9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

dasecret
post Mar 18 2016, 10:36 AM

1,498 posts

Took a look at Asia Pac funds performance... we talked a lot about Ponzi 2.0, but it seems ponzi 1.0 been doing better than its peers in the past 6 months

So... anyone buying? cool2.gif

This post has been edited by dasecret: Mar 18 2016, 10:37 AM
dasecret
post Mar 20 2016, 11:51 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 20 2016, 11:38 AM)
Free right...usually banks private bankings will probide for free
Ok, maybe private banking for those HNWI with AUM >usd1m is different. But my experience with those relationship managers for premier banking is not great. Generally they r greener than me with investments and are just promoting whatever the bank ask them to promote

Wealth planner I believe is referring to those certified financial planners who charges a fee for reviewing your current state, retirement n other goals and help you plan how to get from A to B. So it's very different from the product pushers in banks. They should help you to look at your asset allocation, how to protect your wealth and so on
dasecret
post Mar 20 2016, 11:52 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 20 2016, 10:18 AM)
hmm.gif when and if the time comes,...I may have to take the service of a wealth planner...... :thumbsup:
FSM does not provide personal service.

btw,...that article is a guide about how to construct a portfolio......not about them providing wealth planning service  biggrin.gif
Boss, what's the trigger point? At which point do you think you need to engage a wealth planner?
dasecret
post Mar 20 2016, 01:08 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 20 2016, 12:27 PM)
hmm.gif my current thinking, my current rules are IF, WHEN I am fed up with this set IRR target and the chasing of this "illusional IRR" with my current mindset.
by then, I may just call quit and can in the cavalry to help.
by then,....I am already like a dog with its head down and tail wagging between the legs..... sad.gif
current mindset is "I still don't believes I am so unlucky with my choice of funds"
but looking at current status....the time may not be too far off...... bangwall.gif 
hmm.gif well, who know how it will go.......just let it flow for the time being and just try to gather as much understanding and experience about what to do and should be done at time of volatility.
it is easy for one to say "heart must be steady",...but have one really gone thru it, without altering the rhythm of the heart while in it?
When you talk about heart must be steady, I can only think of boss vanguard 2015 it's what he said that pulled me through the last 3 months.

Well, my 0.2cents
I was the biggest advocate for FSM, been telling all my friends to go for it since its peng Leng cheng; I don't have to deal with agents who don't really know what they r talking about.

But I realise that DIY takes a lot more work than just buying what FSM and LYN recommends, I ended up reading and monitoring the market a lot. It's a good thing, since I'm in accounting, these stuffs r no stranger to me, in a way it helps me in my work as well. But, I realise not everyone is up for that type work. My friends who bought just by following the current good returns or recommended funds don't end up in a good place. N I feel very guilty for putting them there

So now, if I have friends seeking for investment advice from me, if they r the type who wants to not do much, I'd recommend financial planner instead. Everyone has different needs. So what if you save 3-5k from sales charge n fees, you can lose a lot more to the market if you don't know what you are doing

Uncle Looi, I'm not saying you don't know what you are doing. But I can't help but to notice you associate luck to your choice of funds which really should not be the case. Perhaps a post mortem with the professionals will help?
IRR is a rolling number, with such volatile time, is your expectation still realistic?

This post has been edited by dasecret: Mar 20 2016, 01:10 PM
dasecret
post Mar 21 2016, 10:26 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 20 2016, 10:20 PM)

Portfolio creation is charged separately, up RM1500, depending on complexity and requirements. Clients paying this fee have the right do their transactions elsewhere as the advice should be unbiased.

Hope this clarifies the situation.
So if don't pay this fee must buy from the planner? tongue.gif
dasecret
post Mar 21 2016, 12:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 21 2016, 11:48 AM)
Nego skill is secondary to the amt of moolah you have..... bruce.gif

You invest a kucing kurap MYR 10K, you expect people to waive their rice bowl for you ar?  mad.gif

You invest say MYR 1M, you can expect people to waive it lor...  wub.gif

Xuzen
If more than RM750k, FSM also provide personalised services on portfolio review jor cool2.gif
dasecret
post Mar 21 2016, 05:01 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 21 2016, 04:53 PM)
Long time no drop by...

How's your guys' IRR? Mine dropped to 5.21%. No transactions made for the past 2 months...busy with work and stocks and girls doh.gif
Hello stranger tongue.gif
My IRR is currently 6.01%... already better than last month... sweat.gif
dasecret
post Mar 21 2016, 07:14 PM

1,498 posts

Looks like the cursing works.... Aladdin fund perform better than the rest for the past 3 months brows.gif

