Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

V429
post Jan 29 2019, 10:14 AM

1,009 posts

Many thanks for the advice smile.gif

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 29 2019, 10:12 AM)
Correct. Spray, agitate, wipe off.

Ideally u wanna use a shorthair soft bristle brush for all the hard parts of interior like dashboard and doors. For tight crevices, toothbrush. For seats and carpet, medium bristle brush. Try avoid hard bristles like toilet brush types as that would most likely damage your fabric. Whe u are at any hypermart, go get a feel of the brushes and u will be able to tell soft, medium and hard when in comparison to each other.
V429
post Jan 30 2019, 02:13 PM

1,009 posts

I use Rainx and face similar misting issue that usually occurs on cold mornings. Usually I have no choice but to spray wiper fluid and wipe off the mist with wiper.

No idea why that happens. Can't tell whether I 'overcoat' it or not. My situation is such that I can't let it cure for 1 day. At most is half a day.

So I just live with it. This is a small inconvenience compare to not coating it and kena waterspot issues later.
V429
post Jan 30 2019, 02:58 PM

1,009 posts

Thanks for the suggestion, but might not be suitable for this case as the product says is for interior glass but the mist forms on exterior glass. Weird right?

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 30 2019, 02:31 PM)
V429
post Feb 2 2019, 10:41 PM

1,009 posts

I think C.W.S intention is to clean off iron particles from windscreen without removing the windscreen coating is it?

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Feb 1 2019, 05:00 PM)
Should I apply carpro iron x on my windscreen? Will it remove the windscreen water repellent treatment coating I done before?
QUOTE(SilentForever @ Feb 2 2019, 08:36 PM)
Use carpro ceriglass to remove all the coating. Claying is also recommended.
V429
post Feb 2 2019, 10:46 PM

1,009 posts

Maybe you can try ask him, haha. I am sure he will appreciate if you notice his workmanship. Speaking of which you reminded me I didn't try whether carpro PERL have water beading effect or not. tongue.gif test it next time. Hehe

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 2 2019, 09:42 PM)
The rubber beads more than my paint now 😅 that day when I send for painting... he got wash my car, it was done by a detailing shop. I wonder what he spray there... and the tire wall also same beads water like a boss.
V429
post Feb 4 2019, 05:29 PM

1,009 posts

I use Meguairs NXT car shampoo. A bit expensive but I quite like it, good foam and cleaning ability in my opinion.

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Feb 4 2019, 03:46 PM)
What's everyone's favorite car soap? Im just about to finish the 4L bottle of Osren's bubble and wax soap and looking to pick up a new car soap.

I learned I shouldn't buy too much of one product. It'll take me forever to finish and I like trying out new stuff 😅
V429
post Feb 10 2019, 11:54 AM

1,009 posts

Noticed today Carpro PERL on tires does still have a bit of water beading / sheeting effect even after 2 weeks. But not so much on external plastic parts.

Also, noticed my parents' car have the same problem as Victor. There were also some other bugs and flies all died inside. Wonder how they get in? Hmm..

V429
post Feb 10 2019, 11:18 PM

1,009 posts

Bro Clement, I think basically if you wash your car regularly (once per week or at least once every 2 weeks) you dont need to worry too much about watermark. Watermark are usually a problem only if water dried on your car and you leave it without washing it off for long period of time and the mineral deposits in the water is baked or etched into car paint / window.

Another thing I would suggest you to do for your new car, is get coating for all your car windows (something like rainx), this in my opinion helps to minimize potential watermark on your window (though it may cause wiper juddering).

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Feb 10 2019, 05:03 PM)
Which means now I just need to apply the wax on the whole car then every morning spray some water on my car can already right? No need to polish for water mark removing?
V429
post Feb 11 2019, 08:18 AM

1,009 posts

I see, maybe you can consider trying rainx since it's not too expensive I think. I also sometimes get morning mist on windscreen. Couldn't find reason why it happens so I just spray water and activate wiper to get rid of it.

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Feb 11 2019, 07:13 AM)
I bought the soft 99 glaco. My concern of using that right now, I worry it may make my Windows look oily 😅 because I did on my parents car, they complain now early morning the car windscreen got the mist stain sad.gif
V429
post Feb 12 2019, 11:31 AM

1,009 posts

Application : easy, after diluting it just drip some on cloth / sponge that wipe it on rubber/plastic/tire. Best thing is you don't need a lot, like 1 or 2 drip on sponge is enough for an entire plastic door panel. Just need to spread a very thin layer of it.

Durability : honest don't know long term durability because I just started using 3 weeks ago. Based on observation, on tire still have water beading effect after 2 weeks but the matte look has faded. Internal plastic still looks good after 2 weeks. External plastic seems to have faded after 2 weeks.

Protection : still can't tell if it really helps prolong life of plastic & rubber against the sun since I only started using this 3 weeks ago. But this product does say it provide protection against UV rays.

I think carpro perl is worth a try and indeed very versatile. It's especially nice in car internal plastic panels. Makes it matte and a bit shiny.

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Feb 12 2019, 10:46 AM)
Hey bro, I was wondering how you find Carpro PERL in terms of application, durability, and as a protectant?

