Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Quazacolt
post Feb 22 2021, 09:50 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Feb 22 2021, 09:39 AM)
Yupe. Will polish and seal this coming weekend. Still thinking if I want to do another round of UC for certain parts to try to reduce them hairline scratches
Yeah feel free to do another UC before UP then I'd recommend an IPA wipe for better LSP adhesion.

Also consider IPA wipe if your project is going overnight/spanning multiple days cuz dust will settle on surface.

My almost 1 month protect used half a liter of 1:10 IPA solution and about 2 microfiber cloths cuz the first one gotten too dirty from all the wiping (not just usual road/air dusts, polishing dust as well!)
Quazacolt
post Mar 1 2021, 04:40 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Feb 28 2021, 05:10 PM)
then it rains for a bit  ranting.gif
Raining is good for any detailer tongue.gif wub.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 3 2021, 04:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Mar 2 2021, 02:04 PM)
haha.. Are there any coatings that I could apply DIY to reduce scratches?
Hey long time no see bro! biggrin.gif

yes you definitely could buy even from reputable brands or the cheapo Lazada/Shopee/Aliexpress coatings that's widely available

few caveats:
1) your biggest challenges will be the surface prepping prior to sealing it with coating
2) whatever coating you may have, scratches will still be there, it is merely on the coating surface instead of the clear coat.
what i meant is that, depending on how thick the coating is, scratches will still be visible and as you polish it down, you remove the coating, and/or the clear coat.
3) high durability/high thickness (or hardness) coatings may be challenging to apply themselves, they may cure to a solid lump on over application/drips like i experienced a little with the 3M headlamp clear coat not too long ago as that was literally a clear coat meant for plastics.
imagine repainting the clear coat on your car, albeit at a thinner level/not so permanent level.
some coatings even require UV light to speed up curing so that it does not stay liquid for too long as it has potential for running/drips/contaminants (dusts) to ruin its finishing.
Quazacolt
post Mar 4 2021, 12:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 3 2021, 09:07 PM)
Wah! Otais here stocking up on SnS huh? Anyway it's been awhile some beading pics been posted... Here's to one month durability of Osren Last Coat... Its been nice getting rain on evening this 2 days...
annual detailing really makes it hard to explore new products sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 4 2021, 12:17 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 4 2021, 12:12 AM)
Get another car, then u can do twice a car 😋
ady doing for 2-3 cars liao LOL

not willing to take up more innocent.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 4 2021, 10:19 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Mar 3 2021, 08:59 AM)
I see, will the white turns yellowish in time too even with regular detailing?
Hey! Nice see-ing you here too!

Noted on the caveats, maybe i try apply on a small section and see how is the effect first. Any brands can recommend me to look into for starter? biggrin.gif

Getting the car soon wanna preserve the white as long as possible.. biggrin.gif
with regular detailing, definitely not.
the clear coat may thin out if you do a lot of polishing/compounding (which you shouldn't if the car is well maintained since day 1 or a major detailing session)

coating wise i am not familiar since i am still into old school (analog? tongue.gif) wax/sealants.
my main LSP (last step protection) are DodoJuice Blue Velvet, Meguiar ULW (ultimate liquid wax), and Sonax Profiline HW 02-04 (hw = hard wax)
then supported by Sonax BSD (brilliant shine detailer), Meguiar UQD (ultimate quik detailer), Meguiar UQW (ultimate quik wax)
or maintenance with Turtlewax cheapo Zip Wash and Wax or Turtlewax ICE wash and wax if i am not plain washing + spray LSP with Meguiar Gold Class car wash (not wash and wax)

looking forward to trying out the new hybrid/ceramic/graphene/sio2 etc etc new spray sealants when my existing products deplete laugh.gif

personally, no need bother 1 small section, straight whack whole car and as the protection/reapplication and product finish , you try something else.
detailing products typically quite competitive so if you're on reputable brands, and especially home consumer lineup, it's VERY hard to go wrong.
Quazacolt
post Mar 4 2021, 10:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 3 2021, 09:27 AM)
my thoughts were to go to Meg, as the quantity is more...is this thinking good / correct / right? newbie here, pls challenge this if the tinking is wrong...
some brands, especially DodoJuice go with "Less is more" wink.gif

good products usually require very little amount even from Meguiar (especially the newer lineup products) so quantity/price can be a bit skewered.
Quazacolt
post Mar 6 2021, 09:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 5 2021, 05:43 PM)
DIY wax your own will be cheaper if you have time.
I switched from coating to self wash & wax, and i love my car more now 😄
kinda why even if i got money, i also probably won't do PPF or coating.

