "time spent in the market" and not timing the market.

For example, for those who invested since 2013, their NAV should hold up quite well.

If I were to be able to peek at WMK's portfolio whom has been investing in UTF > 10 years, I am sure his NAV is still very much positive right? Paging WMK!

Xuzen
Yeah. Also curious to know Sifu Wong IRR. Living example of someone in UT for > 10 years.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 23 2016, 11:45 AM
rjb123
post Apr 23 2016, 12:50 PM

1,820 posts

I'm still happy to keep my KGF and top up every month - top up same amount every month, maybe more if there's any significant drop.

Same approach I take with my overseas holdings also - the mistake I made before was stay away from markets for too long and sitting on a lot of cash (earning pretty much 0% interest)
xuzen
post Apr 23 2016, 02:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 23 2016, 12:50 PM)
I'm still happy to keep my KGF and top up every month - top up same amount every month, maybe more if there's any significant drop.

Same approach I take with my overseas holdings also - the mistake I made before was stay away from markets for too long and sitting on a lot of cash (earning pretty much 0% interest)
Investors in Malaysia do not know how lucky they are....

When world market takes a tumble, the fund managers comes into Malaysia to take a breather, some form of R&R for their funds under management.

When world market start to rally, the fund manager knows that when they sell back the Malaysian stocks, the local big boys i.e., KWAP, KWSP, LTAT, LTH, Khazanah, PNB will all come and support the local bourse.

Xuzen
lukenn
post Apr 23 2016, 02:42 PM

311 posts

I have no point of reference to what you're asking. Screencap or link, maybe ?
j.passing.by
post Apr 23 2016, 03:09 PM

1,639 posts

Not sure why they say "bid-to-bid prices" when the "NAV/unit" is the more common term. NAV/unit is Net Asset Value per unit, or in short unit price.

As mentioned above, the unit price is not only affected by market movement, but can change due to unit splits and distribution income when the distributed income is reinvested into more units. More units for the same net asset value, hence the unit price changes (drops).

So unlike gold, we can't simply look at the unit price and calculate the gain/lost from the differences between the initial price and the current price.

So if there is any charts solely on the movement of the unit price, I would choose to ignore it, and look at charts that show the performance in % returns. I would still be cautious on the accuracy of the chart in % returns especially if it is done by a blogger or 3rd-party unless the data and info was supplied to them by the fund house.

Because the unit price after an income distribution is affected by the extra reinvested units as well as the daily price movement. So it is not easy to figure out the actual gain/loss without any info by the fund house itself.

So back to the question on how reliable is the figures... well, they should be accurate as the figures are usually taken from monthly/quarterly/annual reports released by the fund houses.

j.passing.by
post Apr 23 2016, 03:38 PM

1,639 posts

Hero or Zero... the verdict is still out.

There is no right or wrong way to invest... if you're feeling you are born lucky and willing to take the risk, then by all means plunge in and speculate... don't let others deter you from making some fast money. Let them look in envy when the market crashes 20%. laugh.gif

I would only give my 2 cents that we should not forget the initial financial objective that was set. If the objective was to speculate for fast returns, then don't change it mid way to buy-and-hold. Use the hit-and-run method as said by someone when we were in Genting.

Me: "We have several hours to play till the early morning."
Pro: "Why set the clock? You want to gamble to kill time or gamble to win?"
Me: "huh???"
Pro: "If win big, run lah! Why still want to continue, for entertainment, is it?"

============

And with almost zero sales charge (and zero exit fee), perfect platform to speculate and buy and sell... maybe better than switching to and fro from mm funds without bothering to check whether there is any switching fee or not.

wongmunkeong
post Apr 23 2016, 04:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 23 2016, 11:11 AM)
Cybermaster,

You told us that your NAV dropped and you have been in the UTF  market for one year thereabout.

