35 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 07:45 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 07:28 AM)
Just a quick update:

Itchy to test out Speed & Barrier spray on a small panel of my bonnet upon reaching office. Car hasn't been washed since Saturday so it's a bit dusty.

Having said that, I sprayed a bit onto the panel and wiped with one towel. Once it dried up, I noticed got streaks. So I took another towel to wipe dry. Aiyo. Was working under poor lighting so can't really see the extent of the unwiped streaks. Haha. Will probably finish off with a damp towel after work.

I did a finger test on the panel though, it's quite smooth. laugh.gif
best to prep & clean the surface prior to applying any new product. Dirty/contaminated surface will cause streaking smile.gif
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 12:36 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 3 2020, 08:34 AM)
Havent start open mine sweat.gif

wah new packaging... mine is the old 4L bottle

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 10:24 AM)
Btw, been wanting to ask this question for some time.

What are the benefits of using those 'expensive' microfibre towels? Not talking about Norwex yea. brows.gif I mean, there are some selling for like > RM50 for one towel...

Meg's Water Magnet at RM78 or so I think will ignore since it's more of a drying aid.

Just curious whether a more expensive towel will be more effective and better result vs let's say a more affordable alternative like Osren/PG etc which are retailing at < RM25/30 for drying/buffing needs.

Example, CarPro's drying towel selling for RM66 whilst the Mega drying towel from Osren costs about RM16. And I noticed Osren has a new drying towel - Ultra... RM68...  hmm.gif

Too cheap I tend to use it for interiors/lower half of the cars and I tend to use older towels for rims cleaning & engine bay.
i find water magnet will harden after a few use... even when i dry them indoors away from the sun.. and wash with very light apc solution. so i retire them for glass use.

I dry with the following MF
1. twisted pile MF bought from https://www.ebay.com.my/itm/2PCS-Supreme-Mi...ng/254315806424
2. Miracle dryer from Chemical guys
3. Fluffy MF from https://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/cleanyourcar...39-drying-towel

Branded MF are expensive because of
1. Brand
2. import duties
3. shipping cost
4. quality
5. MF blend. 80:20 vs 70:30
6. MF origin. china vs korea

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 10:38 AM)
Anybody here have experiences with clay cloth/towels?

Myself using Osren's Clay Cloth and so far been working reasonably well.

Just came across this on Carpro's page:

Looks like a clay cloth too... Anyone tried before? brows.gif
clay towel is fast!

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 01:20 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 3 2020, 12:51 PM)
Eih, Osren have a new drying towel similar looking design to the above.
They bought in late biggrin.gif

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 3 2020, 12:51 PM)
But what we are curious is are there significant difference in performance for the branded MF? Is it a noticeable difference or about the same?
erm it depends... i dont care much about brand but which specs is suitable for my own use smile.gif

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 02:23 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 01:43 PM)
Wow, the Duffy towel costs GBP 8.95 but the shipping...

Cannot la... GG lo.

Might as well source for other alternatives that's not so painful to the wallet. brows.gif
i bought them when my brother did his studies there smile.gif

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jul 3 2020, 01:44 PM)
You mean this Osren Ultra ? Ultra

Its this a good buy a ? i been using the Mega towel for my drying i usually need 2 pcs which is completely dry in order to dry just 1 car.  confused.gif
if you car is hydrophobic, then you should "dry"with water first... later finish off the left over droplets with MF or blower.

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 01:46 PM)
Was browsing thru Osren's website and just curious what's the diff between their 3 tyre shine products:

Tyre Shine HV
Tyre Shine LV
Reblack

Most of the bros here mentioned Reblack though...
HV = high viscosity water based
LV = low viscosity water based
reblack = mine is gel type lah

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 3 2020, 01:49 PM)
My osren MF towel collections

wah got gold MF leh... when was this?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 3 2020, 01:56 PM)
Side note, this RM68 ultra towel.. I wonder how does it compare against my Fireball Black Fox Twist Drying Towel.

https://www.fireballsingapore.com.sg/produc...ing-towel-70x45
if you dont buy then u dont know how will it be like.... BUY BUY BUY rclxm9.gif
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 02:59 PM

326 posts

stumbled across my old photos.... i started off with

Did the whole car by hand

flat the next day.... bought my first machine

Did 2 cars later...

my "collection" back then

This post has been edited by slk: Jul 3 2020, 03:03 PM
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 03:25 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 03:12 PM)
Really start off with Meg's items. Hardcore fan ah.. brows.gif

last time laaaaaa

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 03:26 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jul 3 2020, 03:25 PM)
Yea bro, Had the car wash the 3rd time since applied Osren coat before now waiting the coat to peel off by itself then only replace with TW Seal and Shine
one pro detailer from kota damansara recommends washing the tyres with fab serbuk... dry .. then apply ur dressing
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 03:28 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 02:24 PM)
Ok, visited Ace Hardware at Starling just now...