the shine and satisfaction, water sheeting and/or beading effects on a well detailed car is very hard to replicate on coatings and near impossible on PPF.
Quazacolt
post Mar 8 2021, 09:35 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 8 2021, 09:07 PM)
Tonight shopee sale for car detailing.. vouchers:

Meguiar's: Spend RM 200 and above and get a free Meguiar's cap.

3M Autocare: Spend a minimum of RM120 to get a free Fabric and Upholstery Protector.

Soft99: Get a free Air Freshener with any purchase.

Osren: Spend a minimum of RM20 to get a free Quality Microfibre Cloth.

IGL Coatings: Spend a minimum of RM 50 to get a free 2021 calendar or RM 100 for a free bottle of Ecoclean Pure 100ml.

Punch in these vouchers when checking out to get even more:

Voucher 1 (code CATNEXK7): 50% coins cashback, no minimum spend, capped at 500 coins

Voucher 2 (code CATNOEP9): 20% coins cashback minimum spend RM50, capped at 1,000 coins
wa poison ni laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 8 2021, 10:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Mar 8 2021, 09:41 PM)
Just finished compound with Meg UC... Damned I'm impressed with microfiber paired with UC. Made 2 pass but haven't polish yet... 1st pic bonnet and 2nd pic roof
cant wait for overall results after you finish with polishing(and/or glaze) and LSP biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 9 2021, 08:38 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 9 2021, 07:50 AM)
But it is taking a heck load of space at my porch cos I don't have a dedicated rack...
My wife gotten me dedicated rack(s) sweat.gif wub.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 9 2021, 10:28 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 9 2021, 08:47 AM)
Was thinking of getting those metal racks from Tesco/Giant and assemble it myself but always decided to walk away. laugh.gif
Not sure on Giant, Tesco ones (at Melaka anyways) are small/fairly expensive (for its size)

I gotten from Shopee and RM60 per rack https://shopee.com.my/product/26091651/2680...99-1615256315.9
L 55cm W 35cm H 160cm 5 tiers

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 9 2021, 09:19 AM)
I put in boxes.. easier to cover/stack/hide away hahaha
Mine was in (still in, 2 racks only arrived last week and haven't assemble lol) boxes until it became a huge hassle to unstack them all over the entire store room floor for accessing.

I got like 3 ikea stackable small boxes with wheels, few plastic box/basket ( tray like container for the long water hoses) can't remember from where, and few shipping cardboard boxes (like those gallon sized Meguiar pro detailer/mirror glaze liquids take up a ton of space lol) split between my KL house and Melaka house that I've moved my majority of items there as I only do detailing at Melaka house past few years. (Yeah long time pending spring cleaning/consolidation lol!)
Quazacolt
post Mar 9 2021, 10:33 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 9 2021, 09:46 AM)
How often do u use iron remover? It will react with disc brakes i think? So cannot use often?
Everytime I wash my car. (which I only do once every few months lol, per year I think maybe less than 5 to 7 washes in total including my annual major detailing)

It only react to iron particles and those that are still on the pads have other bonding materials so no worries.
The disc rotors themselves totally no issue as it is a solid iron chunk. It does however remove majority of brake dust particles from the disc and some of those particles are rust resistant or won't rust at all (eg: organic material or ceramics) so almost guaranteed to rust after usage. Which you brake, those rust dust fall off onto rims... LPPL dirty again until you hose them off or go for a quick drive :star:

So far no experience on pads performance and I drive by car(s) pretty hard (consequently having serious brake dust issues lol) and even bringing to SIC.
Quazacolt
post Mar 9 2021, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 9 2021, 10:38 AM)
Lucky bastard...
Matter of perspectives/2 sides of coin etc etc bro notworthy.gif

My boxes etc need to be nearly stacked up, but doing so I am unable to access my items.