Xuzen
no lar, UT/MF xboleh pakai wan
kennot make $ wan (exact same words from an ex-MAA agent, then trying to sell land banking to my buddy)
innocent.gif

thus went into ETFs (cheap mgt fees but have to know the countries' tax rules) & trading options (dang work.. setting up pasar malam nearly every day)
from UT/MF & stocks
devil.gif

but hor.. still buying UT/MF bwhahaah (energy, Emerging, Developed).. like old flame lor sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 23 2016, 04:13 PM
wongmunkeong
post Apr 23 2016, 04:26 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 23 2016, 11:45 AM)
Yeah. Also curious to know Sifu Wong IRR. Living example of someone in UT for > 10 years.
see-food (not seafood too, i see-food, eat-food tongue.gif ) lar bro
no sifu here
just big "L" plate, on my forehead (yo yo busta ryhme) icon_rolleyes.gif

i don't track total IRR or XIRR for mutual funds wor - just each individual funds & per transaction
eg of highlights.
my PRS (been in since May 2013), excluding my tax relief (ie. being tracked as normal UT/MF) is floating around 8%-10%pa range.

my old flame (>10 years held/pumped in.. er.. that doesn't sound too right tongue.gif )
PruSmallCaps.. oops.. sorry honey, nama glamour ESI SmallCaps, still in the 15%pa-17%pa

my Tits fell to 8%-13%pa

my lousiest currently is that energy fund lor
-7%pa to 73%pa (er.. the crazy numbers are due to me plonking in 2015 last quarter till 2016 Feb)

the rest are in between my Tits/PRS to energy fund

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 23 2016, 04:28 PM
wil-i-am
post Apr 23 2016, 05:02 PM

10,001 posts

Can any gals share d key takeaway from today workshop?
allenpee85
post Apr 23 2016, 05:23 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 23 2016, 03:38 PM)
Hero or Zero... the verdict is still out.

There is no right or wrong way to invest... if you're feeling you are born lucky and willing to take the risk, then by all means plunge in and speculate... don't let others deter you from making some fast money. Let them look in envy when the market crashes 20%.  laugh.gif

I would only give my 2 cents that we should not forget the initial financial objective that was set. If the objective was to speculate for fast returns, then don't change it mid way to buy-and-hold. Use the hit-and-run method as said by someone when we were in Genting.

Me: "We have several hours to play till the early morning."
Pro: "Why set the clock? You want to gamble to kill time or gamble to win?"
Me: "huh???"
Pro: "If win big, run lah! Why still want to continue, for entertainment, is it?"

============

And with almost zero sales charge (and zero exit fee), perfect platform to speculate and buy and sell... maybe better than switching to and fro from mm funds without bothering to check whether there is any switching fee or not.
Thank you odor being giving good points especially investors like us.

On FSM, there is no charges on the switching fee? Any limitations?

This post has been edited by allenpee85: Apr 23 2016, 05:23 PM
j.passing.by
post Apr 24 2016, 04:44 PM

1,639 posts

odor ??? smile.gif

Best to read the FAQs in their website; as FSM is a platform of many fund houses with different fees and rules... which can also change from time to time... pointless for anyone to make any off the cuff remarks or regugitate info learnt previously.

pisces88
post Apr 25 2016, 04:03 PM

3,969 posts

anyone holding TA global technology fund? investing in Microsoft/fb/apple stocks etc (majority US stocks). bank agent recommend this UT
Vanguard 2015
post Apr 25 2016, 05:17 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 25 2016, 04:03 PM)
anyone holding TA global technology fund? investing in Microsoft/fb/apple stocks etc (majority US stocks). bank agent recommend this UT
I had this fund but sold it off already after making some profit. I think it has a positive correlation of more 0.90 with CIMB Global Titans, Eastspring Global Leaders Fund and the RHB-OSK US Equity fund.

If you don't mind having overlapping funds and need an aggressive subsidiary fund, then you can consider buying it.
Vanguard 2015
post Apr 25 2016, 05:19 PM

3,541 posts

I have sold off my remaining TA European Equity Fund. Going to cut down gradually on my equity funds and buy more bond funds.
dasecret
post Apr 25 2016, 05:29 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 25 2016, 05:19 PM)
I have sold off my remaining TA European Equity Fund. Going to cut down gradually on my equity funds and buy more bond funds.
So what allocation ratio are you revising towards?

I was going to switch sell GEYF to RHB Islamic Bond at 2.50pm just now. Then arrive at the page that notified me that switching to bond fund also cost me RM25 vmad.gif

Then I hesitated and did not proceed with the transaction. Since you are the expert in switching, what are my other options? Sell to CMF and buy islamic bond?

139 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:45 AM