So time to start cursing GTF? vmad.gif
dasecret
post Mar 24 2016, 09:48 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 22 2016, 07:51 PM)
some motivational post for my "shiok" sendiri....
rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
since 29 Feb.....
my portfolio + 2.5%  whistling.gif
but my IRR is just +0.8%  ranting.gif
Hope yours is still ok. My IRR fell by 0.5% from the last time I posted due to rising MYR. Goes to show my portfolio is very foreign based 😑
dasecret
post Mar 24 2016, 10:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 24 2016, 09:55 PM)
mine, 29.2.16 IRR was 4% (porfolio loss 10k) ,
now IRR 7%, portfolio gain 2k.
How to have net loss position but IRR is positive? 🤔
dasecret
post Mar 24 2016, 10:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 24 2016, 10:01 PM)
This happens because of the timing of deposits and withdrawals.
Hmm, cannot visualize. Got worked example? 😁
Bean counters work better with numbers than theory
dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 09:20 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 24 2016, 10:53 PM)
I'm not sure if this is the correct explanation :

01/01/14 - unit price = RM1.00
Purchase 10 units
Cost RM10

31/12/14 - unit price = RM2.00
Purchase 10000 units
Total Units 10010 units
Cost RM20,000
Total Cost RM20,010

01/01/14 - unit price = RM1.90
Redeem 10010 units
Redemption Value 19,019

Where fund NAV has gone up, but investment value has gone down.
Thanks! Interesting, never know that can happen. I thought IRR would weight average the return on each transaction and therefore if net position is a loss then IRR would always be negative

Learn something new thumbup.gif

dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 12:01 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2016, 11:38 AM)
Saw in newspaper tat CIMB gonna change titan fund structure to a multi-class fund hmm.gif got unitholder meeting to vote on the resolution..
They did the same thing with Ponzi 2.0 last year. This enable them to sell the fund in its banks in ASEAN region
dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 25 2016, 01:59 PM)

It really puzzles me how you could be enlightened by Lukenn's example.
True, but the long and short of that is:
overalll there must be a profit, otherwise IRR cannot be positive.
This is a poor example  to explain a negative portfolio with positive IRR.

In your example the IRR CANNOT be positive, unless with locked profit ealier.
Invested amount totalled RM20010,
and current value only RM19019,  IRR sure negative.

You know what, when I first read his example I have the same thought as you.... but, being a nerd bean counter as I am, put in spreadsheet and calculate lor

And this is what I got... the IRR is slightly positive, and hence my comment that it doesn't weight average returns but takes the time value of return instead
dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 07:54 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 06:34 PM)
Anyone still holding EI APSEF?
Err, full name pls. Or nickname if it's popular 😁
dasecret
post Mar 25 2016, 09:41 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 25 2016, 09:35 PM)
Eastspring Invt Asia Pacific Shariah Equity Fund
Oh. Didn't they close this fund? Anyway I don't have 😁
dasecret
post Mar 28 2016, 08:24 AM

1,498 posts

Fundsupermart advertise on my fav radio station -BFM 😎
dasecret
post Apr 5 2016, 04:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 5 2016, 02:23 PM)
KGF outperform ASX FP everytime. Might want to look at that.

If me, just stick with the 5 recommended ones
KGF
Eastspring smallcap
Titans
Ponzi 2.0
Rhb Asian total return
Amprecious (optional if you want very fast returns - high volatility)

You are holding for 3-5 years.  If me, if it drop, just topup more. If it increase, you have 2 choice. Take profit, or just leave it and topup less.

Don't overspread or else returns could be diluted. You dont need a bond as a bond is to stabilise a portfolio by giving fix returns as you have ASX FP. Some might not agree but this will be the way I go.

If is me, I will just go for the 5 funds I listed with the weightage (includes topping up) as follow
KGF 25%
Eastspring 25%
Rhb 25%
Ponzi 2.0 12.5%
Titans12.5%

Right now is a good time to buy Titans (USD fall)
RHB ATR has not been doing well since the start of the year wor
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...n-Fund-MYRHBATR

YTD -7% for a bond fund.... sure ka? and volatility of 8.59

Don't get me wrong, I have that fund also. Just that I would not recommend it to be the only bond fund in the portfolio

This post has been edited by dasecret: Apr 5 2016, 04:14 PM
dasecret
post Apr 5 2016, 07:41 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 5 2016, 05:09 PM)
Yes, I think you could be right. Sorry I am just ranting here. Male menopause.
I was about to say how come mr steady suddenly macam not so steady.
Anyway, the difference between monthly recommended funds and recommended fund list updated annually is - they look at the timing. Usually when FSM thinks there's upside in the near future they would put it in monthly recommended fund. That's my limited observation la
dasecret
post Apr 5 2016, 07:52 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 5 2016, 07:49 PM)
hmm.gif from your "limited" observation......
how many % of those monthly recommendations are right in lets say....3 months later? and how many min % will the ROI by made in this 3 months.....?
hmm.gif need to see if the 2%SC is worth the hit and run... biggrin.gif
I think FSM came out with an article on how did their monthly recommended funds do after their recommendations.
But really, is UT an appropriate vehicle to do speculations like this? Since chief vanguard say the fund no good, I won't consider buying lor

Edit: Found the link
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-the-road--6260

So I can officially declare... not I say one, FSM claims one blush.gif

This post has been edited by dasecret: Apr 6 2016, 11:25 AM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0240sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:17 AM