So RM120 spent for a decent compromise/peace of mind (married men can relate lol)

But if it's entirely up to be, RM120 can get another bottle of UQD or some MF cloths, or a tank + petrol tongue.gif

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 9 2021, 10:40 AM)
I noticed i used iron terminator on my wife's 10+ year old myvi, alot of stuff came out and it changes the brake feel lol
Maybe if you don't brake hard/harder brake pads material, you'll need a bit more time to have the same/previous feel as the pads material slowly adhere to the disc again.

I wouldn't worry either way lol

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 9 2021, 10:44 AM
Quazacolt
post Mar 11 2021, 11:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 7 2021, 01:23 AM)

75th Anniversary Ceramic+Graphene paste wax!
hey i just finally managed to watch this
thanks for the link and fuck the poison laugh.gif

paste wax is definitely right up my alley being a little old school on the detailing scene and i love the scents (by Meguiar's / DodoJuice) when it comes to their paste wax (or for meg, liquid)

so.
https://www.turtlewax.com/pages/75th-anniversary
https://www.turtlewax.com/products/turtle-w...phene-paste-wax
10 in 1 wax they say?
we developed a unique blend of 10 different waxes to create one of the most powerful paste wax solutions ever.

Infused with Graphene and slick SiO2 polymers, this ultra-premium Graphene + Ceramic paste wax fills light imperfections and protects for a glassy, showroom finish that doesn’t quit.

1) Graphene
2) Ceramic
3) SiO2
4) Carnauba
5) polymer net/shield sealant
i wonder what are the other 5?

makes me really itchy wanting to pull the trigger lol.

the results, beading AND sheeting (usually its hard to get both... Megs [ultimate series] and Dodo tend to be on the bead side, while Sonax tend to be on the sheet side) are performing very VERY strongly.
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2021, 04:00 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 11 2021, 04:23 PM)
It beads but not so tight and 'round' like a freshly beaded car, especially the 2nd pic.

Probably give it a wash and spray one layer of wax?

voscar
Yeah like 3 months old Meguiar ULW right after rain
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2021, 10:21 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 12 2021, 08:31 AM)
Fuyoh! Looking nice bro. wub.gif
Thanks XD

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 12 2021, 09:40 AM)
Haiya you all so obsessed with water beading. Last year I also achieved that what...

Now lazy jaga only wash once per month so no more.
Best I still prefer BOTH sheeting and beading. Sheet all water first and whatever remain bead nicely.
So far, haven't encounter such product until this turtle wax 75 anniversary paste wax YouTube laugh.gif

As for my own cars, few months wash once tongue.gif
The HRV I shown was just washed last week mainly cuz want shop interior vacuuming as she's traveling to KL. and the last wash prior that was around January during the headlamp restoration and major annual detailing.

Yes nothing to shout about as Meguiar ULW is a very old product after all tongue.gif (I can't remember if they released improved formulation updates)
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2021, 10:34 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Mar 12 2021, 09:52 PM)
No wo, improved version of ULW already launched overseas, improved slickness and durability. Too bad I'm not trying🤣
ooo nice!

how come not trying? still got old ULW and HCW? XD
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2021, 11:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Mar 12 2021, 10:48 PM)
Yeah man, old ULW still cannot finished, don't know how many years already haha... They updated too slow.

HCW reserved for my new toy, can't wait to try, now every week wash car I used ULW to finish sooner.

Here the poison:

https://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthrea...p-New-Packaging
Yeah mine still around however i think ULW going a bit low, maybe 30-50%? maybe 3-5 more years assuming i only doing 1 or 2 cars max per year.
i think i was using since 2013 ? lol
wow very rajin wash and wax every week laugh.gif

woah that's very recent Nov 2020! thanks bro thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2021, 12:12 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2021, 10:57 PM)
notworthy.gif wash 2 cars weekly I also tend to curi ayam liao...
I kemaluan besar few months wash once notworthy.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 15 2021, 12:12 AM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5286sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:35 PM