I'm actually interested in purchasing PERL exactly because of what @blurcase mentioned, in that it can be diluted and is multiuse. Reminds of of ONR because of how versatile it can be.
V429
post Feb 12 2019, 11:34 AM

1,009 posts

Since my car is parked outdoors all day everyday so I spray wax my car almost every week and maybe cleaner wax once a month. I have not yet start claying my car yet though.

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Feb 12 2019, 10:51 AM)
How often do you guys clay and wax your daily drive car?
V429
post Feb 12 2019, 12:19 PM

1,009 posts

I would think of it this way :
-any loose dirt would already been wash off before waxing
-paint might still have embedded dirt that requires claying
-however when I wax it, as long as I don't use too much force, those embedded dirt won't come off, stick to sponge and scratch car.

Embedded dirt is also why I use cleaner wax once a month as it helps to remove some of them. The above is just my opinion. Feel free to experiment and share your thoughts.

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Feb 12 2019, 11:55 AM)
Is it okay to wax your car with all the contaminants on your paint? Wouldn't it promote new scratches?
Yesterday I tried waxing without claying. I stopped halfway through because I can feel whatever that is sticking on the car paint.
V429
post Feb 12 2019, 12:20 PM

1,009 posts

Bro, u need cleaner wax for those stain. I would suggest u get soft99 meta clean.

Edit : another alternative would be APC (all purpose cleaner).

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Feb 12 2019, 12:04 PM)
is there anything i can do to remove watermark/stain? yesterday sent my car to wash, unable to clear off some stains..
This post has been edited by V429: Feb 12 2019, 12:21 PM
V429
post Feb 12 2019, 06:32 PM

1,009 posts

1.nope. Film is a physical object wrapped on car, coating is something like harden liquid on car surface. Most would say film offers more protection than coating.
2.no idea.
3.no idea.
4.not a good idea. They will probably scratch up your film / coating / paint badly with improper washing techniques and dirty cloths. Better to wash yourself or find a good detailer.

Not trying to burst ur bubble but maybe you can try opening a new thread on main page to ask Coz most of us here is more towards the good old fashion wash, polish & wax method. Just a suggestion smile.gif

QUOTE(lchee @ Feb 12 2019, 04:54 PM)
1.  Is paint protective film the same as coating? 
2.  Cost of ppf is roughly how much?
3.  Which method can protect car most from paint chip for a car that is prone to rock chips due to being super low at the front?
4.  After applying ppf or coating, can i just leave it to the condo car cleaner that I pay RM50 monthly where he will clean the car exterior 3 times per week or need special care?
This post has been edited by V429: Feb 12 2019, 06:33 PM
V429
post Feb 19 2019, 10:39 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 19 2019, 10:16 AM)
I use Osren tar remover, they are priced reasonable.
Mind sharing how is Osren Tar remover like? And how do you use it? Spray on paint and wipe?

Reason I am asking is Coz I bought turtlewax bug & tar remover in spray bottle. I tried using it and found I don't like it Coz it's very oily. So I wonder how are other brand of tar removers like.
V429
post Feb 19 2019, 11:51 AM

1,009 posts

Can I ask what do you mean by using tar remover by machine? Like spray it and use DA polisher to spread it? So far I only spray and wipe off with cloth.

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 19 2019, 11:34 AM)
Its not that oily compared to others, and it dries off pretty fast after wiping.

But if I', using machine, i prefer oily (like the meguairs)

I even use it part of my clay-compound-tar remover-polish routine

V429
post Feb 19 2019, 02:36 PM

1,009 posts

I see. Thanks for sharing smile.gif

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 19 2019, 02:09 PM)
Mine is a old product that i brought back from US. they dont carry it any move, they had separated paint cleaner and bug/tar remover. But the current Paint Cleaner works as well for tar removing.

ANd yes, I use rotary machine to easy the cleaning, else my finger gets real hot while rubbing! hahaha
V429
post Feb 19 2019, 03:37 PM

1,009 posts

Is it coming soon? I am quite curious whether this can withstand Malaysia's hot weather or not. I also guess this ain't going to be cheap. Maybe around RM80 to RM100 per spray bottle?

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Feb 19 2019, 02:58 PM)
Coming soon for Malaysia market, been waiting to try this biggrin.gif
V429
post Feb 19 2019, 04:02 PM

1,009 posts

I see. Thanks for sharing. I really hope this new product can withstand our weather, if it does I would buy it in a heart beat (provided it's not priced too ridiculous tongue.gif)

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Feb 19 2019, 03:45 PM)
Yeah it is mentioned coming soon on their lazada header link

For Malaysia raining and sunny weather it is just too harsh for any wax or sealant products I tried so far. Mostly feel like last only 1 month or 2 without top up, which is why this new product could be time saver stuff.
V429
post Feb 21 2019, 10:05 AM

1,009 posts

You can get it at Osren HQ at Kepong, you can Google the address. If not you can find other brands of Tar remover at various Ace hardware outlets too.

QUOTE(ikankering. @ Feb 21 2019, 09:42 AM)
where to buy? is it ok on the paint? thx for suggestion  rclxms.gif
This post has been edited by V429: Feb 21 2019, 10:08 AM

41 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1566sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:23 PM