Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Quazacolt
post Mar 16 2021, 02:20 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 15 2021, 08:39 PM)
Bump. Really thinking of getting this but seems like they don't ship to international addresses? sad.gif

Any other alternatives? Really do not like the hassle of using traditional clay
see if Osren still got clay cloths thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 09:34 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 16 2021, 01:51 PM)

Shocking reliability!
considering the price, 1 more product to ignore lol
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 09:36 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 16 2021, 06:50 PM)
It still has some sheeting
naw pretty dead. water sticks lol
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 09:41 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 17 2021, 01:00 AM)
So when sunset, I brought out white LED battery-powered light to proceed the coating job, to my horror, under the white LED light I'm able to see the round circular light haze of my Ultimate Compound work! During daytime I didn't see it, but it was now visible circular pattern under LED light, omg. So I ignore it and proceed with coating job, luckily applying to coating able to masquerade those circular haze and making the paint looks glossy (black car).

Any idea what is the circular haze? It doesn't seems to be scratches, but sort of like compound residue?
basic steps: rough paint/fresh paint from oven or repainting > sanding > compounding > polishing (and maybe glazing)
even sanding you aware that there's lower grit to higher grit sanding right? (not just car application)

light haze/marring etc from compounding.

that's why we advised to use ultimate polish lol
so... you'll have to close an eye as you've sealed in that imperfection lo sweat.gif
if able to mask/masquerade as you said, then good la, either the coating has fillers, and/or the viscosity is thin enough to just fill itself in the imperfections.
(reminds me of my 3M headlight coating process!)
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 17 2021, 09:56 AM)
Ya, years back I did sanding and respray my headlamp, been gone through those steps especially sanding 1000 > 1500 > 2000 grits. Took me a few days just for headlamp job.

Previously all the while I'm using Soft99 Metaclean one step polish only, didn't has this kind of haze issue, so could be Ultimate Compound rougher grit. This time uses Ultimate Compound because I realize my 1 year old coating looks very bad with scratches and water marks, reckon will be harder for Metaclean to lift those up. Ya Meg UC did well job eliminate most of that.
yes you are correct that UC is indeed rougher grit.

since coating done ady, just maintain it until coating wears off thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 02:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

wow lol
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 02:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 17 2021, 02:52 PM)
Actually way too much products and too small test area for my liking.

But anyways, it is a good way to test many items at the same time.

That video you shared earlier on the TW Graphene Flex really made me reconsider graphene.

I might want to get the TW Ceramic Wax to apply as my new base coat then maintain with S&S.
yeah good for us that dont have a free panel like that and so many products/money and time.

the video was from another forumer la... StevenL notworthy.gif

yeah 2 months for their top of the line graphene with such high price tag... very disappointing
Quazacolt
post Mar 17 2021, 03:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 17 2021, 03:08 PM)
Woops paiseh bro.

Sorry mixed up. Ish.

Anyhow, yes for the pricing, the durability isn't that impressive.
np np

im really hoping to see durability tests on the new turtlewax 10 in 1 paste wax though laugh.gif
and/or perhaps a liquid version so i can easily use with my Rupes.

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 17 2021, 03:16 PM)
Anyone tried IGL products?
not for me bro
Quazacolt
post Mar 18 2021, 12:51 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 17 2021, 04:49 PM)
So it rain less than 24 hours after coating.

I prefer water sheeting instead of beading, which leaves the water droplets for sun burning water mark. Is there any ceramic coating focus on water sheeting?

Ok about 1 hour after rain stop, sloped surface already dried, no water droplets so I guess the surface is quite slick huh?
Still there are water droplets accumulating on middle of the roof, bonnet, and boot with less inclination level.
hate it when the lowyat forum like button doesn't work!
nice results bro thumbup.gif

to answer your question, look towards products from Sonax, they don't care about beading at all.

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 17 2021, 09:28 PM)
I saw the video posted by quazacolt, showing the IGL premier still good after 6 months. Looking for promos for 4.4 shopee hehehe
parallel imported i assume? never heard of IGL until that video LOL

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 18 2021, 12:54 AM
Quazacolt
post Mar 18 2021, 07:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 18 2021, 07:11 AM)
Sonax products sure are pricey - heard from previous sifus here that it used to be cheaper under the previous distributor.

Like the Brilliant Shine Detailer - still costs RM150 even after 2 years! Gosh.

I did kepo their website earlier this year and saw they do have a lot of new products like ceramic range etc but it's not launched here. sweat.gif
yeah i was harping about that a lot as i gotten active again in this thread.
BSD was about RM60-90 only LOL

their stupid new distributor lo... sigh mention them also heartache je

anyways!

after beading die, sheeting remains.

god that's a very durable looking paste wax! LOL
Quazacolt
post Mar 18 2021, 08:12 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 18 2021, 07:59 AM)
IGL famous Buatan Malaysia brand you don't know? Lol.
Yes it was our local brand, R&D in house and manufactured
not at all laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 18 2021, 02:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 18 2021, 11:59 AM)
Tunggu apa lagi? Beli la demi our happiness 😝
wa i still got like 5 wax/sealant leh lol

The DodoJuice it'll supposedly replace is still like... 60-70% :/
i even have my ancient turtle wax hardshell paste wax (last i checked few years ago, surprisingly the oil haven't dry up) that's from 2010 or 2011?