So, I first stumbled across LED lights:

RM166... Cash and carry right away looks tempting vs getting it cheaper online. hmm.gif

buy the spotlight from normal electrical shop and wire it yourself. certain shop sells the stand too... if you cannot find the stand then get it online
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 03:29 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 3 2020, 03:27 PM)
too hardcore ni ... brows.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
and then the bins grew......
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 04:12 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 03:33 PM)
Wah lau, Meg's containers also! Haha. Must be nice to start off somewhere. Amboi, look at all those sprayer bottles!! Can open shop or detailing workshop already bro! Eh, then you should know bro KC? Or at least heard about him then. I also got into detailing cos of my chance encounter with him back on the old Contilovers forums...
KC now the Optimum dealer for MY (detailen) smile.gif. i know him but never have the opportunity to meet real life

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 03:33 PM)
I have bad experience and learnt the hard way. Got once I itchy use those scouring pads type sponge + dish detergent to scrub certain areas of my wife's previous car... end up for those uneven patches or faded look on the parts I scrubbed. Really painful lesson bro. Those were the days before I was schooled to use proper products like mf towels, pads etc. Paiseh man.
fab serbuk for tyres bro... scrub with brush.

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 04:17 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 3 2020, 04:13 PM)
something to strip away those old sealant/wax on your cars
likely will be IPA wipes

but i heard alot of method like using dishsoap or fab powders ..
here in MY we have
1. dupont prepsol
2. Mercury m6000
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 07:14 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 04:20 PM)
Interesting - thanks for sharing bro.

Lazada selling the M6000 for RM30...

Do detailers rely on wax removal products like these a lot? I mean, does it help a lot for someone like me who keeps changing products to try out [e.g. spray waxes/toppers]? Or just IPA wipedown ought to work well too before I start applying any new product.

Meaning, today my ride already using Fusso Coat F7 for 2 weeks, then itchy wanna try.

So I just apply IPA/Wax Remover...

Then proceed to use new product, like Sonax BSD?

the 2 products removes wax and grease but not dirt/grime/etc2. so end of the day, best to use a paint cleaner prior to using new product smile.gif

slk
post Jul 3 2020, 07:36 PM

326 posts

continue from previous posting...

After finding out the limitation of the Bosch & DC1+DC2 combo... decided to get the 9227C plus others with fishbonezken

This post has been edited by slk: Jul 3 2020, 07:36 PM
slk
post Jul 3 2020, 08:57 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 3 2020, 07:47 PM)
Fuyoh this one certified sifu.

Long time never see the words Makita.

By right in the past rarely can't find detailing thread without Makita being mentioned... brows.gif
see food biggrin.gif

btw tmrw if anybody want to TKSS (talk kok sing song) tmrw... meet up at Osren HQ Kepong. 9AM onwards.

If you have problem you cant resolved.. bring over and we DIT
slk
post Jul 5 2020, 10:57 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 4 2020, 01:29 PM)
my area got two condo project going on
wipe off in the morning
evening dust on again sweat.gif
have to tolerate few more months before the completions date.
invest in a blower cool2.gif
slk
post Jul 6 2020, 04:11 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 6 2020, 11:31 AM)
Cool, shall await for the demo video from Osren and also your sharing session for orange peel corrections  brows.gif
erm the new video will poison you really bad..........
slk
post Jul 7 2020, 08:25 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 7 2020, 07:29 AM)

if the OP bothers you then remove it smile.gif
slk
post Jul 7 2020, 08:26 AM

326 posts

so anyone found good 7.7 offers today? biggrin.gif
slk
post Jul 7 2020, 11:11 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jul 7 2020, 09:12 AM)
Haha yea. Waiting for that demo video from Osren before deciding to get the denim pad and NAO 56?

Anyways, for those newbies to DA, will it be good for me to tackle OP corrections?

Cos Uncle Heng did say I should familiarise myself more with the DA before proceed to OP... sweat.gif
can no problem.. damn easy. bring your car to Osren to test with them.

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 7 2020, 09:17 AM)

Shopee page also got some good discounts. smile.gif
forever with discount but thats the normal price kan?

QUOTE(RattleSnaKe @ Jul 7 2020, 09:42 AM)
Morning guys, may i know what wheel cleaner do you guys use? Currently using Simple green and Meguiars APC diluted 10:1.

Abit lazy to do brushing, so wanted to know  any other cleaner that are capable to lift the contaminants by just spraying on, and rinsing off with a pressure washer.

Iron remover, degreaser, or just normal wheel cleaner (which i think are APC?)
there is no wheel cleaner that will work without agitation smile.gif
slk
post Jul 7 2020, 11:23 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jul 7 2020, 11:15 AM)
I think you are right haha. I don't actually keep track of their Shopee page. Prefer to get it straight from HQ (or branch) tongue.gif

By the way, can I ask how would you approach cleaning car fabric seats if don't have an extractor? APC + brush the wipe dry?
foam your APC, brush then wipe with damp MF. then air/sun dry

35 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.5091sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:59 PM