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Mar 18 2021, 11:37 AM)
can this actually be applied on top of an existing nano ceramic coating :hmmm:
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Mar 18 2021, 01:27 PM)
hmm.gif may want to try it if possible. there are some parts on my car where water starts to sheet already but is too lazy to send the entire car a day or two for "touch up".
how is paste wax better than ceramic coating  blink.gif
i think yes you can layer on top of coating

and i also think yes, it may be potentially be better than ceramic coating
that wax itself also contain ceramic and graphene.
the way i see it, it's just a "wax" in name, more towards being a sealant, in paste form.
Quazacolt
post Mar 22 2021, 09:26 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 22 2021, 08:02 PM)
Hehe unfortunately my stocks are still at hometown. Need to wait until we can travel across states then I will bring my stocks  biggrin.gif
sigh this state border controls... multiple homes/places for storage was a supposed to be a convenience suddenly becomes inaccessible lol :x
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2021, 12:06 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 29 2021, 01:38 PM)
It works... and you would appreciate water sheeting and beading even more lol.
i've always been tempted to get a blower now you're just poisoning me LOL
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2021, 10:29 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

It was raining during our birthday dinner with wife. As I went out to re park the car, couldn't help but noticed those pretty beads. Interestingly, front bonnet was completely dry probably from the wax and engine heat.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Last 3 pictures were taken when car was at home and parked. Most of the water was automatically dried up.

Last time the car was washed was during my major detailing on December 2020
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2021, 10:33 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 30 2021, 09:33 AM)
Haha if all goes well - tomorrow hopefully.

That's the magic of the Detailing thread. brows.gif
I also got blower but hardly used.  sweat.gif
Congrats on your new car! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 30 2021, 09:35 AM)
Cordless, trust me... if corded I also lazy use... cause after wash car... wet floor... drag the cables around etc...
Cordless, and it shall be fully utilized  rclxm9.gif
Yeah same here man, that's what holding me off, set up and packing up the pressure washer was already a chore lol!

Btw if let's say the battery of the cordless die, replacement battery packs easily available? Or that time usually just replace whole unit?
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2021, 10:50 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 30 2021, 10:03 AM)
I still love using Meguiar Gold Shampoo and paired it with UQW. Love the suds and love the smell.
Been using Meguiar products for 6 years  bruce.gif
I just ordered another one from Lazada birthday sale
Finally finished one Meguiar gold class shampoo in estimated 7+ years time (until plastic also disintegrated needed to migrate the shampoo contents)

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 30 2021, 10:14 AM)
Only one base coat and clear coat was given. Seen others giving similar feedback e.g. the touchup not same with original. Let me see how it looks like after few days and get back to u
It's never going to be the same as original as application timing and condition different. And factoring weathering/wear of the surrounding clear coat vs a fresh applied spot clear coat.

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Mar 30 2021, 10:23 AM)
Hmmm i think you may have got the wrong paint, for platinum pearl white should have 2 base coat.

1 is flat white another is the platinum pearl effect layer. I just got mine havent use it yet. Plan to test it on a paper first. Got 1 small stone chipped paint on car acceptance  dry.gif
[attachmentid=10825899]
Yeah some color/base coating have another layer like yours.
My Iswara only one metallic silver so base/color coat > coat coat and a rubbing compound.

The base coat term can get confusing as sometimes that could refer to the primer coat.
Car bare metal > galvanizing/anti rust/e coat > primer /base coat > color/top/base coat/main paint > finally a clear coat protection

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 30 2021, 10:51 AM
Quazacolt
post Apr 1 2021, 06:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Mar 31 2021, 11:40 PM)
your case intrigued me much because automotive paints are engineering to be very flexible to accommodate the constant change in temperature (expansion and contraction) therefore paint cracking (unless grossly neglected) is a very rare occurence hmm.gif
it could be surface/underneath rust, or badly deformed plastic panels that can easily rip any paint apart from within.
Quazacolt
post Apr 1 2021, 06:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 17 2021, 02:11 PM)

wow lol
QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 17 2021, 03:16 PM)
Anyone tried IGL products?
QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 17 2021, 04:17 PM)
What sort of IGL products you're looking at?
QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 17 2021, 09:28 PM)
I saw the video posted by quazacolt, showing the IGL premier still good after 6 months. Looking for promos for 4.4 shopee hehehe
hmm.gif https://iglcoatings.com/product/ecocoat-premier/
the youtube video did not show it being "ecocoat premier" though, and mentioned it is a pre-production model/prototype.

and to the geeky tongue.gif
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13X5...#gid=1353057482

=edit=
ok my bad the spreadsheet DOES contain the link and it IS ecocoat!
https://iglcoatingsusa.com/product/ecocoat-premier/

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 1 2021, 06:51 AM
Quazacolt
post Apr 1 2021, 10:35 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 1 2021, 02:29 PM)
Speaking of IGL.

Just saw this on my Shopee chat brows.gif

ooo they got Lazada lazmall too https://www.lazada.com.my/products/igl-coat...s825444939.html

https://shopee.com.my/IGL-Coatings-Ecocoat-...6020.2291566114

QUOTE(joeblow @ Apr 1 2021, 10:17 PM)
May I know what can I use to remove the scratches? Can I use car wax or car polish to do it? If nothing else works I may have to use a black marker to just "paint" over the scratches to cover it up.

is that plastic surface textured? if it is, are you willing to level down the entire portion to be smooth?
bear in mind, polishing is not magic. it is merely cutting the entire surface to be at the same smooth level.

if you don't mind, plentiful of polishing products that's able to do the job.
if i may suggest, try just black marker pen/sharpie repaint over, polish a bit, rinse repeat to minimize polishing required + having the black pigmentation embedded in the scratched area so perhaps can reduce the polishing required.
if the white marks are merely the paint transfer from the other surface, then can ignore the black marker part since your polishing would be a more abrasive cleaning step, after they removed it'll be black again.

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.4748sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:34 AM